Nigeria vs Zambia (0-1)

chopachop
Re: Nigeria vs Zambia (0-1)

Post by chopachop »

Is the match still going on ? the hesgoal feed keeps playing the 54;13 scene, and buffers.
and that has been going on for more than 20mins if I am not wrong. terrible feed.
Thunder

Post by Thunder »

packerland wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 10:55 pm
Odas wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 10:43 pm
lacidi wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 10:40 pm
Odas wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 10:38 pm
lacidi wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 10:34 pm
Odas wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 10:33 pm
lacidi wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 10:31 pm I still ask, how is this coach an upgrade to our local coaches?
Bros, what deficiencies do you see of him?
How has he improved the team?
Aaaaah, why are you asking me? I don't know and hence I asked you. Thus, please what is missing, bro?
Well we won it the last two times with local coaches
Well, when you have people who are always traveling to Oyiboland for everything, any local personnel is easily over-looked and ... Thus, if you are correct, we got what we bargained for.
I don’t see how you can judge the coach. When you have 6 players missing due to injuries and suspensions, you played 120mins of football and you didn’t train due to unpaid match bonuses…how they hell are you supposed to win against a decent side.
Gerraouta here! You’re making too much sense.
:D :D :D
WHATEVER, WHEREEVER, & WHENEVER, FOREVER ARSENAL! I am an ARSENALIST!
"Wise men talk because they have something to say, fools talk because they have to say something." - Plato

Cellular wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 10:57 pmHis results and the general team play have shown that he is not better.

But watching our team (both men and women) play, we need to do something about our decision-making process.

Sometimes I wonder what the heck are they thinking about when they make some plays...
"Decision-making" didn't seem to be a problem until Coach Randy (and Dennerby) showed up...
When you instruct players to HOOF it upfield to Oshoala or Omonumu, which other "decision" do you expect. :oops:

Well, my joy don go. I for not whoch dis game, sef, mscheeeew.
chopachop

Post by chopachop »

Thunder wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 10:41 pm
lacidi wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 10:31 pm I still ask, how is this coach an upgrade to our local coaches?
At least, he’s been encouraging & inviting players of Nigerian origin into the fold.
that is not his job. that is the job of the association. he can only give his input
of what he thinks of the player and how whether the player will add something
extra to his team. drafting just because they are foreign born makes no sense at
all.

packerland wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 10:55 pmI don’t see how you can judge the coach. When you have 6 players missing due to injuries and suspensions, you played 120mins of football and you didn’t train due to unpaid match bonuses…how they hell are you supposed to win against a decent side.
Because these are new developments that did not happen under ICs?!
Under Florence Omagbemi, not only were players not paid but she was not paid for the entire year she coached team.

Even when Florence's father died while she was coaching the team, she still was not paid...
Meanwhile, when the players had to go on strike for the allowances after actually WINNING WAFCON, Florence was fired!

Even when the NFF "suspended" several key players for the France 2019 WC strike...
Resulting in an under-strength team drawing against CIV and missing the Olympics on away goal rules, CEs blamed the IC!

Yeye just dey smell up and down on CE! :oops:

Gotti wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 11:08 pm
packerland wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 10:55 pmI don’t see how you can judge the coach. When you have 6 players missing due to injuries and suspensions, you played 120mins of football and you didn’t train due to unpaid match bonuses…how they hell are you supposed to win against a decent side.
Under Florence Omagbemi, not only were players not paid but she was not paid for the entire year she coached team.

Even when Florence's father died while she was coaching the team, she still was not paid...
Meanwhile, when the players had to go on strike for the allowances after actually WINNING WAFCON, Florence was fired!

Even when the NFF "suspended" several key players for the France 2019 WC strike...
Resulting in an under-strength team drawing against CIV and missing the Olympics on away goal rules, CEs blamed the IC!

