Page 2 of 2

Re: REPORTS: SE LINEUP vs GUINEA-BISSAU

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:27 pm
by Scipio Africanus
Good lineup. I don't expect Ndidi and Nacho to play much beyond half time. I will be watching Nwakali and especially Sadiq very closely. Sadiq better recognize what time it is :idea:

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:34 pm
by Enugu II
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:13 pm
waka-man wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:02 pm Further proof of Egu’s spine theory?
Ekong - Ndidi - Iheanacho
Does it also indicate he doesn't have much confidence in Maduka?
Emir,

Nuance... Nuance... Nuance.... There are four goalkeepers in the squad. How many of them can you use in the same game. It is clear from the git go that it makes no little sense to start Maduka at all! Thus, the comparison here is way off. Even starting Uzoho. One hopes that if things are going well, Uzoho can be pulled off. Yet, that will still leave a goalkeeper without a game. You cannot compare that at all with an in-field player who can be changed in multiple ways!

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:36 pm
by Scipio Africanus
highbury wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 5:51 pm Egu wants to keep the spine of the team intact
Doesn't Egu's spine include the 'keeper?

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:39 pm
by TonyTheTigerKiller
Ugbowo wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:05 pm And i think this line up is more 4-4-2 than 4-3-3.

Ihenacho is playing upfront with Sadiq.

Iwobi on the right and Ejuke on the left or vice versa.
More like vice versa❗️

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:41 pm
by Gotti
Flex Swift wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:14 pm Does anybody know the list of the subs? Just in case things go a bit pear shaped it would be nice to name a strong bench :taunt:
There are 23 players named on each matchday squad...
Even with 2 GKs, that'll leave 12 outfield players on the bench (with up to 5 subs per game).

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:49 pm
by Gotti
Enugu II wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:12 pmWith this line-up the sharpness down the wings will be blunted in my opinion. We shall see.
I am worried about that as well...
Would personally would've preferred someone like Onyekuru out wide and Iwobi in Iheanacho's role.

In Egu we Trust though!

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:58 pm
by 1naija
I see what he is doing. He wants to see how Ajayi pairs with Ekong, how Ndidi pairs with Nwakali, and how Nacho pairs with Sadiq.

Ndidi, Nacho, and Ekong will be subbed at half time if we are comfortably ahead. If we are struggling, he will sub out the non starters. We still need to win the game.
Gotti wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 5:20 pm https://www.owngoalnigeria.com/2022/01/ ... 8-changes/
https://www.completesports.com/sadiq-le ... uke-start/
https://scorenigeria.com.ng/new-super-e ... ehi-start/

Super Eagles Line-Up Vs Guinea-Bissau

Uzoho

Ebuehi
Troost-Ekong
Ajayi
Collins

Ndidi
Nwakali
Iheanacho

Iwobi
Sadiq
Ejuke

Happy that Eguavoen rang so many changes...
Although I would have rested Ndidi (and perhaps even Iheanacho).

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:00 pm
by 1naija
The problem on this board will be if Sadiq explodes with 2 goals. It will be monumental here. I can't wait.

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:00 pm
by Damunk
Hoping the list is accurate cos I noticed none of the three publications quoted their source.
I was looking forward to seeing Ndah start, but hopefully he’ll come in at some point, all things going well.
Glad for Sadiq, Ebuehi and Ejuke.

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:02 pm
by Damunk
1naija wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:00 pm The problem on this board will be of Sadiq explodes with 2 goals. It will be monumental here. I can't wait.

A nice ‘problem’ to have.
But the cynics will say “it’s only Guinea Bissau. Minnows”.

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:05 pm
by 1naija
Let's talk the truth and shame the devil. By a show of hands, how many of you are hoping this is not the case?

1naija wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:00 pm The problem on this board will be if Sadiq explodes with 2 goals. It will be monumental here. I can't wait.

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:07 pm
by metalalloy
1naija wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:58 pm I see what he is doing. He wants to see how Ajayi pairs with Ekong, how Ndidi pairs with Nwakali, and how Nacho pairs with Sadiq.

Ndidi, Nacho, and Ekong will be subbed at half time if we are comfortably ahead. If we are struggling, he will sub out the non starters. We still need to win the game.
Why?

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:11 pm
by icee
1naija wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:05 pm Let's talk the truth and shame the devil. By a show of hands, how many of you are hoping this is not the case?

1naija wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:00 pm The problem on this board will be if Sadiq explodes with 2 goals. It will be monumental here. I can't wait.
I don't care if he scores two goals. If he does, I am happy for him. He is not a bad player the issue with him is...I just don't see how he fits what appears to be our scheme: Speed, strength, technique. It's not like we look great at crosses and set pieces. We need powerful, fast, technical forwards and Sadiq isn't that type. He is tall but also seem to not win that many one on ones in the air. It is either he controls it too far, gets bullied off or can get past. I hope he takes his chance and scores but not a chance that makes him fit the bill or replace Osimen, Awoniyi (still watching this one) or even Dressers

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:11 pm
by 1naija
To be undefeated and show our next opponents we are playing around.
metalalloy wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:07 pm
1naija wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:58 pm I see what he is doing. He wants to see how Ajayi pairs with Ekong, how Ndidi pairs with Nwakali, and how Nacho pairs with Sadiq.

Why?

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:12 pm
by Damunk

Why?
You should know our people by now.
If he loses, the knives will start to appear small-small.
Nor be today.

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:15 pm
by 1naija
Ofcourse you don't care, especially with your head buried deep inside the sand trying stay in denial and looking for phantom schemes.
icee wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:11 pm
1naija wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:05 pm Let's talk the truth and shame the devil. By a show of hands, how many of you are hoping this is not the case?

I don't care if he scores two goals. If he does, I am happy for him. He is not a bad player the issue with him is...I just don't see how he fits what appears to be our scheme: Speed, strength, technique. It's not like we look great at crosses and set pieces. We need powerful, fast, technical forwards and Sadiq isn't that type. He is tall but also seem to not win that many one on ones in the air. It is either he controls it too far, gets bullied off or can get past. I hope he takes his chance and scores but not a chance that makes him fit the bill or replace Osimen, Awoniyi (still watching this one) or even Dressers

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:17 pm
by metalalloy
1naija wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:11 pm To be undefeated and show our next opponents we are playing around.

Why?
If thats the case, then wouldn't you be playing your starters who the opponents in the next round would presumably be facing?

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:20 pm
by metalalloy
Damunk wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:12 pm

Why?
Nor be today.
Shouldn't influence Eguaveon who is the technical director, and presumably will revert to his role after this game. If he was concerned about winning every game, he would play his starter/strongest lineup.

This is a great chance to evaluate others in the squad who most likely will be needed down the line on account of cards and/or injury. Its also a chance to give them playing time in a competitive game which may not occur in the knockout stage. That being said, he has made it clear he expect to win the game, but by not means do they need to win.

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:33 pm
by Robbynice

Gotti wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 5:20 pm https://www.owngoalnigeria.com/2022/01/ ... 8-changes/
https://www.completesports.com/sadiq-le ... uke-start/
https://scorenigeria.com.ng/new-super-e ... ehi-start/

Super Eagles Line-Up Vs Guinea-Bissau

Uzoho

Ebuehi
Troost-Ekong
Ajayi
Collins

Ndidi
Nwakali
Iheanacho

Iwobi
Sadiq
Ejuke

Happy that Eguavoen rang so many changes...
Although I would have rested Ndidi (and perhaps even Iheanacho).
Baba your head dey there. You sabi well well

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:35 pm
by 1naija
These players could be called upon in the next round also. Besides, if Eguavoen's tactics and system are what got us the victories in the last games as many have claimed, it shouldn't matter which players he uses.
metalalloy wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:20 pm

Why?
Nor be today.
Shouldn't influence Eguaveon who is the technical director, and presumably will revert to his role after this game. If he was concerned about winning every game, he would play his starter/strongest lineup.

This is a great chance to evaluate others in the squad who most likely will be needed down the line on account of cards and/or injury. Its also a chance to give them playing time in a competitive game which may not occur in the knockout stage. That being said, he has made it clear he expect to win the game, but by not means do they need to win.

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:37 pm
by Gadfly
icee wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:11 pm
So was Yekini (RIP).

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:47 pm
by metalalloy
1naija wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:35 pm These players could be called upon in the next round also. Besides, if Eguavoen's tactics and system are what got us the victories in the last games as many have claimed, it shouldn't matter which players he uses.
metalalloy wrote: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:20 pm

Why?
Nor be today.

People actually think that even after seeing the noticeable drop off in both games after subs were made? :shock: