Joseph Akpala lands assistant coach gig in Belgium

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2022 6:01 am
by maceo4
First division team KV Kortrijk :clap: :clap:

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.pulse. ... p7e53l.amp

Retired Super Eagles striker take up coaching job with Belgian first division club

September 16th 2022, 11:57:50 pm

This becomes the first coaching job for the 36-year-old following his retirement from professional football in the summer of 2021.

Former Super Eagles forward Joseph Akpala has taken over a coaching role at Belgian First Division club, KV Kortrijk.

The Belgian club announced on its official website on Friday, revealing that the 36-year-old had become one of their two new assistant managers deputising recently-hired Adnan Custovic.

It becomes the first coaching job the former Nigerian international will handle following his retirement from professional football in the summer of 2021.

Re: Joseph Akpala lands assistant coach gig in Belgium

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2022 6:14 am
by Tobi17
Wow this is big!!!! Congrats to Akpala :clap:

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2022 7:18 am
Hopefully Bushboy will not follow the poor man into coaching and ruin his career again.

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2022 7:21 am
by Damunk
:clap: :clap:
Excellent news.
And may many more follow in his footsteps!

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2022 7:40 am
Everytime the name Joseph Akpala is mentioned, I remember that song he was singing in some awards by his club ..it cracks me up. Well done

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2022 1:21 pm
by 1naija
Never heard of him before. When did he play for the SE?

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2022 1:32 pm
by Dammy
1naija wrote: Sun Sep 18, 2022 1:21 pm Never heard of him before. When did he play for the SE?
I think he scored the only goal in a friendly against France in 2009, when the SE beat France 1-0 in their backyard.

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2022 12:54 am
by Enugu II
Dammy wrote: Sun Sep 18, 2022 1:32 pm
1naija wrote: Sun Sep 18, 2022 1:21 pm Never heard of him before. When did he play for the SE?
I think he scored the only goal in a friendly against France in 2009, when the SE beat France 1-0 in their backyard.
:clap: :clap: I feel 1naija should know this, though.

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2022 2:43 am
by jette1
Enugu II wrote: Mon Sep 26, 2022 12:54 am
You mean he tapped it in for Uche; men how did our football now declined so badly; just see ballers all over

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2022 3:33 am
by maceo4
I remember Patrice Evra saying we played like Brazil that day, we were that dominant…crazy how far we’ve fallen.

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2022 4:26 am
by mcal
...I hope he doesn't use this as a stepping stone to SE scramble, better stay there and scrap with the best than come mingle with armature crooks at the NFA.

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2022 1:41 pm
Enugu II wrote: Mon Sep 26, 2022 12:54 am
Unfortunately, 1naija doesnt know much. :oops:

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2022 5:26 pm
by King Futcha
here was his best performance.

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2022 6:11 pm
by bret- hart
It's always the know nothings like you that pollute this forum. How do you not know who Apkala is? Pls Pls just stick to being a taxi driver. That is your calling. :oops:

Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2022 6:45 pm
by wanaj0
maceo4 wrote: Mon Sep 26, 2022 3:33 am I remember Patrice Evra saying we played like Brazil that day, we were that dominant…crazy how far we’ve fallen.
Who was the coach ?

Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2022 8:53 pm
by maceo4
wanaj0 wrote: Tue Sep 27, 2022 6:45 pm
maceo4 wrote: Mon Sep 26, 2022 3:33 am I remember Patrice Evra saying we played like Brazil that day, we were that dominant…crazy how far we’ve fallen.
Who was the coach ?
I wanna say it was Amodu, can't remember...

Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2022 5:03 am
by wanaj0
maceo4 wrote: Tue Sep 27, 2022 8:53 pm
Who was the coach ?
It will be good to know the coach that made us play like BRAZIL :thumb:

Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2022 7:36 am
by jette1
wanaj0 wrote: Wed Sep 28, 2022 5:03 am
Who was the coach ?
Amodu

Posted: Thu Sep 29, 2022 1:20 am
by wanaj0
jette1 wrote: Wed Sep 28, 2022 7:36 am
wanaj0 wrote: Wed Sep 28, 2022 5:03 am
Who was the coach ?
Amodu
So it was the 'clueless' Amodu? hmmmm