NIGERIA FOOTBALL FANS ACTUALLY DESERVE WHAT THEY GET

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2022 10:24 am
by jette1
NIGERIAn fan base doesn’t even rank in the top 20 despite our population and claiming to be among the so called football powerhouse. You guys talk about our players displaying no motivation. How many of you even make the effort to purchase a ticket even if the game is played in your backyard. I naira is an example.
Nonetheless lets just put that aside for a second and talk reality; it is unreasonable to try to distinguish between the nation Nigeria and the Nigerian football. This is far more significant than a lot of you would care to even look at. I started thinking:- has there been any time in history where any nation is in tumult yet was able to proffer a good performing national football team independent of its national crisis situation. of course given that what is defined as national crisis would vary from country to country. Ivory coast was deep in a civil war in the early 80s, Libya was in crisis some 5 years ago, Liberia, Rwanda, Mozambique, central African republic, DRC, South Africa during its apartheid system, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Angola Ethiopia with Eritrea and one thing all these countries shared during their various crisis situations is that their poor football were reflective and inseparable from the crisis they were entrenched into. I remember when Venezuela was one of the feared South American national teams. Right off the top of my head even without any serious look it is clear to me that these countries in one way or another didn't boast reliable national Teams during their various crisis situations. Emotional transmission and collective unconscious are two very familiar facts in human behavior and that essentially means that there are no ways you could possibly buffer a National team, never mind that most of its operations and the players are mostly physically separated from the instabilities back in Nigeria. We really think very highly of ourselves given that most of us have individually operated under same set of circumstances this durations of our stays abroad first as students and now living abroad and somewhat pseudo shielded selves from that various crisis we would have been directly confronting head on were we living in Nigeria. It is essentially these same mind sets and phenomenon that we project on the National team. We essentially insensitively forget that these players are human beings with mirow neurons just like us. They are very much in tune with every killings, every kidnapping and all the violence going in Nigeria not to talk of the fact that they follow home news and know that their coach isn't paid, their bonus are not paid etc these are all the antecedents they try so hard not to carry to the pitch of play but common men!!!!! we have been ignoring science for too long. The river Niger and Benue ought to be dredged every year and we ignor that and think nothing would happen.
https://syndication.bleacherreport.com/ ... s.amp.html

Re: NIGERIA FOOTBALL FANS ACTUALLY DESERVE WHAT THEY GET

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2022 11:54 pm
by jette1
these are not intangible elements in football and would never be. And I kind of brought these up about super falcons Nigerian Americans who under perform compared to their African American counterparts playing for the US national team. Why do you think these is ? in fact the Nigerian Americans are no less talented than their African Americans, they all went to school and played together. We come to these game with our baggage subconsciously weighing us down
We are not serious people at all. We don't use our brain. So don't blame indidi, Denis and mosses or murphy we have deeper issues than meet the eyes

Re: NIGERIA FOOTBALL FANS ACTUALLY DESERVE WHAT THEY GET

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2022 1:54 am
You too like tory.

Nigerians are more worried about security, food, power just staying above ground than soccer. Besides, u go buy the diesel for generators? What team do you want them to support when the league is dead? 60k people showed up in Abuja for the DNQ finale . That no be support? When SE play at home the fans show up. What else do u want?

Abeg leave stone chop rice.

The only thing we should be worried about on CE now it making sure we all attend onku's good riddance party for Faturkey. That alone is worth missing the wc. :laugh: