Ikwerreman's BOOK: Violence + Other Matters

I do not know if many of you are aware of China Acheru's recent book A Thousand Times on the Same Road. Acheru was known as Ikwerreman on CE and his book is quite interesting with really gripping stories about the NOFL scenes. It is the games but on things around the game. Here are some excerpts for some of you interested in reading some deep stuff about the local league:

He writes about how the team attempted to smuggle two players, without passports and visas, into Egypt for a continental contest. They went through Nigeria immigration but failed in attempt to get into Egypt. The players had to sleep in a holding cell until their docs were straightened out. But guess what? In cell, they met Perumal (The infamous match fixer!! Na real waaoo)

But mote importantly is how area boys terrorized Port Harcourt totting guns freely in the city. It is here, he cites the help of one of the CEs. LOL. Khalela gets a mention as helping him secure security that held these gun totters at bay in a game in Kaduna.

As he (Coach Phillip Boamah) saw the machete descending to his hand, Boamah screamed something incoherent about his left little finger (p. 73).

On p.82 -- 83, Acheru discusses an encounter where a gun man with two pistols stormed the middle of training in PH scattering training and warning the coaches (including the latte Shuaibu Amodu) to ensure that indigenes were on the team.

The thing that stunned me is where was the security during all of this? It just reads like a total breakdown of law and order. It is just incredible to read stuff like this.

.....Still reading.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Ikwerreman's BOOK: Violence + Other Matters

Did he write about his expertise - lesbianism at the super falcons?

Cmoke wrote: Tue May 10, 2022 4:19 am Did he write about his expertise - lesbianism at the super falcons?

LOL. I have not finished reading yet.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

He was my guest live on Rstv in port Harcourt..Enjoy:

More:

The stories in the book are mind-boggling. Just unbelievable. How is it that such lawlessness was tolerated in PH?

Npfl is a reflection of Nigeria. Raw talents now cash.. players have to stuggle for almost everything..

I have a copy too.. very good book.

Enugu abeg check your DM..