Super Eagles (2) vs Algeria HB (2) - Highlights & Full Match

Re: Super Eagles (2) vs Algeria HB (2) - Highlights

txj wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 5:39 pm
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 4:57 pm
txj wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 2:42 pm
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 2:27 pm
Damunk wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 7:41 am
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 5:46 am I am mostly amused by the goal keeping complaints. Medicine after death, as far as I’m concerned. When Rohr was foisting these incredibly incompetent youngsters on the SuperEagles, you guys didn’t complain; you mostly hailed him for his foresight and coaching acumen. Now, the chicken has come home to roost🤔❗️

Did you fight for Akpeyi?
Good if you did.
But if you allowed the abuse to slide unchallenged, then you too are just as guilty.
I have been constantly ridiculed on this forum for supporting local goalies like Ezenwa and akpeyi❗️

What do you expect if you are supporting clown act duo like Ezenwa and Akpeyi?
If we had Ezenwa and Akpeyi instead of Okoye and Uzoho, we’d be heading for the World Cup🤔❗️

Like we headed to AFCON finals in 2019, right?
What are you talking about? Did either one of Ezenwa or Akpeyi play a roll in the 2019 AFCON finals❓🤷🏾‍♀️❗️

Sunset wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 3:37 pm
Orion wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 3:01 pm We must have goalkeepers in the NPFL better than these two guys in terms of reflexes and shot-stopping abilities. Otherwise, there is something seriously wrong with our league.

Maduka and Uzoho have proven beyond a shadow of a doubt that they're not good enough. They have glaring flaws that'll keep SE from achieving anything of note.
Well it's the preconceived bias against our HB goalkeepers that put us in this situation in the first place. Take Akpeyi for example who spent most of his career in the NPFL and wasn't rated even for our CHAN or Olympic teams (rightly so), but as soon as he moved to South Africa, he was all of a sudden part of the reckoning with the main SE due to that status alone.

I wouldn't put Uzoho in the same category as Maduka just yet IMO, he made one big mistake, it has not developed into a trend as of yet.
That proves that the same people that are picking our teams over they years are still around. I remember people saying that Ezenwa is not even our best local goalkeeper and I don’t mind him being our 3rd choice.

Orion wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 3:01 pm We must have goalkeepers in the NPFL better than these two guys in terms of reflexes and shot-stopping abilities. Otherwise, there is something seriously wrong with our league.

Maduka and Uzoho have proven beyond a shadow of a doubt that they're not good enough. They have glaring flaws that'll keep SE from achieving anything of note.
...hmm, all because of one error a-piece.
One at afcon, the other at wc qualification.
We Nigerians got serious issues, upon the bungling mess our NFA has.

mcal wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 6:46 pm

Okoye only has one error? He has at least 4 that has led to goals.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 5:51 pm
Damunk wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 7:41 am
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 5:46 am I am mostly amused by the goal keeping complaints. Medicine after death, as far as I’m concerned. When Rohr was foisting these incredibly incompetent youngsters on the SuperEagles, you guys didn’t complain; you mostly hailed him for his foresight and coaching acumen. Now, the chicken has come home to roost🤔❗️

Did you fight for Akpeyi?
Good if you did.
But if you allowed the abuse to slide unchallenged, then you too are just as guilty.
I have been constantly ridiculed on this forum for supporting local goalies like Ezenwa and akpeyi❗️

If we had Ezenwa and Akpeyi instead of Okoye and Uzoho, we’d be heading for the World Cup🤔❗️

What are you talking about? Did either one of Ezenwa or Akpeyi play a roll in the 2019 AFCON finals❓🤷🏾‍♀️❗️

A bit slow are we...

We had Akpeyi in the AFCON S/final. I don't recall him leading us to the final?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 7:02 pm
Damunk wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 7:41 am Did you fight for Akpeyi?
Good if you did.

A bit slow are we...

Aaaw, stop stretching like a giraffe. We lost fortuitously to an arguably superior Algeria team. There was no goalkeeping error involved. We conceded an Ekong own goal and eventually lost the game at the last moment on a brilliant Mahrez free kick that not even the combination of Allison and Mendy could have stopped. The bottom line is, the combination of Akpeyi and Ezenwa is far more reliable than the combination of Okoye and Uzoho❗️

Cheers

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 7:27 pm
txj wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 7:02 pm

A bit slow are we...

Aaaw, stop stretching like a giraffe. We lost fortuitously to an arguably superior Algeria team. There was no goalkeeping error involved. We conceded an Ekong own goal and eventually lost the game at the last moment on a brilliant Mahrez free kick that not even the combination of Allison and Mendy could have stopped. The bottom line is, the combination of Akpeyi and Ezenwa is far more reliable than the combination of Okoye and Uzoho❗️

Cheers

we lost on a last minute freekick that our GK could not even set up a proper wall...
But somehow, according to you, the same GK would've qualified us for the WC?

Your fixation with clownish GKs speaks volumes...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

What proper wall did he not set? You were probably high on burukutu when you were watching the game. You all hounded him out of the national team, so live with the garbage you have now.

Mahrez is a free kick specialist jut like Hristo Stoichov was! He is very good at it.

I guess all the goalkeepers in this clip didn't set up a proper wall.

txj wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 7:34 pm

Cheers
we lost on a last minute freekick that our GK could not even set up a proper wall...

