Tosin Adarabioyo

Damunk, it's time to move on. :D

Re: Tosin Adarabioyo

This is precisely what I have told Damunk. Tosin's views are not isolated. For most of these guys, Nigeria cannot be the first choice and it is perfectly understandable. Thus far, none of the players that has played for Nigeria was ever a prime choice for England. That is not a surprise. Our best bet is to get a player young and commit the player with the hopes that he blossoms after he is fully tied to Nigeria.

Tosin will eventually play for Nigeria given that his rating does not indicate that he will be seriously considered for England.
Last edited by Enugu II on Mon May 02, 2022 4:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Is Tosin a GK? If not abeg make we hear word...

Enugu II wrote: Mon May 02, 2022 2:46 pm This is precisely what I have told Damunk. Tosin's views are not isolated. For most of these guys, Nigeria cannot be the first choice and it is perfectly understandable. Thus far, none of the players that has played for Nigeria was ever a true prime choice for England. That is not a surprise. Our best bet is to get a player young and commit the player with the hopes that he blossoms and is already fully tied to Nigeria.

Tosin will eventually play for Nigeria given that his rating as of now does not indicate that he will be seriously considered for England.
Perhaps. His chances of making the England WC squad are highly remote given the WC is effectively 3-4 months away (May, and August to November). He has never even been called up before.

maceo4 wrote: Mon May 02, 2022 3:38 pm Is Tosin a GK? If not abeg make we hear word...
Nigeria needs good CBs too. It's an area we're lacking.

If only we realize that football is a no guaranty business, then we will not be
running around the world looking for players developed by other football federations.
But then, what's to be expected from a nation that produces crude oil but continue
importing the refined product.
Go figure, guys. :?: :? :sad:

His tone would have been different if we had qualified for the WC. DNQ no good o!

The YeyeMan wrote: Mon May 02, 2022 2:39 pm

Damunk, it's time to move on. :D
Since.
After failing to qualify for Qatar, I've sadly lost all interest - for now - in chasing our top FBs.

People don't understand football is more than just having skills. Does he have the passion and motivation to fight for Nigeria on the field? Better to have talented Players that are "fans" of the super eagles. If he eventually decides to play for us, you would see the lack of motivation in his game. Football and winning is all about the mindset! We need to start building a team made up of fighters that love playing for Nigeria example Osimhen even Dessers will fit into this category. Let's forget these players that need to be begged first.

gochino wrote: Mon May 02, 2022 4:37 pm People don't understand football is more than just having skills. Does he have the passion and motivation to fight for Nigeria on the field? Better to have talented Players that are "fans" of the super eagles. If he eventually decides to play for us, you would see the lack of motivation in his game. Football is played with 90% of the mindset.
Gochino

Do you think those playing for Nigeria now, all considered Nigeria first choice? The answer is no. They choose Nigeria simply because Nigeria provided the gateway for international soccer. It does not mean that they will be less committed.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Mon May 02, 2022 4:47 pm
gochino wrote: Mon May 02, 2022 4:37 pm People don't understand football is more than just having skills. Does he have the passion and motivation to fight for Nigeria on the field? Better to have talented Players that are "fans" of the super eagles. If he eventually decides to play for us, you would see the lack of motivation in his game. Football is played with 90% of the mindset.
Gochino

Do you think those playing for Nigeria now, all considered Nigeria first choice? The answer is no. They choose Nigeria simply because Nigeria provided the gateway for international soccer. It does not mean that they will be less committed.
Iwobi, Ebuehi and Ekong had Nigeria as first choice. The first two were in contention for England and the Netherlands when they chose Nigeria.

aruako1 wrote: Mon May 02, 2022 4:57 pm
Gochino

Iwobi, Ebuehi and Ekong had Nigeria as first choice. The first two were in contention for England and the Netherlands when they chose Nigeria.
Not correct. Iwobi deputed for Nigeria before he even played his first game for Arsenal!!! How then could he have been in contention for the English national team? Ekong was never a major contender for any other national team and neither was Ebuehi before they chose Nigeria. Saka, in reality, could have been the first if he had chosen Nigeria.

Gochino

Well there is a lack of commitment and fighting spirit in this team and that needs to be eradicated. You can’t tell me that a player won't put more effort for his first choice team? The lack of effort could even be subconcious. I am not just referring to the "born abroad" players but also other players in the team, there could be other factors which subliminally affect their motivation and fighting spirit.

Enugu II wrote: Mon May 02, 2022 5:03 pm
Gochino

Not correct. Iwobi deputed for Nigeria before he even played his first game for Arsenal!!! How then could he have been in contention for the English national team? Ekong was never a major contender for any other national team and neither was Ebuehi before they chose Nigeria. Saka, in reality, could have been the first if he had chosen Nigeria.
Iwobi was a prospect for England and I remember there was some pressure before he played his first competitive game. Ebuehi would definitely have been considered by the Netherlands given his Eredivisie performances (the Dutch do not always go for players in big clubs; otherwise Martins-Indi would not have had a career with them)

The YeyeMan wrote: Mon May 02, 2022 3:50 pm
maceo4 wrote: Mon May 02, 2022 3:38 pm Is Tosin a GK? If not abeg make we hear word...
Nigeria needs good CBs too. It's an area we're lacking.
We are not desperate enough in that position to accept such open disrespect…haba

gochino wrote: Mon May 02, 2022 5:23 pm
Gochino

Well there is a lack of commitment and fighting spirit in this team and that needs to be eradicated. You can’t tell me that a player won't put more effort for his first choice team? The lack of effort could even be subconcious. I am not just referring to the "born abroad" players but also other players in the team, there could be other factors which subliminally affect their motivation and fighting spirit.
It might be more so lack of competition than commitment…they know how deep Ingurland is so you better bring it every chance you get else someone else will take your spot…while we are begging them to play with no viable competition to push them…they then get complacent…

The useless boy is not even as good as Awazien, mek e go siddon joor. England ko Egulend ni. Been warning folks about these ijebu boys for a while. Him, Saka and Tomori go never play for us.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon May 02, 2022 6:37 pm The useless boy is not even as good as Awazien, mek e go siddon joor. England ko Egulend ni. Been warning folks about these ijebu boys for a while. Him, Saka and Tomori go never play for us.
They are all opportunistic and will only turn to us once they reach 25+ without getting an Ingurland call...mainly if we qualify for a WC...else they won't likely bother for an ANC.

This dude has been yapping about wanting to play for England for some years now and Southgate still never look your face, like can he just STFU already and stop using Nigeria as his emotional bargain to play for ingerlund? Jeez!
asabatex

Post by asabatex »

Another Shola Ameobi

aruako1 wrote: Mon May 02, 2022 5:25 pm
Enugu II wrote: Mon May 02, 2022 5:03 pm
Gochino

Iwobi was a prospect for England and I remember there was some pressure before he played his first competitive game. Ebuehi would definitely have been considered by the Netherlands given his Eredivisie performances (the Dutch do not always go for players in big clubs; otherwise Martins-Indi would not have had a career with them)
Well done for reminding these people who just follow football on CE. :taunt:

England launch last-gasp Alex Iwobi bid as Arsenal starlet's full Nigeria debut looms
https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football ... 597846.amp

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Iwobis useless self should be thanking us…

gochino wrote: Mon May 02, 2022 5:23 pm
Gochino

Gochino

I will not disagree on that issue but are you now stating that we should ignore these guys because if they are truly good to play for England or think they are, Nigeria will never be their first choice. So should Nigeria ignore them?