Peseiro, Wike drool over NPFL talents as Rivers United emerge champions

Re: Peseiro, Wike drool over NPFL talents as Rivers United emerge champions

Enugu II wrote: Tue Jun 28, 2022 8:18 pm
Ugbowo wrote: Tue Jun 28, 2022 5:11 pm I am tired of this conversation.

The heralded players are taking contracts every day. Mbaoma has gone to a random Algerian club and Rafiu is going to Slovenia.

This HB talk should stop!

The reason why the talk persists is because of the orchestrated and perfunctory strategy employed to deny labor at home from access to the national team even when labor is good enough. When such denial ends, this talk will disappear.

As for HB moving overseas? That will occur because labor will always seek better pay. It is the same when a player moves from a club in Switzerland to Turkey, etc.

Note that football is a young man's game which presupposes that new and newer talents will always be churned from the conveyor belt called Nigeria and that belt should never be ignored. If an Mbaoma leaves today, there will be another Mbaoma tomorrow. It is churning and churning and should never be ignored as long as the labor is good enough.

We saw the youth teams play recently, all currently locally based. We were enthralled and there are many still there as you know. It keeps churning ......
Prof,

I am more inclined to go with Vancity's line of thinking here. Anayo Iwuala was the rave of the moment UNTIL he moved to Tunisia. No one is clamoring for his inclusion anymore.

It is all clamor until they get the move. Them moving abroad should not stop them from getting a call up IF THEY ARE GOOD ENOUGH.

It's all a matter of who is good enough. Not where you play.

Mbaoma is going to Algeria. Best believe NO ONE would be advocating for his inclusion now....because guess what? He has gotten his contract so job done.

How about we just focus on picking THE BEST players? Not some home based, foreign based stuff.

Ugbowo wrote: Tue Jun 28, 2022 9:54 pm

The heralded players are taking contracts every day. Mbaoma has gone to a random Algerian club and Rafiu is going to Slovenia.

The reason why the talk persists is because of the orchestrated and perfunctory strategy employed to deny labor at home from access to the national team even when labor is good enough. When such denial ends, this talk will disappear.

As for HB moving overseas? That will occur because labor will always seek better pay. It is the same when a player moves from a club in Switzerland to Turkey, etc.

Note that football is a young man's game which presupposes that new and newer talents will always be churned from the conveyor belt called Nigeria and that belt should never be ignored. If an Mbaoma leaves today, there will be another Mbaoma tomorrow. It is churning and churning and should never be ignored as long as the labor is good enough.

We saw the youth teams play recently, all currently locally based. We were enthralled and there are many still there as you know. It keeps churning ......
Prof,

I am more inclined to go with Vancity's line of thinking here. Anayo Iwuala was the rave of the moment UNTIL he moved to Tunisia. No one is clamoring for his inclusion anymore.

It is all clamor until they get the move. Them moving abroad should not stop them from getting a call up IF THEY ARE GOOD ENOUGH.

It's all a matter of who is good enough. Not where you play.

Mbaoma is going to Algeria. Best believe NO ONE would be advocating for his inclusion now....because guess what? He has gotten his contract so job done.

How about we just focus on picking THE BEST players? Not some home based, foreign based stuff.
I agree that they have to be good enough. Note that people clamored for Iwuala to be included and he was perhaps one of the handful Rohr included that were not perfunctory inclusions. The fact that he was not recalled after that is neither here nor there. There are several Euro-based guys that were clamored for and included and in fact played just once and no one heard from them again. Remember Anthony Nwakaeme. He was not locally based when he was called up. You will agree with me that Iwuala's call up was more viable than Nwakaeme. Not so?

Thus, not hearing about a guy after one or a few games is neither a phenomenon with locally based guys nor should it be a reason to ignore a particular locale.

The point is that Nigeria is a locale for most Nigerian players plying their trade at top level of football -- the senior level. That should not be ignored. To ignore it, is to miss the chance of locating a player that may be worthy of the shirt. That he moves overseas later is really immaterial.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

The act of trying to railroad below average NPFL players into the Super Eagles, at the expense of much more accomplished players IS the issue. Again, we see in the two examples given, that these so called NPFL Super stars are nothing short of ordinary, as evidenced by the leagues they have moved to.

