HOSTING AFCON 2025: Nigeria/Benin v Morocco v Algeria v Zambia......

Algeria, Morocco to rival Nigeria for 2025 AFCON hosting right
https://dailypost.ng/2022/10/03/algeria ... ing-right/
Published on October 3, 2022By Mike Oyebola

Algeria and Morocco will rival a joint- bid from Nigeria and Benin Republic for the hosting right of the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) announced on Sunday that it has withdrawn the hosting right of the competition from Guinea.

CAF took the decision due to the country’s lack of quality infrastructure and facilities to host the 24-team competition.

Former President of the Nigeria Football Federation, Amaju Melvin Pinnick, recently stated said Nigeria and its neighbours, Benin Republic were willing to stage Africa’s flagship soccer event.

But they now face stiff competition from the two North African giants.

Algerian Football Federation, Zefizef Djahid has already confirmed that his country will submit a bid to host the competition.

“Algeria has all the capabilities to host the 2025 African Cup of Nations,” Djahid told Egyptian club, Kingfut.com.

Morocco is expected to submit a bid to host the competition in the coming days.

ODDS OF WINNING THE RIGHTS
Devoid of politicking, I predict the odds below given today's status. I realize that politics is integral but I have chosen to skate that below.....

ALGERIA (80%) -- government stability is above average. Facilities exist and as you are aware, there are even recent facilities including stadia where the Eagles recently lost to Algeria. Hosted AFCON last in 1990. Importantly, with West Africa hosting AFCON in 2023, Algeria is a strong favorite for 2025 given its membership outside West Africa region.

NIGERIA/BENIN REP. (60%) -- State stability in Nigeria is weak given spate of kidnappings and general strife that imperil visitors. However, this bid is attractive given the opportunity for smaller states such as Benin Republic to participate as host. Facilities are bound and, if necessary, can be quickly brought up to standard required for this competition. Weakness of this bid is that the last two hosts are from this region.

MOROCCO (70%) -- Morocco has great facilities, perhaps the best in the continent. Another advantage is that North Africa last hosted ion 2019. However, Morocco has disappointed AFCON last time it was awarded the rights by making a late withdrawal that almost ruined the competition. That alone mu7st put its behind behind that of Algeria. Nevertheless, Morocco's bid has not been officially announced at this time.
Last edited by Enugu II on Tue Dec 20, 2022 9:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: HOSTING AFCON 2025: Nigeria/Benin v Morocco v Algeria......

Enugu II wrote: Mon Oct 03, 2022 7:40 pm
Algeria, Morocco to rival Nigeria for 2025 AFCON hosting right
https://dailypost.ng/2022/10/03/algeria ... ing-right/
Published on October 3, 2022By Mike Oyebola

Algeria and Morocco will rival a joint- bid from Nigeria and Benin Republic for the hosting right of the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) announced on Sunday that it has withdrawn the hosting right of the competition from Guinea.

CAF took the decision due to the country’s lack of quality infrastructure and facilities to host the 24-team competition.

Former President of the Nigeria Football Federation, Amaju Melvin Pinnick, recently stated said Nigeria and its neighbours, Benin Republic were willing to stage Africa’s flagship soccer event.

But they now face stiff competition from the two North African giants.

Algerian Football Federation, Zefizef Djahid has already confirmed that his country will submit a bid to host the competition.

“Algeria has all the capabilities to host the 2025 African Cup of Nations,” Djahid told Egyptian club, Kingfut.com.

Morocco is expected to submit a bid to host the competition in the coming days.

ODDS OF WINNING THE RIGHTS
Devoid of politicking, I predict the odds below given today's status. I realize that politics is integral but I have chosen to skate that below.....

ALGERIA (80%) -- government stability is above average. Facilities exist and as you are aware, there are even recent facilities including stadia where the Eagles recently lost to Algeria. Hosted AFCON last in 1990. Importantly, with West Africa hosting AFCON in 2023, Algeria is a strong favorite for 2025 given its membership outside West Africa region.

NIGERIA/BENIN REP. (60%) -- State stability in Nigeria is weak given spate of kidnappings and general strife that imperil visitors. However, this bid is attractive given the opportunity for smaller states such as Benin Republic to participate as host. Facilities are bound and, if necessary, can be quickly brought up to standard required for this competition. Weakness of this bid is that the last two hosts are from this region.

