Interview With Dr Terry Eguaoje
Germany is known for their organisation and efficiency, Spain is known for Tikitaka, The Netherlands is known for total football, Italy is known for its defensive efficiency. What is Nigeria known for? Listen to Terry Eguaoje assistant coach to the Nigeria Super Eagles and technical consultant to The Nigeria Football Federation as he discussed fashioning the "Nigerian football philosophy". Listen to Sport Africana TV on Apple, Spotify TuneIn, amazon and other podcast directories.
https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/f ... 0552960118
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Re: Interview With Dr Terry Eguaoje
Naijaria does have a football philosophy...amoky wrote: ↑Sat Mar 05, 2022 9:09 am Germany is known for their organisation and efficiency, Spain is known for Tikitaka, The Netherlands is known for total football, Italy is known for its defensive efficiency. What is Nigeria known for? Listen to Terry Eguaoje assistant coach to the Nigeria Super Eagles and technical consultant to The Nigeria Football Federation as he discussed fashioning the "Nigerian football philosophy". Listen to Sport Africana TV on Apple, Spotify TuneIn, amazon and other podcast directories.
Even those who deny that we don't have a philosophy could attest that upon seeing our display against Egypt at the just concluded AFCON, identified with the brand of football we played.
I think Prof. Enugu-II can elaborate on when the transformation started... from the kick-and-follow old British style to the Jugo Bonito of Monday Sinclair to Chris Udumezue, James Peters, Amodu Shuaibu, Willy Bazuaye, Tunde Disu, Fanny Amun, Kashimawo Laloko, Paul Hamilton, Sebastian Brodericks, etc...
Our style is pace on the flanks , quick counter and midfield possession
Cellular wrote: ↑Sat Mar 05, 2022 2:54 pmNaijaria does have a football philosophy...amoky wrote: ↑Sat Mar 05, 2022 9:09 am Germany is known for their organisation and efficiency, Spain is known for Tikitaka, The Netherlands is known for total football, Italy is known for its defensive efficiency. What is Nigeria known for? Listen to Terry Eguaoje assistant coach to the Nigeria Super Eagles and technical consultant to The Nigeria Football Federation as he discussed fashioning the "Nigerian football philosophy". Listen to Sport Africana TV on Apple, Spotify TuneIn, amazon and other podcast directories.
Even those who deny that we don't have a philosophy could attest that upon seeing our display against Egypt at the just concluded AFCON, identified with the brand of football we played.
I think Prof. Enugu-II can elaborate on when the transformation started... from the kick-and-follow old British style to the Jugo Bonito of Monday Sinclair to Chris Udumezue, James Peters, Amodu Shuaibu, Willy Bazuaye, Tunde Disu, Fanny Amun, Kashimawo Laloko, Paul Hamilton, Sebastian Brodericks, etc...
I don’t know that we do, especially if one subjects it to proper examination.
We have no functioning league. We don’t have professional coaches developing their craft in the lab that is the league. Players are not being developed in a systematic way….
Merely getting the ball and running at the opponent is not a definition of philosophy.
In any case that is hardly an issue of any significance.
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
The truth is that all teams, particularly when duly organized and coached, everywhere have a philosophy of how the game should be played. Philosophy is no more than simply have a basic conviction of how best to play the game. Most Nigerian teams have this, whether it is playing long balls or playing via the wings, they all constitute a philosophy of how the game should be played.txj wrote: ↑Sat Mar 05, 2022 3:48 pmCellular wrote: ↑Sat Mar 05, 2022 2:54 pmNaijaria does have a football philosophy...amoky wrote: ↑Sat Mar 05, 2022 9:09 am Germany is known for their organisation and efficiency, Spain is known for Tikitaka, The Netherlands is known for total football, Italy is known for its defensive efficiency. What is Nigeria known for? Listen to Terry Eguaoje assistant coach to the Nigeria Super Eagles and technical consultant to The Nigeria Football Federation as he discussed fashioning the "Nigerian football philosophy". Listen to Sport Africana TV on Apple, Spotify TuneIn, amazon and other podcast directories.
