Ex- Internationals plot NFF takeover.

https://www.completesports.com/exclusiv ... president/

The main problem is that the NFF chair is elected not selected,every state gets a vote through its football association . As a result the chairmanship is "rotated" amongst the so called football geo-political zones like we rotate poverty and misery when choosing the President.

This will be a tough task for the former players but they may be able to succeed if they stick together. However, after seeing how they were bowing for Tinubu they might not necessarily be a better option than the Pinnicks of the world. Goodluck to them!
Re: Ex- Internationals plot NFF takeover.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Apr 20, 2022 10:09 pm https://www.completesports.com/exclusiv ... president/

The main problem is that the NFF chair is elected not selected,every state gets a vote through its football association . As a result the chairmanship is "rotated" amongst the so called football geo-political zones like we rotate poverty and misery when choosing the President.

This will be a tough task for the former players but they may be able to succeed if they stick together. However, after seeing how they were bowing for Tinubu they might not necessarily be a better option than the Pinnicks of the world. Goodluck to them!
Emir,

I have communicated with some of them offline but in my view there is a lot of obsolete thinking. There should be a better vision of a creative type if leadership that is able to seek and sustain private funding. That is central.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Wed Apr 20, 2022 11:57 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Apr 20, 2022 10:09 pm https://www.completesports.com/exclusiv ... president/

Emir,

I have communicated with some of them offline but in my view there is a lot of obsolete thinking. There should be a better vision of a creative type if leadership that is able to seek and sustain private funding. That is central.

I don't see how we get a creative leadership with the kind of process used to elect the chairman. We don't have seasoned football administrators with proven competence and create thinking that can win the election. A lot of the ex-internationals are unemployed pundits who haven't had real jobs in yrs. Pinnick won as Delta state football association chair and a relative of the governor. Besides that the only job in football he ever had was that of an Arsenal supporter.
azuka

Post by azuka »

The ex-internationals are simply not serious but simply doing an old boyish stuff. None of the names listed in that article will cut it. If they mean well for Nigerian Football they look towards someone like Michael Emenalo to tap and ask to come and cotest for the NFA top seat.

azuka wrote: Thu Apr 21, 2022 2:27 am The ex-internationals are simply not serious but simply doing an old boyish stuff. None of the names listed in that article will cut it. If they mean well for Nigerian Football they look towards someone like Michael Emenalo to tap and ask to come and cotest for the NFA top seat.

Thats exactly what i feared. However, Emenalo is the ideal choice but lets face it, taking NFF chair job would be a backward step for him. Dude is a blue chip. Football administrator and we lack the funds to help him succeed. It'll have to be an appointment at the presidential level backed up by Dangote and other looter-naires for him to take the job. Olofinjana .might be an option.
azuka

Post by azuka »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Apr 21, 2022 6:17 am
azuka wrote: Thu Apr 21, 2022 2:27 am The ex-internationals are simply not serious but simply doing an old boyish stuff. None of the names listed in that article will cut it. If they mean well for Nigerian Football they look towards someone like Michael Emenalo to tap and ask to come and cotest for the NFA top seat.

Thats exactly what i feared. However, Emenalo is the ideal choice but lets face it, taking NFF chair job would be a backward step for him. Dude is a blue chip. Football administrator and we lack the funds to help him succeed. It'll have to be an appointment at the presidential level backed up by Dangote and other looter-naires for him to take the job. Olofinjana .might be an option.
Yeah you might have a point there, but you are discountenancing the "pull to go back and serve" the fatherland. Let the ex-internationals reach out to him first and see what he says. We might all be plesantly surprised. And yes Olofinjana is also an option. But same "backward step" also applies to him.

Emir

I like the points that you made. I do not think Emenalo will do well as NFF President. It does not appear that he has the political experience nor the marketing experience thst such a position requires. In my view, we would be successful having a marketer/politically astute administrator head the NFF.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Mutiu Adepoju is qualified to tbe next NFF chairman..

Like with many of our public positions, we need an NFF chairman who is less inclined
about making money for him/herself. Someone that can simply put his/her foot down
about association's rules and regulations.
Unfortunately, most seeking public positions are primarily seeking an avenue
to enrich themselves. Especially those running unsuccessful clubs, but wanting
to run the whole NFF.

Our ex international are all broke azzes! They invested their money in clubs and restaurants, businesses that don't have longevity and high returns, now they are all scrambling to live off their fame. They want to copy Eto'o forgetting that Eto'o invested in Cameroon football while he was at the top.

Emenalo has been unemployed for 4 years. Not sure what you mean by "backward step"

For you to be NFF chairman you must be actively involved in football in Nigeria for latest 3 years.. Emenalo and many others ex Super Eagles working in Europe are not qualified under NFF guidelines for election..

asabatex

Post by asabatex »

The class of 1994 are destroying Nigerian football; they will not stop until there is complete destruction... :(

asabatex wrote: Thu Apr 21, 2022 3:56 pm The class of 1994 are destroying Nigerian football; they will not stop until there is complete destruction... :(
Please explain how?
asabatex

Post by asabatex »

Expect for Keshi...the others have been failure at senior level. Eguaveon, Oliseh and Amunike.
maceo4 wrote: Thu Apr 21, 2022 4:26 pm
asabatex wrote: Thu Apr 21, 2022 3:56 pm The class of 1994 are destroying Nigerian football; they will not stop until there is complete destruction... :(
Please explain how?

For starters, they act like they know everything about football eventhough many of them have not done anything to improve their knowledge of the game since their playing days. They mostly are spectators like Odegbami. Kudos to King Yobo for calling him out for what he is .... a mere spactator.
Please explain how?

Purity wrote: Thu Apr 21, 2022 3:33 pm For you to be NFF chairman you must be actively involved in football in Nigeria for latest 3 years.. Emenalo and many others ex Super Eagles working in Europe are not qualified under NFF guidelines for election..

Sounds reasonable but it's actually a poison pill to keep control in the hands of a few. We have a unique problem in Nigeria ; the incompetence and corruption within the bureaucracy ensures that problems cannot be solved. As a result, even with necessary qualifications the people who run the show do not know how the fact functioning world works..

Problem solving is not a Nigerian trait at all.

1naija wrote: Thu Apr 21, 2022 4:32 pm For starters, they act like they know everything about football eventhough many of them have not done anything to improve their knowledge of the game since their playing days. They mostly are spectators like Odegbami. Kudos to King Yobo for calling him out for what he is .... a mere spactator.
Please explain how?
But they are not in charge of Nigerian football...they can say whatever they want, but its those running our footie that have the capability to improve/destroy Nigerian football...

Enugu II wrote: Thu Apr 21, 2022 12:40 pm

Emir

I like the points that you made. I do not think Emenalo will do well as NFF President. It does not appear that he has the political experience nor the marketing experience thst such a position requires. In my view, we would be successful having a marketer/politically astute administrator head the NFF.
need to take politics out of the NFF....He will market the team better than anyone. Seyi should be the TA.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Apr 21, 2022 4:36 pm
Purity wrote: Thu Apr 21, 2022 3:33 pm For you to be NFF chairman you must be actively involved in football in Nigeria for latest 3 years.. Emenalo and many others ex Super Eagles working in Europe are not qualified under NFF guidelines for election..

Sounds reasonable but it's actually a poison pill to keep control in the hands of a few. We have a unique problem in Nigeria ; the incompetence and corruption within the bureaucracy ensures that problems cannot be solved. As a result, even with necessary qualifications the people who run the show do not know how the fact functioning world works..

Problem solving is not a Nigerian trait at all.
SIMPLE.....Sorry but true

bushboy wrote: Thu Apr 21, 2022 3:07 pm

Emenalo has been unemployed for 4 years. Not sure what you mean by "backward step"
Mike is not unemployed.....he is doing freelance consultancy jobs.... wont say more than that......definitely not unemployed

Mutiu, Amuneke, Eguavoen, Lawal, Ikpeba, Okocha, etc were until a couple of weeks ago in charge of our football, or what do you mean by not in charge?
maceo4 wrote: Thu Apr 21, 2022 5:19 pm
1naija wrote: Thu Apr 21, 2022 4:32 pm For starters, they act like they know everything about football eventhough many of them have not done anything to improve their knowledge of the game since their playing days. They mostly are spectators like Odegbami. Kudos to King Yobo for calling him out for what he is .... a mere spactator.
Please explain how?
But they are not in charge of Nigerian football...they can say whatever they want, but its those running our footie that have the capability to improve/destroy Nigerian football...

...that's a crazy guideline they have there. Why not also institute that to be SE coach, and not go hire a foreigner who have never lived in Nigeria, or know anything about Nigerian league and players.