Now the SE storm is over....

I wanted to wait a few days after the games to say that I think we all are missing the main issue here....

The problem was not Ndidi or the midfield or even Dennis (he needs to be disciplined for that rubbish)..

The issue is that we forgot that this game meant more to Portugal than to us...

Think before the game, they was only one thread for the line up, players in camp and the game...

We here in CE, didnt really care that much...to be honest, and the players didnt either. We are not going to the WC, SO WHATS REALLY THE POINT? Why should any player stress themselves out or get injured for what?

With these friendlies b4 a big tournament, Portugal would have told us not to be forceful with tackles...they dont want injuries b4 a major tournament.

Whats more surprising is that most of them turned up and didnt pull out..

BTW....Portugal aint that good, i expect Ghana to beat them.

All the furore about Ndidi....he is making his way back from injury. I remember someone telling me that Iwobi is done a month before the season...we need to calm down, enjoy this WC in Qatar (I am here if anyone is around) and we restart once the serious games come back and we go again.

Re: Now the SE storm is over....

What a load of rubbish, everything wrong in that game started from the midfield, the Pisseiro fellow is allow too daft to see that a midfield of recycled deadweights like Ndidi, Etebo and a seemingly disinterested Aribo just doesn't work.. if we were serious, only Iwobi should be left in that midfield while we source around for midfielders with top football IQs

Tobi17 wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 8:52 am What a load of rubbish, everything wrong in that game started from the midfield, the Pisseiro fellow is allow too daft to see that a midfield of recycled deadweights like Ndidi, Etebo and a seemingly disinterested Aribo just doesn't work.. if we were serious, only Iwobi should be left in that midfield while we source around for midfielders with top football IQs
Like who?
Where do you think they are hiding?
Na beans? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Damunk wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 9:42 am
Tobi17 wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 8:52 am What a load of rubbish, everything wrong in that game started from the midfield, the Pisseiro fellow is allow too daft to see that a midfield of recycled deadweights like Ndidi, Etebo and a seemingly disinterested Aribo just doesn't work.. if we were serious, only Iwobi should be left in that midfield while we source around for midfielders with top football IQs
Like who?
We have a population of over 200 million football crazy Nigerians, with the right structure in place it shouldn't be hard. Let's stop enabling laziness Damunkey!

Tobi17 wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 10:16 am
Like who?
We have a population of over 200 million football crazy Nigerians, with the right structure in place it shouldn't be hard. Let's stop enabling laziness Damunkey!
Tobi stop the one-upmanship.
I put it to you that the ‘lazy’ recommendation is what you have casually stated - “source around” as if stating it will magically produce “midfielders with a high IQ”.
I’m asking you where they might have been hiding all these years.
We are talking about a NATIONAL TEAM here, not your ‘Agbalumo Pry School’ team.

Which high performing SE-level midfielders with high IQ are you referring to that haven’t been making some kind of mark at some point already?
Are you looking for 16 year olds?
Why exactly have they not been mentioned in the hundreds of players routinely monitored by coaches and fans alike?
How can they be playing at that level and nobody has ever seen them?
Where exactly are they hiding that we have never looked?

Na mouth? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

A population of 200m guarantees nothing.
Otherwise China, India, Pakistan and Indonesia have enough people to dominate the world in at least 5 major sports.
Raw talent means nothing if it isn’t developed.

Ordinary fans sef, we no fit fill stadium (see Jette’s thread on fan bases around the world).
We get ‘talent’ of making noise but to develop that talent further into buying ticket, we no fit. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Enyi wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 6:24 am I wanted to wait a few days after the games to say that I think we all are missing the main issue here....

The problem was not Ndidi or the midfield or even Dennis (he needs to be disciplined for that rubbish)..

Think before the game, they was only one thread for the line up, players in camp and the game...

We here in CE, didnt really care that much...to be honest, and the players didnt either. We are not going to the WC, SO WHATS REALLY THE POINT? Why should any player stress themselves out or get injured for what?

With these friendlies b4 a big tournament, Portugal would have told us not to be forceful with tackles...they dont want injuries b4 a major tournament.

All the furore about Ndidi....he is making his way back from injury. I remember someone telling me that Iwobi is done a month before the season...we need to calm down, enjoy this WC in Qatar (I am here if anyone is around) and we restart once the serious games come back and we go again.
Enyi,

Emmmmmm can you explain Egypt beating Belgium in a friendly based on your hypothesis? Have Egyptian players been invited to the World Cup? Or did Egypt qualify?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Like who?
You think the right structure will produce the likes of Modric, Bellingham and Kante before the next WC….?

