I’m not a fan of begging players but…

Re: I’m not a fan of begging players but…

Damunk wrote: Mon Oct 10, 2022 4:39 pm
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Mon Oct 10, 2022 3:59 am
Tobi17 wrote: Sun Oct 09, 2022 9:02 pm We will get Eze, I've got a strong feeling that Southgate will do a "Southgate" by not picking him in his world cup squad and that will be our chance get Eze.
You guys don’t wish Nigeria well at all. You think we should be depending on England rejects. How successful do you guys think the SuperEagles are going to be if we load up our squad with players who can’t even make the England squad❓❗️

Nacho that we are begging to live up to his potential for the SE would not even make the England 'Reject' List.
So which kie yanga we dey do labelling people like Eze 'rejects' as if they are not twice as good as the options we have.
Thats how you people were calling Tammy Abraham a 'reject' because he was dillydallying with Naija and couldnt make the England list.
See him now.
Like I've always said, you win some, you lose some.
The pressure on Eze should not be eased down at all at all.
If countries like England are willing to steal and deny us our Benin bronzes etceteram etceteram with no apologies, then which one is our own to be apologising for claiming our genetically-compliant footballers to play for the SE? :biggrin:
Your opinion about Nacho is yours alone and quite different from mine. The beauty of arguments and contentions like yours is that we can always fall back on statistical facts. Nacho has been more productive for his club, with much fewer appearances and playing much fewer minutes, than Eze has been for his. Of all the Nigerian footballers who were introduced by Rohr to the SuperEagles, which one, with the exception of Osimhen, has scored more goals for the SuperEagles than Nacho? You mentioned Tammy Abraham. Is he better than Osimhen? Not in my opinion. Moreover, you seem to be implying that foreign born Nigerian footballers are necessarily better than our home grown footballers, a conjecture I vehemently disagree with.

I have no real issues with trying to recruit foreign born Nigerian footballers but if we must then we should go after the really exceptional ones who can positively impact the SuperEagles, like Saka and Akanji. Recruiting Eze will not significantly improve our team because we already have the likes of Iwobi, Aribo and Ejuke, none of whom are slouches. Also, we should avoid footballers whose first choice is not Nigeria otherwise we’ll be stuck with people who only see Nigeria as a backup and/or retirement plan. Such footballers are not going to be at their best for Nigeria… and quite honestly, if I had a choice between Eze and Olise, I’d pick Olise❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Mon Oct 10, 2022 5:26 pm
Damunk wrote: Mon Oct 10, 2022 4:39 pm Nacho that we are begging to live up to his potential for the SE would not even make the England 'Reject' List.
So which kie yanga we dey do labelling people like Eze 'rejects' as if they are not twice as good as the options we have.
Thats how you people were calling Tammy Abraham a 'reject' because he was dillydallying with Naija and couldnt make the England list.
See him now.
If countries like England are willing to steal and deny us our Benin bronzes etceteram etceteram with no apologies, then which one is our own to be apologising for claiming our genetically-compliant footballers to play for the SE? :biggrin:
Your opinion about Nacho is yours alone and quite different from mine. The beauty of arguments and contentions like yours is that we can always fall back on statistical facts. Nacho has been more productive for his club, with much fewer appearances and playing much fewer minutes, than Eze has been for his. Of all the Nigerian footballers who were introduced by Rohr to the SuperEagles, which one, with the exception of Osimhen, has scored more goals for the SuperEagles than Nacho? You mentioned Tammy Abraham. Is he better than Osimhen? Not in my opinion. Moreover, you seem to be implying that foreign born Nigerian footballers are necessarily better than our home grown footballers, a conjecture I vehemently disagree with.

I “seem to” in your opinion, but I am not. That one is your imagination and a default straw man that too many like to throw into the mix on this board.
I don’t know how many times and in how many ways I and several others can repeat the fact that the only important factor is quality, not where you were born or the colour of your mum or dad.
Nacho was our Great New Hope, just like several in his ‘generation’ - Awoniyi, Alampasu, Nwakali (Snr), Success, Ezeh and Yahaya. Nacho was definitely the Starboy but has sadly failed to deliver for either club or country at the level expected. The rest are neither here nor there tbh.

