Destiny Udogie - Udinese’s Teenage Wingback

Re: Destiny Udogie - Udinese’s Teenage Wingback

joao wrote: Mon Jan 23, 2023 6:03 pm We are a shameless lot for begging players to play for the SE.
After all these years and all the snobs, we still do not have the sense or pride to develop
our talents and mold them to fit our purpose. Instead we go begging for talents developed
by other nations, and worse still rubbish their commitment when our corrupt system aids the
teams' effort.

We need to stop this shameful begging of foreign players, and instead start letting
them apply to play for our teams, and then pick which ones fit our needs.
The problem, joao, is you consider inviting an eligible player born overseas to play for the Nigeria national team to be "begging".

The other problem is see you this as an "either/or" situation. For you, Nigeria should not approach players born overseas but should "develop its own talents". Any national football association will be invested in developing talent inside its borders AND scouting players from outside who are good enough to make the grade.

Do you think Spain "begged" Thiago to play for them? Portugal "begged" Pepe? Ivory Coast begged Zaha?

But who knows? Maybe you're right. Maybe Pinnick's approach is to go on his hands and knees and beg players; but for most people it'll be a conversation. A conversation where one sells the benefits of playing for Nigeria. There is no begging.

The YeyeMan wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 2:50 am
joao wrote: Mon Jan 23, 2023 6:03 pm We are a shameless lot for begging players to play for the SE.
After all these years and all the snobs, we still do not have the sense or pride to develop
our talents and mold them to fit our purpose. Instead we go begging for talents developed
by other nations, and worse still rubbish their commitment when our corrupt system aids the
teams' effort.

We need to stop this shameful begging of foreign players, and instead start letting
The problem, joao, is you consider inviting an eligible player born overseas to play for the Nigeria national team to be "begging".

The other problem is see you this as an "either/or" situation. For you, Nigeria should not approach players born overseas but should "develop its own talents". Any national football association will be invested in developing talent inside its borders AND scouting players from outside who are good enough to make the grade.

Do you think Spain "begged" Thiago to play for them? Portugal "begged" Pepe? Ivory Coast begged Zaha?

But who knows? Maybe you're right. Maybe Pinnick's approach is to go on his hands and knees and beg players; but for most people it'll be a conversation. A conversation where one sells the benefits of playing for Nigeria. There is no begging.
Kpom.
Joao’s thinking is outdated and has no place in the modern game.
You go where the best eligible talent is available.

If France can field an African team and strut around for four years as World Champions no shaking, then Nigeria would be ten times foolish not to engage in a tug of war to grab its own eligible players, all because they were born and live abroad.
Nobody is going to clap for us for our ‘honourable’ and ‘principled’ stance of fielding only or mostly players developed in Nigeria.

I don’t see the USA, Canada, the UK or any European country apologising for aggressively hoovering up African talent to service their healthcare, engineering and IT sectors, or academia. Nigeria paid for my education. The UK is milking it, no apologies.
Meanwhile we are still here feeling guilty for going after genuine Nigerians born abroad to play a game called football.

We can keep our ‘principled stance’ - while the smart ones keep the World Cup or even AFCON.
Nobody send.

Yorubas would say “Mr Honourable, o ku ‘fè̩” . :roll:

Damunk wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 5:41 am
teams' effort.

Kpom.

If France can field an African team and strut around for four years as World Champions no shaking, then Nigeria would be ten times foolish not to engage in a tug of war to grab its own eligible players, all because they were born and live abroad.
Nobody is going to clap for us for our ‘honourable’ and ‘principled’ stance of fielding only or mostly players developed in Nigeria.

I don’t see the USA, Canada, the UK or any European country apologising for aggressively hoovering up African talent to service their healthcare, engineering and IT sectors, or academia. Nigeria paid for my education. The UK is milking it, no apologies.
Meanwhile we are still here feeling guilty for going after genuine Nigerians born abroad to play a game called football.

We can keep our ‘principled stance’ - while the smart ones keep the World Cup or even AFCON.
Nobody send.

Bros, what we are doing is very different from France - who developed those so called African players…but I agree this has to be a focus of ours, but not at the detriment of developing our local talent. We should be able to walk and chew gum lol

Wouldn’t mind him on the left side of a 442 MF or as a wingback if he wants to play for us but it seems he’s more Italian.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 9:36 pm Wouldn’t mind him on the left side of a 442 MF or as a wingback if he wants to play for us but it seems he’s more Italian.
He's rightly rated in Italy as one of their top prospects so we have a slim chance of getting him if any, I think we should go for Caleb Okoli...still rough around the edges but will come good as a decent CB.

