Uzoho

Re: Uzoho

maceo4 wrote: Sun May 29, 2022 9:56 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Sun May 29, 2022 9:27 pm
gochino wrote: Sun May 29, 2022 5:55 pm Nothing special about Uzoho, his ball distribution is terrible and puts the team under unnessesary pressure, plus he is just average. We need a keeper that performs week in week out, or else we will see many more errors like the one in the Ghana game.
Kpom.

We cannot have a guy starting for us who cannot even get playing time in Cyprus. Our keeper needs to be playing week in week out. He is a backup at best. Frankly I would rather have seen that homebased guy.
They better give the HB keeper some PT next game.
Which 'home-based' keeper are you guys referring to? Was he even invited for the 'friendly' games?

Odas wrote: Sat Oct 08, 2022 12:44 am
gochino wrote: Sun May 29, 2022 5:55 pm Nothing special about Uzoho, his ball distribution is terrible and puts the team under unnessesary pressure, plus he is just average. We need a keeper that performs week in week out, or else we will see many more errors like the one in the Ghana game.
Kpom.

We cannot have a guy starting for us who cannot even get playing time in Cyprus. Our keeper needs to be playing week in week out. He is a backup at best. Frankly I would rather have seen that homebased guy.
Which 'home-based' keeper are you guys referring to? Was he even invited for the 'friendly' games?

How many homebased players have you watched? Why ask as if you know these goalies. Point is you do not know them. It is for the coaches to seek and find these players wherever they may be- in Nigeria or outside. You do not have to know them until they get to the NT. And my reference is not just to you but to others and myself included. How exactly are we to know these guys? They are not on TV. Are they?

Odas, for starters can you please name the starting xi for Enugu Rangers or Rivers United?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Kpom.

Bros, my comments are from May 29th sha, whatever friendly we had during that time a homebased GK was called.

Enugu II wrote: Mon Oct 10, 2022 1:04 pm
Kpom.

How many homebased players have you watched? Why ask as if you know these goalies. Point is you do not know them. It is for the coaches to seek and find these players wherever they may be- in Nigeria or outside. You do not have to know them until they get to the NT. And my reference is not just to you but to others and myself included. How exactly are we to know these guys? They are not on TV. Are they?

Odas, for starters can you please name the starting xi for Enugu Rangers or Rivers United?
EII,

Truth be told, I do not know MUCH of our current - Supereagles - players not to talk of the 'home based' (HB) ones who I have never seen play. However, many of the times, our attention is directed to players by those of us - here - who know them. Sometimes, the players they spoke of is worth the mention and in other times, it's not so.

In this case, the mention of HB being qualified, and so needs invitation to our national team got my attention because as things stand, we all know we have no goalkeeper; therefore, finding a keeper is gradually becoming pressing matter. To me, I think we shouldn't go into any major competition again with the caliber of keepers we have. I believe they will fail us again.

As to naming the current 'starting xi for Enugu Rangers or Rivers United', such is impossible for me because I barely know half of our currently national teams players. When I say 'know them', I mean being able to identify players based on their pictures, at least.

maceo4 wrote: Mon Oct 10, 2022 1:52 pm
Kpom.

Bros, my comments are from May 29th sha, whatever friendly we had during that time a homebased GK was called.
... and it seems the 'Home based (HB) keeper' wasn't tried at all. Vincent Enyeama became our keeper after he was played in our game against England during the world cup. At that time, Enyeama was a HB player if my brain is not failing me. In this case, I wonder why the HB goalkeeper was invited but hasn't been given a chance to play.]

Anyway, let's wait and see, but I hope we will fine a better keeper than what we have now before another major, or important game comes.

If we cannot convince Akpeyi to forgive us and come back, I would try the Nwabali guy and the Nwosu kid. They can't be any worse that the two we have now. Now anybody will be wiring shots at us from any distance, thanks to Okoye and Uzoho. Heck, I won't be surprised if opposing goalkeepers now try to score goal kicks from their 18 against us.
Kpom.

1naija wrote: Tue Oct 11, 2022 4:47 pm If we cannot convince Akpeyi to forgive us and come back, I would try the Nwabali guy and the Nwosu kid. They can't be any worse that the two we have now. Now anybody will be wiring shots at us from any distance, thanks to Okoye and Uzoho. Heck, I won't be surprised if opposing goalkeepers now try to score goal kicks from their 18 against us.
Kpom.

Seek help :sleep: :sleep: :sleep:

1naija wrote: Tue Oct 11, 2022 4:47 pm If we cannot convince Akpeyi to forgive us and come back, I would try the Nwabali guy and the Nwosu kid. They can't be any worse that the two we have now. Now anybody will be wiring shots at us from any distance, thanks to Okoye and Uzoho. Heck, I won't be surprised if opposing goalkeepers now try to score goal kicks from their 18 against us.
Kpom.

I am tempted to say Keeper 'Akpeyi' is better than what we have now; at least, I can't remember him conceding the type of LONG DISTANCE goals Okoye and Uzoho had conceded. Indeed, every team/player now know we can be scored from any distance; therefore, all players will be trying their lucks from afar against us.

Odas wrote: Tue Oct 11, 2022 11:30 pm
Kpom.

I am tempted to say Keeper 'Akpeyi' is better than what we have now; at least, I can't remember him conceding the type of LONG DISTANCE goals Okoye and Uzoho had conceded. Indeed, every team/player now know we can be scored from any distance; therefore, all players will be trying their lucks from afar against us.
We must go beg him lol…

maceo4 wrote: Wed Oct 12, 2022 12:11 am
Odas wrote: Tue Oct 11, 2022 11:30 pm
Kpom.

We must go beg him lol…
Maceo4,

I don't think1Naija really meant for us to beg Akpeyi to come back, rather I think 1Naija's statement is a FIGURE of speech, and was made to highlight how bad our current keepers are

Props to him. With Omonia’s number 1 GK not playing today, he had a solid game. Well done to the lad. I still do not think Neil Lennon will pick him as first choice number 1, so he is better off going to another team where he will play every week.

He has to do a Henderson.
Last edited by wiseone on Fri Oct 14, 2022 12:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

This will be a massive boost to his confidence.
Thank God he never comes to CE to read comments.
He wouldn’t even have been around yesterday to redeem himself.
Him for don jump enter Lagos lagoon since.

gochino wrote: Fri Oct 07, 2022 10:24 amThat goal keeper against Manu was 10 times better than Uzoho, its suprising that Uzoho is even second choice.
Ooops!

Damunk wrote: Fri Oct 14, 2022 6:24 am
gochino wrote: Fri Oct 07, 2022 10:24 amThat goal keeper against Manu was 10 times better than Uzoho, its suprising that Uzoho is even second choice.
Ooops!
CE never forgets! :lol:

Dammy wrote: Fri Oct 14, 2022 8:30 am
Ooops!
Lol one good game doesn't mean he is better than the first choice, chill...

gochino wrote: Fri Oct 14, 2022 1:02 pm
Dammy wrote: Fri Oct 14, 2022 8:30 am
Ooops!
Lol one good game doesn't mean he is better than the first choice, chill...
What. He is better than Enyeama and okala and whoever else based on one game where the regular keeper was unavailable. Sometimes I just have to shake my head.

Here is reality: to br good, you have to produce consistently over a reasonabl u long period. Neither Uzoho nor Okoye have done I ne this. Until then, the search continues.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics