We should learn to assess our players honestly

1. Awonyi was a waste of space
2. Akpeyi is the best Nigerian goalkeeper, followed by Uzoho.
3. Sadiq belongs in the SE. Call him clumsy or whatever.
4. I am not sure what value Olayinka adds to the team.

We must stop rattling off names of every player that occasionally scored a goal for his club.
Re: We should learn to assess our players honestly

1naija wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:35 pm 1. Awonyi was a waste of space

We must stop rattling off names of every player that occasionally scored a goal for his club.
Our first choice attackers should be Osimhen and Ighalo. The others are not ready

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:39 pm

Our first choice attackers should be Osimhen and Ighalo. The others are not ready
Lets leave it at Osimhen, Ighalo is retired and not really committed. The rest including Sadiq are not up to it...The Olayinka they are abusing is the one that set up Moses with that beautiful cross that left the Tunisian defense for dead and Moses one on one with the keeper somehow fluffed it. Sadiq on the other hand fluffed a chance...

What an ironic post :rotf: :rotf:

We should learn to access our players honestly, then proceeds to bash players needlessly.

maceo4 wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:41 pm

Lets leave it at Osimhen, Ighalo is retired and not really committed. The rest including Sadiq are not up to it...The Olayinka they are abusing is the one that set up Moses with that beautiful cross that left the Tunisian defense for dead and Moses one on one with the keeper somehow fluffed it. Sadiq on the other hand fluffed a chance...
Not only Ighalo. Victor Moses should be recalled

Awoniyi is overhyped

Sadiq frankly looks a much more effective striker while Awoniyi just "works hard"

Olayinka was always just a waste

Okoye is a basket keeper. At this point I think I will prefer Akpeyi, and that is saying something.

john12 wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:43 pm
maceo4 wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:41 pm

Not only Ighalo. Victor Moses should be recalled
Mikel too. And Osaze.
Last edited by The YeyeMan on Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:43 pm

Awoniyi is overhyped

Sadiq frankly looks a much more effective striker while Awoniyi just "works hard"

Okoye is a basket keeper. At this point I think I will prefer Akpeyi, and that is saying something.
Who gave that cross to Simon that he fluffed a 1v1? Just wondering...I guess the waste did that...

1. Nonsense. he didn't get any service. We have no reliable attacking system.

2. Utter nonsense. I guess Neuer is a rubbish 'keeper because he has been beaten from distance many times

3. Agreed. sadiq would do MUCH better with decent service. See #1.

4. The jury is out on that one.
Last edited by Scipio Africanus on Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:51 pm, edited 3 times in total.

The truth is, we played 3 good games, then a terrible one when it mattered most. Apart from Ndidi they played badly as a collective. How you can now start bashing them individually is beyond me.

I am on record on saying that I prefer Uzoho, but i won't bash Okoye for our loss. Saying Akpeyi is better just shows that you are not sincere.
Last edited by airwolex on Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Honest assessment and bashing are not the same thing. We should leave non value adding players off the team.
airwolex wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:42 pm What an ironic post :rotf: :rotf:

We should learn to access our players honestly, then proceeds to bash players needlessly.

maceo4 wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:45 pm

Awoniyi is overhyped

Who gave that cross to Simon that he fluffed a 1v1? Just wondering...I guess the waste did that...
finger pointers, the guy was all over the field the best chances came from his creating.

airwolex wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:48 pm The truth is, we played 3 good games, then a terrible one when it mattered most. Apart from Ndidi they played badly as a collective. How you can now start bashing them individually is beyond me.

I am on record on saying that I prefer Uzoho, but i won't bash Okoye for our loss. Saying Akpeyi is better just shows that you are not sincere.
Debatable. You have to take the quality of the opposition into account.

1naija wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:49 pm Honest assessment and bashing are not the same thing. We should leave non value adding players off the team.
airwolex wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:42 pm What an ironic post :rotf: :rotf:

Honest assessment is that Awoniyi is a wastepipe and Akpeyi is better than Okoye? Na. This is anost dishonest post.

Scipio Africanus wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:45 pm

2. Utter nonsense. I guess Neuer is a rubbish 'keeper because he has been beaten form distant many times

3. Agreed. sadiq would do MUCH better with decent service. See 31.

But I'm sure you can also find many videos of Neuer saving his country with outrageous saves, I pray you to find one (just one) of Okoye making anything other than routine saves. Yes a keeper can make a mistake, but Okoye has NEVER shown to be more than a routine save making keeper for the SE. He's never show he can be the difference maker back there. That is what you need as a NT GK, means you are the best of the best available and it should show. Yes you can make a mistake here or there, but there should still be a body of work showing why you are the best....Okoye doesn't have that, Uzoho does, even Akpeyi does...

Tunisia was amazing, how did they do it?
Locked Awoniyi and Moses down completely

Nonsense. He didn't get service for 3 ganes? What service did Sadiq get that he almost equalized for us ? You have to put yourself in position to get service in the first place.

2. Utter nonsense. I guess Neuer is a rubbish 'keeper because he has been beaten form distant many times

Okoye is horrible. He shouldn't even be #3.

The previous matches he was shaky. I believe he even dropped a ball today before conceding the goal.

The Tunisians knew he was a basket and had scouted this. They were shooting any chance they got.

I prefer akpeyi at this point.

1naija wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:54 pm Nonsense. He didn't get service for 3 ganes? What service did Sadiq get that he almost equalized for us ? You have to put yourself in position to get service in the first place.

Kpom

We keep hearing "awoniyi get no service"

Yet in 2 matches Sadiq finds himself one on one with keeper.

Even though he didn't score he is at least getting himself into dangerous positions, something Awoniyi failed woefully to do.

1naija wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:54 pm Nonsense. He didn't get service for 3 ganes? What service did Sadiq get that he almost equalized for us ? You have to put yourself in position to get service in the first place.

There it is, we are celebrating "ALMOST"....how low we've come without Osimhen...btw why aren't also celebrating the "ALMOST" that was the Simon 1 v 1 and whoever it was that created that...

Awoniyi is overhyped

Sadiq is a far better striker than Awoniyi….mace04 remember?

Okoye is a kid with better attributes than Akpeyi and Just slightly better than Uzoho

Awoniyi is a back up at best. Ighalo has no business in the team….I will welcome V.Moses though

Forward line of

Moses Oshimen and Dennis will cause Havoc

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:56 pm Okoye is horrible. He shouldn't even be #3.

The previous matches he was shaky. I believe he even dropped a ball today before conceding the goal.

The Tunisians knew he was a basket and had scouted this. They were shooting any chance they got.

I prefer akpeyi at this point.
Yes...this is a honest assessment! Msheeeew

maceo4 wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:52 pm

3. Agreed. sadiq would do MUCH better with decent service. See 31.

But I'm sure you can also find many videos of Neuer saving his country with outrageous saves, I pray you to find one (just one) of Okoye making anything other than routine saves. Yes a keeper can make a mistake, but Okoye has NEVER shown to be more than a routine save making keeper for the SE. He's never show he can be the difference maker back there. That is what you need as a NT GK, means you are the best of the best available and it should show. Yes you can make a mistake here or there, but there should still be a body of work showing why you are the best....Okoye doesn't have that, Uzoho does, even Akpeyi does...
Save against Salah wasn’t routine bro