The next world cup is 2026

And by then most of these players will be in their early to mid 30's, and apart from Osimhen and maybe Iwobi, we have mostly decent to average players at best...should we keep the same core of players or just start afresh with the young players coming up in the youth teams (U17-U23) and start opening camps for these players and scheduling top friendly matches for them so they can use the next 4 years to gel together, and build a foundation just in time for the next world cup? There's no doubt these present generation of players have failed woefully, even the Yakubu/Mikel/Yobo generation achieved far more than these set in far worse administrative conditions. I think the NFF (if they are serious) should start preparing the next generation of players that will be led by Osimhen and Iwobi, then the likes of Bassey, Osayi Samuel and maybe Aina/Zaidu can be the surviving players from these set.
Re: The next world cup is 2026

DaNQ 26 is gonna be mutha. :woot:

Tobi17,

Year 2026 is quite a long time from now, but in-between will come several qualification matches. Thus, the question is: how do we qualify for the tournaments; that is, the AFCONS, the others and indeed, the 2026 world cup?

Do we start replacing our current players gradually, or what do you suggest we do?

Our problem is that we often misdiagnose the problem and make the wrong solutions.

All the players we have would be eligible (if on form)for 2026 other than

Balogun

There are no old players to plan beyond other than Balogun, and he hasn't played for a while, so he's already defacto being moved out.

Now beyond age, there is a quality problem and the following need to be cut for good

Musa, Shehu,

The rest will be there until a better option comes up. IMO the following should be on serious notice of possible eviction

Awaziem, Omeruo - fringe defenders who play at a low level and are currently barely used

Etebo - not really good enough anymore but just depth in case of mass injuries

Moses Simon - guy is the most useless guaranteed starter we have ever had. Why must he always start ? Deep bench option at best.

Ndidi - let him recover fully. We should be looking at Yusuf and Onyedika. Perhaps he is finished.

The most important thing for 2026 is to BUILD THE MIDFIELD.

Can't believe I'm still saying this years later. How can the clowns in charge never see the glaringly obvious.

The fact Yusuf has not been tried in 5 friendlies and 4 qualifiers post afcon is a national disgrace and indicative of the lack of function with the clowns in charge.

vancity eagle wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 2:30 am Our problem is that we often misdiagnose the problem and make the wrong solutions.

Balogun

There are no old players to plan beyond other than Balogun, and he hasn't played for a while, so he's already defacto being moved out.

Now beyond age, there is a quality problem and the following need to be cut for good

Musa, Shehu,

The rest will be there until a better option comes up. IMO the following should be on serious notice of possible eviction

Awaziem, Omeruo - fringe defenders who play at a low level and are currently barely used

Moses Simon - guy is the most useless guaranteed starter we have ever had. Why must he always start ? Deep bench option at best.

Ndidi - let him recover fully. We should be looking at Yusuf and Onyedika. Perhaps he is finished.

Can't believe I'm still saying this years later. How can the clowns in charge never see the glaringly obvious.

The fact Yusuf has not been tried in 5 friendlies and 4 qualifiers post afcon is a national disgrace and indicative of the lack of function with the clowns in charge.
No more foreign coaches!

Peseiro no be am, when does his contract end again? I guess it's time to start afresh smh

...clueless and confused Nigerians. na so we go dey rolling around, from here to there while other African countries go dey laf at us.
kai, there was once a time the name Nigeria instill fear and respect, now newly grown up and coming African admins and players have figured how to molest and embarrass the thieves, the corrupt, the fraudsters.
We now approach matches with fear and squabbles.

highbury wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 2:55 am
vancity eagle wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 2:30 am Our problem is that we often misdiagnose the problem and make the wrong solutions.

Balogun

Musa, Shehu,

No more foreign coaches!
I know

the foreign coaches cost us the world cup place and our worst afcon in 30 years. THeyve also failed to qualify for a common afcon a number of times in the past decade.

mcal wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 4:16 am ...clueless and confused Nigerians. na so we go dey rolling around, from here to there while other African countries go dey laf at us.
kai, there was once a time the name Nigeria instill fear and respect, now newly grown up and coming African admins and players have figured how to molest and embarrass the thieves, the corrupt, the fraudsters.
ok.....so whats the answer?

vancity eagle wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 5:36 am

Balogun

Musa, Shehu,

No more foreign coaches!
I know

the foreign coaches cost us the world cup place and our worst afcon in 30 years. THeyve also failed to qualify for a common afcon a number of times in the past decade.
So you really think Peseiro is good enough to coach this team? The man is a low IQ coach...very poor, I have nothing from him so far to suggest we will get better as a team...in hindsight Rohr was a far better coach and that doesn't say much.

:wink:
Tobi17 wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 5:53 am

Balogun

Musa, Shehu,

No more foreign coaches!
I know

So you really think Peseiro is good enough to coach this team? The man is a low IQ coach...very poor, I have nothing from him so far to suggest we will get better as a team...in hindsight Rohr was a far better coach and that doesn't say much.
It wasn't long ago we broke records beating a team 10-0.

I will judge him on our next few qualifiers.

If we are honest the 4-0 loss was much worse in scoreline than what happened on the pitch. Game could have easily ended 2-1.

Portugal recently beat the Swiss 4-0. These games can happen.

Firing coaches every few months will not get us anywhere. He needs more time.

I will say however the most worrying sign is that he continues to insist on 442, and if he hasn't figured out our problem is midfield by the next match and call up new prospects, I will start to really worry.

Enyi wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 5:51 am
mcal wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 4:16 am ...clueless and confused Nigerians. na so we go dey rolling around, from here to there while other African countries go dey laf at us.
ok.....so whats the answer?
...at this point the answer is unattainable, we just gotta swim and drown and hope a patriotic savior will show to rescue us.

Balogun

Musa, Shehu,

No more foreign coaches!
I know

Please ask Oga Highbury to list us two or three local coaches worth trying out because I don dey ask for like two years now, no answer. It must be a state classified secret.
The best we have been able to squeeze out is the mention of Eguavon, Finidi and Amuneke.
But I think they are decoys put out there for disinformation purposes to deceive our opponents. There is obviously a grand Master Plan Oga Highbury dem are not yet telling us about. :idea:

The question is, WHEN WILL OUR REAL LOCAL COACHING GENIUSES BE REVEALED? :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: