FRANCE VS NIGERIA (FT 0:1)

Re: FRANCE VS NIGERIA (HT 0:0)

bret- hart wrote: Fri Aug 12, 2022 2:46 am I dont trust this our GK.
In both our men and women teams, we have no goalkeepers. I think it will continue to cost us games, until we find reliable keepers

wow

1-0 naija yet heading still dey say 0-0
Last edited by Cmoke on Fri Aug 12, 2022 3:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

See the disrespect of our women!
Una just abandon this thread
Re: FRANCE VS NIGERIA (FT 0:1)

my goodness canada has the worst national anthem, the thing no sweet at all

waka-man wrote: Fri Aug 12, 2022 2:53 am Good start to the tournament. In what I’d say is a group of death, this is a massive boost. They got better and better as the game went on which also bodes well.
Every group is a group of death oooo in this tournament

theses Korean jerseys are lovely.

1naija wrote: Fri Aug 12, 2022 3:07 am That disallowed goal by France should have stood. The better team won though...
It shouldn't...
It was correctly disallowed.

GKs are vulnerable...
You cannot run into them, whether or not it actually caused the drop.

The more impressive for me...
Is how the "scorer" got the drop ball through the packed goal area and line.

Simi Awujo of Canada is she Nigerian? I think we need to look her way o.

But she did not "run" into the goalkeeper
She went up for the ball as the goalkeeper. The goalkeper slightly colided with her. THEN SHE SPILLED THE BALL. If the situation were reversed, we would still be screaming racism now!
Gotti wrote: Fri Aug 12, 2022 4:04 am
1naija wrote: Fri Aug 12, 2022 3:07 am That disallowed goal by France should have stood. The better team won though...
It shouldn't...
It was correctly disallowed.

GKs are vulnerable...
You cannot run into them, whether or not it actually caused the drop.

The more impressive for me...
Is how the "scorer" got the drop ball through the packed goal area and line.

Korea schooling Canada

bret- hart wrote: Fri Aug 12, 2022 4:16 am Simi Awujo of Canada is she Nigerian? I think we need to look her way o.
I was wondering recently how come Simi is playing for Canada...
Born and grew up in Atlanta by 2 Naija parents who grew up in Nigeria (mom ran track).

I doubt she had ever been to Canada until she was called up...
In fact, she had previously been invited by the US at the U15 or U17 level.

1naija wrote: Fri Aug 12, 2022 4:19 am But she did not "run" into the goalkeeper
She went up for the ball as the goalkeeper. The goalkeper slightly colided with her. THEN SHE SPILLED THE BALL. If the situation were reversed, we would still be screaming racism now!
If the situation was reversed...
It wouldn't even go to VAR because it would've been called on the field.

Meanwhile, forget the semantics...
You're not supposed to "collide" with the GK and score. Even Yobo knows that!

Ahhh Yobo! The greatest soccer player to ever come out of Nigeria...
Gotti wrote: Fri Aug 12, 2022 5:02 am
1naija wrote: Fri Aug 12, 2022 4:19 am But she did not "run" into the goalkeeper
If the situation was reversed...
It wouldn't even go to VAR because it would've been called on the field.

Meanwhile, forget the semantics...
You're not supposed to "collide" with the GK and score. Even Yobo knows that!

Maybe she was born in a hospital in Canada. Nigerian parents come up with all sorts of permutations when trying to sort out the best situation for their kids.
Gotti wrote: Fri Aug 12, 2022 4:59 am
bret- hart wrote: Fri Aug 12, 2022 4:16 am Simi Awujo of Canada is she Nigerian? I think we need to look her way o.
Born and grew up in Atlanta by 2 Naija parents who grew up in Nigeria (mom ran track).

THE CANADIAN TEAM IS MADE UP ALMOST ENTIRELY OF AMERICAN MERCENARIES

They are mostly kids from US varsities. Awujo, who has Nigerian parents, was a freshman in 2021 in the University of Southern California, Plumptre's alma mater. She has two other varsity teammates as starters on the Canadian team - Brooklyn Courtnall & Zoe Burns. Current Falcon Nicole Payne becomes a teammate in the fall so maybe she can get Awujo to look the Falcon way. They have another "Nigerian" (Adamulekun) but she plays for Jamaica. Interestingly, the arrival of Awujo, a female Patrick Vieira, sent Adamolekun to the bench.

https://usctrojans.com/sports/womens-soccer/roster

Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Aug 12, 2022 2:46 am if we make the finals i dey go Costa Rica
Man Naija don make the finals twice before always losing in the finals(Germany).

A well deserved and hard fought win for our girls. For my money the goalscorer Sebastian was our best player on the day - skillfull, composed, consistently made good decisions with the ball, tracked back defensively at crucial moments and a looked like a deadly finisher on her goal. Our captain, Demehin, also stood out and was a Trojan in defense. Oyenezide was the best player on the pitch before the rain delay, after which the French paid more attention to her and targeted her with fouls - a midfield maestro in the making. Honorable mention to Mercy Idoko as well.

Among the starting eleven, this team has a lot of likeable components. Of course, the goalkeeping must improve and we are yet to ascertain the quality of our bench. However considering the less stellar build-up to the tournament, this was a great statement of intent on the part of our girls.

https://www.nairaland.com/3400356/niger ... thread/345
Nairaland thread on this issue.
Someone suggested a quick pathway to Canadian citizenship is to wear their colors. True?

Thanks for congratulating the girls. What about the Coach?

...great thru ball to score that goal. Was beautiful. Congrats to the girls.

Odas wrote: Fri Aug 12, 2022 3:12 am
In both our men and women teams, we have no goalkeepers. I think it will continue to cost us games, until we find reliable keepers
Na lie. Super Falcons, Nnadozie is top level. Helped her team to the Champions League for the first time in their history. One of the best in the French league.

Adisboy wrote: Fri Aug 12, 2022 10:40 am
Odas wrote: Fri Aug 12, 2022 3:12 am
Na lie. Super Falcons, Nnadozie is top level. Helped her team to the Champions League for the first time in their history. One of the best in the French league.
Kpom.
We are to quick to disparage our players after a brief bad spell or even just a bad game.
Chiamaka has consistently been quality.
Now we are beginning to hear "we don't have a keeper".
Na wa.