PINNICK.....Nigeria May Host AFCON 2025 (How about Security?)

Security Issues Lurk Around the Corner???????

Nigeria seeking to co-host 2025 AFCON with Benin Republic —PinnickPublished 10 seconds ago on July 26, 2022By Ben Ugbana
https://www.ripplesnigeria.com/nigeria- ... c-pinnick/

President of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Amaju Pinnick has revealed that there is a possibility of Nigeria co-hosting the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON).

Pinnick said Nigeria could co-host the continental flagship event with neighboring Benin Republic.

Ripples Nigeria recalls that Nigeria had co-hosted the AFCON with Ghana during the 2000 edition, which Cameroon won.

Speaking to Journalists on Tuesday, Pinnick stated that Nigeria was already working on a bid with Benin Republic to host the 2025 showpiece.

He said that the Confederation of African Football (CAF) was likely to withdraw the hosting right of the 2025 competition from Guinea.

“We are putting a bid together for a co-hosting of the tournament with the Benin Republic,” said Pinnick

“The Minister of Sports has given his endorsement on the bidding.

“It is high time Nigeria hosted an international tournament because there are many advantages attached to hosting of such competitions.

“There are many countries bidding for the competition; we are confident of getting the nod from CAF.

”We are working with the ministry of sports to ensure that Nigeria gets the hosting right.”

The biennial competition was last hosted by Cameroon, with Senegal standing as the reigning champions. The next edition will be hosted by Cote d’Ivoire in January 2024.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: PINNICK.....Nigeria May Host AFCON 2025 (How about Security?)

Doesn't Cameroon have similar insecurity? How were they able to host the event?

1naija wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 12:34 am Doesn't Cameroon have similar insecurity? How were they able to host the event?
1naija,

You should find out

1) Are the security issues similar in terms of intensity and spread?

2) What were adjustments made by Cameroon?

3) What were CAF's concerns and the response to those concerns.

Over to you......
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

1naija wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 12:34 am Doesn't Cameroon have similar insecurity? How were they able to host the event?
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

But we've hosted several WC and AFCON qualifiers as well as high profile friedlies like rhe Argentina friendly. None of the pilitical party conventions has had security issues. I think poor infrastructure is more an issue than insecurity.
Enugu II wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 12:37 am
1naija,

You should find out

Over to you......
scholl

Post by scholl »

Unku, levels don change. Boko/ISWAP don dey Abuja outskirts. No be Kuje dem invade? The security situation in location 419 is not the same as Plantainistan. Ambazonian brothers are not funded like Boko-ISWAP.

Pinnick trying another gimmick to remain chairman. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 2:48 am Pinnick trying another gimmick to remain chairman. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
:clap: :clap:

scholl wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 2:46 am
Unku, levels don change. Boko/ISWAP don dey Abuja outskirts. No be Kuje dem invade? The security situation in location 419 is not the same as Plantainistan. Ambazonian brothers are not funded like Boko-ISWAP.

Hosting a one off game in a security controlled atmosphere during a better security climate is DIFFERENT from situation now and forecast in near future with a tournament of 24 teams over a month period in spread out venues, unsecured traveling climate, etc.

Uncle, read up boko haram in Cameroon. They are even more active there now than in Nigeria, yet they successfully hosted the recent AFCON.

When we can't even host an ordinary WAFU regional tournament, all of a sudden we think we can host an AFCON? It's quite clear what this is to be honest.
scholl

Post by scholl »

1naija wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 4:18 am Uncle, read up boko haram in Cameroon. They are even more active there now than in Nigeria, yet they successfully hosted the recent AFCON.
Unku, I was thinking about applying to be a train conductor but I got cold feet when the diversified economy blossomed along the Abuja-Kaduna route. Now there are several people, away from their family enjoying the dividends of the robust economy.

The AFCON tournament is a series of one off games. You mention security issues in Nigeria, but you cannot list one security breach that has occured to any Super Eagles games in Calabar, Port Harcourt, Uyo, Lagos, Benin, and even Kano. These are the only cities that host soccer games and will likely host AFCON games if Nigeria were to host the tournament. Nigeria has never played any game in Kaduna or Maiduguri. Even the Abuja you refer to is among the safest cities in Nigeria. The stadium is even far removed from the city that it would take a major security breakdown for any terrorist to be able to breach it.

Make una go home once in a while. There are more Nigerians that live in Naija than in Maryland or Houston.
Enugu II wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 3:31 am

Hosting a one off game in a security controlled atmosphere during a better security climate is DIFFERENT from situation now and forecast in near future with a tournament of 24 teams over a month period in spread out venues, unsecured traveling climate, etc.

