Algeria vs Nigeria (2-1)

Re: Algeria vs Nigeria (2-1)

Liked what I saw of Onyeka in this game. His vertical movement, coverage and work between the defensive lines was very good.

Also liked the partnership b/w Bassey and Akpoguma. For a first time partnership it did look good and were never caught out by either a wall pass or ball over the top, except for the Mahrez missed control...

Concerned about our quality out wide; its just not there atm

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

davidbam14 wrote: Tue Sep 27, 2022 10:13 pm
highbury wrote: Tue Sep 27, 2022 10:02 pm With this Coach, Nigeria will not qualify for Afcon or any World Cup with this Coach. D rated coach. SE are not a good team. They're average at best.
I think the coach is OK but the team is very average by african standards. Poor ball control, one touch move, too slow in decision making..... for a football loving country with over 200million we have under achieved.
But thats issue abi ? When we have an average team we NEED more than an average coach . Average team plus average coach = no results. or at best average results.

Since we cant fix average team we need a better than average coach Pesa is good but he is not what we need

To be fair Algeria didn't get one single clear cut chance in this game, Uzoho was just too useless to save a 40 yard scorcher, hopefully this is the last we see of these two (Uzoho and Okoye).

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Sep 27, 2022 10:16 pm
davidbam14 wrote: Tue Sep 27, 2022 10:13 pm
highbury wrote: Tue Sep 27, 2022 10:02 pm With this Coach, Nigeria will not qualify for Afcon or any World Cup with this Coach. D rated coach. SE are not a good team. They're average at best.
I think the coach is OK but the team is very average by african standards. Poor ball control, one touch move, too slow in decision making..... for a football loving country with over 200million we have under achieved.
A football loving country of 200 million people can't produce a single world class GK and midfielder? That deserves a documentary of its own
You cant produce a world class GK and midfielder when:

1. goalkeeper - the NFF and coaches spend years upon years inviting the same goalkeepers because of blowjob, rather than actively scouting for proper talent; and

2. midfielders - every single coach and the NFF think football doesnt need midfield, so they invite 4 midfielders :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

abeggiiiiiiiii! You want to succeed, but do not want to do what it takes to succeed. :oops:
Re: Algeria vs Nigeria (1-1) Moffi

mcal wrote: Tue Sep 27, 2022 10:00 pm
lacidi wrote: Tue Sep 27, 2022 9:28 pm Hmm, this our coach, una sure say no be from frying pan to fire?
...Rohr laffin' his rear end off somewhere at his vacation spot :lol: :lol: :lol:
Hmm he is still on vacation? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: You slaves do not want to admit that your b4st4rd is jobless because he cannot find a job -- you keep calling it vacation. :rotf: :rotf:

How woud 4-3-3 have changed the outcome of the game? How would it have prevented our so called professional goalkeeper from letting in a 50 yard shot? Did we not create several chances in the game with the formation we used? How would 4-3-3 have prevented injuries to some of our key players, which forced us to make the selection we made and the formation we played?

All these ATF analysis must stop.
txj wrote: Tue Sep 27, 2022 10:35 pm
green4life wrote: Tue Sep 27, 2022 10:09 pm Overall it was a quality test given, unfortunately, we can't play & score 10 against Sao Tome every month.

Jokes aside, two glaring areas for improvement are goalie and midfield.

Also, we should be playing a 433 for better balance. No 5 at the back and no 442 biko.

Said it now for more than a year.

We are ripe for a transition to a 4-3-3, with Iwobi at the top of a triangle. He's come on in leaps and bounds and is very responsible on the ball, added to an increased work rate.

We cannot get anything more from Kele in this role...

I didnt watch the match, so frankly, i cant comment on performance. But a few interesting things:

- Away match + very hostile territory
- our top 2 strikers missing
- first time our CBs are playing together and one of them was not on the team over the last one year
- Our CM and Winger is not the first choice - Frank and Lookman.
- their first goal was scored from a penalty kick.

Our second goal was never offside

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

oh! just saw their second goal. our goalkeeper is an 1mbec1le.

Let's give Algeria credit. They are a good team. In my opinion, with the exception of maybe Senegal and Morocco I think they are better than all the other African teams going to the world cup, including Cameroun that eliminated them.

1naija wrote: Tue Sep 27, 2022 11:12 pm How woud 4-3-3 have changed the outcome of the game? How would it have prevented our so called professional goalkeeper from letting in a 50 yard shot? Did we not create several chances in the game with the formation we used? How would 4-3-3 have prevented injuries to some of our key players, which forced us to make the selection we made and the formation we played?

green4life wrote: Tue Sep 27, 2022 10:09 pm Overall it was a quality test given, unfortunately, we can't play & score 10 against Sao Tome every month.

Also, we should be playing a 433 for better balance. No 5 at the back and no 442 biko.

We are ripe for a transition to a 4-3-3, with Iwobi at the top of a triangle. He's come on in leaps and bounds and is very responsible on the ball, added to an increased work rate.

You are so slow it is painful reading and responding to you.

The idea is that a 4-3-3 gives us greater balance in MF and allows us get the best of the talent we have.

Its not necessarily about any one match or any one result.

Osanobua!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

danfo driver wrote: Tue Sep 27, 2022 11:20 pm oh! just saw their second goal. our goalkeeper is an 1mbec1le.

Don't mind the peeps here who have difficulty understanding the game.

It was actually a good friendly and we played well. Was very organized in the defensive phase with very good positional discipline behind the ball, such that Algeria never broke through with a Grade A chance, the entire game.

We were poor on the counter, and we did have several good opportunities. And our finishing could be better.

Very impressed with the CD pairing and Frank Onyeka in CM/DM position.

We also need to improve the quality in the wide areas, which I suspect we have already in Samu.

But especially we need to keep looking for GKs, as well as upgrade our GK coach and get someone who can find a real talent in goal. In the meantime, return to Okoye. His fundamentals are better than the grasshopper catcher...

txj wrote: Tue Sep 27, 2022 11:45 pm
danfo driver wrote: Tue Sep 27, 2022 11:20 pm oh! just saw their second goal. our goalkeeper is an 1mbec1le.

It was actually a good friendly and we played well. Was very organized in the defensive phase with very good positional discipline behind the ball, such that Algeria never broke through with a Grade A chance, the entire game.

We were poor on the counter, and we did have several good opportunities. And our finishing could be better.

We also need to improve the quality in the wide areas, which I suspect we have already in Samu.

But especially we need to keep looking for GKs, as well as upgrade our GK coach and get someone who can find a real talent in goal. In the meantime, return to Okoye. His fundamentals are better than the grasshopper catcher...
Okoye ? Don’t let Enugu hear you he would send mercenaries come for you. And he didn’t even watch the game yet because I don’t seee him in the chats during the game or post game but once he wakes up he would come here to hype uzoho and tell us his blindfolds are translucent
Last edited by jette1 on Wed Sep 28, 2022 12:12 am, edited 4 times in total.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Fundamentals!!! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Sunset wrote: Wed Sep 28, 2022 12:05 am

Fundamentals!!! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Yes his fundamentals are better.
Ball handling
Positioning
Use of his feet
Dealing with crosses.

Uzoho though has the quicker reflexes, but otherwise poorer on the aforementioned.

Okoye however needs to be playing every week. That is what his major problem is today...

We need to hire a proper GK trainer to focus on scouting the local league.

jette1 wrote: Wed Sep 28, 2022 12:02 am

Okoye ? Don’t let Enugu hear you he would send mercenaries come for you. And he didn’t even watch the game yet because I don’t seee him in the chats during the game or post game but once he wakes up he would come here to hype uzoho and tell us his blindfolds are translucent
🤣🤣🤣 well, I did watch. See my report posted elsewhere.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

You sound like a short circuited robot... regurgitating repetitive rubbish. You don't even know the type of players the nonsensical formation you regurgitate requires. How would 4-3-3 made us effective when we could not dominate the midfied with 4 player.

This old man, you mumu o.

txj wrote: Tue Sep 27, 2022 11:37 pm
1naija wrote: Tue Sep 27, 2022 11:12 pm How woud 4-3-3 have changed the outcome of the game? How would it have prevented our so called professional goalkeeper from letting in a 50 yard shot? Did we not create several chances in the game with the formation we used? How would 4-3-3 have prevented injuries to some of our key players, which forced us to make the selection we made and the formation we played?

The idea is that a 4-3-3 gives us greater balance in MF and allows us get the best of the talent we have.

Osanobua!

On another post, you were talking of a 4-2-4 and now you claim we had 4 players in MF?

Stick to making jokes...

1naija wrote: Wed Sep 28, 2022 12:53 am You sound like a short circuited robot... regurgitating repetitive rubbish. You don't even know the type of players the nonsensical formation you regurgitate requires. How would 4-3-3 made us effective when we could not dominate the midfied with 4 player.

Osanobua!

I don't regurgitate nonsensical formations that have no bearing on reality .... the personnel available. If anything, the coaching staff should be pleased with the performance of the team given the number of players that was missing. We all know exactly where the problem lies.
txj wrote: Wed Sep 28, 2022 1:01 am On another post, you were talking of a 4-2-4 and now you claim we had 4 players in MF?

Stick to making jokes...

1naija wrote: Wed Sep 28, 2022 12:53 am You sound like a short circuited robot... regurgitating repetitive rubbish. You don't even know the type of players the nonsensical formation you regurgitate requires. How would 4-3-3 made us effective when we could not dominate the midfied with 4 player.

Osanobua!

Btw, wondering why savior came in rather than Ejuke when we were looking for a goal.

maceo4 wrote: Wed Sep 28, 2022 2:38 am Btw, wondering why savior came in rather than Ejuke when we were looking for a goal.
Maceo,

It was a surprise. However, Saviour impressed in that B game. That may have counted in the decision to have him in this game.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Who be this guy :rotf:

Tobi17 wrote: Wed Sep 28, 2022 3:46 am Who be this guy :rotf:

This guy has more sense in his gbasgbos head than Kongi the Dunce and 419Naija combined. :glare: :glare: :glare: :glare: If CE were a football club I would buy him and sell those two morons to Ghana web