Ghana 0 vs Nigeria 0 FT WCQ '22 qualifier 1st Leg

Sota
Re: Ghana 0 vs Nigeria 0 WCQ '22 qualifier 1st Leg

Post by Sota »

green4life wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:26 pm Not the worst result. Hopefully with the better Dangote pitch in Abuja, we finish them off.

...hmmm. Some of us were inside National Stadium in 1977 - all this last minute gamble ball is somehow o. Ehehn.
Re: Ghana 0 vs Nigeria 0 FT WCQ '22 qualifier 1st Leg

Enyi wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:35 pm taking off Aribo was criminal....
How so?

Dude like Iheanacho went missing... and he was easily bullied off the ball.

deanotito wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:31 pm I don't want to overreact. On paper, it was a good result. But Egu flipping lost it on the subs. Almost all of the substitutions were bad.

There is no way that in such a crucial match, you throw on Lookman, Dennis and Bassey. Its borderline sabotage to be blooding them in such a game.
And they were all useless lol, only Etebo and Onyeka showed their quality.

txj wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:24 pm brilliant play by Onyeka
It was a fluke. He sucks...and you can prove it by what he did with the resulting through ball. The ball was supposed to be on the ground, but because he doesn't have good ball control, he lifted it and it got intercepted.

He's an anywhere bele face player

The YeyeMan wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:33 pm
bushboy wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:32 pm
Otitokoro wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:29 pm This is the worst result to have in this game, especially since its a home and home series.
Should the Ghanaians score in Abuja (which I suspect they might), the SE will need two goals to overcome that one goal.
We could be in trouble here.
They couldn't score at HOME with a packed stadium behind them, but we are the ones in trouble? Chei! Nigerians sha!!
Most people know 0-0 is not a great result for the away team in the first leg.
Yep. Those guys were playing as if it's a foregone conclusion that we win at home. The priority should have been to score, more so than keeping Ghana from scoring.

Cellular wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:36 pm
How so?

Hmm watch game again, they tried to bully him but they weren’t succeeding…

Otitokoro wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:29 pm This is the worst result to have in this game, especially since its a home and home series.
Should the Ghanaians score in Abuja (which I suspect they might), the SE will need two goals to overcome that one goal.
They couldn't score at HOME with a packed stadium behind them, but we are the ones in trouble? Chei! Nigerians sha!!

Enyi wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:32 pm Onyeka come on and stabilised the midfield and Etebo did his thing.... so why cant Egu see that a midfield base of Bonke and Onyeka is the way to go

In ABUJA....
Same back 5

Onyeka...Bonke/Etebo
Aribo
Dennis Osimhen Lookman/Moses
Hopefully he will see it...

I will like to see Dennis start ahead of Chukwueze.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:35 pm
bushboy wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:27 pm No way Kelechi starts the second leg. He has done NOTHING to earn a starting shirt.
You must have been watching the game blindfolded. The only decent chance we had was created by Iheanacho and what should have been a sure goal was fluffed by Simon.

While I wouldn’t say Nacho was great today, he was linking up very well and setting up different players. Our penchant for holding on to the ball too long didn’t help our cause❗️

Dont think any of the players played badly apart from Moses....

The coach though was piss poor......down to the Nigerian journalists to hold him accountable

Cellular wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:35 pm Random musings...

I liked the assured goalkeeping from Uzoho.

I didn't like the referee as he allowed the Ghanaians to kick at will.

I would have had another midfielder instead of Iheanacho who offered nothing.

I don't believe any of our attempted one-on-one dribbles down the flanks worked.

I liked the shift that Bassey put in when he came in...

Also loved how the introduction of Etebo changed us being overrun in midfield... Would play him an Bonke and move Aribo to Iheanacho's position.

Also was surprised how easily Aribo was being bullied off the ball.
Can't argue with any of the above but Eguavoen will play 4-4-2 and Kelechi will start in Abuja

maceo4 wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:36 pm
deanotito wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:31 pm I don't want to overreact. On paper, it was a good result. But Egu flipping lost it on the subs. Almost all of the substitutions were bad.

There is no way that in such a crucial match, you throw on Lookman, Dennis and Bassey. Its borderline sabotage to be blooding them in such a game.
And they were all useless lol, only Etebo and Onyeka showed their quality.
This game needed Ighalo and Musa most of all. But you out here throwing on guys who were predictably going to be overwhelmed by it all. And then you leave Iheanacho on ALL GAME??? I mean, what???
sabb

Post by sabb »

oscar52 wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:31 pm It feels good to see a DM open to a pass from the CD. Etebo > Ndidi
bro no be only u see am o, as in that in itself is a revelation
as u can see, Ekong and Balogun were so used to carrying the ball out that they sometimes hesitate to pass to him
that move alone made the final 15 mins effortless and controlled
most of our players just point and direct rather than move into the space
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

You're right.
Meant to say 'one of the worst'...
Schillachi wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:31 pm
A loss will be worse boss.. :lol:

Aribo balled , however Kele and Moses were so disappointing

Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

It is a shame there is no deceptive tactics to send Osimhen the ball so it becomes a chase & foot race against the ir backline; if they can’t move the ball to thread the needle to create chances for him, then such a chase and foul can result in a penalty.

How so?

go watch the game again....Aribo was everywhere until he is taken off and Kele was left on the pitch...Aribo was not bullied even PARTEY had to foul him twice

olumide

Post by olumide »

This attack looks good in spurts, but it is just not very connected. Osimhen is stretching the defense and fighting for every ball, but a lot of it is fruitless. Chukwueze and Simon have the occasional good bit of skill and turn of pace, but it is usually individual. Kelechi plays a few good balls every match, and is the best finisher in the squad, but he is floating in these matches. Meant to be the "link" player, and you see it in flashes, but his teammates don't really look for him in pockets of space, and he has tendency to be clumsy or get bypassed when playing deeper.

This team needs to build some sort of coherent way of attacking, it just seems that most of the goals scored come from random bits of quality from players who are usually more talented than the opposition, rather than any good play. It has been that since the last World Cup.

Ugbowo wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:38 pm

I don't believe any of our attempted one-on-one dribbles down the flanks worked.

Also loved how the introduction of Etebo changed us being overrun in midfield... Would play him an Bonke and move Aribo to Iheanacho's position.

Can't argue with any of the above but Eguavoen will play 4-4-2 and Kelechi will start in Abuja
I'll argue with the Bassey point. Na shift we go chop?? Part of the blessing of being raised in proper european academies is good decision making. You should know when to push the ball and when to pass....Bassey didn't show me he had any of that kinda decision making.

Cellular wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:38 pm
Enyi wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:32 pm Onyeka come on and stabilised the midfield and Etebo did his thing.... so why cant Egu see that a midfield base of Bonke and Onyeka is the way to go

In ABUJA....
Same back 5

Onyeka...Bonke/Etebo
Aribo
Dennis Osimhen Lookman/Moses
Hopefully he will see it...

I will like to see Dennis start ahead of Chukwueze.
I wanna see Etebo personally, was very calming and assured and full of smart pressing like leading to that PK…

How so?

Too many of our players were bullied.
Aribo, Nacho, Chikwueze, Bonke, Aina, Simon (buying himself).... I no just understand.
I'm sure the Ghanaians won 75% of those 50:50 balls.

Who used the adjective, 'great'? And you then proceed to discredit a word you introduced.

SMDH.

Yeyerism being exhibited right there... :oops:

Oga, you don’t know football if you prefer Aribo to Iheanacho. I’d like to see Onyeka play substantial minutes. He worked better with Nacho than Aribo did. Osimhen didn’t show up today. Maybe he’ll be better on Tuesday❗️

Cellular wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:35 pm
bushboy wrote: Fri Mar 25, 2022 10:34 pm I won't lie Iwobi is a bigger miss than Ndidi. Somehow in games like this he shown up.
Nah. Ndidi was. He would have matched their physicality...
..and likeky also cause a clumsy goal/penalty in the tight game.