OFFICIAL SQUAD AGAINST GHANA RELEASED

Re: OFFICIAL SQUAD AGAINST GHANA RELEASED

1naija wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 7:15 pm Lots of professional complainers on this board.
Na today you begin notice? :?: :roll: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Just say you consider there to be seven midfielders in the squad and move on. Writing War & Peace noise over common Shehu. Haba!

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 11:34 am
Eguavon must really rate Amoo, looks like he dropped Ejuke for him, but personally I don't think he's ready quite yet for a game at this level or magnitude. This call up might be a bit premature similar to Samson TIjani's plus it could hurt his chances of locking down a place in his clubs first team.
Good to see Bassey there, hopefully they're looking at him as a LB and not in CB.

Midfield is thin as usual

Sunset wrote: Mon Mar 07, 2022 4:07 am Midfield is thin as usual
It's not, ask Maceo. :D

As for Amoo - I don't expect he'll start unless he seriously impresses in training. I don't see how the call up affects his club standing unless the matches coincide with FC Copenhagen games - which it shouldn't.

maceo4 wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 7:26 pm
Lolly wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 6:28 pm
maceo4 wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 8:30 pm
Damunk wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 8:22 pm Anyone know why Ndah is not in the squad?
I thought Egu was very keen on him and he had a fairly good AFCON.
Your last sentence is puzzling lol, he played like 15 or so minutes all tournament…Balogun is back along with Bassey’s inclusion, I don’t see the need for Ndah…
And you believe Bassey deserves a spot ahead of Ndah? How so?
The coach apparently does. I just found it funny that 15 mins in a dead rubber game all tournament could be termed as having a fairly good tournament that’s all.
At least he gave a good account of himself even if it was for 15 minutes and I believe he is still playing well for his club. Some other players mess up their 15 minutes of opportunity. So why drop him and bring back Bassey who never got 15 minutes to show us what he can do?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Owngoal saying the NFF is asking Egu about Onazi.

So according to them Onazi is Egus pick.

See why we want foreign coach. No foreign coach will ever pick a player like Onazi.

Absolutely criminal.

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Mar 07, 2022 2:54 pm Owngoal saying the NFF is asking Egu about Onazi.

See why we want foreign coach. No foreign coach will ever pick a player like Onazi.

Absolutely criminal.
The report I'm seeing is that Eguavoen did not even invite Onazi, someone made the invitation happen... make of that what you will

Give it a rest. What's so criminal about Onazi's invitation sef? Is he out of football completely? You should worry more about who is on the main list and not someone on the standby list. There are other players on the standby list that some can argue there are more deserving players than them.

We need to worry about goalkeeping. Ghana is known to wire serious shots at at times, albeit mostly accidentally.
vancity eagle wrote: Mon Mar 07, 2022 2:54 pm Owngoal saying the NFF is asking Egu about Onazi.

Absolutely criminal.
Last edited by 1naija on Mon Mar 07, 2022 6:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

watch out for Amoo! brilliant player, he could be the key difference in midfield, he used to play for a local team in stockholm called Hammarby- they called him the little Messi

marko wrote: Mon Mar 07, 2022 4:20 pm watch out for Amoo! brilliant player, he could be the key difference in midfield, he used to play for a local team in stockholm called Hammarby- they called him the little Messi
Oh! we didnt know. Thank you so much for bringing this player to our knowledge, Marko! Truly appreciate it.

P.S -- are you still better than PSG?

olodo rabata
oju eja lo mo je
o ni je paper
slate lo ma je
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

Absolutely criminal.
As I recall, we "lost" a match to Algeria in the CAF board room because a foreign manager picked and deployed a player who was supposed to be suspended .... which is arguably worse than what is becoming a "tradition" of Eagles managers inviting older players who used to be core Eagles, players they really shouldn't have invited, but who ultimately do not play a single minute of the tournament or match. Imagine if we lost the first leg to Ghana because Eguavoen fielded Iwobi, I mean, how stupid would that be?
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

The YeyeMan wrote: Mon Mar 07, 2022 5:09 am

As for Amoo - I don't expect he'll start unless he seriously impresses in training. I don't see how the call up affects his club standing unless the matches coincide with FC Copenhagen games - which it shouldn't.
Continue to miss the point...
sabb

Post by sabb »

maceo4 wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 6:13 pm
sabb wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 5:16 pm
The YeyeMan wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 10:33 am
maceo4 wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 4:35 am
The YeyeMan wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 8:39 pm
maceo4 wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 8:02 pm
The YeyeMan wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 4:31 pm
Moses Simon is a forward in the modern game. It'd be passé to consider him a midfielder.

The squad has 4 midfielders. The likes of Musa, Amoo, Chukwueze, Simon are wide forwards.
5 with Shehu…
Four.

Shehu is a back up to Aina.

Four specialist midfielders.
I’m not sure I get your point, Shehu is a central midfielder for his club and utility player for SE, so is an extra midfielder when required. I agree we are thin in CMs and should try others, but I’m not sure it’s this kind of game where we should be giving trials…that’s probably the coaches mindset as well. But trust and believe if we need a midfielder and Aina is also out, it would be Awaziem stepping in for Aina and Shehu stepping into midfield. His versatility is probably why he gets selected so often.
Shehu has played once at central midfield for his club this season, and about 20 times at RB.

If Ejaria was fit and in form I'd like to see him in the squad. Certainly one of the midfielders I mentioned earlier could have made the squad.
Utility player yet was never called up for the ACN and rarely plays in midfielder for the SE, even when Ndidi was out, a CB was preferred so don't know why he would deputise all of a sudden. I can't remember the last time the SE midfield has controlled a game and am not talking of counter attack, when your CB is the outlet for passes to your FW then the midfield has huge problems. Ndidi is the only midfielder that gets praise most time and he is a DM, the SE need to start using its midfielders and let the FW fight for the 2 positions available.

we have 3 strikers - Victor, Sadiq and Ighalo
FW - Musa, Simon, Chuks, Dennis, Lookman, Nacho (hybrid)

What do we need 3 strikers for then 6 FW
We should be able to sacrifice at least 2 from the above for midfielders
Bruh, what are you going on about? He was called for the AFCON and had to be replaced because he was injured. He’s come in and played both as a CM and RB for the SE. He is a midfield “option” keyword option. I’m not even sure why this FACT is an argument, you guys can make your point without being disingenuous. You don’t like him, fine, you don’t think he’s a good option there, fine…but doesn’t change the fact that he’s a CM option nonetheless…he can also deputize at RB just like Awaziem (whose also probably played most of his games for SE at RB) but we don’t call him a RB only, he’s an option at CB and RB.
CM for SE once i think
RB - his preferred position according to SE coaches who have used him there time after time. I know he is a midfielder but am afraid in SE he has been converted to RB and we now have dedicated RB. I like him as a RB cos he actually plays the RB role like a CM but my gripe is the utility part especially with regards to DM which the coaches rarely use him for.
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

sabb wrote: Mon Mar 07, 2022 6:05 pm
maceo4 wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 6:13 pm
sabb wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 5:16 pm
The YeyeMan wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 10:33 am
maceo4 wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 4:35 am
The YeyeMan wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 8:39 pm
maceo4 wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 8:02 pm

5 with Shehu…
Four.

Shehu is a back up to Aina.

Four specialist midfielders.
I’m not sure I get your point, Shehu is a central midfielder for his club and utility player for SE, so is an extra midfielder when required. I agree we are thin in CMs and should try others, but I’m not sure it’s this kind of game where we should be giving trials…that’s probably the coaches mindset as well. But trust and believe if we need a midfielder and Aina is also out, it would be Awaziem stepping in for Aina and Shehu stepping into midfield. His versatility is probably why he gets selected so often.
Shehu has played once at central midfield for his club this season, and about 20 times at RB.

If Ejaria was fit and in form I'd like to see him in the squad. Certainly one of the midfielders I mentioned earlier could have made the squad.
Utility player yet was never called up for the ACN and rarely plays in midfielder for the SE, even when Ndidi was out, a CB was preferred so don't know why he would deputise all of a sudden. I can't remember the last time the SE midfield has controlled a game and am not talking of counter attack, when your CB is the outlet for passes to your FW then the midfield has huge problems. Ndidi is the only midfielder that gets praise most time and he is a DM, the SE need to start using its midfielders and let the FW fight for the 2 positions available.

we have 3 strikers - Victor, Sadiq and Ighalo
FW - Musa, Simon, Chuks, Dennis, Lookman, Nacho (hybrid)

What do we need 3 strikers for then 6 FW
We should be able to sacrifice at least 2 from the above for midfielders
Bruh, what are you going on about? He was called for the AFCON and had to be replaced because he was injured. He’s come in and played both as a CM and RB for the SE. He is a midfield “option” keyword option. I’m not even sure why this FACT is an argument, you guys can make your point without being disingenuous. You don’t like him, fine, you don’t think he’s a good option there, fine…but doesn’t change the fact that he’s a CM option nonetheless…he can also deputize at RB just like Awaziem (whose also probably played most of his games for SE at RB) but we don’t call him a RB only, he’s an option at CB and RB.
CM for SE once i think
RB - his preferred position according to SE coaches who have used him there time after time. I know he is a midfielder but am afraid in SE he has been converted to RB and we now have dedicated RB. I like him as a RB cos he actually plays the RB role like a CM but my gripe is the utility part especially with regards to DM which the coaches rarely use him for.
Ok I got you, I never said he's a DM though, more so another CM option in the coaches eyes. And he's played there multiple times (not once) actually debuted as a CM and later was converted to a makeshift RB, also he played CM in the last game he played for SE. Overall I agree we are thin in CM, but not because they haven't invited enough CM's but more so because of which CM's they chose to invite such as Etebo that has only been playing U-23's since his injury. We could have definitely done with one more, but I understand if the coaches don't want to take too many risks in a game like this. All the previous friendlies we had were chances to try the Onyedika's, Yusuf's, Nwobodo's etc which we failed to take, so now we have to rely on the devil's we know, Nwakali's unprofessionalism also reduced the number of available tested options...Michael in Serie A has just started training again after 4 months out with that bad lower leg/ankle injury.

