Meanwhile Flying Eagles resume camping...

Re: Meanwhile Flying Eagles resume camping...

Benjamin Fredrick: The Ball playing Nigerian defender
https://futbalgalore.com.ng/2022/12/28/ ... -defender/
By Ademetan Abayomi -December 28, 2022354 0

An extensive look at Flying Eagles defender Benjamin Fredrick, who is currently on loan at Nasarawa United.

Benjamin Fredrick has been in the news in recent times for his performances at the Flying Eagles camp, earning plaudits from one and all Nigerian enthusiasts.

Scout Report:

Benjamin Fredrick can be described as a proper modern ball playing centre back. His natural position is centre back but he can cover up the right back spot whenever needed. Despite his young age, he has already acquired some handy experience.

He comes as across as a very dedicated and passionate footballer. The lad remains the property of Moses Simon Academy and played for ABS last season.

His hard work has paid off and is now seen as one of the best young defenders in Nigeria.

The youngster uses his height to good use for aerial duels and headed clearances. He is very strong in the air, capable of playing from the back, an attribute which is gradually gaining real importance. Fredrick’s enthusiasm to help the team is visible by his tactical awareness.

Fredrick’s tremendous strength makes it very difficult to him push off the ball. He is extremely comfortable in possession and is an accomplished passer of the ball with possessing a rich variety of passes. His reading and understanding of the game is already top class and was visible from his performances for ABS and Flying Eagles.

To add to it, his brilliant anticipation and intercepting skills makes him capable of handling any striker. Benjamin Fredrick is well composed in any situations but at the same time does not shies away from sliding in a tackle. His tackling technique is clean and is rarely seen in clumsy positions. It is seen, many defenders commit panicking or headless clearance which ultimately leads to a goal. His presence of mind makes him very solid in clearing the ball.

One common drawback that is seen in most of the young players is concentration. This Nasarawa United defender isn’t much different. Another drawback of his game is his tendency to pass the ball back to the goalkeeper often, given the relentless pace at which football is played, teams can ruthlessly expose this drawback. At times Fredrick tends to commit early which gives the opposition player an extra split second to make a decision.

Conclusion

The best thing about Fredrick is that he hasn’t allowed his recent success to get into his head, a factor which has led to faltering of many promising young players in the past.

Flying Eagles have a great chance to win the U20 Africa Cup of Nations next year and Benjamin Fredrick can surely play a pivotal part in achieving it. Safe to say, he is on the right path to achieve this dream.
I hope he's as good as they're describing him :dream:
Well most young players coming from ABS FC are usually legit so fingers crossed

Gotti wrote: Fri Dec 30, 2022 4:50 am
txj wrote: Sat Dec 24, 2022 10:14 pmIts the sad reality of our country, where normally educated folks use their education in support of thievery...
You should know, given as you used your “education” in of thievery of AIDS funds with your crooked prof…. :taunt:

Which in turn explains the rinse and repeat Abia governorship syndrome 🤔
Folks using their education to promote thievery...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Our young 🇳🇬 national team player, Wisdom Ubani, spent half a season on loan in Jarun after the junior season and returned to Lokomotiva during these preparations.

He was invited to the U20 African Cup of Nations, which will be held from February 18. until 12.3.2023.

We wish Ubani and Nigeria the best of luck!

Flying Eagles axe captain Adegbite, Dominion Ohaka missing for U20 AFCON camp
https://scorenigeria.com.ng/flying-eagl ... fcon-camp/
Score Nigeria Editor by Score Nigeria Editor January 7, 2023 6:02 pm

Coach Ladan Bosso has dropped captain Tosin Adegbite, while impressive defender Dominion Ohaka is conspicuously missing from a 35-man squad to begin training in Abuja Monday ahead of the U20 AFCON in Egypt next month.

Enyimba central defender Adegbite was outstanding when Nigeria topped the qualifying tournament for the U20 AFCON in May in Niger Republic.

However, he has been battling injuries lately and this stopped him from a training camp also in Abuja last month.

Ohaka, on the hand, shone at last month’s camp and was a sure bet for the U20 AFCON only for the Water FC star to not be listed altogether.

He has already been capped at U23 level and also featured for the CHAN Eagles in a friendly versus World Cup finalists Costa Rica in November.

Survivors from the WAFU B qualifiers in May 2022 include goalkeepers Nathanial Nwosu, Chijoke Anigboso and Saheed Akanbi, Augustine Njoku,Daniel Daga, Aminu Mohammed, Ibrahim Yahaya and Haliru Sarki.

Otherwise, the new players who caught the eye in training camp December have been recalled to fight for places in a final 21-man squad for the tournament that will also serve as qualifier for the U20 FIFA World Cup in Indonesia in May.

Seven-time champions Nigeria are drawn in Group A alongside hosts Egypt, Senegal and Mozambique.

The tournament kicks off February 19 in Cairo.

