ARSENAL MIDFIELDER TIM AKINOLA CALLED UP TO NIGERIA U23 SQUAD FOR FIRST TIME

Arsenal midfielder Tim Akinola has received his first call-up to the Nigeria U23 squad.

Akinola, 21, who is currently on loan at Chesterfield, is set to be involved for Nigeria U23s against Tanzania in an U23 Africa Cup of Nations play off.

The two nations drew 1-1 in the first leg and will face each other again next Saturday, with the winners making it through to the finals of the competition, which will take place next year.

Akinola joined Arsenal in 2020 and featured prominently for the club at U23 level. Last season he featured for the first-team in a friendly against Brentford and then had a loan spell at Dundee United that was wrecked by injury. He was born in Nigeria but is also eligible to represent England.

So far this season Akinola has played four times for Chesterfield, but he will now be unavailable for their next two games against York City and Boreham Wood.

https://arsenalyouth.wordpress.com/2022 ... irst-time/
Re: ARSENAL MIDFIELDER TIM AKINOLA CALLED UP TO NIGERIA U23 SQUAD FOR FIRST TIME

I'm suspicious of this call up.Hmmm , hammer time? Na Salisu o.
Re: ARSENAL MIDFIELDER TIM AKINOLA CALLED UP TO NIGERIA U23 SQUAD FOR FIRST TIME

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Oct 23, 2022 10:25 pm I'm suspicious of this call up.
Hmmm, hammer time? Na Salisu o.
With good reason too.
Apparently, the guy stormed out of camp allegedly for not even making the match day team list, including reserves.
One can only wonder what might be going on there….

I mean why invite a young player all the way from Europe for one game if he has little chance of even making the team sheet?
Might as well invite BigTurkey from the US - with his green and white football boots. :lol:

But we discussed the guy here last year.
Mostly positive:
Tim Akinola Is An Absolute Baller
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=306202&p=5707506

Damunk wrote: Sun Oct 30, 2022 7:39 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Oct 23, 2022 10:25 pm I'm suspicious of this call up.
With good reason too.
Apparently, the guy stormed out of camp allegedly for not even making the match day team list, including reserves.

I mean why invite a young player all the way from Europe for one game if he has little chance of even making the team sheet?
Might as well invite BigTurkey from the US - with his green and white football boots. :lol:

Mostly positive:
Well, they saw him at close quarters and probably felt he is not better than what we already have.

Not surprised considering that his level is Chesterfield :taunt:

wanaj0 wrote: Sun Oct 30, 2022 8:36 am
With good reason too.

Mostly positive:
Well, they saw him at close quarters and probably felt he is not better than what we already have.

They should have done a better risk assessment.
But for most young players, they are often loaned out to lesser teams as part of their development.
So Chesterfield is unlikely to be where he will end up.
Not by a country mile.
Remember the “useless” Tammy Abraham of Bristol City?

Damunk wrote: Sun Oct 30, 2022 10:37 am
With good reason too.

Mostly positive:

But for most young players, they are often loaned out to lesser teams as part of their development.
Not by a country mile.
Part of their risk assessment was to take a closer look at him. They gave him the benefit of doubt.

At 21 he was at Chesterfield. Where was Osimhen at 21?

Nigeria should be able to do better than a Chesterfield player for our U23! If they did not invite him to camp many will complain that he was ignored.

Made me remember of another one like that who screamed blue murder about his invitation or otherwise to the U17 camp. Stories about who he was not selected because they refused to bribe the officials. Many years down the line we are yet to hear anything about this future Pele that was ignored.

For a Chesterfield player to assume that he will get an automatic shirt says a lot about the mentality

wanaj0 wrote: Sun Oct 30, 2022 2:02 pm
With good reason too.

Mostly positive:

Not by a country mile.
Part of their risk assessment was to take a closer look at him. They gave him the benefit of doubt.

Nigeria should be able to do better than a Chesterfield player for our U23! If they did not invite him to camp many will complain that he was ignored.

Made me remember of another one like that who screamed blue murder about his invitation or otherwise to the U17 camp. Stories about who he was not selected because they refused to bribe the officials. Many years down the line we are yet to hear anything about this future Pele that was ignored.

For a Chesterfield player to assume that he will get an automatic shirt says a lot about the mentality
Chief, no need to diminish his pedigree.
He is still young.
He’s an Arsenal youth player out on loan. If he was that ‘Chesterfield bad’, they coulda, shoulda released him ages ago, no shakin’.
But yeah, if he did assume an automatic shirt, that would be wrong.
But did he?

We don’t know what upset him and we can’t rule anything out.
We don’t know what he had to do to get into the squad.
It might be something as simple as having to buy his own flight ticket.
Who knows?
This is Nigeria.

Tim Akintola is an Arsenal player on loan. If he was crap he would have been let go by assanal a long time ago. Still only 21. We all know the coach of the U23 is a corrupt coach who really in all honesty should not be coaching this team and should have been fired after losing to ghana. The same people yabbing Akintola are the same ones justifying the inclusion of Success Makonjuola who is playing in the Spanish 4th division. Ok o.

This shabby treatment of foreign Born players is the reason we lost out to Malcolm Ebowei. If Akintola returns to assanal and blows up he aint playing for Nigeria. This would have been the perfect time to cap tie him but in Nigeria we like to make the easy things look like further Maths.

bret- hart wrote: Mon Oct 31, 2022 12:00 am Tim Akintola is an Arsenal player on loan. If he was crap he would have been let go by assanal a long time ago. Still only 21. We all know the coach of the U23 is a corrupt coach who really in all honesty should not be coaching this team and should have been fired after losing to ghana. The same people yabbing Akintola are the same ones justifying the inclusion of Success Makonjuola who is playing in the Spanish 4th division. Ok o.

This shabby treatment of foreign Born players is the reason we lost out to Malcolm Ebowei. If Akintola returns to assanal and blows up he aint playing for Nigeria. This would have been the perfect time to cap tie him but in Nigeria we like to make the easy things look like further Maths.
Kpom.

It's the same clowns always defending the corruption and pretending the "foreign borns" are overhyped crap.
We've heard these stories before then wonder why even average talents are holding out for 3 Lions.

What a disgrace.

bret- hart wrote: Mon Oct 31, 2022 12:00 am Tim Akintola is an Arsenal player on loan. If he was crap he would have been let go by assanal a long time ago. Still only 21. We all know the coach of the U23 is a corrupt coach who really in all honesty should not be coaching this team and should have been fired after losing to ghana. The same people yabbing Akintola are the same ones justifying the inclusion of Success Makonjuola who is playing in the Spanish 4th division. Ok o.

Neither him or Makanjuola should be anywhere near this team in the first place, so what's your point? The U23 level is just one step away from the main SE and to think some want to be justifying such call ups in the first place. If you're a bench warmer at a top or 2nd division side I'd understand, but one in a 5th division? You have to be trolling bros, and FYI he isn't foreign born.

Damunk wrote: Sun Oct 30, 2022 4:47 pm
With good reason too.

Mostly positive:

Not by a country mile.

He is still young.
He’s an Arsenal youth player out on loan. If he was that ‘Chesterfield bad’, they coulda, shoulda released him ages ago, no shakin’.
But did he?

Who knows?
This is Nigeria.
Diminish his pedigree in what sense? That all Arsenal Youth players are GOOD enough for our U23 team?

Yes he is still young. He is 21! He can and should get better and we wish him well.

A 21 year old playing in the 5th tier of the English League! We should have some respect for the National team biko!

U23 team is our Olympics team. It is almost as good as the SE team

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Oct 31, 2022 1:50 am

Kpom.

It's the same clowns always defending the corruption and pretending the "foreign borns" are overhyped crap.
We've heard these stories before then wonder why even average talents are holding out for 3 Lions.

What a disgrace.
We know you! You supported CIV! Your hatred for successful coaches is legendary. From Amodu to Keshi. No need pretending.

Arsenal Youth player on loan to Chesterfield playing in the 5th tier of the English football league. Let them play for 3 Lions. He is not good enough for the U23 so deal with that. You can go ahead and wish everyone death because of that.

wanaj0 wrote: Mon Oct 31, 2022 9:10 am
With good reason too.

Mostly positive:

Not by a country mile.

He is still young.
But did he?

Who knows?
This is Nigeria.
Diminish his pedigree in what sense? That all Arsenal Youth players are GOOD enough for our U23 team?

Yes he is still young. He is 21! He can and should get better and we wish him well.

A 21 year old playing in the 5th tier of the English League! We should have some respect for the National team biko!

Denigrating his ability by ignoring the fact that he is an Arsenal youth player loaned out to Chesterfield for obvious reasons which you pretend not to understand.
Your new straw man (chai!) is suggesting that someone (me?) is saying that “ALL ARSENAL YOUTH PLAYERS ARE GOOD ENOUGH FOR OUR U23 TEAM”
Where did you get that from?
We need to make a crown of straw and place it on your head. :rotf:

You are even arguing with a person who said from the get go that the Akinola call-up get as e be.
But I wouldn’t go as far as ‘backhanding’ him as a “Chesterfield player” when I know he is an Arsenal loaned on a development programme.
Let Arsenal release him first before you finish him.
Na your pikin. :clap:

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Oct 31, 2022 1:50 am

Kpom.

What a disgrace.
Yeah, I hear what you’re saying. Anyone who laces up soccer boots in Europe is the real deal. If they are invited and don’t get selected then it must be corruption. The real tragedy in that might be that you actually believe it, smh🤔🤣❗️

Last edited by TonyTheTigerKiller on Mon Oct 31, 2022 3:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Damunk wrote: Mon Oct 31, 2022 9:28 am
wanaj0 wrote: Mon Oct 31, 2022 9:10 am
Damunk wrote: Sun Oct 30, 2022 7:39 am With good reason too.

Mostly positive:

Not by a country mile.

He is still young.
But did he?

Who knows?
This is Nigeria.

Denigrating his ability by ignoring the fact that he is an Arsenal youth player loaned out to Chesterfield for obvious reasons which you pretend not to understand.
Your new straw man (chai!) is suggesting that someone (me?) is saying that “ALL ARSENAL YOUTH PLAYERS ARE GOOD ENOUGH FOR OUR U23 TEAM”
Where did you get that from?
We need to make a crown of straw and place it on your head. :rotf:

You are even arguing with a person who said from the get go that the Akinola call-up get as e be.
But I wouldn’t go as far as ‘backhanding’ him as a “Chesterfield player” when I know he is an Arsenal loaned on a development programme.
Let Arsenal release him first before you finish him.
Na your pikin. :clap:
He is an Arsenal Youth player loaned to a 5th Tier club in English football! So currently playing for Chesterfield.

Nothing against the boy. Not all Arsenal youth players are good enough for the U23 team. Even not ALL Arsenal players are good for the U23. Big clubs have had crap players.

I guess based on his Arsenal Youth Player title he was invited and evaluated and was felt not good enough.

Na wa oooo.

wanaj0 knocking sense into Uncle Damunk, left, right and centre.

Damunk, promoting a 5th Tier club player to the u-23. See what Rohr and Pinnick have caused.

damunk is corrupt. any player in the UK according to him should walk into the starting lineup. The funny thing is damunk was with the u23s watching them train ...smh

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Oct 31, 2022 12:48 pm damunk is corrupt. any player in the UK according to him should walk into the starting lineup. The funny thing is damunk was with the u23s watching them train ...smh
Damunk is NOT corrupt.

Guys should get a grip.

The U23 is essentially a National Team B. This isn't a youth setup like U17 or U20. These are players who are good enough to be playing top level soccer and only the age is a barrier. This kid can become good going forward but being at Chesterfield grants him no ticket to the U23 Nigeria XI, without proving it in competition with other eligible players who may be just as good or even better,.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

fabio wrote: Mon Oct 31, 2022 1:24 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Oct 31, 2022 12:48 pm damunk is corrupt. any player in the UK according to him should walk into the starting lineup. The funny thing is damunk was with the u23s watching them train ...smh
Damunk is NOT corrupt.
You should learn to ignore that gorodomhead. He'll infect you with his stupidity.
He hardly ever knows what time of day it is, talk less what he's talking about.

Enugu II wrote: Mon Oct 31, 2022 5:29 pm Guys should get a grip.

The U23 is essentially a National Team B. This isn't a youth setup like U17 or U20. These are players who are good enough to be playing top level soccer and only the age is a barrier. This kid can become good going forward but being at Chesterfield grants him no ticket to the U23 Nigeria XI, without proving it in competition with other eligible players who may be just as good or even better,.
Which is why his invitation raised suspicion in the first place.
A lot of 'hows' and 'whys'
There are dozens of Nigerian kids with a higher profile playing all over the UK and even Europe that fit the age bracket.
So how did he get the invite?
Whichever way you look at it, his story raises eyebrows. :idea:

fabio wrote: Mon Oct 31, 2022 1:24 pm
Damunk is NOT corrupt.
Na you dey put cheap petrol in his tank. :rotf:

Damunk wrote: Sun Oct 30, 2022 4:47 pm Chief, no need to diminish his pedigree.
He is still young.
But did he?

Who knows?
This is Nigeria.
I knew there was more to his initial invitation and his storming out of camp.
We kind of know what’s coming, but let’s wait and see.
Hopefully, it will be nothing more than him coming all the way over for the amala and then getting really disappointed with the quality of the gbegiri and ewedu soup. :rotf:

Bribery Allegation: Arsenal Midfielder Opens Up On His U23 Experience

https://www.owngoalnigeria.com/2022/11/ ... -u23-team/

Ultimately, it’s Owngoal so take what you read with a pinch of salt.