Ok Sir

Naija has football talent, but we lack a disciplined structure on and off the field.
Imagine an NFF chairman focused mainly on foreign talent while ignoring those in
the local league. One who likes raving about his favorite EPL team, instead of the
local teams he is tasked to administer.

As for the SE, did anyone notice the introduction of crude behaviors to the team over
the years? What with players dressing discordantly in public and engaging in personal
acts and songs that have no bearing on the team cohesion and the task at hand? This
discordance translates to actions on the field, whether we want to agree or not.

We are reaping what we sow and unfortunately, the same people who encouraged and
cheered on the rot within the team, are now pretending not to know how our football
is at a low point.

joao wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 6:45 pm Naija has football talent, but we lack a disciplined structure on and off the field.
Imagine an NFF chairman focused mainly on foreign talent while ignoring those in
the local league. One who likes raving about his favorite EPL team, instead of the
local teams he is tasked to administer.

As for the SE, did anyone notice the introduction of crude behaviors to the team over
the years? What with players dressing discordantly in public and engaging in personal
acts and songs that have no bearing on the team cohesion and the task at hand? This
discordance translates to actions on the field, whether we want to agree or not.

We are reaping what we sow and unfortunately, the same people who encouraged and
cheered on the rot within the team, are now pretending not to know how our football
is at a low point.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

The truth is that we do not have quality coming through. The likes of Amoo (Copenhagen), Tijani (RB Salzburg) etc are still trying to establish themselves. Onyedika is not better than what we currently have and the short-term solution is to try and get the likes of Eze and Oliseh (Crystal Palace), Ugochukwu (Rennes), Adarabioyo (Fulham), Okoli (Atalanta), Madueke (PSV), Udokhai (Augsburg), Nnmecha (Wolfsburg) etc to commit to Nigeria. They will add quality and depth to the squad. We have seen the quality that Osayi-Samuel has brought into the team and we need to try and get some of these boys to switch over to us.
That's the reality.

Enyi wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 5:32 pm
Like who?
You think the right structure will produce the likes of Modric, Bellingham and Kante before the next WC….?

Ok Sir
Why not? Bellingham was playing in the championship not too long ago. Kante played in the French II div, had one year at Leicester before becoming a mega star. We the right structures in place you can churn out 2-4 superstars before the next WC.

Dammy wrote: Sun Nov 20, 2022 12:03 am The truth is that we do not have quality coming through. The likes of Amoo (Copenhagen), Tijani (RB Salzburg) etc are still trying to establish themselves. Onyedika is not better than what we currently have and the short-term solution is to try and get the likes of Eze and Oliseh (Crystal Palace), Ugochukwu (Rennes), Adarabioyo (Fulham), Okoli (Atalanta), Madueke (PSV), Udokhai (Augsburg), Nnmecha (Wolfsburg) etc to commit to Nigeria. They will add quality and depth to the squad. We have seen the quality that Osayi-Samuel has brought into the team and we need to try and get some of these boys to switch over to us.
That's the reality.

Anything to talk down on Onyedika. How do you know he isnt better when he hardly gets callups? How do you know if Yusuf is good enough when he does not get any callups? Yet you want deadwoods like Etebo. I told you Portugal was going to beat us like a drum because of the trash midfield we put forth

PS begging the mercenaries you posted will not help us. There are better players who you refuse to invite because they dont play in so called "top5 leagues"

amafolas

Post by amafolas »

this Passeiro guy better get serious about actually building a team. Like figure out a system that can work for our players that plays to their strengths, and then find dedicated time to drill the system in place. Our most recent oyibo coach is miles miles ahead of this guy.
If we are going to play disorganized soccer that looks like we have no coach, why have a coach.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

bret- hart wrote: Sun Nov 20, 2022 2:49 am
Dammy wrote: Sun Nov 20, 2022 12:03 am The truth is that we do not have quality coming through. The likes of Amoo (Copenhagen), Tijani (RB Salzburg) etc are still trying to establish themselves. Onyedika is not better than what we currently have and the short-term solution is to try and get the likes of Eze and Oliseh (Crystal Palace), Ugochukwu (Rennes), Adarabioyo (Fulham), Okoli (Atalanta), Madueke (PSV), Udokhai (Augsburg), Nnmecha (Wolfsburg) etc to commit to Nigeria. They will add quality and depth to the squad. We have seen the quality that Osayi-Samuel has brought into the team and we need to try and get some of these boys to switch over to us.
That's the reality.
Anything to talk down on Onyedika. How do you know he isnt better when he hardly gets callups? How do you know if Yusuf is good enough when he does not get any callups? Yet you want deadwoods like Etebo. I told you Portugal was going to beat us like a drum because of the trash midfield we put forth