The Full Squad:
Goalkeepers: Nathaniel Nwosu (Water FC); Chijioke Anigboso (Giant Brillars); Saheed Akanbi (Adoration FC); John Otunbulon (Mavloon FC)

Defenders: Benjamin Frederick (Nasarawa FC); Adedoyin Odole (36 Lions); Daniel Bamaiyi (YumYum FC); Femi Abubakar (Madiba FC); Nathaniel Tambe (Box2Box FC); Solomon Agbalaka (Broad City); Aminu Yusuf (Lobi Stars); Hassan Shaibu (Smart City); Augustine Njoku (Abia Warriors)

Midfielders: Daniel Daga (Dakkada FC); Ogbelu Onoche (Nasarawa United); Frederick Godwin (City FC); Jonathan Nicholas (Simoiben FC); Muhammad Aminu (Mailantarki FC); Shatima Umar; Abdulrahman Adam (Mahaniam FC); Caleb Ochedikwu (Mavloon FC); Ibrahim Yahaya (Mailatarki FC); Bilyaminu Musa (Mailafia FC); Musa Usman (Mailatarki (FC)

Forwards: Jude Sunday (Realsaphier FC); Ifesinachi Obiakwu (36 Lions); Adams Olalekan (Remo Stars); Emma Ochegbu (Plateau United); Haliru Sarki (Maikunkele FC); Christogonus Ibe (Chukwuebuka FC); Faruk Salami (Ikorodu City); Segun Otusanoya; Ayuba Francis (Nasarawa United); Promise Bernard (FAME FC); Shatima Abani (Plateau United)

Whats with all the new players?? Its only 1 month before the U20 Afcon :? :? :? :?

Wtf is Box2Box Fc? Someone tell me that wasn’t made up? Lol

Interesting squad selection here.

The most extensive use of academies I have ever seen in any of our youth teams.

From a rough count, 20 academies.

Depending on one's POV, this is either a welcome development for Nigerian football, or troubling.

Ultimately though, you have to hope that these are all genuine talents and that it is their technical skills that determined their selection...

I have been a long advocate for some sort of regulation of these academies. Primarily to ensure standards and to support their development...

But in Nigeria, that would probably mean using them as a cash cow...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
oyek

Post by oyek »

Ademola Ola-Adebomi of Crystal Palace to join FE
https://www.owngoalnigeria.com/2023/01/ ... u20-afcon/
If not for Jesus, where will i be?

oyek wrote: Wed Jan 18, 2023 2:02 pm Ademola Ola-Adebomi of Crystal Palace to join FE
His hold up play is superb, good height and he drops in deep to transition play very well...I'm a fan already, NFF got it right on this one.

oyek wrote: Wed Jan 18, 2023 2:02 pm Ademola Ola-Adebomi of Crystal Palace to join FE
Another basketballer CF?
6’5”.

Damunk wrote: Wed Jan 18, 2023 3:07 pm
Another basketballer CF?
6’5”.
Imagine Osimhen, Sadiq, Onuachu and potentially this kid running at you :taunt:

Damunk wrote: Wed Jan 18, 2023 3:07 pm
Another basketballer CF?
6’5”.

I don’t think he fits FE style of play. Good luck sha.

He has good footwork but we will have his work cut out with those overaged defenders from Senegal, Egypt and Mozambique

If both are available they're our most likely pairing in the CD

Istanbulspor defender Michael Ologo to arrive Flying Eagles camp on Monday
https://futbalgalore.com.ng/2023/01/20/ ... on-monday/

By Ademetan Abayomi - January 20, 2023128 0
AS Istanbulspor defender Michael Ologo has been confirmed to arrive Nigeria on Monday 23rd January, Futbalgalore.com.ng.

Ologo is one of the foreign professionals who Nigeria boss Ladan Bosso has invited for the TotalEnergies U-20 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

The development was confirmed by his agent, Dr Ojore Oka to Futbalgalore.com.ng on Thursday.

“Michael Ologo will arrive in Nigeria on Monday 23rd January. My agency has booked his flight to Nigeria,” Dr Ojore Oka mused to Futbalgalore.com.ng.

The defender will feature in a Turkish Super Lig game against Trabzonspor on 22nd January and Ojore thanked the management of Istanbulspor for allowing the lad play for his country.

“I want to appreciate the management of Istanbulspor for their understanding and cooperation in allowing the lad link up with the Nigeria U-20 team.

The final tournament of the TotalEnergies U-20 Africa Cup of Nations will take place from 19 February to 11 March 2023 in Egypt in the cities of Cairo, Alexandria and Ismailia.

12 teams will feature in the finals including hosts Egypt, Mozambique, Senegal, Nigeria, Uganda, CAR, South Sudan, Congo, Gambia, Tunisia, Benin and Zambia.
AFCON 2023: Trelleborg defender Abel Ogwuche arrives Nigeria
https://futbalgalore.com.ng/2023/01/20/ ... s-nigeria/
By Ademetan Abayomi - January 20, 2023248 0
Central defender Abel Ogwuche has touched down in the shores of Nigeria from Sweden, Futbalgalore.com.ng reports.

The Trelleborg FF central defender arrived the Airport on Wednesday night.

He is expected to show up to the Flying Eagles camp in Abuja on Friday, Futbalgalore.com.ng has been reliably informed.

Last season, Tripple 44 product Abel Ogwuche made eight appearances for Trelleborg in the Swedish Superettan.

His performances caught the eyes of Flying Eagles boss Ladan Bosso.

The 19-year-old played for Lobi Stars in the past. He is expected to add steel to the Flying Eagles defence line at the 2023 TotalEnergies U20 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Egypt.

Ohaka, Daga, Frederick survive the Tsunami as Nigeria coach Bosso continues to mould solid team
https://futbalgalore.com.ng/2023/01/17/ ... olid-team/
By Ademetan Abayomi - January 17, 20231510 0

Flying Eagles boss Ladan Bosso continued his elimination by substitution method as he aims to ensure that Nigeria wins the 2023 TotalEnergies U20 Africa Cup of Nations.

Futbalgalore.com.ng reports that some players were dropped and others retained on Tuesday.

Nathaniel Nwosu, Chijioke Aniagboso and Jimoh Saheed are the three goalkeepers remaining in camp. Trainer Olatunji Baruwa appears to be impressed with their performances.

Norwich City shot stopper David Aziaya was dropped from the team as he didn’t meet up with the standards.

Some of the defenders who survived the Tsunami are Dominion Ohaka, Daniel Bamaiyi, Benjamin Franklin, Augustine Njoku and Solomon Agbalaka.

The midfielders are Daniel Daga, Aminu Mohammed, Hamzat Basit, Onuche Ogbelu, Samson Lawal and Nicholas Jonathan.

Former Golden Eaglets forward Wisdom Ubani was dropped from the team after failing to impress the technical crew.

Jude Sunday, Ibrahim Yahaya, Segun Otusanya, Francis Ayuba, Adams Olamilekan, Ibrahim Mohammed and Norwich City’s Kenny Coker made the grade in the forward line.

Meanwhile the likes of Michael Ologo and Abel Ogwuche are expected to link up with the team before the week runs out.

The Flying Eagles will face Galadima FC in a friendly at FIFA Goal Project on Wednesday morning. Kick-off is 7am.

Sunset wrote: Fri Jan 20, 2023 4:32 pm
Central defender Abel Ogwuche has touched down in the shores of Nigeria from Sweden, Futbalgalore.com.ng reports.

He is expected to show up to the Flying Eagles camp in Abuja on Friday, Futbalgalore.com.ng has been reliably informed.

Last season, Tripple 44 product Abel Ogwuche made eight appearances for Trelleborg in the Swedish Superettan.

The 19-year-old played for Lobi Stars in the past. He is expected to add steel to the Flying Eagles defence line at the 2023 TotalEnergies U20 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Egypt.
How did Bosso watch the lad play?

And how old was he when he played for Lobi Stars?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

bret- hart wrote: Thu Jan 19, 2023 4:48 am He has good footwork but we will have his work cut out with those overaged defenders from Senegal, Egypt and Mozambique
Una too much: lol: Ya'll like to call players from other countries overaged but the moment someone says that one of our players does not look his age you people will attack that person with full force.

By the way, is there an age limit with your agency?

Lolly wrote: Sat Jan 21, 2023 5:11 pm

17 in the 20/21 season. He started one match for them

https://www.transfermarkt.us/abel-ogwuc ... ewerb/NPFL

Sunset wrote: Sat Jan 21, 2023 6:13 pm
Lolly wrote: Sat Jan 21, 2023 5:11 pm

17 in the 20/21 season. He started one match for them

https://www.transfermarkt.us/abel-ogwuc ... ewerb/NPFL
Thanks.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

packerland wrote: Sat Jan 21, 2023 5:54 pm
bret- hart wrote: Thu Jan 19, 2023 4:48 am He has good footwork but we will have his work cut out with those overaged defenders from Senegal, Egypt and Mozambique
Una too much: lol: Ya'll like to call players from other countries overaged but the moment someone says that one of our players does not look his age you people will attack that person with full force.

By the way, is there an age limit with your agency?
1) You have all the smoke for all our underaged players but no smoke for these bum countries with these overaged players. No smoke for Rooney who is a 55 year old claiming to be 37.

2) A player must be U23 to get into my agency.

oyek

Post by oyek »

I asked this question on a different thread:

what kind of a player is released by a European club in the middle of the season in a non-FIFA window?

oyek

Post by oyek »

txj wrote: Mon Jan 23, 2023 5:11 pm I asked this question on a different thread:

what kind of a player is released by a European club in the middle of the season in a non-FIFA window?
Academy players and players whose leagues are on break (e.g., Scandinavian leagues).