Arthur Okonkwo - Arsenal Goalie

Schillachi
Arthur Okonkwo - Arsenal Goalie

Post by Schillachi »

Don’t know if this has been discussed but Arthur Okonkwo is the Arsenal U-23 goalie and he was the reserve goalie for Arsenal today.

Why is Nigeria not aggressively going after this guy? Or are we?
NIGERIAN BADBOY!
Re: Arthur Okonkwo - Arsenal Goalie

He's a very good young goalie but unfortunately most of these innit kids prefer to play for England. If he progresses to Arsenal No 1 he'll definitely be called by England. However, if he ends up at Leeds or Watford he'll be looking to Nigeria for an international career. I wish him luck.

Now is the time to pursue him.

olu wrote: Sun Mar 20, 2022 1:51 am Now is the time to pursue him.
Rohr tried but he wasn't interested. Innit?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Mar 20, 2022 1:59 am
olu wrote: Sun Mar 20, 2022 1:51 am Now is the time to pursue him.
Rohr tried but he wasn't interested. Innit?
I believe he has been sounded out in the past, but again, he is at that age where he’d prefer to “leave all his options open”.

Na Wa ooo. Chasing the foreigner.

highbury wrote: Sun Mar 20, 2022 7:48 am Na Wa ooo. Chasing the foreigner.
Ironic given your username is highbury.

The YeyeMan wrote: Sun Mar 20, 2022 1:00 pm

Why don't we discuss his performance, how good is he?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

gochino wrote: Sun Mar 20, 2022 3:30 pm Why don't we discuss his performance, how good is he?
He's actually a top prospect for Arsenal and Englamd, calm and commanding between the posts. At just 20yrs old he's already in the air squad, if he lives up to potential then him and Ramsdale will.be battling for the England No 1 spot for the next decade plus.
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

How exactly is he a "foreigner"? Both by ancient "Nigerian" traditions (across all the culture groups comprising "Nigeria"), and our "modern" constitution, he is a "Nigerian". Heck, he could run for president.

Meanwhile, there was this European Championships not long ago where it seemed every team there had a Brazilian in its starting eleven .... and last I checked, there is a current USA international whose father is president of Liberia.

I don't know how good Okonkwo is, but if he is good enough for the Eagles (now or in the future), there is no shame in talking to him. In the goalkeeper position, it is difficult to dislodge someone once they've been designated the #1 by a manager (with the backing of media and fans). He could choose England and be their #1 .... or could spend a career cap-tied on the England bench as #2 or #3, or even off the team. It may not be as simple a choice as it might seem.
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

aruako1 wrote: Sun Mar 20, 2022 1:19 pm