PS begging the mercenaries you posted will not help us. There are better players who you refuse to invite because they dont play in so called "top5 leagues"
Like who nah?
They are always “better” until they get invited and fokkop the joint.
Keep on referring to your eligible players as “mercenaries” that need to be “begged”.
If you were so patriotic yourself you’d be back home in Nigeria using your badly-needed skills.
Your Country Needs You. :roll:

That's the reality.
I beg to differ on the highlighted, I saw some serious ballers from that Nduka Ugbade coached U17 team that won the previous subregional tournament who can in a few years transition into the senior team, same for the U20 team as well...there's some hope in our youth system only if we don't destroy that structure with our usual administrative maladies and corruption.

Damunk wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 10:33 am A population of 200m guarantees nothing.
Otherwise China, India, Pakistan and Indonesia have enough people to dominate the world in at least 5 major sports.
Raw talent means nothing if it isn’t developed.

Ordinary fans sef, we no fit fill stadium (see Jette’s thread on fan bases around the world).
We get ‘talent’ of making noise but to develop that talent further into buying ticket, we no fit. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: exactly my point, we are here eager to criticise players when we cannot open a simple camp thread and update it regularly

Enugu II wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 11:16 am
Enyi wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 6:24 am I wanted to wait a few days after the games to say that I think we all are missing the main issue here....

Enyi,

Emmmmmm can you explain Egypt beating Belgium in a friendly based on your hypothesis? Have Egyptian players been invited to the World Cup? Or did Egypt qualify?
Everyone's mentality is different....we played a friendly with Algeria and they players were diving and rolling around on the floor as if it was the WC final....

This game it is clear that the players didn't turn up...I have watched same team lose to lesser teams but at least they turned up...this game, the SE went there to chill and not being part of the WC is not a motivation.

That's the reality.

I will not talk down on Onyedika because I believe his time will come. AC Milan do not go out to spend €10 million on a player if he's not good. I just feel he has not justified his invitation to the SE and that's why he was not called up for the match against Portugal. I bet you that barring injury, Osayi-Samuel, will be called up for the SE's next match. He has justified his inclusion. I hope that Yusuf gets called up for our next match as I believe his invitation is due. Etebo should be culled from the SE. His time in the national team is over

packerland wrote: Sun Nov 20, 2022 12:27 am
Enyi wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 5:32 pm
Like who?

Ok Sir
Why not? Bellingham was playing in the championship not too long ago. Kante played in the French II div, had one year at Leicester before becoming a mega star. We the right structures in place you can churn out 2-4 superstars before the next WC.
from where?

If we invited a Div 2 player to SE...will some ppl here not complain? They will tell you that we do not have players playing for top teams....

We need to decide what exactly we want and stop blowing with the wind...

after 10-0 hammering of sao tome, same guys now criticising the team told us how we have arrived and we are about to conquer the world....Two games later, lets go back to the drawing board and start churning out players from Division 2 :sad: :sad: :sad:

That's the reality.

we need to churn then out from French DIV 2 and then complain that no one plays in the top leagues :???: :???:

amafolas wrote: Sun Nov 20, 2022 5:39 am this Passeiro guy better get serious about actually building a team. Like figure out a system that can work for our players that plays to their strengths, and then find dedicated time to drill the system in place. Our most recent oyibo coach is miles miles ahead of this guy.
If we are going to play disorganized soccer that looks like we have no coach, why have a coach.
Bro, I think we are reading too much into this game...

Most of this guys are on holiday and not interested in playing a money generating friendly...

Dammy wrote: Sun Nov 20, 2022 11:30 am
That's the reality.

I will not talk down on Onyedika because I believe his time will come. AC Milan do not go out to spend €10 million on a player if he's not good. I just feel he has not justified his invitation to the SE and that's why he was not called up for the match against Portugal. I bet you that barring injury, Osayi-Samuel, will be called up for the SE's next match. He has justified his inclusion. I hope that Yusuf gets called up for our next match as I believe his invitation is due. Etebo should be culled from the SE. His time in the national team is over
Dammy, you do not think that playing in the champions league in a team like brugges that dominated their group is worth a call-up?