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 9:52 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 9:36 pm Wouldn’t mind him on the left side of a 442 MF or as a wingback if he wants to play for us but it seems he’s more Italian.
He's rightly rated in Italy as one of their top prospects so we have a slim chance of getting him if any, I think we should go for Caleb Okoli...still rough around the edges but will come good as a decent CB.
Yup. Just watched some clips of him. Dude is a major major talent in that left side. I don't see us landing such a talent from the Italians. If they slip up and we get him. We don hammer be dat.

maceo4 wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 1:37 pm
teams' effort.

Kpom.

Nobody send.

Bros, what we are doing is very different from France - who developed those so called African players…but I agree this has to be a focus of ours, but not at the detriment of developing our local talent. We should be able to walk and chew gum lol
Exactly what we have been saying all along. Nobody is suggesting the local talent should be ignored.
But if the guy chewing gum get K-leg, should he now stop chewing gum?
Or if the gum turns sour, should he now stop walking? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

That's what the local player advocates seem to be suggesting by labelling the FBs "useless" and "rejects".
They've said same about Saka, Tammy, Tomori, Adarabioyo and all those other Nigerians biding their time, weighing their options.
Foolish pride.

Damunk wrote: Wed Jan 25, 2023 4:00 pm
maceo4 wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 1:37 pm
teams' effort.

Kpom.

Nobody send.

Exactly what we have been saying all along. Nobody is suggesting the local talent should be ignored.
But if the guy chewing gum get K-leg, should he now stop chewing gum?
Or if the gum turns sour, should he now stop walking? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

That's what the local player advocates seem to be suggesting by labelling the FBs "useless" and "rejects".
They've said same about Saka, Tammy, Tomori, Adarabioyo and all those other Nigerians biding their time, weighing their options.
Foolish pride.
Foolish pride indeed, we definitely need them esp if they can give us something better than the ones we developed. But if they are equally as useful I would give preferential treatment to the ones we developed. It’s just finding that right blend that seems to be tough.

maceo4 wrote: Wed Jan 25, 2023 6:52 pm Foolish pride indeed, we definitely need them esp if they can give us something better than the ones we developed. But if they are equally as useful I would give preferential treatment to the ones we developed. It’s just finding that right blend that seems to be tough.
Exactly. No argument there.
We are looking at players also coveted by other top nations, not just anybody, which says a lot.

People forget that there are hundreds of foreign-born, Nigeria-eligible players on show around Europe but they are not getting any calls becos they are not good enough.
We’ve seen some of them even lobbying sef - players like Akpom and Iorfa.
Others like Tella and Adarabioyo have to convince they are better than what we already have.

Ozonwafor for instance would be a shoo-in before Adarabioyo if they were performing at the same level but so far Ozone doesn’t seem to be doing anything special even in a lower ranked league.
Ndah on the other hand is creating headlines so he is moving up.

People better start getting used to more Nigerians in the diaspora playing for our national teams.

And this is no excuse to not develop the game back home - players, coaches and as a business.

Back to my original point, Nigerian men have been all over the globe... :lol:

The YeyeMan wrote: Sun Jan 29, 2023 1:10 am People better start getting used to more Nigerians in the diaspora playing for our national teams.

And this is no excuse to not develop the game back home - players, coaches and as a business.

Back to my original point, Nigerian men have been all over the globe... :lol:

At this point, we will soon start seeing Naija kids born in Iraq, Faro Island and Afghanistan etc popping up soon :thumbs:

Sunset wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 11:00 pm
Udogie draws the Italy of 2026: "Behind Okoli and Scalvini, in attack Raspadori and Scamacca"
https://www.tuttomercatoweb.com/serie-a ... ca-1768936
Udogie draws the Italy of 2026: "Behind Okoli and Scalvini, in attack Raspadori and Scamacca"TUTTOmercatoWEB.com
SATURDAY 17 DECEMBER 2022, 10:56 AM SERIE A
by IVAN CARDIA @IVANFCARDIA

We are not in Qatar, but in 2026 Italy cannot miss the appointment with the World Cup. And Destiny Udogie , the Udinese fullback who will play for Tottenham from next season, tries to draw "his of hers" Italy at SportWeek . The formation is a 3-5-2: "In goal there is no story, Donnarumma. In defense: Bastoni, Okoli and Scalvini. In midfield we play Tonali with Barella and one of Frattesi or Pellegrini, plus the second. Right winger Bellanova On the left? Me, or Dimarco who is doing very well. In front of Scamacca and Raspadori".
Both him and Okoli start for Italy's U21's in their game against a French side that has Olise on the bench

And he sells match :oops:

Damunk wrote: Mon May 23, 2022 5:47 pm
The YeyeMan wrote: Mon May 23, 2022 5:35 pm
Destiny Udogie: Udinese’s Teenage Wingback
May 22, 2022 Player Analysis | Breaking The Lines

Iyenoma Destiny Udogie, better known as Destiny Udogie, has been one of the revelations of the 2021/22 Serie A, producing more than his fair share of impressive performances on the left flank for Udinese.

Born on November 28, 2002 to Nigerian parents in Verona, Italy, he came through the youth academy at Hellas Verona and featured in the senior squad for six Serie A matches in the 2020/21 campaign.

Udinese saw potential in the defender and signed him in July 2021 on a loan deal with an obligation to be bought outright from the Veronese side for €4 million.

Under both Luca Gotti and his successor Gabriele Cioffi, Udogie has operated as a left wing-back in the 3-5-2 formation and his role with the Zebrette has allowed him to utilize his pace as well as make runs towards the back post.

The Nigerian-Italian made his competitive debut for Udinese in the first round of the Coppa Italia in August 2021, playing the full 90 minutes in a 3-1 victory against Serie B club Ascoli, and then he played in the Friulian team’s 2-2 draw at home to Juventus in the opening round of the Serie A season.

After missing two matches due to a calf strain, Udogie returned to the Udinese squad for its match against Roma in Week 5 and has been a regular starter since then.

He provided his first assist for the season in the 4-0 victory away to Cagliari in Week 18 but it was his only direct involvement in a goal for the first half of the 2021/22 campaign.

The 19-year-old stayed on the bench during the 1-1 draw at home to Lazio in Week 26, but his form has improved significantly in his last 12 matches, scoring four times and supplying an assist.
More: https://breakingthelines.com/player-ana ... -wingback/
I definitely understand why he “feels more Italian” (and therefore less Nigerian).
It’s Italy and the motherland influence will be much more dilute.

You’d be hard-pressed to find an English boy use those words… “I feel more English” or “more British”.

The Nigerian culture and impact on British society is 100x stronger.
Even for those that genuinely feel that way, it’s not really something you go public with as a young person. Even typing it doesn’t feel right.

Good for him though. I hope he gets to realise his dreams.
If he says that he feels more Nigerian they’ll ask him he’s in Italy.The English wouldn’t be surprised it you are close to parents place of birth unless you’re exceptional of cause.

Damunk wrote: Mon May 23, 2022 5:47 pm
The YeyeMan wrote: Mon May 23, 2022 5:35 pm
Destiny Udogie: Udinese’s Teenage Wingback
May 22, 2022 Player Analysis | Breaking The Lines

Iyenoma Destiny Udogie, better known as Destiny Udogie, has been one of the revelations of the 2021/22 Serie A, producing more than his fair share of impressive performances on the left flank for Udinese.

Born on November 28, 2002 to Nigerian parents in Verona, Italy, he came through the youth academy at Hellas Verona and featured in the senior squad for six Serie A matches in the 2020/21 campaign.

Udinese saw potential in the defender and signed him in July 2021 on a loan deal with an obligation to be bought outright from the Veronese side for €4 million.

Under both Luca Gotti and his successor Gabriele Cioffi, Udogie has operated as a left wing-back in the 3-5-2 formation and his role with the Zebrette has allowed him to utilize his pace as well as make runs towards the back post.

The Nigerian-Italian made his competitive debut for Udinese in the first round of the Coppa Italia in August 2021, playing the full 90 minutes in a 3-1 victory against Serie B club Ascoli, and then he played in the Friulian team’s 2-2 draw at home to Juventus in the opening round of the Serie A season.

After missing two matches due to a calf strain, Udogie returned to the Udinese squad for its match against Roma in Week 5 and has been a regular starter since then.

He provided his first assist for the season in the 4-0 victory away to Cagliari in Week 18 but it was his only direct involvement in a goal for the first half of the 2021/22 campaign.

The 19-year-old stayed on the bench during the 1-1 draw at home to Lazio in Week 26, but his form has improved significantly in his last 12 matches, scoring four times and supplying an assist.
More: https://breakingthelines.com/player-ana ... -wingback/
I definitely understand why he “feels more Italian” (and therefore less Nigerian).
It’s Italy and the motherland influence will be much more dilute.

You’d be hard-pressed to find an English boy use those words… “I feel more English” or “more British”.

The Nigerian culture and impact on British society is 100x stronger.
Even for those that genuinely feel that way, it’s not really something you go public with as a young person. Even typing it doesn’t feel right.

Good for him though. I hope he gets to realise his dreams.
If he says that he feels more Nigerian they’ll ask him he’s in Italy.The English wouldn’t be surprised it you are close to parents place of birth unless you’re exceptional of cause.

My philosophy is that in as long as these kids have a SINGLE drop of Nigerian blood in them, Nigeria has EVERY living right to get them to play for Nigeria, in as long as the feeling is mutual. That dumb mentality of self pride (HB only) only gets you last place!
Those kids are OURs and we need to go git 'em!
Damunk wrote: Thu Jan 26, 2023 7:09 am
maceo4 wrote: Wed Jan 25, 2023 6:52 pm Foolish pride indeed, we definitely need them esp if they can give us something better than the ones we developed. But if they are equally as useful I would give preferential treatment to the ones we developed. It’s just finding that right blend that seems to be tough.
We are looking at players also coveted by other top nations, not just anybody, which says a lot.

People forget that there are hundreds of foreign-born, Nigeria-eligible players on show around Europe but they are not getting any calls becos they are not good enough.
Others like Tella and Adarabioyo have to convince they are better than what we already have.

Ozonwafor for instance would be a shoo-in before Adarabioyo if they were performing at the same level but so far Ozone doesn’t seem to be doing anything special even in a lower ranked league.

Why is this thread on EaglesNest? If the comnversation has veered away from an ITALIAN, then you can change the topic to suit the present conversation. Having names of foreign players on EN is an insult to the Super Eagles, our heroes past and to our fans. I am confident that the English, Italians, Germans and French will not open threads for Nigerians in their national team fora.

We need to stop this rotten desire to kowtow to foreigners. Slavery and colonization is over. Free yourself! Tufia!

Otitokoro wrote: Tue Jul 04, 2023 3:50 pm My philosophy is that in as long as these kids have a SINGLE drop of Nigerian blood in them, Nigeria has EVERY living right to get them to play for Nigeria, in as long as the feeling is mutual. That dumb mentality of self pride (HB only) only gets you last place!

Well said all three of y’all. No one is begging or feeling inferior to anyone. It’s a simple conversation where you sell your country. If the feeling is mutual, you continue, if not then it’s on to the next one.

Made his debut for Spurs today against Brentford. Selected ahead of the far more experienced Ben Davies and Ivan Perisic (both of whom are internationals with World Cup experience).

wiseone wrote: Sun Aug 13, 2023 10:01 pm Made his debut for Spurs today against Brentford. Selected ahead of the far more experienced Ben Davies and Ivan Perisic (both of whom are internationals with World Cup experience).
The first one is a 30 year old average footballer, while the second one is a 34 year old left winger.

I am not sure what is so impressive in being picked ahead of an average footballer and a footballer who is not even competing for your position.

packerland wrote: Tue Jul 04, 2023 4:59 pm
Otitokoro wrote: Tue Jul 04, 2023 3:50 pm My philosophy is that in as long as these kids have a SINGLE drop of Nigerian blood in them, Nigeria has EVERY living right to get them to play for Nigeria, in as long as the feeling is mutual. That dumb mentality of self pride (HB only) only gets you last place!

Well said all three of y’all. No one is begging or feeling inferior to anyone. It’s a simple conversation where you sell your country. If the feeling is mutual, you continue, if not then it’s on to the next one.
Anyone who talks about "begging" players reveal a lot about their own mentality...

Why is this thread here? Dude plays for Italy

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Aug 21, 2023 10:59 am Why is this thread here? Dude plays for Italy
Thread gateman, do u not sleep? :roll: