I warned you guys about Ndidi

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 1:36 am
by Tobi17
The guy has fallen off so badly that any honest fan of Ndidi must start to accept that he's past it now, injuries have done the guy so much disservice that he's virtually just playing in motion picture now...Ghana have integrated some exciting players into their midfield and now have Partey, Kofi-Kyereh, Abdul Samed, Elisha Owusu, and then Kudus...and these guys are geling so well and playing some decent football, note that Otto Addo just took over that Ghanaian team few months ago and their trajectory already looks good, even the Ghanaian defence looks very assured with Djiku, Amartey, Salisu etc ...why are we so unfortunate with crap players especially in midfield? in 2022 we're still relying on dead legs like Ndidi and Etebo? the only positive player of note is Iwobi, and his level is clearly suited for a crap Everton team? only Osimhen is the best football story from Nigeria. Where are we getting it all wrong? should be disband this team structure and start all over again?

Re: I warned you guys about Ndidi

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 1:53 am
by bret- hart
Tobi17 wrote: Fri Nov 18, 2022 1:36 am The guy has fallen off so badly that any honest fan of Ndidi must start to accept that he's past it now, injuries have done the guy so much disservice that he's virtually just playing in motion picture now...Ghana have integrated some exciting players into their midfield and now have Partey, Kofi-Kyereh, Abdul Samed, Elisha Owusu, and then Kudus...and these guys are geling so well and playing some decent football, note that Otto Addo just took over that Ghanaian team few months ago and their trajectory already looks good, even the Ghanaian defence looks very assured with Djiku, Amartey, Salisu etc ...why are we so unfortunate with crap players especially in midfield? in 2022 we're still relying on dead legs like Ndidi and Etebo? the only positive player of note is Iwobi, and his level is clearly suited for a crap Everton team? only Osimhen is the best football story from Nigeria. Where are we getting it all wrong? should be disband this team structure and start all over again?
Leave them. When the Euphoria dies down they will still call for the same deadwoods to be invited instead of calling fresh faces and integrating them. We are not ready for change.

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 2:08 am
by Tobi17
bret- hart wrote: Fri Nov 18, 2022 1:53 am
Tobi17 wrote: Fri Nov 18, 2022 1:36 am The guy has fallen off so badly that any honest fan of Ndidi must start to accept that he's past it now, injuries have done the guy so much disservice that he's virtually just playing in motion picture now...Ghana have integrated some exciting players into their midfield and now have Partey, Kofi-Kyereh, Abdul Samed, Elisha Owusu, and then Kudus...and these guys are geling so well and playing some decent football, note that Otto Addo just took over that Ghanaian team few months ago and their trajectory already looks good, even the Ghanaian defence looks very assured with Djiku, Amartey, Salisu etc ...why are we so unfortunate with crap players especially in midfield? in 2022 we're still relying on dead legs like Ndidi and Etebo? the only positive player of note is Iwobi, and his level is clearly suited for a crap Everton team? only Osimhen is the best football story from Nigeria. Where are we getting it all wrong? should be disband this team structure and start all over again?
Leave them. When the Euphoria dies down they will still call for the same deadwoods to be invited instead of calling fresh faces and integrating them. We are not ready for change.
Serious football nations are fast phasing out their deadweights, I watched Morocco play some fantastic football today (granted it was against Georgia) and felt hopeless at the rubbish we displayed today by comparison, in 2022 we're stil playing static players like Ndidi,Etebo, Ekong, Simon etc who have been in the national team set up for decades with no growth in their game!

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 2:22 am
by packerland
Tobi17,

I echoed the same sentiment and one forumer said I don’t know what I’m talking about. He even had the nerve to say his goal scoring record is better than Partey. When I hit him with stats between Ndidi and Partey for both clubs and country he didn’t say anything. I love Wilfred but injuries has ruined him. Going Leicesters recent lineup and revival, I believe he has lost his position to Soumare. I do blame Rodgers for his injuries. At one point he played the guy even in a useless Caraboa cup because he didn’t trust Soumare and Mendy wasn’t registered.

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 2:36 am
Ndidi will be ok. He hasn't played much since returning from injury. He'll have the next month to continue to regain his fitness and confidence.

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 2:46 am
by Tobi17
packerland wrote: Fri Nov 18, 2022 2:22 am
Tobi17,

I echoed the same sentiment and one forumer said I don’t know what I’m talking about. He even had the nerve to say his goal scoring record is better than Partey. When I hit him with stats between Ndidi and Partey for both clubs and country he didn’t say anything. I love Wilfred but injuries has ruined him. Going Leicesters recent lineup and revival, I believe he has lost his position to Soumare. I do blame Rodgers for his injuries. At one point he played the guy even in a useless Caraboa cup because he didn’t trust Soumare and Mendy wasn’t registered.
At one point Ndidi was the best DM in the world, his tackles alone per stats was overwhelming across Europe, injuries and poor management by Brendan have largely contributed to his sad decline...I think it's time we start to respectfully take away the mainstay DM roles from Ndidi and start building around prospects like Yusuf and Onyedika...of course that's not saying this guys will significantly improve our midfield woes, but they at least deserve to be fully integrated into the team based on FORM...Etebo should not be in this team, dude is rusty and brings absolutely nothing. I genuinely can't see any area of this team where we are growing, even our much glorified attack looks useless, without Osimhen we're actually useless...yet these guys play so well for their clubs. What's the actual problem with the senior NT?