You talk about football being a 'young man's game'. Fully concur. It is not a game for people like that ex-NPFL, 30 something 'top scoring' age cheat, pretending to be 16 years old.
You also talk about the HB youths. The FUTURE of Nigerian football lies in the academies, as evidenced by the recent U17 team's success (ALL of whom are academy players). Its the case now and will be the case for the foreseeable future. That's where the Osimhens, Iheanachos, Chukwuezes, etc came from.

The NPFL is for those who couldn't make the cut. That's the honest truth. Its silly paying so much attention and focus on them, when the energy should be channeled to those who can add VALUE (now and in the future) to the team (i.e. our young HB U17 academy players, who get picked up by top teams in Europe after performing in global or continental competitions, learn the trade with those European clubs and then get picked to compliment the Super Eagles).

No-one is saying the NPFL players cannot continue to sign for tier 3,4 and 5 teams around the world. They can do so by showcasing themselves in CHAN or the Continental tournaments. Just don't use the SuperEagles as a launch pad for their pursuit of a 'better life'.

This Homebased debate is a hilarious one to be honest, one side wants to completely shut the door on all of them while the other wants to keep that door open with little due process. It's like we completely forget these things are a process, and must have a sensible plan. And if we're going to do this silly gatekeeping it should apply all across the board.

Otitokoro wrote: Tue Jun 28, 2022 10:26 pm The act of trying to railroad below average NPFL players into the Super Eagles, at the expense of much more accomplished players IS the issue. Again, we see in the two examples given, that these so called NPFL Super stars are nothing short of ordinary, as evidenced by the leagues they have moved to.

You talk about football being a 'young man's game'. Fully concur. It is not a game for people like that ex-NPFL, 30 something 'top scoring' age cheat, pretending to be 16 years old.
You also talk about the HB youths. The FUTURE of Nigerian football lies in the academies, as evidenced by the recent U17 team's success (ALL of whom are academy players). Its the case now and will be the case for the foreseeable future. That's where the Osimhens, Iheanachos, Chukwuezes, etc came from.

The NPFL is for those who couldn't make the cut. That's the honest truth. Its silly paying so much attention and focus on them, when the energy should be channeled to those who can add VALUE (now and in the future) to the team (i.e. our young HB U17 academy players, who get picked up by top teams in Europe after performing in global or continental competitions, learn the trade with those European clubs and then get picked to compliment the Super Eagles).

No-one is saying the NPFL players cannot continue to sign for tier 3,4 and 5 teams around the world. They can do so by showcasing themselves in CHAN or the Continental tournaments. Just don't use the SuperEagles as a launch pad for their pursuit of a 'better life'.

If you were to be taken at face value that there are no talents to speak of outside the academies, a notion I emphatically disagree with, what %-age of academy bred players actually earn meaningful European contracts? I would conjecture that it’s a very small number. So what about the rest of them? What do you propose should become of them? It would be rather contradictory for you to suggest that they are not talented enough and ought to be discarded just because they didn’t manage to sign a contract in Europe. A responsible and productive FA should seek to establish multiple, viable career paths for young footballers other than heading to Europe; and that includes the NPFL❗️

Etebo was an NPFL player when he started playing for Nigeria? Do you recall that? Do you recall Ahmed Musa as well? It is foolhardy to dismiss the NPFL as you appear to be doing. We have seen NPFL players emerge once in a while to become valuable for Nigeria and that is not ending any time soon. In my view, Nigeria must be able to find its players anywhere they may exist including Nigeria. If we go by the udea that we should focus on certain leagues we would have missed the likes of those that I have mentioned and BTW we would have also missed on Maduka Okoye who was not playing in the big leagues in Europe when he was called up. Are you willing to miss those type of players, including likes of Maduka Okoye? Or should we make an exception for the lower leagues in Europe?