Last edited by 1naija on Sat Sep 24, 2022 11:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

1naija wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 8:05 pm What proper wall did he not set? You were probably high on burukutu when you were watching the game. You all hounded him out of the national team, so leave with the garbage you have now.

Mahrez is a free kick specialist jut like Hristo Stoichov was! He is very good at it.

Cheers

None of the GKs in the youtube clip are diving at a grasshopper as your boy Akpeyi :rotf:

He set up the wall badly with the shorter players on his blind side

Then gambled by first moving to his left, and on the kick being taken, could never recover, with the ball going over his head.

An abysmally poor GK is the kind of stale soup you have been selling here on CE for a decade!

An abysmally poor GK.

I didn't know it was goalkeepers that arrange every player in a wall by height.

The fact that Mahrez scored all those freekicks despite those goalkeepers arranging the walls well and not gamble by moving should tell you how great a freekick taker he is. Meanwhile, we wasted several freekicks in the same game.
txj wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 10:49 pm
1naija wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 8:05 pm What proper wall did he not set? You were probably high on burukutu when you were watching the game. You all hounded him out of the national team, so leave with the garbage you have now.

Cheers

None of the GKs in the youtube clip are diving at a grasshopper as your boy Akpeyi :rotf:

Then gambled by first moving to his left, and on the kick being taken, could never recover, with the ball going over his head.

An abysmally poor GK is the kind of stale soup you have been selling here on CE for a decade!

An abysmally poor GK.

Mahrez is great at set piece as the videos show.

But on the SE game, our GK was pants. Focus bro on the SE game and what was done or not done.

Our GK was pants; from his construction of the wall, to his gamble; even his initial positioning.

Throughout that tournament he was pants.
Uncertain on crosses, corner kicks and set pieces
Poor ball handling.
Dead with his feet; as dead as a corpse on OK Corall...
Poor reflexes

Why do you appear to be specialized on clown GKs?

1naija wrote: Sun Sep 25, 2022 12:16 am I didn't know it was goalkeepers that arrange every player in a wall by height.

The fact that Mahrez scored all those freekicks despite those goalkeepers arranging the walls well and not gamble by moving should tell you how great a freekick taker he is. Meanwhile, we wasted several freekicks in the same game.
txj wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 10:49 pm

Cheers

An abysmally poor GK.

maceo4 wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 6:51 pm

What about Uzoho? Apart from the 2nd leg against Ghana, Uzoho has been pretty decent. Remember he kept all three matches at the 2018 World Cup. Recently he was very good against Mexico, Ecuador and Sierra Leone. I don't agree with the Uzoho assessment. He deserves the number 1 spot currently.

Adisboy wrote: Sun Sep 25, 2022 11:13 pm

What about Uzoho? Apart from the 2nd leg against Ghana, Uzoho has been pretty decent. Remember he kept all three matches at the 2018 World Cup. Recently he was very good against Mexico, Ecuador and Sierra Leone. I don't agree with the Uzoho assessment. He deserves the number 1 spot currently.
Uhmmmm no, he's not good enough

I wouldn't fully say that he deserves it, but amongst the GK's we have used in recent times, he is the most reliable.

Sunset wrote: Mon Sep 26, 2022 2:36 am

I wouldn't fully say that he deserves it, but amongst the GK's we have used in recent times, he is the most reliable.
Yea though poor as well, seems he’s the best we got right now…

Tobi17 wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 12:34 am
olu wrote: Sat Sep 24, 2022 12:07 am Wow! What a comical error by Okoye.
We have a serious goalkeeping crisis
I think everyone, including our opponents, know we have a 'goalkeeper' issue

With our goal keeping issues I REALLY don't think 442 is the way to go.

442 will eventually leave players out of position and offer opposition clear shooting lanes.

See how 2 speculative shots from far out ended our afcon and WC hopes. We need to clog the midfield so opposition do not get a chance to take these kind of shots.

But hey who am I ? Carry on with 442 and calling up 3 midfielders in a squad of 25.

maceo4 wrote: Mon Sep 26, 2022 3:10 am

What you guys are saying is consistency because Uzoho has put in some solid performances against real top level opposition, remember the Brazil friendly? If he produces such on the regular we should be fine. I believe it will come with time. This is the risk with young inexperienced goal keepers.

Adisboy wrote: Mon Sep 26, 2022 8:15 am

What you guys are saying is consistency because Uzoho has put in some solid performances against real top level opposition, remember the Brazil friendly? If he produces such on the regular we should be fine. I believe it will come with time. This is the risk with young inexperienced goal keepers.
Yea but that was before his bad knee injury vs Brazil, I don’t think he’s been the same since he returned.

Adisboy wrote: Mon Sep 26, 2022 8:15 am

The questions is why are our goal keepers almost Teenagers? This is a position for experienced people.

gochino wrote: Mon Sep 26, 2022 11:09 am The questions is why are our goal keepers almost Teenagers? This is a position for experienced people.
We were informed Rohr preferred tall GKs and those based in Europe.

fabio wrote: Mon Sep 26, 2022 11:45 am
gochino wrote: Mon Sep 26, 2022 11:09 am The questions is why are our goal keepers almost Teenagers? This is a position for experienced people.
You can always recall Agbim :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Damunk wrote: Mon Sep 26, 2022 2:18 pm
fabio wrote: Mon Sep 26, 2022 11:45 am
You can always recall Agbim :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
You can always recall Rohr :taunt: