The FIVE DUDS IN SE SHIRTS......

In my view, these are five players who have underwhelmed wearing the green and white of Nigeria. This is, specifically, focused on teach player's performance while playing for Nigeria. I point to five players who have disappointed despite expectations.

1. Samuel Chukwueze -- Chukwueze was supposedly the next big star for Nigeria but he has greatly underwhelmed, thus far. He burst into the scene a few years ago and several players in the national team christened him "the next big thing out of Nigeria." What who have seen, however, is a one trick pony who tends to drive inwards on his left foot from the right wing. These days, he is predictable and unable to vary his approach. More troubling, is that he goes to sleep for large swaths of the game. His days as a regular invitee could be numbered if and when new players emerge.

2. Henry Onyekuru -- The hype that followed this guy when he was first invited to the national team camp may be one of the biggest since Chinedu Ogbuke. Predictably, his output has not been much better. than Ogbuke's. You can even argue that it may be worse. He is now a bit-part player for the national team. His goal scoring stats underwhelm and more troubling is that he hardly impacts a game while playing for Nigeria.

3. Jamilu Collins -- This is another player with considerable hype when first invited to the national team. To his credit, his performances for Nigeria in the early games indicated that he could be useful as a starter for the country. However, he quickly faded and became a weak point among Nigeria's back four. That Zaidu Sanusi finally sent him to the bench was not surprising but his fall from hype to discredited remains a huge warning when reading the hype surrounding invitation of new players. Take the hype with a pinch of salt.

4. Paul Onuachu -- A goal in the first minute of a game against Egypt energized Nigerian fans. Sure, Paul is devastating in the air where he towers over the tallest defenders. But on the ground? :rotf: :rotf: It is an entirely different matter. Clearly, this is a situational-type player. As we found out, Nigeria's previous Manager Gernot Rohr made it clear he would not run set plays for Paul. The question is, who will? Now, Peseiro has invited Paul Onuachu based on Onuachu's outstanding goal scoring record at his club. But will Nigeria cater for Paul's style? That is the question that Peseiro will have to answer.

5. Kelechi Nwakali -- Mercurial player at the youth level. It seemed that he read and believed the hype at the youth level. Yet, when he was eventually called up to play for the full Nigerian national team, he played as if Nigeria could afford him as a luxury-type player. He will work when the team had the ball but coast and quit working when Nigeria did not have the ball. It was a huge disappointment after so much had been expected. However, and let the truth be told, his recent play at his club points to a rejuvenated talent who may have the light lit. :idea: We shall find out soon.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: The FIVE DUDS IN SE SHIRTS......

Fair list.

Onyekuru is far from the national team these days so is probably not even worth a mention at this point.

With all due respect how on earth is Nwakali a dud ?

Dude has played LIKE ONE SE MATCH, and he was even pretty good in it.

How on earth can you claim somebody to be a dud after only one match. You are crazy.

Enugu II wrote: Wed Nov 16, 2022 4:24 am In my view, these are five players who have underwhelmed wearing the green and white of Nigeria. This is, specifically, focused on teach player's performance while playing for Nigeria. I point to five players who have disappointed despite expectations.

1. Samuel Chukwueze -- Chukwueze was supposedly the next big star for Nigeria but he has greatly underwhelmed, thus far. He burst into the scene a few years ago and several players in the national team christened him "the next big thing out of Nigeria." What who have seen, however, is a one trick pony who tends to drive inwards on his left foot from the right wing. These days, he is predictable and unable to vary his approach. More troubling, is that he goes to sleep for large swaths of the game. His days as a regular invitee could be numbered if and when new players emerge.

2. Henry Onyekuru -- The hype that followed this guy when he was first invited to the national team camp may be one of the biggest since Chinedu Ogbuke. Predictably, his output has not been much better. than Ogbuke's. You can even argue that it may be worse. He is now a bit-part player for the national team. His goal scoring stats underwhelm and more troubling is that he hardly impacts a game while playing for Nigeria.