Otitokoro, but what exactly is the fear of affording a locally based player or any Nigerian player wherever he or she may ply his trade a chance to play for his country's national team if he proves worthy of an invitation? What is the fear about? Are these not Nigerian players?

I, for one, I am glad that Peseiro has spent Time in Nigeria instead of running off to Europe, like Rohr always did, after every international. I am loving this manager at the moment and the fact that he is required to be in Nigeria where he should be based. With today's technology, he can scout from Nigeria just as Rohr could scout from Germany. He is also available to attend other activities as required of his duties and not be a tourist who jaunts in for an international and leaves for Europe right after. I am loving it. ❤️
Otitokoro wrote: Tue Jun 28, 2022 10:26 pm The act of trying to railroad below average NPFL players into the Super Eagles, at the expense of much more accomplished players IS the issue. Again, we see in the two examples given, that these so called NPFL Super stars are nothing short of ordinary, as evidenced by the leagues they have moved to.

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Prof,

As talented as he was, Etebo started by playing CAF Confed Cup and then made the CHAN team while at Warri Wolves. He really came to light when he played at the Olympics. He then progressed to Fairense. He wasn't fast tracked to the SE, like some are calling for. He worked hard and proved himself at the continental level and then globally at the Olympics.
Musa, on the other hand, was one of the few people who made a direct transfer from the National league at the time to Europe (VVV Venlo). But that was 12 years ago!!. We simply cannot dispute the fact that the overall quality of product and standards of the Nigerian National League back then were somewhat decent (even much better when we were growing up) and cannot be compared to the mediocrity on display now.

I have absolutely NO fear of using HB players, in as long as they are good enough to meet the basic standards required for us to produce the absolute best team we can. The issue is that the current crop of NPFL players are not anywhere close to being good enough. You and I know this. However, you have agents who have hijacked the process, by trying to shove their wards down our throats in the effort to having them become 'Nigerian SE Internationals', so that they can be sold to the 3rd and 4th tier clubs for a higher price. Its all about money and selfish intentions - pure and simple! No interest whatsoever in sourcing for the best talent globally to make sure Nigeria has the most competitive SE team possible! That is my issue!
Now these same people see the FBB (Foreign born and bred) players as a convenient threat and target, and will do and say anything to disparage them, instead of working hard to improve themselves and measure up to standard. Typical Naija 'bring them down' mentality!

Nigerians like optics and not being told the truth. Peseiro is street smart, looking and playing the part that Nigerians want to see and hear. However, those HB players will not smell the grass in a competitive game and he will play the FB boys to help him meet his objectives. Una go wait tire! He had months to see how Rohr was treated and knows how to play the game.
Enugu II wrote: Wed Jun 29, 2022 4:32 am Otitokoro

Etebo was an NPFL player when he started playing for Nigeria? Do you recall that? Do you recall Ahmed Musa as well? It is foolhardy to dismiss the NPFL as you appear to be doing. We have seen NPFL players emerge once in a while to become valuable for Nigeria and that is not ending any time soon. In my view, Nigeria must be able to find its players anywhere they may exist including Nigeria. If we go by the udea that we should focus on certain leagues we would have missed the likes of those that I have mentioned and BTW we would have also missed on Maduka Okoye who was not playing in the big leagues in Europe when he was called up. Are you willing to miss those type of players, including likes of Maduka Okoye? Or should we make an exception for the lower leagues in Europe?

Otitokoro, but what exactly is the fear of affording a locally based player or any Nigerian player wherever he or she may ply his trade a chance to play for his country's national team if he proves worthy of an invitation? What is the fear about? Are these not Nigerian players?

I, for one, I am glad that Peseiro has spent Time in Nigeria instead of running off to Europe, like Rohr always did, after every international. I am loving this manager at the moment and the fact that he is required to be in Nigeria where he should be based. With today's technology, he can scout from Nigeria just as Rohr could scout from Germany. He is also available to attend other activities as required of his duties and not be a tourist who jaunts in for an international and leaves for Europe right after. I am loving it. ❤️

On the contrary, MOST of the young Naija lads currently on the up and up in Europe are ex-academy players.
There are actually quite a lot of them, in Portugal, Sweden (with the exception of that age cheat), Norway and some other countries. These are usually their first port of call, before moving to the bigger leagues. Innocent Bonke, Terem Moffi, Kingsley Michael, Ralph Onyedika, Emmanuel Dennis, Awoniyi, Osimhen, Chukwueze, Uzoho, Zaidu Sanusi and so many others fall into this category.

Look at the trend of notable signings from Nigeria over the past 3-4 years. I will argue 95% of those signings are directly from academies. So, why focus on a low yield NPFL vs the high yielding academies? Most of the European clubs have since figured out that the hotbed of Naija talent reside in football academies, as opposed to the NPFL. They also have come to the realization that those in the NPFL are mostly those who were deemed surplus to requirements at the academies - the chaff (vs. the wheat). These young academy products are more 'malleable' and saleable, as compared to those in the NPFL - its tougher to teach an old dog new tricks! That is the sad truth.

Also, the NFF's job is to set up competitions for clubs to thrive and become competitive. There are more than enough competitions for Nigerian teams to prove themselves, from regional to national to sub-continental and continental competitions. The job of the govt (via the sports ministry) is to provide infrastructure (playable stadia, fields, environment), a duty they have failed woefully at.
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Wed Jun 29, 2022 2:10 am

If you were to be taken at face value that there are no talents to speak of outside the academies, a notion I emphatically disagree with, what %-age of academy bred players actually earn meaningful European contracts? I would conjecture that it’s a very small number. So what about the rest of them? What do you propose should become of them? It would be rather contradictory for you to suggest that they are not talented enough and ought to be discarded just because they didn’t manage to sign a contract in Europe. A responsible and productive FA should seek to establish multiple, viable career paths for young footballers other than heading to Europe; and that includes the NPFL❗️

Predictably, I am with Otitikoro on this.
How do we get around the stark reality that our local league is permanently hemorrhaging our top local talent at one end and spiriting away our top youth talent at the other end? Talents abound in Naija without a doubt, but the best are whisked away before they even enter the league or as soon as they are spotted, leaving us with a whole load of what the anti-FBB brigade would cynically refer to as 'rejects'.
It is a very inefficient system that is more detrimental to the success of the national team, as long as we insist in quota-ing players based on their Nigeria location rather than overall merit.

Let's put it in a medical context and I have used this analogy before. The body continues to produce blood as long as the bone marrow is functioning normally. But if you have a chronic (slow, steady, long-standing) loss of blood (eg a peptic ulcer or maybe very heavy monthly bleeding eg fibroids etc), then you will ultimately become anaemic and require blood supplements or even a blood transfusion from 'someone else' - ‘FBB’ Nigerian players 'developed' by England, Germany, etc

Yes, there may be a 'conveyor belt' of talent as Prof likes to describe it, but no nation can genuinely afford such chronic blood loss and can't compete without access to its very best players wherever they may be. They certainly can't rely on a supply source that is routinely robbed of its vital nutrients - the NPFL.

The Economic forces are formidable and the ‘raiding’ is not something easily stemmed unless the country’s economy jumps in leaps and bounds. We can barely compete financially with countries like Vietnam and Azerbaijan, talk less of middle grade European countries. The NPFL is not going to be ‘fixed’ overnight.

Maybe when we start dazzling at CHAN and our club sides are regularly competing with the very best on the African continent, then there might be a more credible case. But for now it is all pure sentiment pushing for a ‘hit and miss’ approach which is far more inefficient than we have time for.
Otitokoro wrote: Wed Jun 29, 2022 5:47 am On the contrary, MOST of the young Naija lads currently on the up and up in Europe are ex-academy players.
There are actually quite a lot of them, in Portugal, Sweden (with the exception of that age cheat), Norway and some other countries. These are usually their first port of call, before moving to the bigger leagues. Innocent Bonke, Terem Moffi, Kingsley Michael, Ralph Onyedika, Emmanuel Dennis, Awoniyi, Osimhen, Chukwueze, Uzoho, Zaidu Sanusi and so many others fall into this category.

Look at the trend of notable signings from Nigeria over the past 3-4 years. I will argue 95% of those signings are directly from academies. So, why focus on a low yield NPFL vs the high yielding academies? Most of the European clubs have since figured out that the hotbed of Naija talent reside in football academies, as opposed to the NPFL. They also have come to the realization that those in the NPFL are mostly those who were deemed surplus to requirements at the academies - the chaff (vs. the wheat). These young academy products are more 'malleable' and saleable, as compared to those in the NPFL - its tougher to teach an old dog new tricks! That is the sad truth.

Also, the NFF's job is to set up competitions for clubs to thrive and become competitive. There are more than enough competitions for Nigerian teams to prove themselves, from regional to national to sub-continental and continental competitions. The job of the govt (via the sports ministry) is to provide infrastructure (playable stadia, fields, environment), a duty they have failed woefully at.

Your use of the word inefficient system aptly captures the issue. The current system is inefficient meaning that the belief that ALL the best players are at the top leagues in Europe or the best players are the ones currently in Europe is in fact a fallacy. This is not to say that most of them are not there. Instead, it is to note that several slip through the cracks and are unidentified regularly. Note that this is further buttressed when we realize that at the youth level we get our best teams more often when managers scower the length of the country for talents but arrive at poorer teams when they do not. The point of inefficiency is clear.

What then we are referring to is a call for more efficiency in scouting talents for the country and Peseiro is actually cited in mentioning this. How much hevsticks to that going forward will be the test. He states that he will look for players everywhere even in lower fivisions in Europe. It is simply a realization that Nigerian player movement does not efficiently seek out the best rated teams. It is neither England nor is it Germany. As I mentioned severally when referring to Europe, Nigerian players first and foremost seek a payday and not the best clubs whether it is in lower division or wherever. Many are missed in Nigeria as well -- inefficiency! What we are simply calling for, therefore, is a more efficient system so that the likes of Etebo, Fengor, Musa, Okoye, and others are not missed. It is that simple and logical.
icee

Post by icee »

There's U17, U21, U23, CHAN, U20 for homebased. No one ever debates that. Leave SE for the best anywhere in the world (and I don't see anyone playing in our league at a ripe age being in our first 11). Last I checked, CHAN is also SE so yes they should be considered exclusively for CHAN - that is only for HB.

Most Nigerian citizens don’t even watch the NPFL or wear their jerseys. Where is the support? Let’s start by fixing that before we even start talking about drafting local players into the SE. You know some of the many assistant coaches in the SE show similar behavior. They would rather pick players that are easily/willing to be marketed rather than the ones that have the ‘it’ factor.

That's not quite correct, as after scoring 16 goals in his debut NPFL season Etebo would get his first international cap against Jordan in 2013 but would miss the CHAN after opting to going on trials, its in 2014 that he played in the CAF Confed Cup qualifiers where they didn't get very far.
[tweet][/tweet]
Point is most people in the local scene already knew he was a special talent and his exploits with our U23's further cemented that.

The quality of the league is not close to the level it was back then but there will still be those outliers who for whatever reason are still playing there so you can't paint every single player in the league with the same brush. There will always be an outstanding player that goes under the radar but offers something no other player from the country can provide like Sunday Mba, all it takes is proper scouting and exposure. It has the largest concentration of Nigerian players in the world which shouldn't be underestimated.

I don't disagree with your point wrt the shady manner in which they include Homebased players, but as long as they are without a doubt the best in the scene or ones for the future (Nwobodo, Odey, Ozornwafor, etc) it shouldn't be a problem.
Otitokoro wrote: Wed Jun 29, 2022 5:29 am Prof,

As talented as he was, Etebo started by playing CAF Confed Cup and then made the CHAN team while at Warri Wolves. He really came to light when he played at the Olympics. He then progressed to Fairense. He wasn't fast tracked to the SE, like some are calling for. He worked hard and proved himself at the continental level and then globally at the Olympics.
Musa, on the other hand, was one of the few people who made a direct transfer from the National league at the time to Europe (VVV Venlo). But that was 12 years ago!!. We simply cannot dispute the fact that the overall quality of product and standards of the Nigerian National League back then were somewhat decent (even much better when we were growing up) and cannot be compared to the mediocrity on display now.