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 2:49 am
by Tobi17
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Nov 18, 2022 2:36 am Ndidi will be ok. He hasn't played much since returning from injury. He'll have the next month to continue to regain his fitness and confidence.
EMIR we've used this same excuse one time too many, granted it's not Ndidi's fault that injuries slowed down his momentum, but unfortunately football just like life is a cruel affair, we can't keep using emotions and charity to invite players who are either past it or badly out of form, let's grow and make mistakes with players who actually have a more promising trajectory for growth

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 2:50 am
Tobi17 wrote: Fri Nov 18, 2022 2:46 am
packerland wrote: Fri Nov 18, 2022 2:22 am
Tobi17,

At one point Ndidi was the best DM in the world, his tackles alone per stats was overwhelming across Europe, injuries and poor management by Brendan have largely contributed to his sad decline...I think it's time we start to respectfully take away the mainstay DM roles from Ndidi and start building around prospects like Yusuf and Onyedika...of course that's not saying this guys will significantly improve our midfield woes, but they at least deserve to be fully integrated into the team based on FORM...Etebo should not be in this team, dude is rusty and brings absolutely nothing. I genuinely can't see any area of this team where we are growing, even our much glorified attack looks useless, without Osimhen we're actually useless...yet these guys play so well for their clubs. What's the actual problem with the senior NT?
The problem is not Ndidi. It’s then2 wingers we always play who offer little support to MF and can’t put in a decent cross to save their lives. Lookman and Simon huffed and puffed but delivered nothing. Get rid of them by playing 343/352 and add antra MF and a SS.

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 6:08 am
by Dammy
Maybe Ndidi should be moved to central defence

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 8:07 am
by Lolly
Dammy wrote: Fri Nov 18, 2022 6:08 am Maybe Ndidi should be moved to central defence
He is not better than the CDs we have.

The coach just has to demand more from him. He was coasting yesterday.

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 6:14 pm
by olu
Cut the man some slack. I can count the number of bad games Ndidi has had for Nigeria on one hand. Ndidi's main problem is he needs to get back to full fitness. Hopefully Rodgers gives him time to fully recover. I honestly won't mind him sitting out most of this season if it helps prolong his career.

He's an excellent defensive midfielder, but he's not really a box-to-box midfielder. We need to accept that.

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 6:35 pm
by felarey
We can't throw away every player that has a bad game. Lets not forget we were playing a top 10 ranked team in the world. Watching him and Carvalho in the same game was hard if you compare the influence. Perhaps having the two wingers wasn't the best formation against some of world's best forward players. Ndidi may also have had to tone down his tackling becos of the friendly nature of the game pre WC. But yeah, he can certainly do better as a senior player.

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 6:41 pm
Dammy wrote: Fri Nov 18, 2022 6:08 am Maybe Ndidi should be moved to central defence
Kpom! They don't think out of the box. Na to throw him away and replace him with a novice.

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 7:35 pm
by packerland
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Nov 18, 2022 6:41 pm
Kpom! They don't think out of the box. Na to throw him away and replace him with a novice.
I mentioned that too. That could prolong his career. For example in the NFL, corner backs that were good tackler are at times converted to safeties once they lose their speed. I think the days of Ndidi running side line to side line to make tackles might be over. Injuries and multiple surgeries can do that to you. Look at Kante as an example. I don't think he can ever be back to his Leicester city form.

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 7:48 pm
by Orion
Err... if I'm not mistaken, I was the one who told you these guys peaked in 2018 and are now past it. You argued against that assessment.

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 8:19 pm
by The YeyeMan
Orion wrote: Fri Nov 18, 2022 7:48 pm Err... if I'm not mistaken, I was the one who told you these peaked in 2018 and are now past it. You argued against that assessment.
Ndidi did not peak in 2018 nor was he past it.

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 9:52 pm
you people funny sha, this was just a friendly oooo... let us not get too carried away

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 10:43 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Nov 18, 2022 9:52 pm you people funny sha, this was just a friendly oooo... let us not get too carried away
I thought I resigned from EN. Abeg gerrrrrrrrrrooouutttttt————————————————————>>>>>>>>>>>

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2022 1:09 am
by Odas
bret- hart wrote: Fri Nov 18, 2022 1:53 am
... but it's been said, or rumored severally the NFF is interfering with the coaches' player selections. If such is true, then right there is where our problem lies.

Allow the coaches to select their players and let's see what happens. Until such is done, I think we are doomed

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2022 6:59 pm
by joao
Ndidi alone is not the problem. The whole team plays with little or no coordination, focus, or discipline.
Until the coaches can instill these characteristics on the team, we will continue to be training material
to other teams.
The match against Portugal shows it all. Our SE played like they just met each other minutes before the
match, while Portugal showed that they had an agenda, controlled possession, and executed as a team.
Until we admit and correct our deficiencies, we will continue the downward spiral.

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2022 8:36 pm
by Tobi17
joao wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 6:59 pm Ndidi alone is not the problem. The whole team plays with little or no coordination, focus, or discipline.
Until the coaches can instill these characteristics on the team, we will continue to be training material
to other teams.
The match against Portugal shows it all. Our SE played like they just met each other minutes before the
match, while Portugal showed that they had an agenda, controlled possession, and executed as a team.
Until we admit and correct our deficiencies, we will continue the downward spiral.
Maybe this present crop of players aren't just good enough, I doubt even prime Pep Guardiola can improve these guys...not worth it, time to try new ideas.