WAFU B U20 FINAL: NIGERIA 3 v BENIN REP 1 (88')

Re: WAFU B U20 FINAL: NIGERIA 3 v BENIN REP 1 (88')

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sun May 22, 2022 10:30 pm
jette1 wrote: Sun May 22, 2022 9:12 pm We say the same things we said 20 years ago about our lack patience, judgement & spatial utilization etc etc
And we have more academies in Nigeria than ever before with kids enrolled from as young as age 8 yet we still display this type of chaotic unmeasured style of play. We get away with this in Africa until we meet likes of France and even US who will waste no time exploiting our madness
Exactly how many times has France and the US exploited our “madness”? The last time I checked,
Nigeria was still the winningest team in the whole world at the U17 level❗️

Maybe you need reminding that though world football competition starts at the U-17 level,
it does not end there. Which is why we have struggled at the higher levels most of the time.
If you check with the records, most successful U-17 players are nowhere seen at the
top levels. Thus the argument is to inculcate team discipline in the youth players, to
help them learn adhering to team requirements for prosecuting of on-field agenda at
the next level. Furthermore, the game is beyond mere talent as our SE found out against
Denmark at France '98.

jette1 wrote: Sun May 22, 2022 9:12 pmWe say the same things we said 20 years ago about our lack patience, judgement & spatial utilization etc etc
And we have more academies in Nigeria than ever before with kids enrolled from as young as age 8 yet we still display this type of chaotic unmeasured style of play. We get away with this in Africa until we meet likes of France and even US who will waste no time exploiting our madness
So, despite almost half of our senior team starters (five starters in our last game) being born "in the abroad" and having that much-vaunted "football education" at European academies and clubs, plus being coached by Oyinbo coach for 5 years (the longest tenure in recent memory), who also had his "football education" and playing/coaching career in the abroad, we still supposedly "lack patience, judgment & spatial utilization, etc., etc."?! The mis-education of the colonized African! SMH

Meanwhile, every week we sit down to witness and suffer the singular misfortune of EPL players at clubs like Burnley, Norwich City, Brentford, Newcastle Utd, even Everton, etc., (as well as every other club in the EFL Championship and below), who received that much-touted "football education" at academies in the abroad (many from as young as 8 years old), struggle to trap a ball or complete a pass, much less display any particular "patience, judgment & spatial utilization". SMDH

joao wrote: Mon May 23, 2022 1:52 amMaybe you need reminding that though world football competition starts at the U-17 level,
it does not end there. Which is why we have struggled at the higher levels most of the time.
If you check with the records, most successful U-17 players are nowhere seen at the
top levels. Thus the argument is to inculcate team discipline in the youth players, to
help them learn adhering to team requirements for prosecuting of on-field agenda at
the next level.
Furthermore, the game is beyond mere talent as our SE found out against
Denmark at France '98.
Exactly! Wish we had players "inculcated" with these traits abroad, like Ekong, Balogun, Aina, Iwobi, Maja, etc...oh wait! :oops:

lacidi

Post by lacidi »

So none wants to discuss the fact that Benin was robbed in that match? Hmm okayoo
Its nice when someone shoots ur murderer in the back, without asking to be paid.

lacidi wrote: Mon May 23, 2022 2:35 pm So none wants to discuss the fact that Benin was robbed in that match? Hmm okayoo
How? If you feel they were robbed then persuade us on that point.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

joao wrote: Sun May 22, 2022 8:41 pm I did not intend to be negative, but to express what I saw lacking in the team tactically.
In today's world game, it is the so-called little things that separate winners and losers.
Again, I see a team that is mentally strong but not tactically so. Maybe it is the fact that
the players have not been together for long, but I still believe there has to be a coordinated
approach with regards to the team's prosecutions on the field during a match. Yes, we overcame
the oppositions, but 'tactical team discipline' is not what pulled us through. And that is what
I believe needs to be taken seriously going forward.
Personally I think their issues are more on their technical quality than anything in the final third, but even that improved the further they went in the tournament, but still needs a lot of work. Of all the players the only ones that really caught my attention in that aspect were Oyedele (LB), Aminu (CM), and Lawal (CM), while Oyedele's was the most consistent, the other two showed flashes.

The defense in particular was very no-nonsense the majority of the time which is a trait of a team that's tactically disciplined as our GK was rarely called to make difficult saves, by the time they reached him the angle was tight. I still think with more time and on a better pitch they'll perform better, plus lets not forget how tough the WAFU region is, this tournament if expanded could arguably be tougher than the AFCON itself.

joao wrote: Mon May 23, 2022 1:52 am
jette1 wrote: Sun May 22, 2022 9:12 pm We say the same things we said 20 years ago about our lack patience, judgement & spatial utilization etc etc
Exactly how many times has France and the US exploited our “madness”? The last time I checked,
Nigeria was still the winningest team in the whole world at the U17 level❗️

Maybe you need reminding that though world football competition starts at the U-17 level,
the next level. Furthermore, the game is beyond mere talent as our SE found out against
Denmark at France '98.
Suffice it to say that if your reference is to France ‘98 then you don’t know what you’re talking about❗️

jette1 wrote: Sun May 22, 2022 10:57 pm
Exactly how many times has France and the US exploited our “madness”? The last time I checked, Nigeria was still the winningest team in the whole world at the U17 level❗️

Look at you and your silliness. You are showing the video of an u17 cup final in lieu of answering my question. So in spite of our madness, no team could exploit us enough to stop us from getting all the way to the final.

Is this the only time France has played Nigeria at u17? What happened the other times we played France at u17? Stop trying to outsmart yourself and answer the questions truthfully❗️

Best Naija goals compilation…

Uncle Gotti, do you have videos of saves by Nwosu in the tournament?

Gotti wrote: Tue May 24, 2022 5:40 pm Best Naija goals compilation…

Nice to see some accurate long-distance shooting for a change

Damunk wrote: Tue May 24, 2022 6:55 pm Nice to see some accurate long-distance shooting for a change
:rotf: ol boy, I was happy with the results and some good play. The team has room for improvement especially in confidently holding on to the ball for extended build ups. But the fact remains that it was good to see some team quality in such a short period. I just hope that when the World Cup comes around you do not see stragglers and opportunists claim they can get better players from Europe. All that will simply put this team back.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Damunk wrote: Tue May 24, 2022 6:55 pm Nice to see some accurate long-distance shooting for a change
I hope that isn’t one hit wonder

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

jette1 wrote: Tue May 24, 2022 11:53 pm
He scored a similar goal in his last NPFL game before joining the U20 camp
[tweet][/tweet]

jette1 wrote: Tue May 24, 2022 11:53 pm
You mean like Onuachu’s SE debut goal? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

No. There were at least two good long range goals in that video alone.
I watch ordinary players in EPL games most weeks and often wonder whether there is something about our own players that makes accurate long range shooting the exception rather than the norm.

Someone said it might be how we grow up playing ‘set’ with ‘monkey posts’ - ie no goalposts, no crossbar.
Interesting theory though.

Team of the Tournament (3 FE players)...

Gotti wrote: Mon May 23, 2022 3:30 am
jette1 wrote: Sun May 22, 2022 9:12 pmWe say the same things we said 20 years ago about our lack patience, judgement & spatial utilization etc etc
So, despite almost half of our senior team starters (five starters in our last game) being born "in the abroad" and having that much-vaunted "football education" at European academies and clubs, plus being coached by Oyinbo coach for 5 years (the longest tenure in recent memory), who also had his "football education" and playing/coaching career in the abroad, we still supposedly "lack patience, judgment & spatial utilization, etc., etc."?! The mis-education of the colonized African! SMH

Meanwhile, every week we sit down to witness and suffer the singular misfortune of EPL players at clubs like Burnley, Norwich City, Brentford, Newcastle Utd, even Everton, etc., (as well as every other club in the EFL Championship and below), who received that much-touted "football education" at academies in the abroad (many from as young as 8 years old), struggle to trap a ball or complete a pass, much less display any particular "patience, judgment & spatial utilization". SMDH

We do have our own internal problem of developing talent, and the standards, as in pretty much every facet of Nigerian life, is not just falling, but in free fall....

It has zero to do with foreign coaches or the EPL.

These kind of false equivalencies will not successfully wish away the problem.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Thu May 26, 2022 11:07 pmWe do have our own internal problem of developing talent, and the standards, as in pretty much every facet of Nigerian life, is not just falling, but in free fall....

Exactly! That's why our home-based musicians are thriving across the globe and even winning Grammies...
Or why we're the tech innovation hub of Africa, and our designers are featured in runways across the globe, etc.,etc. :lol:

Meanwhile, you did everything but address the issue at hand. If indeed we are saying "the same things we said 20 years ago about our lack patience, judgement & spatial utilization etc etc", despite half of our starters not products of Nigerian academies, then the issue is most certainly NOT a local Nigerian problem. Enough with the INFERIORITY COMPLEX!

Gotti wrote: Sun May 29, 2022 4:44 am
txj wrote: Thu May 26, 2022 11:07 pmWe do have our own internal problem of developing talent, and the standards, as in pretty much every facet of Nigerian life, is not just falling, but in free fall....

Exactly! That's why our home-based musicians are thriving across the globe and even winning Grammies...
Or why we're the tech innovation hub of Africa, and our designers are featured in runways across the globe, etc.,etc. :lol:

Meanwhile, you did everything but address the issue at hand. If indeed we are saying "the same things we said 20 years ago about our lack patience, judgement & spatial utilization etc etc", despite half of our starters not products of Nigerian academies, then the issue is most certainly NOT a local Nigerian problem. Enough with the INFERIORITY COMPLEX!

Those are individual achievements that speak to our reservoir of talent. Nigeria is in free fall...Anything or sector that requires systematic planning is in dysfunction.

In football developing the talent is more systemic. The reference to dual nationality Nigerians is another one of those false equivalents.

Look at the players coming out of our domestic game. Look at the quality. Then compare to 25yrs ago.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Sun May 29, 2022 6:09 pmThose are individual achievements that speak to our reservoir of talent. Nigeria is in free fall...Anything or sector that requires systematic planning is in dysfunction.

In football developing the talent is more systemic. The reference to dual nationality Nigerians is another one of those false equivalents.

Look at the players coming out of our domestic game. Look at the quality. Then compare to 25yrs ago.
"Individual" right...
Perhaps the shortcomings are also individual failures! :lol:

Individuals exist within a milieu...
To think that what individuals achieve has no nexus with the ecosystem betrays a basic misapprehension.

Meanwhile, how does the reference to "dual nationality Nigerians" (your term) amount to a false equivalency...
If home-based, home-bred, foreign-bred and foreign-based players ALL display the same shortcomings, how is it localized?

PS: It seems you stumbled upon the phrase "false equivalents" recently but you are sorely MISAPPLYING the term here - or perhaps you simply do not understand the discussion at all.

Gotti wrote: Mon May 30, 2022 12:11 am
txj wrote: Sun May 29, 2022 6:09 pmThose are individual achievements that speak to our reservoir of talent. Nigeria is in free fall...Anything or sector that requires systematic planning is in dysfunction.

"Individual" right...
Perhaps the shortcomings are also individual failures! :lol:

Individuals exist within a milieu...
To think that what individuals achieve has no nexus with the ecosystem betrays a basic misapprehension.

Meanwhile, how does the reference to "dual nationality Nigerians" (your term) amount to a false equivalency...
If home-based, home-bred, foreign-bred and foreign-based players ALL display the same shortcomings, how is it localized?

PS: It seems you stumbled upon the phrase "false equivalents" recently but you are sorely MISAPPLYING the term here - or perhaps you simply do not understand the discussion at all.

Yes individual can succeed in a dysfunctional setup.

Nigeria betrays every possible indices of a failed state. Some of us have been rationalizing this since that couple broadcast of 66...

But it doesn't and can't change the reality on the ground. Misapplication of the performance of dual nationals, or the failures of some English academies cannot be a basis for rationalizing clear failures of our domestic football.