I have absolutely NO fear of using HB players, in as long as they are good enough to meet the basic standards required for us to produce the absolute best team we can. The issue is that the current crop of NPFL players are not anywhere close to being good enough. You and I know this. However, you have agents who have hijacked the process, by trying to shove their wards down our throats in the effort to having them become 'Nigerian SE Internationals', so that they can be sold to the 3rd and 4th tier clubs for a higher price. Its all about money and selfish intentions - pure and simple! No interest whatsoever in sourcing for the best talent globally to make sure Nigeria has the most competitive SE team possible! That is my issue!
Now these same people see the FBB (Foreign born and bred) players as a convenient threat and target, and will do and say anything to disparage them, instead of working hard to improve themselves and measure up to standard. Typical Naija 'bring them down' mentality!

Nigerians like optics and not being told the truth. Peseiro is street smart, looking and playing the part that Nigerians want to see and hear. However, those HB players will not smell the grass in a competitive game and he will play the FB boys to help him meet his objectives. Una go wait tire! He had months to see how Rohr was treated and knows how to play the game.

packerland wrote: Wed Jun 29, 2022 7:25 pm Most Nigerian citizens don’t even watch the NPFL or wear their jerseys. Where is the support? Let’s start by fixing that before we even start talking about drafting local players into the SE. You know some of the many assistant coaches in the SE show similar behavior. They would rather pick players that are easily/willing to be marketed rather than the ones that have the ‘it’ factor.
[tweet][/tweet]

The points you made should be easy enough. The debate really is about those who do not want Nigeria to miss a single talent able to help the country v those who want to be selective and willing to miss a critical talent or two. That is really what this debate is about.
Sunset wrote: Thu Jun 30, 2022 12:26 am That's not quite correct, as after scoring 16 goals in his debut NPFL season Etebo would get his first international cap against Jordan in 2013 but would miss the CHAN after opting to going on trials, its in 2014 that he played in the CAF Confed Cup qualifiers where they didn't get very far.
[tweet][/tweet]
Point is most people in the local scene already knew he was a special talent and his exploits with our U23's further cemented that.

The quality of the league is not close to the level it was back then but there will still be those outliers who for whatever reason are still playing there so you can't paint every single player in the league with the same brush. There will always be an outstanding player that goes under the radar but offers something no other player from the country can provide like Sunday Mba, all it takes is proper scouting and exposure. It has the largest concentration of Nigerian players in the world which shouldn't be underestimated.

I don't disagree with your point wrt the shady manner in which they include Homebased players, but as long as they are without a doubt the best in the scene or ones for the future (Nwobodo, Odey, Ozornwafor, etc) it shouldn't be a problem.

Enugu II wrote: Thu Jun 30, 2022 1:12 am Sunset

The points you made should be easy enough. The debate really is about those who do not want Nigeria to miss a single talent able to help the country v those who want to be selective and willing to miss a critical talent or two. That is really what this debate is about.

Enugu II wrote: Thu Jun 30, 2022 1:12 am Sunset

Sunset wrote: Thu Jun 30, 2022 12:26 am That's not quite correct, as after scoring 16 goals in his debut NPFL season Etebo would get his first international cap against Jordan in 2013 but would miss the CHAN after opting to going on trials, its in 2014 that he played in the CAF Confed Cup qualifiers where they didn't get very far.
[tweet][/tweet]

No sir! That is your straw man argument.

The debate is about selecting the best players available for the NT without regard to location.

What you are in reality advocating is, on top of this, a quota reserved for scouting HB players.

Except you apparently do not realize that we already have a process thru CHAN, as well as any exceptional players from the youth teams.

The NPFL of today is a far cry from a few years ago. Nigeria is in the dumps in nearly every facet of life...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

[tweet][/tweet]