One ‘generation’ later, Osimhen, Chukwueze and maybe Nwakali jnr might deliver what we have been craving. You might choose to water down Eze’s ability simply because he is not Nigerian-born, but the Eze and Nacho roles in their clubs are very, very different. Nacho is a striker. Eze is not. You know this. Not to mention Eze had a career-threatening injury that kept him out for a year and he is only just coming back into his own. Just FYI, Eze has played only 62 games in the top flight; Nacho 242 (Wiki), so I don’t know why you are making direct comparisons - and your stats are obviously very wrong too. :idea:
I have no real issues with trying to recruit foreign born Nigerian footballers but if we must then we should go after the really exceptional ones who can positively impact the SuperEagles, like Saka and Akanji.
Eze is exceptional. Because you don’t see it doesn’t mean he is ‘just okay’, and because I say so doesn’t mean it is so. But there is a wide consensus from commentators and coaches that watch him week in, week out that he is something special. Serious injury occurred at a very critical time for him, plus the fact that he is competing against some equally exceptional talents that have stayed fit and established themselves over the last two years on the England radar. That doesn’t make him a ‘reject’ or any less special.
Saka was touted on these pages, and just like Abraham was dismissed as “nothing special” or even “useless” when he was refusing to commit to Nigeria until he chose England. We can see now how good they both are. No one is saying Abraham is “better” than Osimhen, but he would definitely be up there competing with Sadiq and Moffi.

Recruiting Eze will not significantly improve our team because we already have the likes of Iwobi, Aribo and Ejuke, none of whom are slouches. Also, we should avoid footballers whose first choice is not Nigeria otherwise we’ll be stuck with people who only see Nigeria as a backup and/or retirement plan. Such footballers are not going to be at their best for Nigeria… and quite honestly, if I had a choice between Eze and Olise, I’d pick Olise❗️
Yes, none of the highlighted are slouches, but Iwobi is only now coming into his own after being almost written off by our typical Nigerian armchair coaches maybe just a year ago or slightly longer. Ejuke has been insulted endlessly for all sorts of reasons and Aribo has had mixed reactions. I agree they are no slouches but you can see they have not made themselves indispensable or irreplaceable. So why wouldn’t you give them competition if there is one available?
As for Olise, I am a great fan but he is the youngest of the lot and is still trying to lock down a place in his club. He is getting there and it will eventually be a unique 4-nation tug of war for him.

Tbh, I don’t see why we should give up on any of them until the battle is truly lost.

Damunk wrote: Mon Oct 10, 2022 9:44 pm
Damunk wrote: Mon Oct 10, 2022 4:39 pm Nacho that we are begging to live up to his potential for the SE would not even make the England 'Reject' List.
See him now.

I “seem to” in your opinion, but I am not. That one is your imagination and a default straw man that too many like to throw into the mix on this board.
I don’t know how many times and in how many ways I and several others can repeat the fact that the only important factor is quality, not where you were born or the colour of your mum or dad.
Nacho was our Great New Hope, just like several in his ‘generation’ - Awoniyi, Alampasu, Nwakali (Snr), Success, Ezeh and Yahaya. Nacho was definitely the Starboy but has sadly failed to deliver for either club or country at the level expected. The rest are neither here nor there tbh.

One ‘generation’ later, Osimhen, Chukwueze and maybe Nwakali jnr might deliver what we have been craving. You might choose to water down Eze’s ability simply because he is not Nigerian-born, but the Eze and Nacho roles in their clubs are very, very different. Nacho is a striker. Eze is not. You know this. Not to mention Eze had a career-threatening injury that kept him out for a year and he is only just coming back into his own. Just FYI, Eze has played only 62 games in the top flight; Nacho 242 (Wiki), so I don’t know why you are making direct comparisons - and your stats are obviously very wrong too. :idea:
I have no real issues with trying to recruit foreign born Nigerian footballers but if we must then we should go after the really exceptional ones who can positively impact the SuperEagles, like Saka and Akanji.
Eze is exceptional. Because you don’t see it doesn’t mean he is ‘just okay’, and because I say so doesn’t mean it is so. But there is a wide consensus from commentators and coaches that watch him week in, week out that he is something special. Serious injury occurred at a very critical time for him, plus the fact that he is competing against some equally exceptional talents that have stayed fit and established themselves over the last two years on the England radar. That doesn’t make him a ‘reject’ or any less special.
Saka was touted on these pages, and just like Abraham was dismissed as “nothing special” or even “useless” when he was refusing to commit to Nigeria until he chose England. We can see now how good they both are. No one is saying Abraham is “better” than Osimhen, but he would definitely be up there competing with Sadiq and Moffi.

Recruiting Eze will not significantly improve our team because we already have the likes of Iwobi, Aribo and Ejuke, none of whom are slouches. Also, we should avoid footballers whose first choice is not Nigeria otherwise we’ll be stuck with people who only see Nigeria as a backup and/or retirement plan. Such footballers are not going to be at their best for Nigeria… and quite honestly, if I had a choice between Eze and Olise, I’d pick Olise❗️
Yes, none of the highlighted are slouches, but Iwobi is only now coming into his own after being almost written off by our typical Nigerian armchair coaches maybe just a year ago or slightly longer. Ejuke has been insulted endlessly for all sorts of reasons and Aribo has had mixed reactions. I agree they are no slouches but you can see they have not made themselves indispensable or irreplaceable. So why wouldn’t you give them competition if there is one available?
As for Olise, I am a great fan but he is the youngest of the lot and is still trying to lock down a place in his club. He is getting there and it will eventually be a unique 4-nation tug of war for him.

