How super eagles slept on bare floor ahead of 1994 world cup

Eagles slept on bare floor after Italian hotel clash – Oliseh

Former Super Eagles captain Sunday Oliseh has revealed that ‘senior players’ of the national team refused to stay at a Five-Star Italian hotel reserved for them during preparations prior to the 1994 World Cup, The PUNCH exclusively reports.

The Eagles had just won the 1994 Africa Cup Of Nations title in Tunisia and were set for their debut appearance at the World Cup in the United States of America.

The senior players, according to Oliseh, rejected the hotel situated on the outskirts of Reggio Emilia, a city in Italy’s Emilia-Romagna region, because it was not good enough for them and insisted they deserved a better place.

Oliseh, who was one of the young players in the squad at the time, added that the entire team slept on bare floor at the Italian hotel following a standoff between the senior players and coach Clemens Westerhof over the issue.

“We arrived at the reserved hotel in Italy, coming off the team bus, extraordinarily. Before any one of us could lay our foot in the hotel, the group of ‘senior players’ refused that we enter the hotel,” Oliseh revealed in his memoir, which would be published this year.

“They claimed it was not good enough and we deserved a hotel in the centre of the city, not one situated in the peaceful outskirts of Reggio Emilia, perfect for a team’s concentration.

“A standoff ensured between the senior players and coach Westerhoff. I gazed in worrisome amazement hoping and believing that by nightfall, surely a compromise would be reached and we would have to go in our rooms and sleep.

“Come nightfall, we were still all seated in the garden of the hotel outside. Not even the intervention of the AC Reggiana management could make the senior players budge.”

The former Juventus midfielder added, “This was becoming a monumental negative publicity for Nigeria.

“We ended up sleeping outside, under the moonlight on the floor! The medical crew all stood by the team and slept outside with the group too. Westerhoff took a towel, laid it on the floor in the hotel lobby and slept inside.

“The next morning, Westerhoff invited Finidi George, Emmanuel Amuneke and myself to join him on a tour of the hotel. To our amazement, it was a Five-Star hotel, the best hotel in the industrially rich city of Reggio Emilia at the time.

“Why did the senior players not want us to sleep in it became an even bigger mystery?”

The Eagles later reached the round of 16 of the World Cup in the US, losing 2-1 to Italy. They had recorded wins over Bulgaria and Greece in the group stage but lost 2-1 to a Diego Maradona inspired Argentina.

https://punchng.com/eagles-slept-on-bar ... 1613441694
Re: How super eagles slept on bare floor ahead of 1994 world cup

Oliseh knows why they didn’t want to sleep there, and he hints at it without actually saying it (like a weasel). The players wanted to be where the action was in the city - girls, night life, parties.

Oliseh is a holier-than-thou type. Can’t stand his forced piety. He’s throwing his fellow players under the bus but wants to retain deniability.

If you want to say it, say it with your chest. If you don’t want to say it, be quiet

Oliseh again; anything to get attention

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

deanotito wrote: Mon Nov 21, 2022 6:05 am Oliseh knows why they didn’t want to sleep there, and he hints at it without actually saying it (like a weasel). The players wanted to be where the action was in the city - girls, night life, parties.

Oliseh is a holier-than-thou type. Can’t stand his forced piety. He’s throwing his fellow players under the bus but wants to retain deniability.

If you want to say it, say it with your chest. If you don’t want to say it, be quiet
Oliseh is unpredictably predictable
Kuku Ngbendu Wa Za Banga

This Oliseh guy na hypocrite to the highest order!
I witnessed, yes I witnessed the same Oliseh chewing out Christian Chukwu for lodging the team near Foxboro, MA instead of the city center of Boston, MA. Oliseh went on "when una lodge us for Tunis, we no carry the cup!"

Cmoke :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

iworo wrote: Mon Nov 21, 2022 4:50 am Eagles slept on bare floor after Italian hotel clash – Oliseh

Former Super Eagles captain Sunday Oliseh has revealed that ‘senior players’ of the national team refused to stay at a Five-Star Italian hotel reserved for them during preparations prior to the 1994 World Cup, The PUNCH exclusively reports.

The Eagles had just won the 1994 Africa Cup Of Nations title in Tunisia and were set for their debut appearance at the World Cup in the United States of America.

The senior players, according to Oliseh, rejected the hotel situated on the outskirts of Reggio Emilia, a city in Italy’s Emilia-Romagna region, because it was not good enough for them and insisted they deserved a better place.

Oliseh, who was one of the young players in the squad at the time, added that the entire team slept on bare floor at the Italian hotel following a standoff between the senior players and coach Clemens Westerhof over the issue.

“We arrived at the reserved hotel in Italy, coming off the team bus, extraordinarily. Before any one of us could lay our foot in the hotel, the group of ‘senior players’ refused that we enter the hotel,” Oliseh revealed in his memoir, which would be published this year.

“They claimed it was not good enough and we deserved a hotel in the centre of the city, not one situated in the peaceful outskirts of Reggio Emilia, perfect for a team’s concentration.

“A standoff ensured between the senior players and coach Westerhoff. I gazed in worrisome amazement hoping and believing that by nightfall, surely a compromise would be reached and we would have to go in our rooms and sleep.

“Come nightfall, we were still all seated in the garden of the hotel outside. Not even the intervention of the AC Reggiana management could make the senior players budge.”

The former Juventus midfielder added, “This was becoming a monumental negative publicity for Nigeria.

“We ended up sleeping outside, under the moonlight on the floor! The medical crew all stood by the team and slept outside with the group too. Westerhoff took a towel, laid it on the floor in the hotel lobby and slept inside.

“The next morning, Westerhoff invited Finidi George, Emmanuel Amuneke and myself to join him on a tour of the hotel. To our amazement, it was a Five-Star hotel, the best hotel in the industrially rich city of Reggio Emilia at the time.

“Why did the senior players not want us to sleep in it became an even bigger mystery?”

The Eagles later reached the round of 16 of the World Cup in the US, losing 2-1 to Italy. They had recorded wins over Bulgaria and Greece in the group stage but lost 2-1 to a Diego Maradona inspired Argentina.

Cmoke wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 2:13 am This Oliseh guy na hypocrite to the highest order!
I witnessed, yes I witnessed the same Oliseh chewing out Christian Chukwu for lodging the team near Foxboro, MA instead of the city center of Boston, MA. Oliseh went on "when una lodge us for Tunis, we no carry the cup!"

Cmoke :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

iworo wrote: Mon Nov 21, 2022 4:50 am Eagles slept on bare floor after Italian hotel clash – Oliseh

He’s really an annoying prick.
Baggy

Post by Baggy »

Don't mind this Oliseh guy.
He is a confused guy.
He knows how to speak or see other ppl's fault and never know how to remove the peg in his own eyes.
I like him as a player but not as mr I too know who has not and can not achieve anything in football management.
I now see through the eyes of JESUS CHRIST - An Indian woman HEALED by our LORD JESUS CHRIST @ Ben Hinn Healing Crusade .
What About You?

What we do, does not define who we are, what define's us is how well we rise after we have fallen.

The only consistency of the referees is there Inconsistencies - Wigan FC Manager.

deanotito wrote: Mon Nov 21, 2022 6:05 am Oliseh knows why they didn’t want to sleep there, and he hints at it without actually saying it (like a weasel). The players wanted to be where the action was in the city - girls, night life, parties.

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Thu Dec 08, 2022 10:05 pm

Was Oliseh not accused of sleeping with a fellow SE's wife thereby ending their marriage?