Nigeria should consider making a move for Berlin-born Glasgow Celtic star "Moritz Jenz"

The Nigeria Football Federation should consider making a move for Moritz Jenz, who plays for Scottish Premiership giants, Celtic on loan from Lorient in France and is a central defender by trade. Born in Berlin, Jenz is uncapped at international level by his country of birth Germany and also qualifies to represent the Super Eagles based on the 'granny rule'.

The 23-year-old has had a fine start to life at Parkhead, scoring two goals in seven appearances and helping the Hoops keep three clean sheets in the process. For now, Jenz is leaning towards representing Germany over Nigeria because he has close ties to the European giants.

"I qualify for Germany and Nigeria but I would prefer Germany because that’s where I grew up, " Jenz told the Scottish media in July.

“It’s a great country to play for an hopefully one day I can make a couple of appearances, then maybe a couple more and then, who knows, perhaps play in a World Cup or Euros.

“But I need to do my best for the club first. That’s the most important thing and after that we can talk about the national team."

Standing at 6 ft 3 inches, Jenz is a threat from set-pieces due to his height as he won't be easily bullied in the air. The lanky defender can also be deployed as a right fullback, having played there several times. Jenz would be a great addition to the Super Eagles, considering the inactivity of William Troost-Ekong and Leon Balogun's age.

Only Calvin Bassey and Kevin Akpoguma out of all invited central defenders for the international friendly against Algeria play in top European Leagues.

The Nigeria Football Federation have convinced several dual nationals including Alex Iwobi, Maduka Okoye, Leon Balogun, Troost-Ekong, Calvin Bassey, Joe Aribo, Ola Aina and Cyriel Dessers to pledge their international future to the Super Eagles.

https://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_n ... ?nid=44887
Re: Nigeria should consider making a move for Berlin-born Glasgow Celtic star "Moritz Jenz"

We’ll get him easy,he fits the profile. Good player not about to play for Germany anytime soon and fills a position we need new players. Oya, BigTurkey should start spamming his parents. They give up and order him to report to Nff headquarters with alacrity.
Re: Nigeria should consider making a move for Berlin-born Glasgow Celtic star "Moritz Jenz"

The more defenders the better for us, cause right now only Bassey and Akpoguma are playing consistently at the highest level, and that's very worrying...it's a crime against football that we are still parading the likes of Omeruo and Ekong.

...this is becoming terrible, soon our all 11 players/starters will be of foreign born and raised, if not the whole team.
For every failure we have at football there is never an attempt to revitalize the local league and cultivate home grown players.
Instead na quick quick fixes dem dey look for abroad.
This habit is becoming like the rest of Nigerian national life.
Everything source from abroad.

Since the domestic situation prevents development of anything, we have to have
everything developed outside our bothers and simply import. Did we not see how
Pinnick was going around finding other countries' rejects to buttress our team?

We deserve who leads us.

mcal wrote: Tue Sep 20, 2022 8:54 pm ...this is becoming terrible, soon our all 11 players/starters will be of foreign born and raised, if not the whole team.
For every failure we have at football there is never an attempt to revitalize the local league and cultivate home grown players.

Nigeria is a failed state with no hope for the future, even remotely in sight. Folks need to accept that.
As they say, we go manage am...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

mcal wrote: Tue Sep 20, 2022 8:54 pm ...this is becoming terrible, soon our all 11 players/starters will be of foreign born and raised, if not the whole team.
Well none of us like our dire football situation but wetin man go do? the uncomfortable reality is that we will continue to depend on diaspora talents who honed their skills in the various foreign nations of their birth and will continue to see as second option until we fix our mess back home.

The Homebased team could not even qualify for CAN so who in their right mind would want to select any of those players. The club sides continue to perform poorly during CAF Champions league competitions and the Cup winners. At some point you have to realise that the best footballers for the national team can no longer be found in Nigeria.

Flex Swift wrote: Wed Sep 21, 2022 8:31 am The Homebased team could not even qualify for CAN so who in their right mind would want to select any of those players. The club sides continue to perform poorly during CAF Champions league competitions and the Cup winners. At some point you have to realise that the best footballers for the national team can no longer be found in Nigeria.
So what's the solution?

Flex Swift wrote: Wed Sep 21, 2022 8:31 am The Homebased team could not even qualify for CAN so who in their right mind would want to select any of those players. The club sides continue to perform poorly during CAF Champions league competitions and the Cup winners. At some point you have to realise that the best footballers for the national team can no longer be found in Nigeria.
...as is everything Nigeria, they are not being supported well enough to progress and produce.
The energy, money expended on flying around Europe by our FA officials can be geared within the country scouring and canvasing for players, instead they are left to wannabes with meager supports.

Well... Jenz just announced that he's not interested in playing for Nigeria. End of discussion. O pari ni yen.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Sep 21, 2022 6:23 pm Well... Jenz just announced that he's not interested in playing for Nigeria. End of discussion. O pari ni yen.
Why not just be quiet and wait and see what happens…no one knows the future. These players sef…