Tbh, I don’t see why we should give up on any of them until the battle is truly lost.
Eze is a very good footballer. I don’t think he’s exceptional, certainly not any more than Alex Iwobi, Joe Aribo, Chidera Ejuke or the up and coming Akinkunmi Amoo. We can go back and forth on this but the thrust of my argument remains that we have enough talent right here on our shores so as to not have to go after reluctant football players, especially those that would only be par for the course❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Mon Oct 10, 2022 10:17 pm
Damunk wrote: Mon Oct 10, 2022 9:44 pm
See him now.

Eze is a very good footballer. I don’t think he’s exceptional, certainly not any more than Alex Iwobi, Joe Aribo, Chidera Ejuke or the up and coming Akinkunmi Amoo. We can go back and forth on this but the thrust of my argument remains that we have enough talent right here on our shores so as to not have to go after reluctant football players, especially those that would only be par for the course❗️

I disagree ,he is a lot better than Iwobi and plays with that Naija Swag, plus he is a specialist in free kick and corner kicks....But you are right, he needs to play for the country that will give him happiness and bring out the best in him, no need to beg.

gochino wrote: Tue Oct 11, 2022 7:48 am
I disagree ,he is a lot better than Iwobi and plays with that Naija Swag, plus he is a specialist in free kick and corner kicks....But you are right, he needs to play for the country that will give him happiness and bring out the best in him, no need to beg.
Thank you, bro.
That ‘Naija Swag’ you mention is what makes it almost impossible for many of us to take our eyes off him. We are also praying that it is what makes him less attractive to England. It is that ‘arrogance of ability’ we saw in JJ, Kanu, Finidi and Mikel. Before them, we saw it in Odegbami and Adokiye.
Not many have it, but it is unmistakable when you see it.

Damunk wrote: Tue Oct 11, 2022 8:08 am
Thank you, bro.
That ‘Naija Swag’ you mention is what makes it almost impossible for many of us to take our eyes off him. We are also praying that it is what makes him less attractive to England. It is that ‘arrogance of ability’ we saw in JJ, Kanu, Finidi and Mikel. Before them, we saw it in Odegbami and Adokiye.
There is the football artistry with that boring, mechanical and regimental "English/European flair" that I will say Iwobi slightly displays, but he somewhat makes up for it with the more eye-pleasing, rugged and carefree Naija street type of football (I'll attribute that to the influence of his uncle the legendary JJ himself ). However, the Nigerian players that play that pure Naija arrogant swagger type of football would definitely have Eze first on my list...then others like Akinkunmi Amoo, Chukwueze, Ejuke etc

No football artistry beats samba football though, Brazilians honestly make football very entertaining to watch.

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Oct 11, 2022 9:48 am
Damunk wrote: Tue Oct 11, 2022 8:08 am
Thank you, bro.
There is the football artistry with that boring, mechanical and regimental "English/European flair" that I will say Iwobi slightly displays, but he somewhat makes up for it with the more eye-pleasing, rugged and carefree Naija street type of football (I'll attribute that to the influence of his uncle the legendary JJ himself ). However, the Nigerian players that play that pure Naija arrogant swagger type of football would definitely have Eze first on my list...then others like Akinkunmi Amoo, Chukwueze, Ejuke etc

No football artistry beats samba football though, Brazilians honestly make football very entertaining to watch.
I know exactly what you mean.
In the English game, there have been very few naturally gifted ‘swag’ players that fitted into their model, and they never really got the full recognition they deserved and had relatively limited game time with England.
Glen Hoddle and Matt Le Tissier are two good examples. Their rare skills were just not appreciated by the football decision makers. Things might be changing but it’s a slow process.

Interestingly, the Irish fully embraced flair players like George Best and Liam Brady and even built their teams around them.
delisyomie don

Post by delisyomie don »

eze thi eze that not intrested in naija at moment !! please we need more defensive mildfielder that can help our defence cover for the back and move ball from the back .
thanks

delisyomie don wrote: Tue Oct 11, 2022 6:17 pm eze thi eze that not intrested in naija at moment !! please we need more defensive mildfielder that can help our defence cover for the back and move ball from the back .
Its a discussion forum, so no need to dismiss what others are interested in talking about.
Make your own point clearly becos this your post sef, e get K leg like our shaky central defence.

I don dey beg am for IG, make una follow beg am too…

maceo4 wrote: Tue Oct 11, 2022 10:02 pm I don dey beg am for IG, make una follow beg am too…
Do you have IG addy for the Basketballer? Use it! :wink:

Gotti wrote: Wed Oct 12, 2022 12:45 am
maceo4 wrote: Tue Oct 11, 2022 10:02 pm I don dey beg am for IG, make una follow beg am too…
Do you have IG addy for the Basketballer? Use it! :wink:
I don beg am, but e no gree enter top 5 league… :dream: