Why was Dessers not the preferred sub for Osimhen or Sadiq??

Re: Why was Dessers not the preferred sub for Osimhen or Sadiq??

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 5:09 pm
danfo driver wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 5:08 pm Go and get the credible explanation nah! Afterall, the coach is there, send him a whatsapp message :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

All these na excuses! The coach preferred Moffi, selected Moffi and Moffi delivered! Kpam! Kpom! :taunt:
vancity eagle wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 5:05 pm Yes I would want a credible explanation as Dessers was far better than Moffi who looked clueless at times in the 2 American friendlies.

Those saying "Moffi scored 2 goals" Are you really going to justify his inclusion just because he scored 2 against a piss poor team like this ? As if Dessers wouldn't have had a hattrick in this match.

These are the following possibilities

1. I think most likely Peseiro preferred Moffi's workrate (especially in the hot afternoon sun) to both Sadiq and Dessers. Moffi pressed and dropped back often deep into midfield. He worked tirelesslh

2. Perhaps Dessers was injured, but I still think it was about Moffi's workrate.

It will be interesting to see Peseiro's first squad he picks in September, we will get a clue on his thinking and where things stand.

IMO he sees Sadiq as possibly our #2 striker but likes the speed and workrate of Moffi.
he did well.

Lets see him replicate that performance against a real team.

He doesnt have to. Dessers will sit on the bench against a fake team and against a real team. He will watch and clap for Moffi, who will continue to start ahead of him. Kpam! Kpom! :lol: :lol:

Ugbowo wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:01 pm To be honest, that's the only blemish on this great game today.

Osimhen should not have played 90 mins.
Why? A striker thrives on goals and confidence in front of goal. Osimhen has equalled the record of most goals scored by a Nigerian in one match-- he wouldnt hold this record if he didnt play 90 mins.
Dessers has earned the right to make his competitive debut for Nigeria. He is yet to do this. The game was 8-0 already.
Dessers does NOT have a right to play for Nigeria. its a privilege. His father does not own Nigeria.

danfo driver wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:10 pm
Ugbowo wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:01 pm To be honest, that's the only blemish on this great game today.

Why? A striker thrives on goals and confidence in front of goal. Osimhen has equalled the record of most goals scored by a Nigerian in one match-- he wouldnt hold this record if he didnt play 90 mins.
Dessers has earned the right to make his competitive debut for Nigeria. He is yet to do this. The game was 8-0 already.
Dessers does NOT have a right to play for Nigeria. its a privilege. His father does not own Nigeria.
He has earned it with his dedication and his performance when called upon so far. Moreso than Moffi and Sadiq.

It's not his birthright but he earned the right to be there. At 8-0, Osimhen should have been subbed.

I wouldn't call it a blemish esp as we do not have any other info.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:34 pm

I wouldn't call it a blemish esp as we do not have any other info.
The highlighted is really the MATTER. I suspect we will learn more in the coming days and months.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

waka-man wrote: Sun Jun 12, 2022 4:39 pm
1naija wrote: Sun Jun 12, 2022 4:33 pm Maybe he wanted to see more of Moffi before he drops him.
In a game where we had a slim 1 goal lead? At home? Surely, you’d bring your best option on…
Maybe he felt Moffi was the better/best option. Have you considered that fact hmm? 🤔

theYemster wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 7:33 pm
waka-man wrote: Sun Jun 12, 2022 4:39 pm
1naija wrote: Sun Jun 12, 2022 4:33 pm Maybe he wanted to see more of Moffi before he drops him.
In a game where we had a slim 1 goal lead? At home? Surely, you’d bring your best option on…
Maybe he felt Moffi was the better/best option. Have you considered that fact hmm? 🤔
If I were the coach, based on what I've seen both in person and on TV, I'd play Moffi ahead of Dessers. Guess we all have our preferences.

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

danfo driver wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 6:10 pm

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: