NOW, you understand why I wondered whether Sao Tome Will show up?

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 4:48 am
by Enugu II
I noted in an earlier thread before the game whether Sao Tome will show up for this game. I wondered what would happen to them after that 1-5 loss to Equatorial Guinea. I was concerned whether they would actually show up for this game!!! The result shows why the concern existed. Now, would they show up for the game against Nigeria in Abuja after this result? Na una sabi. I am not sure that they would. The only thing I know is only a hefty fine for abandoning the game would persuade them and nothing else.

Re: NOW, you understand why I wondered whether Sao Tome Will show up?

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 4:52 am
by vancity eagle
In Abuja they won't collect even half as many goals, with a stadium packed with fanatical fans.

The pitch will help them. Mark my words.

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 10:56 am
by Tobi17
vancity eagle wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 4:52 am In Abuja they won't collect even half as many goals, with a stadium packed with fanatical fans.

With that useless Abuja pitch, it won't be a cricket scoreline, it will be a scrappy but pragmatic 4-0 win.

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 11:04 am
by Enugu II
Tobi17 wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 10:56 am
vancity eagle wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 4:52 am In Abuja they won't collect even half as many goals, with a stadium packed with fanatical fans.

With that useless Abuja pitch, it won't be a cricket scoreline, it will be a scrappy but pragmatic 4-0 win.
Playing surface aside, there are many reasons why the margin may not be as wide as that. Many!

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 11:27 am
by Orion
The fixture is a waste of everyone's time. Sao Tome shouldn't be at this stage of the competition playing Nigeria. They should have gone through a preliminary knockout stage where the lowest-ranked teams go through a knockout competition to weed out the very weakest.

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 11:29 am
by fabio
Orion wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 11:27 am The fixture is a waste of everyone's time. Sao Tome shouldn't be at this stage of the competition playing Nigeria. They should have gone through a preliminary knockout stage where the lowest-ranked teams go through a knockout competition to weed out the very weakest.
You are assuming that did not happen......

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 11:30 am
by Orion
fabio wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 11:29 am
Orion wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 11:27 am The fixture is a waste of everyone's time. Sao Tome shouldn't be at this stage of the competition playing Nigeria. They should have gone through a preliminary knockout stage where the lowest-ranked teams go through a knockout competition to weed out the very weakest.
If they did then it wasn't good enough. Sao Tome shouldn't be here playing Nigeria.

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 11:43 am
by Adisboy
Orion wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 11:30 am
If they did then it wasn't good enough. Sao Tome shouldn't be here playing Nigeria.
They certainly did. They eliminated Mauritius 4-3 agg in the prelims. They were in the group stages last qualification (2021) and were paired together with Ghana, Sudan & South Africa. Ghana only managed a narrow 1ni win away & 3-1 in Accra, while South Africa did the double 2-0 & 2-4 (both games played in SA). So they are not new to playing big teams in Africa.

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 12:29 pm
by sabb
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: cos the SE is the greatest when it comes to footie

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 12:32 pm
by Enugu II

If Sao Tome does not play the likes of Nigeria, how would they improve? CAF is in the business of developing football in Africa and that includes in Sao Tome.

If Sao Tome can take anything from this game it will be that they will work extra hard to reduce such an atrocious margin and I do not care whether the game is played in a lush field in heaven or not. They should work on tactics to prevent that.

Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2022 9:15 pm
by Eaglezbeak
Every CAF member should play in the qualifiers if possible or they’ll end up playing 2 games a year after losing in a 2 legged play off and that will not improve them as a team or African football as a whole.

Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2022 10:10 pm
by Enugu II
Eaglezbeak wrote: Wed Jun 15, 2022 9:15 pm Every CAF member should play in the qualifiers if possible or they’ll end up playing 2 games a year after losing in a 2 legged play off and that will not improve them as a team or African football as a whole.

Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2022 11:59 pm
by Odas
Enugu II wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 4:48 am I noted in an earlier thread before the game whether Sao Tome will show up for this game. I wondered what would happen to them after that 1-5 loss to Equatorial Guinea. I was concerned whether they would actually show up for this game!!! The result shows why the concern existed. Now, would they show up for the game against Nigeria in Abuja after this result? Na una sabi. I am not sure that they would. The only thing I know is only a hefty fine for abandoning the game would persuade them and nothing else.

Hmm, if so, it seems their getting to this level of the AFCON qualification has become a liability for them.

If I were them, I will show up in Abuja, strike a deal with the Eagle's coach for the SE not to score more than five goals in the match and ...

Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2022 2:33 am
by Enugu II
Odas wrote: Wed Jun 15, 2022 11:59 pm
Enugu II wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 4:48 am I noted in an earlier thread before the game whether Sao Tome will show up for this game. I wondered what would happen to them after that 1-5 loss to Equatorial Guinea. I was concerned whether they would actually show up for this game!!! The result shows why the concern existed. Now, would they show up for the game against Nigeria in Abuja after this result? Na una sabi. I am not sure that they would. The only thing I know is only a hefty fine for abandoning the game would persuade them and nothing else.

Hmm, if so, it seems their getting to this level of the AFCON qualification has become a liability for them.

If I were them, I will show up in Abuja, strike a deal with the Eagle's coach for the SE not to score more than five goals in the match and ...

Think long term. Our first participation in an AFCON featured trashing received from both Sudan and Ghana. We hammered Benin Repubic (Dahomey) 10-1 at one time. It is subsequent and frequent competition against such Victor's that lead to improvement for the minnows in the coming years. You will find out that Nigeria may not be able to beat Sao Tome 3-0 years from now!

Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2022 4:27 pm
by Odas
Enugu II wrote: Thu Jun 16, 2022 2:33 am
Odas wrote: Wed Jun 15, 2022 11:59 pm

Think long term. Our first participation in an AFCON featured trashing received from both Sudan and Ghana. We hammered Benin Repubic (Dahomey) 10-1 at one time. It is subsequent and frequent competition against such Victor's that lead to improvement for the minnows in the coming years. You will find out that Nigeria may not be able to beat Sao Tome 3-0 years from now!
EII,

I see your point and I agree with you. However, you spoke of long term strategy which is a nice plan for Sao Tome (ST), but for now and until such level as you stated is attained, I think ST should find a way to play the next game in a diplomatic way to avoid further trashing.

Thus for now, I think ST can flex its muscle on, or aim to upset other teams. The Super-eagles (SE) are a little too much for ST to mess with at moment.