Abeg, was Pinnick the NFF President then? My memory fails me.

chopachop wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 11:07 pm
Thunder wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 10:41 pmAt least, he’s been encouraging & inviting players of Nigerian origin into the fold.
that is not his job. that is the job of the association. he can only give his input
of what he thinks of the player and how whether the player will add something
extra to his team. drafting just because they are foreign born makes no sense at
all.
And he's NOT the one doing the job either...
So many folks are just bamboozled by his foreign-ness.

This is process that was started well before he became coach...
Someone like Alozie was just the happenstance of playing in Houston.
Last edited by Gotti on Fri Jul 22, 2022 11:19 pm, edited 2 times in total.

chopachop

Post by chopachop »

Does Nigeria not have lawyers that can sue the NFF for not honoring a contract they
signed and are party to. unbelievable that things like this still happen in 2022.
What is the press and media doing ? Imagine there is non stop persistent publicity about the NFF
they are about to change.

Cellular wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 11:15 pm

Abeg, was Pinnick the NFF President then? My memory fails me.
He definitely was when the players went on strike at WWC 2019...
And when the team leaders were "excluded" from the CIV game for the 'temerity' to ask for their dues.

chopachop

Post by chopachop »

I said it from the first day and have repeatedly said that Nigeria and Cameroon in particular
had regressed tremendously and were two poorly coached teams but since the falcons were
dispatching some very poor teams in the group stage most felt the team was okay when they
weren't. Considering how feeble minded the nigerian fans and local journalist are, all that is
victory over a poor opposition and the falcons will become world beaters again and the coach
will be hailed as a genius. I have repeatedly said A team is as good as the opposition.

Cellular wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 11:15 pmAbeg, was Pinnick the NFF President then? My memory fails me.
Look at what is CURRENTLY happening with the U20 Falconets that will be playing at the U20 WWC in about 3 weeks time (see story below). When things go tits up and they lose, the same CE chattering class (where's OTITOKORO?) will come here to blame the IC coaching them. When the Falcons qualified for the 2015 WWC by winning the WAFCON 2014, and the NFF did not arrange a single friendly for them between the qualification in 2014 and their arrival in Canada in June 2015 for the WWC, the CE chattering class still blamed the IC, despite the team actually playing competitively during the WC games.

https://bsnsports.com.ng/post/2022-FIFA ... g-In-Abuja
2022 FIFA U-20 Women World Cup: How Abandoned Falconets Trekked To Training In Abuja
By Niyi Busari July 22, 2022

The Nigeria Women U-20 national team, the Falconets on Wednesday trekked to their training ground at the Training Pitch 1 of Moshood Abiola Stadium Abuja, reports BSNSports.com.ng.

The players who have been abandoned by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) since they resumed camping, had to come down from the national team bus to complete the journey, trekking to their training venue after the team bus ran out of fuel.

It took the intervention of the Team Secretary, Patricia Osuji who raised money to purchase fuel for the bus to convey the players back to their hotel in Utako, Abuja. Patricia also doubles as Secretary to the General Secretary of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Mohammed Sanusi

Meanwhile, Sanusi, NFF President, Amaju Pinnick and other members of the federation are presently in Morocco for the ongoing African Women's Nations Cup, leaving the players and officials in agony and regrets two weeks to the commencement of the world cup in Costa Rica.

Worse still, the team which will be in action on 11th August at the 2022 FIFA U-20 Women World Cup in Costa Rica, a day after the Kick off have not played any quality friendly matches in preparation for the herculean task ahead of them. Since their camping began in Abuja, the 2010 and 2014 World Cup finalists were able to play two friendly matches with Abuja based Naija Ratels. A team that could not score a goal during the 2021/2022 NWFL Super 6 in Edo State. On Thursday, in a warm-up match against U-16 team of an Abuja based Football Academy (FC Roma), there was no arrangement for match officials to handle the game. The coaches had to call on a man who came to watch the national team play to officiate the match

Investigation revealed that NWFL Super 6 champions, Bayelsa Queens turned down a friendly match with the national team.

Recall that the Super Falcons in Morocco refused to train in protest for their unpaid match bonuses and allowances ahead of their Third Place match against Zambia.

The 2022 FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup will begin on 10 August and ends on 28 August. In group C, Nigeria will face France on Thursday August 11 at the San Jose Estadio Nacional, before they locked horns with Korea on Sunday August 14 at the Alajuela Morera Soto Stadium. At the venue, Canada will test their power with the African side on August 22 at 8pm.

Only four countries, namely Germany, Brazil, USA and Nigeria have played in all editions of the FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup since the competition was launched as a U19 championship in Canada 20 years ago.

Germany have won the championship thrice (2004, 2010 and 2014); USA have won thrice (2002, 2008 and 2012) while Nigeria have twice reached the Final, losing to Germany in 2010 and 2014.

chopachop wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 11:24 pm I said it from the first day and have repeatedly said that Nigeria and Cameroon in particular
had regressed tremendously and were two poorly coached teams but since the falcons were
dispatching some very poor teams in the group stage most felt the team was okay when they
weren't. Considering how feeble minded the nigerian fans and local journalist are, all that is
victory over a poor opposition and the falcons will become world beaters again and the coach
will be hailed as a genius. I have repeatedly said A team is as good as the opposition.
Abegi, let's not get carried away...
The Zambians got a fortuitous own-goal and hung on for dear life.

Even as poorly-coached as this SF team was, it ran rings around the Zambians...
The reality of football is that sometimes even the "better" team will lose games.

@Gotti, did Ifeoma Onumonu play?

Was she subbed off early or something?

scholl

Post by scholl »

:rotf: :rotf: Una dey waste emotions on country that treats people, who sacrifice a lot on their behalf, like poo poo. Unpaid bonus rows is, and has been a regular thing for decades. Somehow, many of you harbour hope or think certain actions under the same system will bring about a transformation.

Una dey find fresh and edible food for inside gutter. Na wah for una sef.

Gotti wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 11:35 pm
Cellular wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 11:15 pmAbeg, was Pinnick the NFF President then? My memory fails me.
Look at what is CURRENTLY happening with the U20 Falconets that will be playing at the U20 WWC in about 3 weeks time (see story below). When things go tits up and they lose, the same CE chattering class (where's OTITOKORO?) will come here to blame the IC coaching them. When the Falcons qualified for the 2015 WWC by winning the WAFCON 2014, and the NFF did not arrange a single friendly for them between the qualification in 2014 and their arrival in Canada in June 2015 for the WWC, the CE chattering class still blamed the IC, despite the team actually playing competitively during the WC games.

https://bsnsports.com.ng/post/2022-FIFA ... g-In-Abuja
2022 FIFA U-20 Women World Cup: How Abandoned Falconets Trekked To Training In Abuja
By Niyi Busari July 22, 2022

The Nigeria Women U-20 national team, the Falconets on Wednesday trekked to their training ground at the Training Pitch 1 of Moshood Abiola Stadium Abuja, reports BSNSports.com.ng.

The players who have been abandoned by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) since they resumed camping, had to come down from the national team bus to complete the journey, trekking to their training venue after the team bus ran out of fuel.

It took the intervention of the Team Secretary, Patricia Osuji who raised money to purchase fuel for the bus to convey the players back to their hotel in Utako, Abuja. Patricia also doubles as Secretary to the General Secretary of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Mohammed Sanusi

Meanwhile, Sanusi, NFF President, Amaju Pinnick and other members of the federation are presently in Morocco for the ongoing African Women's Nations Cup, leaving the players and officials in agony and regrets two weeks to the commencement of the world cup in Costa Rica.

Worse still, the team which will be in action on 11th August at the 2022 FIFA U-20 Women World Cup in Costa Rica, a day after the Kick off have not played any quality friendly matches in preparation for the herculean task ahead of them. Since their camping began in Abuja, the 2010 and 2014 World Cup finalists were able to play two friendly matches with Abuja based Naija Ratels. A team that could not score a goal during the 2021/2022 NWFL Super 6 in Edo State. On Thursday, in a warm-up match against U-16 team of an Abuja based Football Academy (FC Roma), there was no arrangement for match officials to handle the game. The coaches had to call on a man who came to watch the national team play to officiate the match

Investigation revealed that NWFL Super 6 champions, Bayelsa Queens turned down a friendly match with the national team.

Recall that the Super Falcons in Morocco refused to train in protest for their unpaid match bonuses and allowances ahead of their Third Place match against Zambia.

The 2022 FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup will begin on 10 August and ends on 28 August. In group C, Nigeria will face France on Thursday August 11 at the San Jose Estadio Nacional, before they locked horns with Korea on Sunday August 14 at the Alajuela Morera Soto Stadium. At the venue, Canada will test their power with the African side on August 22 at 8pm.

Only four countries, namely Germany, Brazil, USA and Nigeria have played in all editions of the FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup since the competition was launched as a U19 championship in Canada 20 years ago.

Germany have won the championship thrice (2004, 2010 and 2014); USA have won thrice (2002, 2008 and 2012) while Nigeria have twice reached the Final, losing to Germany in 2010 and 2014.
Gotti,

I was about to remind you that other than in 1999, local coaches has failed to get the team past the 1st round of the World Cup. Even clueless Dennerby won the WAFCON and got the team past the group stages of the WC.

But you’ve shown that LC’s over the years have been setup to fail when compared to their foreign counterparts. I’m with you if that’s the point you’re trying to make.

lacidi wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 10:40 pm
Odas wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 10:38 pm
lacidi wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 10:34 pm
Odas wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 10:33 pm
Bros, what deficiencies do you see of him?
How has he improved the team?
Aaaaah, why are you asking me? I don't know and hence I asked you. Thus, please what is missing, bro?
Well we won it the last two times with local coaches.
False. The last WAFCON was won by Dennerby. I don’t think the NFF is using WAFCON as a criteria for hiring their coaches. Remember, they just tripled the prize money for advancing to the Semi and beyond. The NFF is probably hiring coaches based on who can qualify the team & advance further at the World Cup even if the team plays ugly football.
chopachop

Post by chopachop »

Gotti wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 11:42 pm
chopachop wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 11:24 pm I said it from the first day and have repeatedly said that Nigeria and Cameroon in particular
Abegi, let's not get carried away...
The Zambians got a fortuitous own-goal and hung on for dear life.

Even as poorly-coached as this SF team was, it ran rings around the Zambians...
The reality of football is that sometimes even the "better" team will lose games.
Either we both watched different matches or your definition of running-rings is different
from the norm.

chopachop wrote: Sat Jul 23, 2022 3:11 pmEither we both watched different matches or your definition of running-rings is different from the norm.
Given most of your comments here...
Doubtful you'll recognize the "norm" if it jumped up and bit you in the behind! :lol:

Again, sans the fortuitous own-goal, on every single OBJECTIVE (a term you often misuse) measurable metric, Nigeria was well ahead (was not even remotely close) - attempts, attempts on target, passes, passing accuracy, possession, possession in final third, corners, etc. - except for fouls committed where the Zambians led comfortably (11 vs 3).

Gift Monday hit the post with a header, missed the rebound, as well as two other glaring 1 v 1 chances, while Belemu was fortunate to scramble Alozie's corner kick off the line. Anybody who have watched enough football has seen it before - sometimes it is simply not your day. CONGRATS to the Copper Queens, but one Swallow does not make a Spring.

packerland wrote: Sat Jul 23, 2022 2:04 pmGotti,

I was about to remind you that other than in 1999, local coaches has failed to get the team past the 1st round of the World Cup. Even clueless Dennerby won the WAFCON and got the team past the group stages of the WC.

But you’ve shown that LC’s over the years have been setup to fail when compared to their foreign counterparts. I’m with you if that’s the point you’re trying to make.
Only because the Round of 16 was ADDED in 2019 (by EXPANDING the WC by 8 additional teams)...
Eucharia Uche's 2011 Falcons had a BETTER record than Dennerby's 2019 team, but there was NO Round of 16 then.