3. Jamilu Collins -- This is another player with considerable hype when first invited to the national team. To his credit, his performances for Nigeria in the early games indicated that he could be useful as a starter for the country. However, he quickly faded and became a weak point among Nigeria's back four. That Zaidu Sanusi finally sent him to the bench was not surprising but his fall from hype to discredited remains a huge warning when reading the hype surrounding invitation of new players. Take the hype with a pinch of salt.

4. Paul Onuachu -- A goal in the first minute of a game against Egypt energized Nigerian fans. Sure, Paul is devastating in the air where he towers over the tallest defenders. But on the ground? :rotf: :rotf: It is an entirely different matter. Clearly, this is a situational-type player. As we found out, Nigeria's previous Manager Gernot Rohr made it clear he would not run set plays for Paul. The question is, who will? Now, Peseiro has invited Paul Onuachu based on Onuachu's outstanding goal scoring record at his club. But will Nigeria cater for Paul's style? That is the question that Peseiro will have to answer.

5. Kelechi Nwakali -- Mercurial player at the youth level. It seemed that he read and believed the hype at the youth level. Yet, when he was eventually called up to play for the full Nigerian national team, he played as if Nigeria could afford him as a luxury-type player. He will work when the team had the ball but coast and quit working when Nigeria did not have the ball. It was a huge disappointment after so much had been expected. However, and let the truth be told, his recent play at his club points to a rejuvenated talent who may have the light lit. :idea: We shall find out soon.

Oga, be laik say u don catch Bigpokeyitis. Only 2 on the mentioned players were invited. 1 is injured, 2 have never been invited by the current coach . The other 2 are justified invites. Wetin be the problem?

I respectfully disagree on Nwakali being a dud, the dude has barely even had a fair shot at playing in the team set up

vancity eagle wrote: Wed Nov 16, 2022 4:57 am With all due respect how on earth is Nwakali a dud ?

Dude has played LIKE ONE SE MATCH, and he was even pretty good in it.

How on earth can you claim somebody to be a dud after only one match. You are crazy.
Enugu drinks shelf temperature Guinness Stout after which he hits the keyboard. Even the topic is out of place in bigger skim of things. People are prepping to watch World Cup and we have an important friendly coming up so no body got time for that
Last edited by jette1 on Wed Nov 16, 2022 9:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

I agree that Nwakali doesn’t belong on this list.

Indeed, he doesn’t belong on a list discussing SE players. He’s a youth player from almost a decade ago who’s career sadly has consisted of cameos in mostly lower league teams.

waka-man wrote: Wed Nov 16, 2022 9:09 am I agree that Nwakali doesn’t belong on this list.

Indeed, he doesn’t belong on a list discussing SE players. He’s a youth player from almost a decade ago who’s career sadly has consisted of cameos in mostly lower league teams.
Fact.
Apart from the “almost decade ago”.

Damunk wrote: Wed Nov 16, 2022 9:22 am
waka-man wrote: Wed Nov 16, 2022 9:09 am I agree that Nwakali doesn’t belong on this list.

Fact.
Apart from the “almost decade ago”.
7.5 years. It’s getting there…

This is what happens when we overhype a player that scores a tap in and is crowned a super striker,
or one that makes useless dribbles is termed a midfield maestro, or another that scores a deflected
freekick is praise as a specialist, or even a defender that clears a goal bound shot but is beaten on the
ball most times is hailed as defense stalwart.
SE, at best currently, have four players that can be said to be complete in terms of talent, focus and
discipline. Until we can find more and create a real team, we will keep deceiving ourselves about having
a chance in any competition.

joao wrote: Wed Nov 16, 2022 4:42 pm This is what happens when we overhype a player that scores a tap in and is crowned a super striker,
or one that makes useless dribbles is termed a midfield maestro, or another that scores a deflected
freekick is praise as a specialist, or even a defender that clears a goal bound shot but is beaten on the
ball most times is hailed as defense stalwart.
SE, at best currently, have four players that can be said to be complete in terms of talent, focus and
discipline. Until we can find more and create a real team, we will keep deceiving ourselves about having
a chance in any competition.
my goodness your inferiority complex get no equal

You seem to be rewriting history here bros, If my memory serves me right at the time he was a third division player that not many people even knew about and was the 2nd choice LB for our 2013 U20's. And if we're being honest I've not seen a Zaidu performance (with the SE) that comes close to his best as well as his consistency.
Enugu II wrote: Wed Nov 16, 2022 4:24 am

Waka-man

This is neither about Nwakali's youth soccer nor is it about his club. This is strictly about Nwakali at the Super Eagles level. Yes, he has played few games but that is enough to evaluate, given the hype. He has not delivered to match the hype. However. I acknowledge that there is yet hope given the newer reports about his attitude and game.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Good list. But I don’t think Nwakali has been given a true shot

I am a little light headed today so I am going to make this fairly quick.

I will only push back a little bit on the Samu criticism of being onesided. Some of the most successful athletes in history across multiple sports, spammed the same move again and again and again and again. In fact I think that is where Samu takes his inspiration from.

It has nothing to do with the move, but more to do with how he MASKS the move. A killer move is actually better than a series of mediocre moves. If you have one killer move, it can take you to world class heights, and Samus's move is a killer move. But unlike Arjen Robben he doesn't know how to vary his timing and mix up his interplay, dribbling to mask it.

In short, I would not advise Samu to change his style, but to learn how to VARY his style.

Read this: https://www.nytimes.com/2019/03/12/spor ... rpool.html

There are so many Nigerian players that I watch and I am adamant they could have done great things. Samu is one such player. I am 100% certain of it. Some of these players just receive poor guidance. Iheanacho is another one. It is not about being overhyped, it is about players wasting their talent. There are players with LESS talent than these guys that achieve MORE.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

The right mentor can get these guys to another level! They have very poor mentors. We had hoped that what's his name....umm Cazorla would have rubbed off positively on Samu when he was in the yellow subs, but he is gone now. Sometimes I think our players are just happy to getting a fat check. They stop learning, they stop growing.

Soon people will say that Awoniyi is a dud lol. Awoniyi with the right mentor will destroy Europe.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Enugu II wrote: Thu Nov 17, 2022 4:11 am

Waka-man

This is neither about Nwakali's youth soccer nor is it about his club. This is strictly about Nwakali at the Super Eagles level. Yes, he has played few games but that is enough to evaluate, given the hype. He has not delivered to match the hype. However. I acknowledge that there is yet hope given the newer reports about his attitude and game.
Well then I’m not sure I know what the list is about now. There have been many who have come and failed to deliver. I thought this was about people who we should have expected more from. Nwakali has done nothing in his career that would suggest he should have done well as an SE. The rest - including Jamilu - have.
Agbako

Post by Agbako »

Prof. You are very right. There are more players selfs. The current crop of players to me are just complete jokes.. As a matter of fact have anyone watch this Awoniyi guy play at Nothingham Forest? I keep wondering. Is this guy a footballer? How did he get to this multi million dollar level as a Striker?

Honestly is this the way he plays? or something is just wrong somewhere... Someone please educate me. I am baffled oooo..

Agbako wrote: Thu Nov 17, 2022 7:26 pm Prof. You are very right. There are more players selfs. The current crop of players to me are just complete jokes.. As a matter of fact have anyone watch this Awoniyi guy play at Nothingham Forest? I keep wondering. Is this guy a footballer? How did he get to this multi million dollar level as a Striker?

Honestly is this the way he plays? or something is just wrong somewhere... Someone please educate me. I am baffled oooo..
Lol…shhh, man must wack, allow am abeg…

EII,

I don’t understand the presence of Nwakali in your list… or did you mean Chidiebere Nwakali❓🤔❗️