We have no functioning league. We don’t have professional coaches developing their craft in the lab that is the league. Players are not being developed in a systematic way….
Merely getting the ball and running at the opponent is not a definition of philosophy.
However, and in my view, the idea that certain countries or regions have specific philosophy of how the game should be played is frankly like a discourse from the 1960s to early 1970s when the idea of how to play the game was largely regionalized i.e South America, Africa, Europe etc.
That is not longer the case for several reasons. Managers now are global travelers mixing ideas and imposing others. Footballers are now, themselves, global travelers acquiring ideas now only encouraged by the Bosman rule but also by the improved transportation.
What exactly is now the difference between how Brazil plays or European teams play? Very little difference because of this globalization of ideas. That has affected Nigeria as well. With most of our players based in Europe (some born there, bred there, playing there), they have been bred in European ideas of how the game should be played. In my view, the differences now are not apparent in the larger philosophical thinking of the game but the minute issues of strategic/tactical variations within larger philosophical scope.
Although, there are STILL players bred in the streets in Nigeria with a different thinking of the game. Those types of players are either quickly discarded or have those ideas coached out of them to fit the dictates of the European ideas of how the game should be played.
Much more of the above can actually be found in a wide array of readings available, several academic and others general interest.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
The man is a tout. He spent more tine talking about himself than the wheel he's trying to reinvent. Caf, Fifa evrybody likes him and all his degrees. Mscheeew..... he should be a trainer at UI not SE.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.

Thank you Prof.
In your opinion, who was it that introduced the tip-tap pam-pam football to us?
Was it Eto Amaechina or Monday Sinclair?
I vaguely recall one coach going to Brazil and coming back with a variation of the Brazilian Jogo Bonito that was just a beauty to watch. I even remember P&T Vasco Da Gama employing the same style of football to beat Rangers one time during an FA cup.
Enugu II wrote: ↑Sat Mar 05, 2022 4:24 pmThe truth is that all teams, particularly when duly organized and coached, everywhere have a philosophy of how the game should be played. Philosophy is no more than simply have a basic conviction of how best to play the game. Most Nigerian teams have this, whether it is playing long balls or playing via the wings, they all constitute a philosophy of how the game should be played.txj wrote: ↑Sat Mar 05, 2022 3:48 pmCellular wrote: ↑Sat Mar 05, 2022 2:54 pmNaijaria does have a football philosophy...amoky wrote: ↑Sat Mar 05, 2022 9:09 am Germany is known for their organisation and efficiency, Spain is known for Tikitaka, The Netherlands is known for total football, Italy is known for its defensive efficiency. What is Nigeria known for? Listen to Terry Eguaoje assistant coach to the Nigeria Super Eagles and technical consultant to The Nigeria Football Federation as he discussed fashioning the "Nigerian football philosophy". Listen to Sport Africana TV on Apple, Spotify TuneIn, amazon and other podcast directories.
However, and in my view, the idea that certain countries or regions have specific philosophy of how the game should be played is frankly like a discourse from the 1960s to early 1970s when the idea of how to play the game was largely regionalized i.e South America, Africa, Europe etc.
That is not longer the case for several reasons. Managers now are global travelers mixing ideas and imposing others. Footballers are now, themselves, global travelers acquiring ideas now only encouraged by the Bosman rule but also by the improved transportation.
What exactly is now the difference between how Brazil plays or European teams play? Very little difference because of this globalization of ideas. That has affected Nigeria as well. With most of our players based in Europe (some born there, bred there, playing there), they have been bred in European ideas of how the game should be played. In my view, the differences now are not apparent in the larger philosophical thinking of the game but the minute issues of strategic/tactical variations within larger philosophical scope.
Although, there are STILL players bred in the streets in Nigeria with a different thinking of the game. Those types of players are either quickly discarded or have those ideas coached out of them to fit the dictates of the European ideas of how the game should be played.
Much more of the above can actually be found in a wide array of readings available, several academic and others general interest.
