Page 1 of 3

Sunday Oliseh interview

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2022 9:14 am
by imehjunior

Re: Sunday Oliseh interview

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 2:21 am
Too bad that oliseh doesn't have a real job in football other than talking. Like him or hate him, he's the type we need in our football administration, not picnic and shehu and other nepotism influenced appointments.

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 4:20 am
Nice Interview. However don't get his dislike of Mikel's game. To me Oliseh get F9 there

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 4:40 am
by ANC
he should forever hide his face in shame. He is the singular reason Italy equalized in 1994

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 7:43 am
by mcal
...football is bad or dead in Nigeria when talk shows are now geared towards foreign clubs.

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 8:06 am
by Damunk
imehjunior wrote: Fri Jun 17, 2022 9:14 am
Wow. That was freaking amazing!
Inside stories. :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Thanks Imejunior for sharing this.
I think I understand Oliseh a lot better now.

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 9:04 am
by aruako1
I would like to see him back as SE coach sometime. I was critical of some of his decisions but I know he can do much more for the SE.

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 12:05 pm
by fajex
Damunk wrote: Sat Jun 18, 2022 8:06 am
Wow. That was freaking amazing!
Inside stories. :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Thanks Imejunior for sharing this.
I think I understand Oliseh a lot better now.
Excellent interview, frank and authentic.
Helps to see the other side of what happens at the back end too.
Oliseh has good leadership skills, but as a coach must try not to get easily ‘tipped’ off.
Good guys really, nice one. 👏👏

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 12:07 pm
by Tobi17
Oliseh can make a good NFF president

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 1:20 pm
by Damunk
Tobi17 wrote: Sat Jun 18, 2022 12:07 pm Oliseh can make a good NFF president
Absolutely!

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 1:37 pm
by Cellular
Tobi17 wrote: Sat Jun 18, 2022 12:07 pm Oliseh can make a good NFF president
I like him but unless he has improved on his interpersonal skills it will be a tough row to hoe.

And it is not just about dealing with Naijarians he has had problems dealing his oyibo colleagues as well.

Anyway, I enjoyed the interview... my fondest memory of Oliseh was when he shook off malaria to come off the bench and will us to victory... I think in PH or something.

He remains a legend and a patriot... also knew he paid hotel fees, plane tickets, and helped players. A true leader.

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 2:12 pm
by Cellular
In this interview he shows a glimpse of his difficult personality.

He talks about the players sharing money from Nike and him refusing to wear Nike shoes...

Accusing players of sharing Nike money... duh, Nike was our sponsor. He refused to wear the sponsor shoes and was the only player who decided to wear his own shoes.

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 3:06 pm
by Damunk
Cellular wrote: Sat Jun 18, 2022 2:12 pm

He talks about the players sharing money from Nike and him refusing to wear Nike shoes...

Accusing players of sharing Nike money... duh, Nike was our sponsor. He refused to wear the sponsor shoes and was the only player who decided to wear his own shoes.
WhaT I got was that they were being paid $1000 to wear the boots, almost like a cheap bribe?
I might be wrong, but he mentioned how he spoke to another player, telling him “we know where we are going”, suggesting he didn’t feel they were being treated fairly by Nike.
Something like that anyway.

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 3:19 pm
by mcal
Damunk wrote: Sat Jun 18, 2022 3:06 pm

WhaT I got was that they were being paid $1000 to wear the boots, almost like a cheap bribe?
I might be wrong, but he mentioned how he spoke to another player, telling him “we know where we are going”, suggesting he didn’t feel they were being treated fairly by Nike.
Something like that anyway.
...if a player has signed endorsement with another outfit company for bigger better money, they will stick with it. Michael Jordan once refused to wear anything not Nike during the Olympics games.

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 6:26 pm

Very difficult. The fact that he gave no credit to Mikel, a player that accomplished as much is not more than him is shameful.

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2022 6:51 pm
by jette1
Nothing new to report; CE Ashawos easily pleased

Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2022 3:53 pm
by Dammy
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Jun 18, 2022 6:26 pm

Very difficult. The fact that he gave no credit to Mikel, a player that accomplished as much is not more than him is shameful.
The pettiness towards Mikel is still evident. That's one of the reasons why I don't want Oliseh near the SE again. Mikel is easily one of the most accomplished Nigerian footballers ever and Oliseh's small mindedness can never erase that!

Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2022 4:11 pm
by return2k2

Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2022 5:28 pm
by txj
Dammy wrote: Mon Jun 20, 2022 3:53 pm

The pettiness towards Mikel is still evident. That's one of the reasons why I don't want Oliseh near the SE again. Mikel is easily one of the most accomplished Nigerian footballers ever and Oliseh's small mindedness can never erase that!

Why do we Nigerians perform so poorly in understanding of the game?

Oliseh is not speaking as a fan here wrt Mikel, but strictly as a coach, with his own ideas and concept of the game.

I don't personally agree with his view of Mikel and role of the DM, but I fully understand that this is strictly on a conceptual level. Sir Alex for instance did not see Mikel as a DM. Is he also petty in his regard?

Its not pettiness towards Mikel, cus its not personal.

Different managers see different players from different lens...

Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2022 5:36 pm
by maceo4
txj wrote: Mon Jun 20, 2022 5:28 pm

Oliseh is not speaking as a fan here wrt Mikel, but strictly as a coach, with his own ideas and concept of the game.

I don't personally agree with his view of Mikel and role of the DM, but I fully understand that this is strictly on a conceptual level. Sir Alex for instance did not see Mikel as a DM. Is he also petty in his regard?

I hear you but he also went into an unrelated personal story about Mikel which had nothing to do with the question, which tells me he’s still holding onto something from his time with Mikel, it was obvious when he refused to give him the captain ship, oddly picking Musa instead…

Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2022 6:04 pm
by 1naija
These 1994 era players need to stop all these nonsensical unending self aggrandizing victory tours. it's very annoying.

Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2022 6:22 pm
by Ugbowo
1naija wrote: Mon Jun 20, 2022 6:04 pm These 1994 era players need to stop all these nonsensical unending self aggrandizing victory tours. it's very annoying.
I am TIRED of it!!! One would think they won the WC.

Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2022 7:15 pm
by txj
maceo4 wrote: Mon Jun 20, 2022 5:36 pm
txj wrote: Mon Jun 20, 2022 5:28 pm

I hear you but he also went into an unrelated personal story about Mikel which had nothing to do with the question, which tells me he’s still holding onto something from his time with Mikel, it was obvious when he refused to give him the captain ship, oddly picking Musa instead…

That's not quite correct.