HOSTING AFCON 2025: Nigeria/Benin v Morocco v Algeria v Zambia......

Re: HOSTING AFCON 2025: Nigeria/Benin v Morocco v Algeria......

Odas wrote: Sat Oct 08, 2022 12:57 am
wanaj0 wrote: Fri Oct 07, 2022 10:45 am
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Thu Oct 06, 2022 2:58 am
Enugu II wrote: Wed Oct 05, 2022 8:37 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Wed Oct 05, 2022 8:03 pm Please.

We cannot even provide ONE decent pitch for our SE to play on, and now we go host a 24 team tournament.

Let hosting be reserved for countries that can provide decent standards when it comes to pitches and stadium.
VE,

Facilities will not be a problem, at all. Moreover, the bid is Nigeria and Benin Republic but to be frank Nigeria can host the tournament by itself. Nigeria can get the facilities ready in enough time. The far BIGGER PROBLEM is the state of the country in terms of safety of athletes and spectators for such an event. Then the issue of transportation ease.
EII,

People are talking as if Nigeria has never hosted anything previously. We’ve hosted AFCON twice on previous occasions, once as cohost, with much fewer facilities than we have now. If the government is willing to commit to it, we can do it comfortably❗️

Where will the money to get the facilities ready to do the work come from?
Wanaj0,

I am surprised, or confused with the content of your post. Are you saying Nigeria cannot host the AFCON alone, successfully?
Nigeria of TODAY does not have the RESOURCES to fix the infrastructure required to host a successful AFCON.

Maybe you should go and read the budget, see the amount of deficit and see how much borrowing that is there to meet the essentials!

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Fri Oct 07, 2022 2:10 pm

We cannot even provide ONE decent pitch for our SE to play on, and now we go host a 24 team tournament.

Let hosting be reserved for countries that can provide decent standards when it comes to pitches and stadium.
VE,

Facilities will not be a problem, at all. Moreover, the bid is Nigeria and Benin Republic but to be frank Nigeria can host the tournament by itself. Nigeria can get the facilities ready in enough time. The far BIGGER PROBLEM is the state of the country in terms of safety of athletes and spectators for such an event. Then the issue of transportation ease.
EII,

People are talking as if Nigeria has never hosted anything previously. We’ve hosted AFCON twice on previous occasions, once as cohost, with much fewer facilities than we have now. If the government is willing to commit to it, we can do it comfortably❗️

Which kin kwesion be dat?… and dis ya yeye signature sef… have you seen pictures of Lokoja lately? Some Nigerians are so clueless. Oya, go and vote for Tinubu or Atiku. Maybe they’ll buy you a canoe to paddle out of your house🤐😀❗️

Like Gotti will say, comprehension deficit :taunt: :taunt:

Lokoja situation is a confirmation of my signature. Dam is opened and we have flooding as if we are not aware of the opening of the dam :taunt:
Updated ODDS: HOSTING AFCON 2025: Nigeria/Benin v Morocco v Algeria......

Added Zambia to the list. I have Zambia leaping over two bids to place second on the list.
Enugu II wrote: Mon Oct 03, 2022 7:40 pm
Algeria, Morocco to rival Nigeria for 2025 AFCON hosting right
https://dailypost.ng/2022/10/03/algeria ... ing-right/
Published on October 3, 2022By Mike Oyebola

Algeria and Morocco will rival a joint- bid from Nigeria and Benin Republic for the hosting right of the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) announced on Sunday that it has withdrawn the hosting right of the competition from Guinea.

CAF took the decision due to the country’s lack of quality infrastructure and facilities to host the 24-team competition.

Former President of the Nigeria Football Federation, Amaju Melvin Pinnick, recently stated said Nigeria and its neighbours, Benin Republic were willing to stage Africa’s flagship soccer event.

But they now face stiff competition from the two North African giants.

Algerian Football Federation, Zefizef Djahid has already confirmed that his country will submit a bid to host the competition.

“Algeria has all the capabilities to host the 2025 African Cup of Nations,” Djahid told Egyptian club, Kingfut.com.

Morocco is expected to submit a bid to host the competition in the coming days.

ODDS OF WINNING THE RIGHTS
Devoid of politicking, I predict the odds below given today's status. I realize that politics is integral but I have chosen to skate that below.....

ALGERIA (80%) -- government stability is above average. Facilities exist and as you are aware, there are even recent facilities including stadia where the Eagles recently lost to Algeria. Hosted AFCON last in 1990. Importantly, with West Africa hosting AFCON in 2023, Algeria is a strong favorite for 2025 given its membership outside West Africa region.

ZAMBIA (70%) -- Zambia is planning big with three old stadia with over 30,000 capacity that can be renovated as follows - 2 in Lusaka (Independence @30,000 and National Heroes @60,000) and at Ndola @50,000. Notably, Zambia plans to construct three stadia at Lusaka @70,000; Livingstone @50,000 and Kasama Stadium @50,000. Great soccer history and former African champion. Zambia's key point is that the East/Central Africa region last hosted this competition in 1976 (Ethiopia) but that also is the Achilles Heel given that the region has reneged several times previously after being awarded hosting rights.

NIGERIA/BENIN REP. (60%) -- State stability in Nigeria is weak given spate of kidnappings and general strife that imperil visitors. However, this bid is attractive given the opportunity for smaller states such as Benin Republic to participate as host. Facilities are bound and, if necessary, can be quickly brought up to standard required for this competition. Weakness of this bid is that the last two hosts are from this region.

MOROCCO (70%) -- Morocco has great facilities, perhaps the best in the continent. Another advantage is that North Africa last hosted ion 2019. However, Morocco has disappointed AFCON last time it was awarded the rights by making a late withdrawal that almost ruined the competition. That alone mu7st put its behind behind that of Algeria. Nevertheless, Morocco's bid has not been officially announced at this time.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: HOSTING AFCON 2025: Nigeria/Benin v Morocco v Algeria v Zambia......

Mexico is hosting the world-cup . one of the most dangerous places ever.. the drug cartel runs that place..

wanaj0 wrote: Sun Oct 09, 2022 4:40 pm
Odas wrote: Sat Oct 08, 2022 12:57 am

VE,

EII,

Wanaj0,

I am surprised, or confused with the content of your post. Are you saying Nigeria cannot host the AFCON alone, successfully?
Nigeria of TODAY does not have the RESOURCES to fix the infrastructure required to host a successful AFCON.

Maybe you should go and read the budget, see the amount of deficit and see how much borrowing that is there to meet the essentials!

Keep telling them!

I think that we Nigerians have the franchise for self delusion.

Why in the world would any sane FGN invest in a sports jamboree at this time?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Nigeria isn’t ready to host an Afrcon.

Odas wrote: Wed Oct 05, 2022 7:03 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Oct 03, 2022 9:10 pm Pls, Nigeria cannot host a meeting to determine who will host let alone actually host the tournament. Pls stop the insanity.

Emir, I don't know why you think otherwise, but I believe Nigeria can - successfully - host even the FIFA's world-cup tournament if given the chance
Host a World Cup without 24 hour lighting bad rail and road and no foot specific nation just athletics stadia it would further embarrass Nigeria.

Eaglezbeak wrote: Wed Dec 21, 2022 1:16 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Oct 03, 2022 9:10 pm Pls, Nigeria cannot host a meeting to determine who will host let alone actually host the tournament. Pls stop the insanity.

Emir, I don't know why you think otherwise, but I believe Nigeria can - successfully - host even the FIFA's world-cup tournament if given the chance
Host a World Cup without 24 hour lighting bad rail and road and no foot specific nation just athletics stadia it would further embarrass Nigeria.
Multipurpose stadiums are used to host football matches all over the world, so that's not a problem. Most AFCONs have been held in multipurpose stadiums and few African countries can boast of football only stadiums. The Olympic Stadium ( Stadio Olympico) in Rome, a multipurpose stadium hosts Lazio and Roma home matches for example.

CAF is not likely to host the AFCON in a country where a biker insurgent gang does drive by shootings, plants IEDs, hijacks trains, and breaks hundreds of prisoners out of jail (in the federal capital!), another subversive anti-government group wants to excise one part of the country, bandits and armed robbers are running riot, epileptic electricity might cut the floodlights in the middle of a match, and where the current president narrowly escaped an assassination attempt (before he even became president!).
Last edited by wiseone on Thu Dec 22, 2022 4:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

wiseone wrote: Thu Dec 22, 2022 3:25 am CAF are not likely to host the AFCON in a country where a biker insurgent gang does drive by shootings, plants IEDs, hijacks trains, and breaks hundreds of prisoners out of jail (in the federal capital!), another subversive anti-government group wants to excise one part of the country, bandits and armed robbers are running riot, epileptic electricity might cut the floodlights in the middle of a match, and where the current president narrowly escaped an assassination attempt (before he even became president!).
but the world-cup is being hosted in Mexico. Have you been to Mexico? The Worldup is also hosted in Canada/ the USa... would you like us to post the school shootings, Grocery shop shooting , etc? Let me know

let me know if you need more

How much money will it take to get existing facilities ready for the tournament? And what do you mean by ready? Port Harcourt alone has 2 world class stadiums that will not require much to get them ready for world cup games talkless AFCON. The games in Nigeria can be played in Port Harcourt, Uyo, Kano, Benin City, and Abuja. It won't take much to get those stadiums ready for the tournament. Even the Steven Keshi stadium in Asaba, although small in capacity, can host games between minors like Kenya and Ghana. Cameroun hosted a successful AFCON tournament and they were in worse shape (facilities and security wise) than we are. I hope Nigeria/Benin win.