Good question. The name of the guy who introduced that brand to Nigeria escapes me at the moment but I'll post it as soon as I recall.
However, it was Brazilian who was hired to coach in the 1960s who changed our style. Eto as a player for Pan Bank in those days played that style. In any case, the change in that style made Nigeria a legitimate competitor against Ghana. Ghana previously dominated us.
Of course, Eto after he retired from football coached that style of football.
However, it was Brazilian who was hired to coach in the 1960s who changed our style. Eto as a player for Pan Bank in those days played that style. In any case, the change in that style made Nigeria a legitimate competitor against Ghana. Ghana previously dominated us.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
If the players, who are to execute the philosophy of the coach, lack discipline and
focus then nothing works. People talk about counter attack while we have players
not controlling the ball or redirecting it quick enough. How successful can a counter
attack be when players like dwelling on the ball?
What makes any football philosophy work is a disciplined and focused group of
players who are in sync with the coaches' agenda.
focus then nothing works. People talk about counter attack while we have players
not controlling the ball or redirecting it quick enough. How successful can a counter
attack be when players like dwelling on the ball?
Oldboy you have given this egomaniac more props than he deserve self... Football is not by degrees or grammar its by work and results.. Stupidity allowed by Nigerians sometimes have no boundary....EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Mar 05, 2022 5:04 pm The man is a tout. He spent more tine talking about himself than the wheel he's trying to reinvent. Caf, Fifa evrybody likes him and all his degrees. Mscheeew..... he should be a trainer at UI not SE.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
Not very successful.joao wrote: ↑Mon Mar 07, 2022 2:44 am If the players, who are to execute the philosophy of the coach, lack discipline and
not controlling the ball or redirecting it quick enough. How successful can a counter attack be when players like dwelling on the ball?
In games we move the ball quickly and not use the slow plodding (Papa Eagles) style, we tend to dominate possession and play well...while winning.
Teams that have successfully forced us to slow our pace and play big man footie will get favorable results against us.
EII. The brazilian coach for Mighty Jets started the short passing game . His name is Coach Pena or Pedro.. not sure. Ismaila Mabo. My towns man Sam Opone era at the Jets. I may be corrected. My friend in Sillicon Valley George Lamptey (Ghana) was there as a player too.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Mar 06, 2022 11:59 pm Good question. The name of the guy who introduced that brand to Nigeria escapes me at the moment but I'll post it as soon as I recall.
I believe the guy's name was Lopes at Mighty Jets. Yes, the Jets played that style with Mabo, Sam Garba, Sule Kekere, Atuegbu brothers, and Olayiwola Olagbenro in those days.Agbako wrote: ↑Thu Mar 10, 2022 11:39 pmEII. The brazilian coach for Mighty Jets started the short passing game . His name is Coach Pena or Pedro.. not sure. Ismaila Mabo. My towns man Sam Opone era at the Jets. I may be corrected. My friend in Sillicon Valley George Lamptey (Ghana) was there as a player too.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Mar 06, 2022 11:59 pm Good question. The name of the guy who introduced that brand to Nigeria escapes me at the moment but I'll post it as soon as I recall.
However, the style preceded that Mighty Jets team. The guy that I was thinking of is Jorge Penna was with the Green Eagles and it was him that introduced the style to Nigeria when he was hired back in 1963!. It is precisely the guy you mentioned above (see bolded within your quote). Penna was hired to replace The Englishman Les Courtier who had been coaching Nigeria since 1956 and Nigeria was basically booting the ball forward and it showed in repeated losses to Ghana (Then Gold Coast). Courtier's replacement for a year was Moshe Beth-Halavi from Israel who lasted barely a year before Penna arrived. In my research, I recall that Penna made mention of Nigeria's great potential if only we focused on keeping possession rather than repeatedly booting the ball back to the opponent. Although Penna's overall record with Nigeria was abysmal (2-3-5/W-T-L), his impact on how Nigeria's plays the game (philosophically) changed forever.