maceo4 wrote: Mon Mar 07, 2022 6:13 pmOverall I agree we are thin in CM, but not because they haven't invited enough CM's but more so because of which CM's they chose to invite such as Etebo that has only been playing U-23's since his injury. We could have definitely done with one more, but I understand if the coaches don't want to take too many risks in a game like this.
Actually, if the plan is to continue with 4-4-2/4-2-4 then the four CMs in the squad is arguably enough. But it's still a limited outlook.

Damunk wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 9:14 pm
Damunk wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 8:22 pm Anyone know why Ndah is not in the squad?
Your last sentence is puzzling lol, he played like 15 or so minutes all tournament…Balogun is back along with Bassey’s inclusion, I don’t see the need for Ndah…
The coach apparently does. I just found it funny that 15 mins in a dead rubber game all tournament could be termed as having a fairly good tournament that’s all.
I didn’t realise it was just 15 mins.
The little I saw (which must have been the same 15 mins), he was quite impressive.
The shrining must have fooled me into believing he had much more playing time.
He had a whole thread started and dedicated to him that ran into a few pages.

It's a 15min marketing project.
The 'project' is done and we move on.

Up Naija!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Mon Mar 07, 2022 6:31 pm
The little I saw (which must have been the same 15 mins), he was quite impressive.

Up Naija!
Same way, Rohr marketed Brian Idowu in the WC.....

fabio wrote: Mon Mar 07, 2022 7:24 pm
txj wrote: Mon Mar 07, 2022 6:31 pm

Up Naija!
Same way, Rohr marketed Brian Idowu in the WC.....
I made a comment on a whatsapp forum about something I saw at the WC in Russia about Brian and Rohr and I was immediately called out and corrected by his Dad on what truly transpired. In that same vein, I am cautioning you to refrain from inferring anything malicious occurred about his transfer. It was very much above water.

I'm still trying to wrap my head around Onazis' invitation, it's nothing short of bizarre

We'll have to see about that, bare in mind he only just joined the club about a month ago and is still acclimatizing to Denmark but the time one could spend securing his spot in the first team, would be used for two matches he has very little chances of playing. They even have him playing for their U19's. Personally I just think he has more to lose from this ordeal.

Ugbowo wrote: Mon Mar 07, 2022 7:51 pm I made a comment on a whatsapp forum about something I saw at the WC in Russia about Brian and Rohr and I was immediately called out and corrected by his Dad on what truly transpired. In that same vein, I am cautioning you to refrain from inferring anything malicious occurred about his transfer. It was very much above water.
I don't understand, what you mean by.....It was very much above water.

Am sorry, I was only using txj's 'marketing project' logic.

Thanks for the caution. I have not said or implied anything malicious. Just used txj logic!

Sunset wrote: Mon Mar 07, 2022 8:11 pm

We'll have to see about that, bare in mind he only just joined the club about a month ago and is still acclimatizing to Denmark but the time one could spend securing his spot in the first team, would be used for two matches he has very little chances of playing. They even have him playing for their U19's. Personally I just think he has more to lose from this ordeal.
Which ordeal? At 19 Amoo has just enough time and his trajectory can only get better, we can argue his invitation to the NT was rather premature but he's not the only youngster who was invited to play for his national team, in fact if he impresses with the NT and in subsequent games, his stock will go even higher.

Tobi17 wrote: Mon Mar 07, 2022 8:15 pm
Sunset wrote: Mon Mar 07, 2022 8:11 pm

Which ordeal? At 19 Amoo has just enough time and his trajectory can only get better, we can argue his invitation to the NT was rather premature but he's not the only youngster who was invited to play for his national team, in fact if he impresses with the NT and in subsequent games, his stock will go even higher.
It's easy to say that but you can look at a similar example in Samson Tijani last season who got called up a couple of times by Rohr, managing a total of 5 minutes with the SE and when he returned to his club lost his place in their starting XI, he's only just finding his feet again after spending some time with the reserves. Yeah doing well with the NT is good, but I you're not doing the biz at your club, you stock won't increase.