NOW that Herve Renard has Crashed out???????

Re: NOW that Herve Renard has Crashed out???????

Damunk wrote: Sat Dec 03, 2022 8:20 am
waka-man wrote: Thu Dec 01, 2022 2:52 pm
Damunk wrote: Thu Dec 01, 2022 7:14 am
highbury wrote: Thu Dec 01, 2022 5:35 am Post Colonial mindset neva finish for una side? Let's get a local coach. If Havre Renard is to come, he can only be support staff to the Nigerian coach
Guy, name three coaches.
We’ve been asking you lot for credible local options for years.
Na so-so mouth and a heavy dose of virtue signaling, but nuttin from una. :rotf:

Name them and what they’ve done.
It can’t be that hard.
You may not like the names but there are several. Certainly many who have more a case than Pasiero to be our manager.

I’ll start again:

Amunike
Amokochi
Finidi
Olofinjana
Ikeme
Oliseh
Fidelis Ilechukwu
Felix Nwosu (v young, but certainly going places)
Ladan Bosso
Abdu Maikaba
Usman Ab'dallah
Ibrahim Musa
Kennedy Boboye
Imama Amapakabo
Ghenga Ogunbote

Are any of them world class? No. Not yet. Some will get there.
But they are better and more relevant than Paseiro.
And they’re Nigerian. Yes, that counts for something.
There is no name I ‘like’ or ‘dislike’.
It is strictly determined by what they have done, are doing or their potential.
Forget all that WOWO nonsense.
It is prejudicing the discussion.
We just need to make the right, informed choice.
What have these people done that makes them credible prospects?

Please, it needs to be more than just the colour of their passport.
Sentiment shouldn’t come into it, because this same Peseiro we are calling a mediocre coach with a mediocre CV would be the undisputed no1 choice today if he was a Nigerian.
No living Nigerian can match his CV.

So let’s leave sentiment aside and just look at CVs rather than just their passports.
Oh I think passports matter.
It means you understand the culture.
You can move in the environment, unearth gems.
You know where people are coming from.
And you want, with every bone in your body, to win and have deep, emotional pride about doing so.

Can a foreigner do all those things? Maybe. But there’s a connection between Africa having its best ever WC and the coaches being local.

waka-man wrote: Sat Dec 03, 2022 9:35 am
highbury wrote: Thu Dec 01, 2022 5:35 am Post Colonial mindset neva finish for una side? Let's get a local coach. If Havre Renard is to come, he can only be support staff to the Nigerian coach
Guy, name three coaches.
Na so-so mouth and a heavy dose of virtue signaling, but nuttin from una. :rotf:

It can’t be that hard.
You may not like the names but there are several. Certainly many who have more a case than Pasiero to be our manager.

I’ll start again:

Amunike
Amokochi
Finidi
Olofinjana
Ikeme
Oliseh
Fidelis Ilechukwu
Ladan Bosso
Abdu Maikaba
Usman Ab'dallah
Ibrahim Musa
Kennedy Boboye
Imama Amapakabo
Ghenga Ogunbote

Sentiment shouldn’t come into it, because this same Peseiro we are calling a mediocre coach with a mediocre CV would be the undisputed no1 choice today if he was a Nigerian.

So let’s leave sentiment aside and just look at CVs rather than just their passports.
And you want, with every bone in your body, to win and have deep, emotional pride about doing so.

Can a foreigner do all those things? Maybe. But there’s a connection between Africa having its best ever WC and the coaches being local.
No there is no connection.

You can look at Africa's best results, quarter finals

Cameroon 1990
Senegal 2002
Ghana 2010

All foreign coaches. By your logic I can claim the opposite.

Also out of Ghanas 4 Worldcups the 2 times they had a foreign coach, they progressed, the 2 times they had a local coach, THEY CRASHED OUT.

So again the opposite of what you are saying can be argued.

In the end it's not about foreign or local, it's about being GOOD, and the right fit for the team.

Why people continue to think it makes such aassive difference simply by going local or foreign continues to baffle me. It's not that simple.

vancity eagle wrote: Sat Dec 03, 2022 2:19 pm
waka-man wrote: Sat Dec 03, 2022 9:35 am
Guy, name three coaches.

It can’t be that hard.

I’ll start again:

Amunike
Amokochi
Finidi
Olofinjana
Ikeme
Oliseh
Fidelis Ilechukwu
Ladan Bosso
Abdu Maikaba
Usman Ab'dallah
Ibrahim Musa
Kennedy Boboye
Imama Amapakabo
Ghenga Ogunbote

No there is no connection.

You can look at Africa's best results, quarter finals

Cameroon 1990
Senegal 2002
Ghana 2010

All foreign coaches. By your logic I can claim the opposite.

Also out of Ghanas 4 Worldcups the 2 times they had a foreign coach, they progressed, the 2 times they had a local coach, THEY CRASHED OUT.

So again the opposite of what you are saying can be argued.

In the end it's not about foreign or local, it's about being GOOD, and the right fit for the team.

Why people continue to think it makes such aassive difference simply by going local or foreign continues to baffle me. It's not that simple.
Na ancient history be dat O! I’m looking at where the game is today, not 32, 20 and 12 years ago.

All those foreigners who took us far played a role. We thank them. But since then, our own people have had exposure to the global game, and they have access to the curriculum, strategies and resources of Oyibo.

And I dare say in the 80s, 90s and 00s, we still mananged to attract decent managers.

Of course the idea is to have the best coach. But the fact is the best foreigners don’t come to Africa, and certainly not to Nigeria. If you could secure a decent western manager, like Martinez or Maldini (not great, but decent), I’ll take ‘em. But you can’t. We get failures like Paseiro and Rohr who wouldn’t get a job in their homeland, and we think we’ve got a coach.

So let’s stop that madness and entrust our own people as our contemporaries are now doing with better results.