MOROCCO (70%) -- Morocco has great facilities, perhaps the best in the continent. Another advantage is that North Africa last hosted ion 2019. However, Morocco has disappointed AFCON last time it was awarded the rights by making a late withdrawal that almost ruined the competition. That alone mu7st put its behind behind that of Algeria. Nevertheless, Morocco's bid has not been officially announced at this time.
...I laf at that :lol: :lol: :lol:

Pls, Nigeria cannot host a meeting to determine who will host let alone actually host the tournament. Pls stop the insanity.

North Africa should not be allowed to host any tournament. They cheat to win games.

1naija wrote: Mon Oct 03, 2022 9:12 pm North Africa should not be allowed to host any tournament. They cheat to win games.
... not only do they cheat to win, but was it NOT Morocco that said some nagative things about the West African nations, or Black people in Africa during the time of EBOLA?

I hope my brain is NOT failing me

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Oct 03, 2022 9:10 pm Pls, Nigeria cannot host a meeting to determine who will host let alone actually host the tournament. Pls stop the insanity.

Emir, I don't know why you think otherwise, but I believe Nigeria can - successfully - host even the FIFA's world-cup tournament if given the chance

Please.

We cannot even provide ONE decent pitch for our SE to play on, and now we go host a 24 team tournament.

Let hosting be reserved for countries that can provide decent standards when it comes to pitches and stadium.

vancity eagle wrote: Wed Oct 05, 2022 8:03 pm Please.

We cannot even provide ONE decent pitch for our SE to play on, and now we go host a 24 team tournament.

Let hosting be reserved for countries that can provide decent standards when it comes to pitches and stadium.
VE,

Facilities will not be a problem, at all. Moreover, the bid is Nigeria and Benin Republic but to be frank Nigeria can host the tournament by itself. Nigeria can get the facilities ready in enough time. The far BIGGER PROBLEM is the state of the country in terms of safety of athletes and spectators for such an event. Then the issue of transportation ease.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Wed Oct 05, 2022 8:37 pm

VE,

Facilities will not be a problem, at all. Moreover, the bid is Nigeria and Benin Republic but to be frank Nigeria can host the tournament by itself. Nigeria can get the facilities ready in enough time. The far BIGGER PROBLEM is the state of the country in terms of safety of athletes and spectators for such an event. Then the issue of transportation ease.
Where will the money to upgrade the facilities come from? CAF better have that money available! We are yet to settle ASUU na AFCON we go carry for head?

They should just award it to Algeria :clap:

VE,

Where will the money to upgrade the facilities come from? CAF better have that money available! We are yet to settle ASUU na AFCON we go carry for head?

They should just award it to Algeria :clap:

money no dey oo, we dey recession thanks buhari

Odas wrote: Wed Oct 05, 2022 7:03 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Oct 03, 2022 9:10 pm Pls, Nigeria cannot host a meeting to determine who will host let alone actually host the tournament. Pls stop the insanity.

Emir, I don't know why you think otherwise, but I believe Nigeria can - successfully - host even the FIFA's world-cup tournament if given the chance
Boss
have u been drinking today? If not then make sure your wife is not spiking your drinks

VE,

100% agree with Prof. Give us rights & the facilities will be the least of our problems.

Rawlings wrote: Wed Oct 05, 2022 11:15 pm
Odas wrote: Wed Oct 05, 2022 7:03 pm

Boss
have u been drinking today? If not then make sure your wife is not spiking your drinks
Reverend,

First, I only drink FRESH Palm wine. That is, directly from the Palm-tree as the tapper descends from the top. In another word, unless I get it directly from the wine-tapper, I don't touch it. Thus, my Madam or anyone else has no access to doing as you had suggested.

Now, to the main point. From the content of your post, are you suggesting Nigeria cannot - successfully - host the World cup tournament?

Remember the hosting takes place several years after being awarded. Those years before the commencement of the competition is when you will see the REAL (never-say-die) Nigeria in action

VE,

EII,

People are talking as if Nigeria has never hosted anything previously. We’ve hosted AFCON twice on previous occasions, once as cohost, with much fewer facilities than we have now. If the government is willing to commit to it, we can do it comfortably❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Thu Oct 06, 2022 2:58 am

VE,

EII,

People are talking as if Nigeria has never hosted anything previously. We’ve hosted AFCON twice on previous occasions, once as cohost, with much fewer facilities than we have now. If the government is willing to commit to it, we can do it comfortably❗️

Where will the money to get the facilities ready to do the work come from?

wanaj0 wrote: Fri Oct 07, 2022 10:45 am

VE,

EII,

Which kin kwesion be dat?… and dis ya yeye signature sef… have you seen pictures of Lokoja lately? Some Nigerians are so clueless. Oya, go and vote for Tinubu or Atiku. Maybe they’ll buy you a canoe to paddle out of your house🤐😀❗️

wanaj0 wrote: Fri Oct 07, 2022 10:45 am

VE,

EII,

Wanaj0,

I am surprised, or confused with the content of your post. Are you saying Nigeria cannot host the AFCON alone, successfully?

VE,

There is not ONE single credible playing surface for our own national team to play on, but we want to host Africa? I laugh.

Nigeria have proven in the past that hosting a major football tournament will leave no legacy (football wise) as of now there are no major football specific stadia in the country,the stadiums used for previous youth tournaments and Afcons where multi sports stadia with running tracks to top it off the NFF don’t even own a stadium.
If Nigeria let alone Benin can’t invest in a Stadium that has turf of the technology to with stand the West African raining season it will just show that they are not ready to host a tournament that may not even worth considering for the Afcon.

VE,

Enugu II,

I love your positivity and patriotism but you just gave reasons why Nigerian can’t host the tournament. If you can’t guarantee the safety of the players and their contingents then you can’t host the tournament. It’s is not a disrespect to Nigeria.

Secondly, for those saying we have hosted the tournament before. Yeah, that was ages ago(1999 under 20, 2000ANC & I believe 2013 under 17). Heck, the state of the economy or the level of security back then and now is not the same. $1 is slowly approaching N1000. Some of y’all need to drop your green white and green shades and realize we are piss broke despite our potential.
Last edited by packerland on Sun Oct 09, 2022 12:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

packerland wrote: Sat Oct 08, 2022 9:21 pm

VE,

Enugu II,

I love your positivity and patriotism but you just gave reasons why Nigerian can’t host the tournament. If you can guarantee the safety of the players and their contingents then you can’t host the tournament. It’s is not a disrespect to Nigeria.

Secondly, for those saying we have hosted tournament before. Yeah, that was ages ago(1999 under 20, 2000ANC & I believe 2013 under 17). Heck, the state of the economy or the level of security back then and now is not the same. $1 os slowly approaching N1000. Some of y’all need to drop your green white and green shades and realize we are piss broke despite our potential.
Packerland,

I have not claimed that Nigeria is a front runner. In fact, if you take a look at my analysis, Nigeria ranks 3 of 3 countries in likelihood of winning the rights. That likelihood has nothing to do with facilities but about security.
Last edited by Enugu II on Sun Oct 09, 2022 1:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Enugu II wrote: Sat Oct 08, 2022 10:23 pm
packerland wrote: Sat Oct 08, 2022 9:21 pm

VE,

Enugu II,

I love your positivity and patriotism but you just gave reasons why Nigerian can’t host the tournament. If you can guarantee the safety of the players and their contingents then you can’t host the tournament. It’s is not a disrespect to Nigeria.

Secondly, for those saying we have hosted tournament before. Yeah, that was ages ago(1999 under 20, 2000ANC & I believe 2013 under 17). Heck, the state of the economy or the level of security back then and now is not the same. $1 os slowly approaching N1000. Some of y’all need to drop your green white and green shades and realize we are piss broke despite our potential.
Packerland,

I have not claimed that Nigeria is a front runner to host. In fact, if you take alook at my analysis, Nigeria ranks 3 of 3 countries in likelihood of winning the rights. But that likelihood has nothing to do with facilities but about security.
yea we have to make sure shettima isn't going to unleash his boys again

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."