Uncle, in addition to Abuja, the main sports stadiums in Nigeria are in Port Harcourt, Benin, Uyo, Calabar, and Lagos. Trains still ply between some of these cities on a daily basis. I know you haven't been back home since you got here in 1979, but Nigeria is not what internet Nigerians think it is.
scholl wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 5:14 am
1naija wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 4:18 am Uncle, read up boko haram in Cameroon. They are even more active there now than in Nigeria, yet they successfully hosted the recent AFCON.
Unku, I was thinking about applying to be a train conductor but I got cold feet when the diversified economy blossomed along the Abuja-Kaduna route. Now there are several people, away from their family enjoying the dividends of the robust economy.

Enugu II wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 12:37 am
1naija,

You should find out

Over to you......
Prof, but why are you posing those kind of questions as if 1Naija is Pinnick or even CAF President Motsepe?
He is simply voicing his support for the project in principle.
Why not answer the questions yourself to the best of your ability?
Seems you know the answers already.
Enlighten us.

Well said.
1naija wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 5:27 am The AFCON tournament is a series of one off games. You mention security issues in Nigeria, but you cannot list one security breach that has occured to any Super Eagles games in Calabar, Port Harcourt, Uyo, Lagos, Benin, and even Kano. These are the only cities that host soccer games and will likely host AFCON games if Nigeria were to host the tournament. Nigeria has never played any game in Kaduna or Maiduguri. Even the Abuja you refer to is among the safest cities in Nigeria. The stadium is even far removed from the city that it would take a major security breakdown for any terrorist to be able to breach it.

Make una go home once in a while. There are more Nigerians that live in Naija than in Maryland or Houston.
Enugu II wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 3:31 am

...Picnik wan chop the last time before him disappear to London for good.
SE not qualifying don do great damage to him chop money, plus the SF did not make the grade to collect huge payoff.
This guy is a fraud.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 2:48 am Pinnick trying another gimmick to remain chairman. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Exactly what I thought, bro. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Is it worth it?

Our show on NFF wanting to host the AFCON

Uncle, but Nigeria will benefit a lot more from it than whatever Pinnicks motive is.
Odas wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 5:09 pm

Africa Cup of Nations: Caf dismisses Nigeria's 2025 tournament bid talk
https://www.bbc.com/sport/africa/62324234
By Oluwashina Okeleji
Sports Writer, Nigeria
Last updated on3 hours ago3 hours ago.

Nigeria Football Federation president Amaju Pinnick says they plan to step in and host the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations - but the Confederation of African Football (Caf) insists the tournament will be staged in Guinea.

Pinnick announced on Tuesday that he had informed Caf executives of Nigeria's interest to co-host the 2025 tournament with Benin during an emergency Zoom meeting.

The political situation in Guinea, under military rule since a coup last year, has led to concerns over security and organisation for the 2025 finals.

Some media reports have suggested the event could be moved away from the West African nation, but a top Caf official says neither his organisation nor Guinean football officials have discussed such events.

"The host for the 2025 tournament remain Guinea and that has not changed," he told BBC Sport Africa.

"We've not discussed anything about a replacement or received any communication from Guinea about the inability to host. At this very moment, everything is on track for Guinea to host and there is no reason to suggest otherwise."

In January 2019, Guinea accepted an invitation to host the 2025 Nations Cup after Caf revised its hosts for the 2019, 2021 and 2023 editions.

Organisational issues, a packed football calendar following the coronavirus pandemic and weather conditions have all forced Caf to alter its schedule for its premier international tournament in recent years.

The 2021 finals in Cameroon were delayed by six months until January in February this year - and then went ahead despite the emergence of the Omicron variant of Covid-19 - while earlier this month it was announced that the 2023 tournament in Ivory Coast will now be played in early 2024 to avoid the rainy season.

Stadia needed - but should football be on the back burner?

Three-time African champions Nigeria want to take on another Nations Cup finals, having co-hosted with Ghana in 2000 and been the sole organisers in 1980.

Winners on home soil 42 years ago, Nigeria lost the 2000 Nations Cup final to Cameroon - an event generally considered to be a success.

Aside from Uyo, the venue for last season's Caf Confederation Cup final, and the refurbished Moshood Abiola National Stadium in Abuja, Nigeria have often struggled to find a decent stadium to host the Super Eagles.

The Lagos National Stadium, which staged the final of the 2000 final, is being renovated, while dozens of others that dot Nigerian cities have become white elephants - furthering emphasising a sad reminder of the country's poor maintenance culture.

As the 2023 general elections looms in Nigeria, Africa's most populous nation is struggling with high inflation, unemployment, power outages as well as an unprecedented wave of different, but overlapping, security crises.

From kidnapping to extremist insurgencies - almost every corner of the country has been hit by violence and crime.

There was also unrest inside stadium in Abuja after Nigeria lost their 2022 World Cup qualifying play-off against fierce rivals Ghana, with the pitch invaded, dugouts overturned and visiting supporters, players and officials pelted with missiles.

Yet Pinnick, also a member of the governing council of world governing body Fifa, remains confident of the country's ability to stage the 2025 edition with neighbours Benin.

"We are still in the early stage of the whole process," he said.

"As time goes on things will get clearer as to the stadiums Nigeria will present to host the matches.

The last major tournament Nigeria hosted was the Fifa Under-17 World Cup in 2009.
scholl

Post by scholl »

Enugu II wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 9:14 pm
Africa Cup of Nations: Caf dismisses Nigeria's 2025 tournament bid talk
https://www.bbc.com/sport/africa/62324234
By Oluwashina Okeleji
Sports Writer, Nigeria
Last updated on3 hours ago3 hours ago.

Nigeria Football Federation president Amaju Pinnick says they plan to step in and host the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations - but the Confederation of African Football (Caf) insists the tournament will be staged in Guinea.

Pinnick announced on Tuesday that he had informed Caf executives of Nigeria's interest to co-host the 2025 tournament with Benin during an emergency Zoom meeting.

The political situation in Guinea, under military rule since a coup last year, has led to concerns over security and organisation for the 2025 finals.

Some media reports have suggested the event could be moved away from the West African nation, but a top Caf official says neither his organisation nor Guinean football officials have discussed such events.

"The host for the 2025 tournament remain Guinea and that has not changed," he told BBC Sport Africa.

"We've not discussed anything about a replacement or received any communication from Guinea about the inability to host. At this very moment, everything is on track for Guinea to host and there is no reason to suggest otherwise."

In January 2019, Guinea accepted an invitation to host the 2025 Nations Cup after Caf revised its hosts for the 2019, 2021 and 2023 editions.

Organisational issues, a packed football calendar following the coronavirus pandemic and weather conditions have all forced Caf to alter its schedule for its premier international tournament in recent years.

The 2021 finals in Cameroon were delayed by six months until January in February this year - and then went ahead despite the emergence of the Omicron variant of Covid-19 - while earlier this month it was announced that the 2023 tournament in Ivory Coast will now be played in early 2024 to avoid the rainy season.

Stadia needed - but should football be on the back burner?

Three-time African champions Nigeria want to take on another Nations Cup finals, having co-hosted with Ghana in 2000 and been the sole organisers in 1980.

Winners on home soil 42 years ago, Nigeria lost the 2000 Nations Cup final to Cameroon - an event generally considered to be a success.

Aside from Uyo, the venue for last season's Caf Confederation Cup final, and the refurbished Moshood Abiola National Stadium in Abuja, Nigeria have often struggled to find a decent stadium to host the Super Eagles.

The Lagos National Stadium, which staged the final of the 2000 final, is being renovated, while dozens of others that dot Nigerian cities have become white elephants - furthering emphasising a sad reminder of the country's poor maintenance culture.

As the 2023 general elections looms in Nigeria, Africa's most populous nation is struggling with high inflation, unemployment, power outages as well as an unprecedented wave of different, but overlapping, security crises.

From kidnapping to extremist insurgencies - almost every corner of the country has been hit by violence and crime.

There was also unrest inside stadium in Abuja after Nigeria lost their 2022 World Cup qualifying play-off against fierce rivals Ghana, with the pitch invaded, dugouts overturned and visiting supporters, players and officials pelted with missiles.

Yet Pinnick, also a member of the governing council of world governing body Fifa, remains confident of the country's ability to stage the 2025 edition with neighbours Benin.

"We are still in the early stage of the whole process," he said.

"As time goes on things will get clearer as to the stadiums Nigeria will present to host the matches.

The last major tournament Nigeria hosted was the Fifa Under-17 World Cup in 2009.
:rotf: People for location 419 no dey shame. CAF tell dem say no one ask Federal Republic of Olodo to step in. On top that, they even listed all the location 419 problems for dem. A whole giant of Africa? LOL

Unku 1Naira, how far? Shebi you were telling us that they are building a world class stadium in Sambisa, in preparation for hosting the ANC? :rotf:

1naija wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 8:48 pm Uncle, but Nigeria will benefit a lot more from it than whatever Pinnicks motive is.
Odas wrote: Wed Jul 27, 2022 5:09 pm
Master 1Naija,

Are you sure of what you said? Assuming all the accusations of the NFF corruption is true, what if Pinnick and his men do us a 'film trick', and pocket all the monies Nigeria and Republic of Benin would have gotten?