On Security, I have noticed that it's people that have not visited Nigeria in 30 years that shout the most about security.

VE,

EII,

Last edited by 1naija on Thu Dec 22, 2022 3:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

1naija wrote: Thu Dec 22, 2022 3:50 pm How much money does it take to get existing facilities ready for the tournament? And what do you mean by ready? Port Harcourt alone has 2 world class stadiums that will not require much to get them ready for world cup games talkless AFCON. The games in Nigeria can be played in Port Harcourt, Uyo, Kano, Benin City, and Abuja. It won't take much to get those stadiums ready for the tournament. Even the Steven Keshi stadium in Asaba, although small in capacity, can host games between minors like Kenya and Ghana. Cameroun hosted a successful AFCON tournament and they were in worse shape (facilities and security wise) than we are. I hope Nigeria/Benin win.

On Security, I have noticed that it's people that have not visited Nigeria in 30 years that shout the most about security.

VE,

EII,

That much money we dont have. Our debt servicing is 123% of our revenue! Ponder on that before going on a festival.

Hosting a tournament should be the LAST thing on our mind!

They should give it to Ghana maybe they can win the ANC after 40 years!

What has debt servicing got to do with hosting a tournament? Does Ghana not have debt? You sound like there is no economic benefit to Nigeria hosting such tournament.
wanaj0 wrote: Thu Dec 22, 2022 3:57 pm
1naija wrote: Thu Dec 22, 2022 3:50 pm How much money does it take to get existing facilities ready for the tournament? And what do you mean by ready? Port Harcourt alone has 2 world class stadiums that will not require much to get them ready for world cup games talkless AFCON. The games in Nigeria can be played in Port Harcourt, Uyo, Kano, Benin City, and Abuja. It won't take much to get those stadiums ready for the tournament. Even the Steven Keshi stadium in Asaba, although small in capacity, can host games between minors like Kenya and Ghana. Cameroun hosted a successful AFCON tournament and they were in worse shape (facilities and security wise) than we are. I hope Nigeria/Benin win.

VE,

EII,

That much money we dont have. Our debt servicing is 123% of our revenue! Ponder on that before going on a festival.

Bros, if 123% of your revenue is required to meet your debt service obligation a JAMBOREE should be the last thing on your mind. The money you earn is NOT enough to meet your debt obligations. So you will borrow to meet debt obligations (not pay all the debt oo) then borrow to pay salaries, borrow for capital expenditure etc. No SANE person does that.

Other countries may benefit from hosting tournaments but for Nigeria it will be a LOSS!
1naija wrote: Thu Dec 22, 2022 4:02 pm What has debt servicing got to do with hosting a tournament? Does Ghana not have debt? You sound like there is no economic benefit to Nigeria hosting such tournament.
wanaj0 wrote: Thu Dec 22, 2022 3:57 pm

VE,

EII,

Dammy wrote: Wed Dec 21, 2022 2:05 pm
Eaglezbeak wrote: Wed Dec 21, 2022 1:16 pm

Multipurpose stadiums are used to host football matches all over the world, so that's not a problem. Most AFCONs have been held in multipurpose stadiums and few African countries can boast of football only stadiums. The Olympic Stadium ( Stadio Olympico) in Rome, a multipurpose stadium hosts Lazio and Roma home matches for example.
You can’t compare Italy to Nigeria,they have stadia that exists for football such as the San Siro and the Diego Armando Maradona in Napoli and many other stadiums that exist for football.
The last time Nigeria hosted a tournament it was a youth World Cup and they didn’t even refurbish the existing stadiums properly to the point that FIFA inspectors where not impressed,if Nigeria doesn’t want to leave a legacy bother trying to host as Benin Republics will probably out do them by building a state of the art ‘football’ stadium.

When was the last time you guys landed @ Murtala Muhammed International Airport. Fix that first.

ANC wrote: Sun Dec 25, 2022 2:14 pm When was the last time you guys landed @ Murtala Muhammed International Airport. Fix that first.
:roll: