Should Uzoho start ahead of Maduka in the knock out stages?

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 2:32 am
by Tobi17
I personally think Uzoho always looks more assured in goal than Maduka, and his height advantage especially when it comes to set pieces might prove very useful for us.

Re: Should Uzoho start ahead of Maduka in the knock out stages?

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 2:43 am
by maceo4
Man after that poor save that Ajayi prevented the follow up, I don’t think he can unseat Okoye. But I know what you mean, somehow I’m more calm with Uzoho in there too, but realistically speaking he didn’t do enough to trigger a switch IMO.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 3:08 am
by eyan
Would have loved to see Akpeyi in goal. So far neither Okoye nor Uzoho looks comfortable in the games so far.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:28 am
by joao
Now that we have choices, fans are getting confused.
I believe the coach knows best.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:31 am
by theYemster
eyan wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 3:08 am Would have loved to see Akpeyi in goal. So far neither Okoye nor Uzoho looks comfortable in the games so far.
And somehow you feel Akpeyi would have performed better? You sure about that?🤔

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:34 am
by airwolex
Neither has had that much to do but I prefer Uzoho. His kicking is way better and he commands the area better. Okoye looks like a bundle of nerves to me. He has more potential, but for now, I prefer Uzoho.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:51 am
by Damunk
airwolex wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:34 am Neither has had that much to do but I prefer Uzoho. His kicking is way better and he commands the area better. Okoye looks like a bundle of nerves to me. He has more potential, but for now, I prefer Uzoho.
They both have had one major fumble each.
Maybe na face you dey look. One get strong face giving the impression of control; the other get ‘fine boy no pimples’ face, portraying the opposite.
But seriously, I don’t see any major difference as they’ve not really been tested.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 8:07 am
by TonyTheTigerKiller
Damunk wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:51 am
airwolex wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:34 am Neither has had that much to do but I prefer Uzoho. His kicking is way better and he commands the area better. Okoye looks like a bundle of nerves to me. He has more potential, but for now, I prefer Uzoho.
Maybe na face you dey look. One get strong face giving the impression of control; the other get ‘fine boy no pimples’ face, portraying the opposite.
But seriously, I don’t see any major difference as they’ve not really been tested.
Somehow, I don’t see Uzoho being able to stop that Salah foray the way Okoye did so, I’ll go with Okoye❗️

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 9:03 am
by Dammy
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 8:07 am
Somehow, I don’t see Uzoho being able to stop that Salah foray the way Okoye did so, I’ll go with Okoye❗️

Uzoho stopped a similar foray against CAR in Lagos.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 9:07 am
by Damunk
Tobi17 wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 2:32 am I personally think Uzoho always looks more assured in goal than Maduka, and his height advantage especially when it comes to set pieces might prove very useful for us.
Okoye is actually slightly taller than Uzoho.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 10:14 am
by airwolex
No be face oh. I genuinely think Uzoho is better. It is just that for an African goalie you need to be 10 times better. If he was a dual national he would be at a top club like Okoye.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 10:19 am
by jette1
I guess it must be that time when we debate everything even the obvious; uzoho na real farmer in goal thanks to his height. He reminds me of that tall skinny keeper of ours who went extinct in Portugal. Amazing how no one is even talking about him anymore just like that.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 10:20 am
by airwolex
jette1 wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 10:19 am I guess it must be that time when we debate everything even the obvious; uzoho na real farmer in goal thanks to his height. He reminds me of that tall skinny keeper of ours who went extinct in Portugal. Amazing how no one is even talking about him anymore just like that.
Huh?

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 11:48 am
Alampasu

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 12:24 pm
by Robbynice
Okoye for me. I don't really rate him but I will take him over Uzoho anytime anyday. That ball Uzoho parried into danger instead of away from play did it for me.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 1:35 pm
by Enugu II
Robbynice wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 12:24 pm Okoye for me. I don't really rate him but I will take him over Uzoho anytime anyday. That ball Uzoho parried into danger instead of away from play did it for me.
Robby,

Okoye makes errors as well. I do not think he is any better but I surely will have him start simply for consistency but both do not inspire confidence.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 1:39 pm
I actually Prefer Uzoho, however i am glad we have them both , similar to how we had Enyeama, Ejide and Ayenuigba.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 4:04 pm
by Enugu II
Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 1:39 pm I actually Prefer Uzoho, however i am glad we have them both , similar to how we had Enyeama, Ejide and Ayenuigba.
Bigpokey

Except that this crop of keepers is below the three guys you described. Enyeama, Ejide, and Aiyenugba were all top notch. We cannot say the same of Okoye, Uzoho, or Akpeyi.

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 4:50 pm
by deanotito
Didn’t see anything from him that made the case for a demotion of who the staff considers the number 1 choice

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 5:07 pm
by metalalloy
deanotito wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 4:50 pm Didn’t see anything from him that made the case for a demotion of who the staff considers the number 1 choice

Both of them have been pretty ok, and neither has been particularly tested in the three games that we have played so far. As for Uzoho's save that people are complaining about, there is no perfect keeper on the planet, it's only a problem if you notice a pattern. Both keepers are still very young and have a lot of room and time to continue developing.