Chidera Ejuke: Nigeria winger leaves Russia for 'career progression'

https://www.bbc.com/sport/africa/62039970

Nigeria international Chidera Ejuke has become the latest African footballer to leave the Russian Premier League because of the ongoing Russian invasion of Ukraine.

The 24-year-old winger has taken advantage of a Fifa rule allowing foreign players to leave the country, and has suspended his contract with CSKA Moscow until 30 June next year.

Ejuke, whose deal expires at the end of June 2024, has scored 10 goals and provided eight assists in 65 appearances for CSKA Moscow since joining from Dutch side Heerenveen in 2020.

One of Ejuke's advisers said the move was taken to progress his career, but then refused to comment on reports that the Super Eagle is set to join a German club on loan.

"It was an important decision for Ejuke to go somewhere he can continue to make a career progression," the adviser told BBC Sport Africa.

"He started well in the national team but has since fallen down the pecking order and been overlooked by the new Nigeria coach.

ADVERTISEMENT

"If he moves somewhere and plays regularly, he will hopefully get back into the national team and continue his development."

Ejuke has been capped eight times by Nigeria since making his debut in a 1-1 friendly draw with Tunisia in October 2020, and he made two appearances at this year's Africa Cup of Nations as the Super Eagles exited in the last 16.

However, Ejuke was overlooked by the three-time African champions for the two-legged 2022 World Cup play-off against Ghana in March and new coach Jose Peseiro did not select him for the first two qualifying matches for the 2023 Nations Cup.

CSKA Moscow confirmed the suspensions of Ejuke's deal, but added that it plans to "defend its interests against Fifa's decision", which the 13-time Russian champions consider "discriminatory and contrary" to the world governing body's statutes.

Back in March, Fifa announced that foreign footballers playing in Russia could suspend their contracts and temporarily leave the country.

The move came after Russian clubs and national sides were suspended from all competitions "until further notice" by Fifa and Uefa.

Re: Chidera Ejuke: Nigeria winger leaves Russia for 'career progression'

I really think this guy is a future Super Star of the SE! It is a shame the Eguauseless didn't give him a chance!

Undertaker wrote: Tue Jul 05, 2022 10:21 pm I really think this guy is a future Super Star of the SE! It is a shame the Eguauseless didn't give him a chance!
Yup! Ejuke is da truth. Eguavoen didn't even have him on the bench vs Tunusia while we huffed and puffed trying to create chances and left him out vs Ghana.
Eguavoen and houseboys like Bigturkey set us back 10yrs for real.

As for Ejuke, should stay away from Germany at all cost and try to find a club in France or Spain.

Currently, Ejuke is just another ball juggler. When he learns to look up
and release the ball quicker and think team play, then he might classify as a super star.

joao wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 11:13 pm Currently, Ejuke is just another ball juggler. When he learns to look up
and release the ball quicker and think team play, then he might classify as a super star.
if truly after watching ejuke and all your brain could muster is a ball juggler is there any wonder why your judgements let your down

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

joao wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 11:13 pm Currently, Ejuke is just another ball juggler. When he learns to look up
Sorry bro, but you seem stuck on the Ejuke of the past.
If he was that bad, he wouldn’t have won consecutive POTM awards at his ambitious club for starters.
He has grown and continues to grow.
He should be in the mix.

Damunk wrote: Thu Jul 07, 2022 4:57 am
If he was that bad, he wouldn’t have won consecutive POTM awards at his ambitious club for starters.
He should be in the mix.
Kpom! Ejuke is already better than Lookman and Chukwueze on the wings.

He should be in the mix.
Joao is right.

Bobo is a 'Choosin Material'.

I am not surprised at those who love his brainless play for self and entertain the gallery type of football.

Cellular wrote: Thu Jul 07, 2022 7:48 pm
He should be in the mix.
Joao is right.

I am not surprised at those who love his brainless play for self and entertain the gallery type of football.
cellular upgrade to satellite

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Done deal.

Look forward to watching Ejuke in Bundesliga.

Meanwhile Musa is clubless AGAIN.

vancity eagle wrote: Wed Jul 13, 2022 4:36 pm Done deal.

Meanwhile Musa is clubless AGAIN.
You simply can't hide your prejudices.
Enjoy!!!

That's how he played during AFCON, bu it was because Eguavoen had no clue and told the players to "express themselves". Not every player need such direction. Imagine Westerhoff giving such direction to Okocha. He would have juggled the ball and caught it above his neck and bounced it off his shoulders like the Maradona pregame warm up clip that circulated on the internet, during games.
He should be in the mix.
Joao is right.

1naija wrote: Wed Jul 13, 2022 5:58 pm That's how he played during AFCON, bu it was because Eguavoen had no clue and told the players to "express themselves". Not every player need such direction. Imagine Westerhoff giving such direction to Okocha. He would have juggled the ball and caught it above his neck and bounced it off his shoulders like the Maradona pregame warm up clip that circulated on the internet, during games.
He should be in the mix.
Joao is right.

Uncle,

Okocha was doing that during the Westerhoff era. Heighting players left and right. Probably why he wasn’t a regular starter. Big Sam at Bolton made him a much serious player.

joao wrote: Wed Jul 13, 2022 4:44 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Wed Jul 13, 2022 4:36 pm Done deal.

You simply can't hide your prejudices.
Enjoy!!!

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 1:12 am
Undertaker wrote: Tue Jul 05, 2022 10:21 pm I really think this guy is a future Super Star of the SE! It is a shame the Eguauseless didn't give him a chance!
Yup! Ejuke is da truth. Eguavoen didn't even have him on the bench vs Tunusia while we huffed and puffed trying to create chances and left him out vs Ghana.

As for Ejuke, should stay away from Germany at all cost and try to find a club in France or Spain.
He needed to get out of Russia.

Eaglezbeak wrote: Wed Jul 20, 2022 1:15 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 1:12 am

He needed to get out of Russia.
Yup. Dude is supremely gifted. If he gets it right mentally, has discipline and work ethic, we talking about a Neymar type player a world class wing forward. Yes. Na me tok am.

Good luck Ejuke!
Your country needs you!

I believe he chose the right league to further develop his game awareness.
If he gets it right and learn team play, he can turn out to be a gem.
Good luck to him.

Watched Ejuke today ( came on as a second half sub for Hertha against Union ) Union was leading 3 zip ...

He was busy hustling but could not help reduce the deficit.

They lost eventually 3-1 .

Union did not seem to miss Awoniyi..dem dey fire for front ..

tedder89

Post by tedder89 »

Ejuke starts vs Moenchengladbach
Siddonlook11 wrote: Sat Aug 06, 2022 5:05 pm Watched Ejuke today ( came on as a second half sub for Hertha against Union ) Union was leading 3 zip ...

He was busy hustling but could not help reduce the deficit.

They lost eventually 3-1 .

Union did not seem to miss Awoniyi..dem dey fire for front ..
IN OUR CASE, THERE IS NO TIME. NO SERIOUS COACH WILL TAKE THIS JOB

Pasamu on Monday Feb 22nd 2010 post ANC- I will repeat again, the problem with our team was never ability or personnel or even tactics . It was confidence pure and simple confidence. Amodus team had been spat upon, anything they did was dismissed as insignificant To see the team going from playing brilliant football against Egypt in the first half of their ANC group game to the cautious fear laden play against Zambia was sad.

Ejuke na baller sha...

The guys talent is too much, just wish he could put it all together...
tedder89

Post by tedder89 »

Proper decision making can be taught
maceo4 wrote: Fri Aug 19, 2022 8:41 pm The guys talent is too much, just wish he could put it all together...
IN OUR CASE, THERE IS NO TIME. NO SERIOUS COACH WILL TAKE THIS JOB

Pasamu on Monday Feb 22nd 2010 post ANC- I will repeat again, the problem with our team was never ability or personnel or even tactics . It was confidence pure and simple confidence. Amodus team had been spat upon, anything they did was dismissed as insignificant To see the team going from playing brilliant football against Egypt in the first half of their ANC group game to the cautious fear laden play against Zambia was sad.