Should Uzoho start ahead of Maduka in the knock out stages?

I personally think Uzoho always looks more assured in goal than Maduka, and his height advantage especially when it comes to set pieces might prove very useful for us.
Re: Should Uzoho start ahead of Maduka in the knock out stages?

Man after that poor save that Ajayi prevented the follow up, I don’t think he can unseat Okoye. But I know what you mean, somehow I’m more calm with Uzoho in there too, but realistically speaking he didn’t do enough to trigger a switch IMO.
eyan

Post by eyan »

Would have loved to see Akpeyi in goal. So far neither Okoye nor Uzoho looks comfortable in the games so far.

Now that we have choices, fans are getting confused.
I believe the coach knows best.

eyan wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 3:08 am Would have loved to see Akpeyi in goal. So far neither Okoye nor Uzoho looks comfortable in the games so far.
And somehow you feel Akpeyi would have performed better? You sure about that?🤔

Neither has had that much to do but I prefer Uzoho. His kicking is way better and he commands the area better. Okoye looks like a bundle of nerves to me. He has more potential, but for now, I prefer Uzoho.

airwolex wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:34 am Neither has had that much to do but I prefer Uzoho. His kicking is way better and he commands the area better. Okoye looks like a bundle of nerves to me. He has more potential, but for now, I prefer Uzoho.
They both have had one major fumble each.
Maybe na face you dey look. One get strong face giving the impression of control; the other get ‘fine boy no pimples’ face, portraying the opposite.
But seriously, I don’t see any major difference as they’ve not really been tested.

Damunk wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:51 am
airwolex wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:34 am Neither has had that much to do but I prefer Uzoho. His kicking is way better and he commands the area better. Okoye looks like a bundle of nerves to me. He has more potential, but for now, I prefer Uzoho.
Maybe na face you dey look. One get strong face giving the impression of control; the other get ‘fine boy no pimples’ face, portraying the opposite.
But seriously, I don’t see any major difference as they’ve not really been tested.
Somehow, I don’t see Uzoho being able to stop that Salah foray the way Okoye did so, I’ll go with Okoye❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 8:07 am
Somehow, I don’t see Uzoho being able to stop that Salah foray the way Okoye did so, I’ll go with Okoye❗️

Uzoho stopped a similar foray against CAR in Lagos.

Tobi17 wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 2:32 am I personally think Uzoho always looks more assured in goal than Maduka, and his height advantage especially when it comes to set pieces might prove very useful for us.
Okoye is actually slightly taller than Uzoho.

No be face oh. I genuinely think Uzoho is better. It is just that for an African goalie you need to be 10 times better. If he was a dual national he would be at a top club like Okoye.

I guess it must be that time when we debate everything even the obvious; uzoho na real farmer in goal thanks to his height. He reminds me of that tall skinny keeper of ours who went extinct in Portugal. Amazing how no one is even talking about him anymore just like that.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

jette1 wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 10:19 am I guess it must be that time when we debate everything even the obvious; uzoho na real farmer in goal thanks to his height. He reminds me of that tall skinny keeper of ours who went extinct in Portugal. Amazing how no one is even talking about him anymore just like that.
Huh?

Alampasu

Okoye for me. I don't really rate him but I will take him over Uzoho anytime anyday. That ball Uzoho parried into danger instead of away from play did it for me.

Robbynice wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 12:24 pm Okoye for me. I don't really rate him but I will take him over Uzoho anytime anyday. That ball Uzoho parried into danger instead of away from play did it for me.
Robby,

Okoye makes errors as well. I do not think he is any better but I surely will have him start simply for consistency but both do not inspire confidence.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

I actually Prefer Uzoho, however i am glad we have them both , similar to how we had Enyeama, Ejide and Ayenuigba.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 1:39 pm I actually Prefer Uzoho, however i am glad we have them both , similar to how we had Enyeama, Ejide and Ayenuigba.
Bigpokey

Except that this crop of keepers is below the three guys you described. Enyeama, Ejide, and Aiyenugba were all top notch. We cannot say the same of Okoye, Uzoho, or Akpeyi.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Didn’t see anything from him that made the case for a demotion of who the staff considers the number 1 choice

deanotito wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 4:50 pm Didn’t see anything from him that made the case for a demotion of who the staff considers the number 1 choice

Both of them have been pretty ok, and neither has been particularly tested in the three games that we have played so far. As for Uzoho's save that people are complaining about, there is no perfect keeper on the planet, it's only a problem if you notice a pattern. Both keepers are still very young and have a lot of room and time to continue developing.