Moses Simon should start falling down more in the box

Re: Moses Simon should start falling down more in the box

donadoni wrote: Fri Jan 21, 2022 3:50 am Moses Simon should also think about how to quickly release the ball sometimes after drawing 2-3 players so that the team can circulate it to the center or right side where space would have been created
Donadoni

He does that. But frankly releasing the ball quicker is not the only way to beat a defense. Sometimes you take them on like he is doing, like Maradona and Messi had done. It is a very important aspect of the game. In fact, that singular skill can be more effective than passing in breaking down a packed defense. Forget what the Euro books focus on. There are multiple ways to use space and to create one.

Moses to be honest is a huge problem for any defense. He can turn on a dime and in a split second. There was one turn he made in the last game that did not seem humanly possible and he left 3 opponents for dead. In my view, what is missing is using it to deadly effect deep in the box where the slightest touch should definitely lead to a pk. He has to begin to scare defenders with that.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
blueangel

Post by blueangel »

Enugu II wrote: Fri Jan 21, 2022 8:33 pm
donadoni wrote: Fri Jan 21, 2022 3:50 am Moses Simon should also think about how to quickly release the ball sometimes after drawing 2-3 players so that the team can circulate it to the center or right side where space would have been created
Donadoni

He does that. But frankly releasing the ball quicker is not the only way to beat a defense. Sometimes you take them on like he is doing, like Maradona and Messi had done. It is a very important aspect of the game. In fact, that singular skill can be more effective than passing in breaking down a packed defense. Forget what the Euro books focus on. There are multiple ways to use space and to create one.

Moses to be honest is a huge problem for any defense. He can turn on a dime and in a split second. There was one turn he made in the last game that did not seem humanly possible and he left 3 opponents for dead. In my view, what is missing is using it to deadly effect deep in the box where the slightest touch should definitely lead to a pk. He has to begin to scare defenders with that.
Didn't Moses end the campaign of an Egyptian defender when he was replaced in the opening minutes in tne match against Egypt.
When Moses cut back the poor chap tried to react and hurt his ankles.

... Moses returns to destroy Egyptians again.after parting the Red Sea generations ago in the Bible

Scipio Africanus wrote: Fri Jan 21, 2022 1:44 am
joao wrote: Fri Jan 21, 2022 1:18 am
Scipio Africanus wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 6:09 pm
metalalloy wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 5:09 pm
joao wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 5:08 pm
naijaguy wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 1:29 pm It seems you've forgotten that we are in the era of VAR.
A fake penalty fall can get you a yellow card or even a red(second yellow) if you've been booked earlier.
Great observation.
[size=150]Faking being fouled is not a bright idea. [/size]It even takes away the player's focus and continuing progress.
Worse, like noted above, a strict referee would not tolerate that behavior, nor football fans.
Neymar and S. Americans like doing that rubbish, and they have been found out.
No one is advocating for this...
Abeg told am. Some people here don't bother to read before responding
How can you make progress, when you are split between cheating and huddling your obstacles?
Even if you are fouled, maintain composure until the referee blows the whistle. I know it's too
complicated an idea for you to grasp. :taunt: :lol: :lol: :lol:
I don't want to use the word "naive" to describe you, but you are really begging for it. A player who has his shirt tugged in the opponent's penalty area would have to be a colossal dunce not to fall down immediately. :lol: :lol:

After giving up a PK or two, the opponent will be afraid to even breathe on the player, allowing him to play football with a relaxed mind, leading to better football and more goals :thumbs:
I'll take being naive over your being cleverly unrealistic.
Seems like you are advocating that the player(s) to be making the call for the referee.
Suppose the player, instead of continuing his play, chooses to fall down and the referee
does not blow the whistle, then what?
Hope you are not advocating same for the defenders, whereby they raise their hands calling
for an offside instead of making a play.
Come again, clever brains! :lol: :lol: :lol:

donadoni

Post by donadoni »

Donadoni

Agreed. It’s very refreshing to see a forward take on players versus the “supposedly safe” pass around style that has been drummed into players in Europe. When a forward can mix both and have defenders constantly guessing whether he will dribble past them and shoot or whether he will draw several of them in and pass that is serious wahala for any defense to deal with. The key is to remain unpredictable

donadoni wrote: Fri Jan 21, 2022 9:52 pm
Donadoni

Agreed. It’s very refreshing to see a forward take on players versus the “supposedly safe” pass around style that has been drummed into players in Europe. When a forward can mix both and have defenders constantly guessing whether he will dribble past them and shoot or whether he will draw several of them in and pass that is serious wahala for any defense to deal with. The key is to remain unpredictable
Boom!! The word is unpredictability. It is really not effective to think that the only thing that works is a pass. Against a tight defense that option can fail woefully. The thing is unpredictability as you have mentioned here.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Moses in why he’s been playing better for SE

https://www.instagram.com/naija_footbal ... =copy_link

maceo4 wrote: Sat Jan 22, 2022 11:54 am Moses in why he’s been playing better for SE

https://www.instagram.com/naija_footbal ... =copy_link
Lovely. Me I have always liked the guy. :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: