Nigeria's top 3 strikers.....opinion

In my opinion, after watching this AFCON, the Nigerian striker position that seemed forever unsolved has become quite clear. Previously Nigeria tried Iheanacho, Nwankwo, Onuachu, Dessers, etc without any clarity on is directly behind Osimhen. We know that this was partly dealt with by moving Iheanacho to the top of the midfield as a support striker type. However after this AFCON, I believe Umar Sadiq clearly shows he can be the second option after Osimhen. Awoniyi has moved back to third. That is my view. Onuachu is now outside of that group.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Nigeria's top 3 strikers.....opinion

I have these two as my option . Vic and Sadiq. ( to me Sadiq is miles ahead of awoniyi

U mean u not buying into the propaganda that he "played poorly" in the 10 minutes he was given ?

At least he created chances for himself, which is more than we can say for Awoniyi.

My own be say if Nigeria likes go and select Sadiq to lead the attack against Ghana in March.

Flex Swift wrote: Sun Feb 06, 2022 3:54 pm My own be say if Nigeria likes go and select Sadiq to lead the attack against Ghana in March.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Osimhen. Sadiq. Moffi.

I am curious, what did Awoniyi do in the tournament to move ahead of Onuachu or even Ighalo?
Enugu II wrote: Sun Feb 06, 2022 2:32 pm In my opinion, after watching this AFCON, the Nigerian striker position that seemed forever unsolved has become quite clear. Previously Nigeria tried Iheanacho, Nwankwo, Onuachu, Dessers, etc without any clarity on is directly behind Osimhen. We know that this was partly dealt with by moving Iheanacho to the top of the midfield as a support striker type. However after this AFCON, I believe Umar Sadiq clearly shows he can be the second option after Osimhen. Awoniyi has moved back to third. That is my view. Onuachu is now outside of that group.

Osimhen
Onuachu
Awoniyi

Professor E2,

With the risk of you flunking me on this test, I am answering a different question to wit - Naija best 3 strikers against Ghana!

The answer clearly na Onachu, Oshimen, Umar for obvious reasons!

Cmoke :D :D :D :D :D
Enugu II wrote: Sun Feb 06, 2022 2:32 pm In my opinion, after watching this AFCON, the Nigerian striker position that seemed forever unsolved has become quite clear. Previously Nigeria tried Iheanacho, Nwankwo, Onuachu, Dessers, etc without any clarity on is directly behind Osimhen. We know that this was partly dealt with by moving Iheanacho to the top of the midfield as a support striker type. However after this AFCON, I believe Umar Sadiq clearly shows he can be the second option after Osimhen. Awoniyi has moved back to third. That is my view. Onuachu is now outside of that group.

Osimhen, Sadiq, Desser/Awoniyi

1. Osimhen
2. Onuachu

3rd spot is Between Sadiq, Dennis, Moffi & Awoniyi for me as we're yet to see any of them being given a consistent run of games yet.

Cmoke wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 1:11 am Professor E2,

With the risk of you flunking me on this test, I am answering a different question to wit - Naija best 3 strikers against Ghana!

Cmoke,

If Ghana people dey here, na you sabi. My hand no dey ooo! If na for volleyball v Ghana I go sabi. But dis na for ground dem go play ball, make you remember. :dream:
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

E2,

See, i no even need to tell you why and you already know!
Did you notice that Egu's SE was more dangerous with set pieces during this AFCON? Chei, how will Crawlings half people defend our corners with Onachu and Sadiq there?

Football, na game of matchup oh.

Cmoke :D :D :D :D
Enugu II wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 4:02 am

Cmoke,

If Ghana people dey here, na you sabi. My hand no dey ooo! If na for volleyball v Ghana I go sabi. But dis na for ground dem go play ball, make you remember. :dream:
goke313

Post by goke313 »

Sunset wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 3:58 am 1. Osimhen
2. Onuachu

3rd spot is Between Sadiq, Dennis, Moffi & Awoniyi for me as we're yet to see any of them being given a consistent run of games yet.
THIS :agree:

Wicked!

Flex Swift wrote: Sun Feb 06, 2022 3:54 pm My own be say if Nigeria likes go and select Sadiq to lead the attack against Ghana in March.
...as long as Osinhme is healthy.
Between now and March is long time, they have a lot of club matches to play and we hope none is injured.
azuka

Post by azuka »

For me it is not about who's the best striker but rather which is the best combination for our attack. If we cast our mind back we will remember that while Yekinni was being played as our top striker alongside Amokachie he wasn't even the top striker in the Portuguese league where he was playing then. Richard Oowobokiri was the highest goal scorer in that league. In fact there was a season RO was the highest scorer in the whole of Europe, yet CW considered Yekinni as the best fit for his formation.

With that, for a 4-3-3 formation i will go for an attacking front of Chukwueze on the right, Osimhen in the center and Dennis on the left. This will be backed by a midfield of Atebo as the base flanked on either side by Aribo and Ndidi.

And if the coach goes for a 4-2-3-1 formation the top striker should be Osimhen with Chukwueze on the right, Aribo in the middle and Dennis on the left. The twin midfield should be Atebo and Ndidi.

Now in a 4-4-2 formation i will go for Onwuachi and Dennis as the twin striker, something akin to Yekinni/Amokachi combination. My wingers will be Chukwueze and Simon with any two from Atebo/Ndidi/Aribo as the midfielders.

It's all about formation and combination. I didn't include the defence because that defence basically choose itself.

azuka wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 2:54 pm For me it is not about who's the best striker but rather which is the best combination for our attack. If we cast our mind back we will remember that while Yekinni was being played as our top striker alongside Amokachie he wasn't even the top striker in the Portuguese league where he was playing then. Richard Oowobokiri was the highest goal scorer in that league. In fact there was a season RO was the highest scorer in the whole of Europe, yet CW considered Yekinni as the best fit for his formation.

With that, for a 4-3-3 formation i will go for an attacking front of Chukwueze on the right, Osimhen in the center and Dennis on the left. This will be backed by a midfield of Atebo as the base flanked on either side by Aribo and Ndidi.

And if the coach goes for a 4-2-3-1 formation the top striker should be Osimhen with Chukwueze on the right, Aribo in the middle and Dennis on the left. The twin midfield should be Atebo and Ndidi.

Now in a 4-4-2 formation i will go for Onwuachi and Dennis as the twin striker, something akin to Yekinni/Amokachi combination. My wingers will be Chukwueze and Simon with any two from Atebo/Ndidi/Aribo as the midfielders.

It's all about formation and combination. I didn't include the defence because that defence basically choose itself.
Which Chukwueze are you talking about?
azuka

Post by azuka »

wanaj0 wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 3:25 pm
azuka wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 2:54 pm For me it is not about who's the best striker but rather which is the best combination for our attack. If we cast our mind back we will remember that while Yekinni was being played as our top striker alongside Amokachie he wasn't even the top striker in the Portuguese league where he was playing then. Richard Oowobokiri was the highest goal scorer in that league. In fact there was a season RO was the highest scorer in the whole of Europe, yet CW considered Yekinni as the best fit for his formation.

The guy that plays for Villareal.

azuka wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 3:42 pm

The guy that plays for Villareal.
The same one that did 'wonders' during the AFCON? :taunt:

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

You left out Osimhen in your 4-4-2 formation. Na mistake or na whisky dey work for you body?

azuka

Post by azuka »

Lolly wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 4:08 pm

You left out Osimhen in your 4-4-2 formation. Na mistake or na whisky dey work for you body?
ol'boy it's too early for a glass of whisky. By the way i don't do whisky if na odeku then we game. It's on purpose i left out Osimhen in my 4-4-2 formation because i do not think he will be a good fit for it. I might be wrong.