SCENARIO: SE in a PK shootout, Who would be your first 5 takers

With all the Penalty drama that has been going on, a Penalty shootout is a scenario we haven't been in quite a while but if the current SE team were to be in one, who'd be in your top 5 takers?

Mine would be:
1. Ademola Lookman - He has quite the experience of taking high stake penalties and has seen the ugly side with Fulham but he didn't let that get to him and in his first season with Atalanta has become their designated penalty specialist with some brilliant finishes.

2. Victor Osimhen - He's our first choice #9 and he has scored a couple penalties for the National team so is a no-brainer

3. Moses Simon - One of the designated Penalty takers at his club as well as with set-pieces, and has been for most of the clubs he played for throughout his career.

4. Troost Ekong - Seems to be our designated PK taker when Dennis isn't around :wink: and his record isn't too bad for a CB.

5. Etebo - One of the better players in our squad in dead-ball situations, his U23 days were a while ago but he was the one taking penalties for them and was really clutch, playing in a deeper-role for the SE we've only been able to seen glimpses of it but like with the free-kick against Sao Taome it doesn't seem like he's lost it

Guys pls drop your top 5, I want to see something :thumb:
Re: SCENARIO: SE in a PK shootout, Who would be your first 5 takers

Lookman
Ekong
Osimhen
Iwobi
Simon
ikemba

Post by ikemba »

1. Nacho
2.Ekong
3. Ohsimen
4. Lookman
5. Simon

ikemba wrote: Fri Dec 02, 2022 9:00 pm 1. Nacho
2.Ekong
3. Ohsimen
4. Lookman
5. Simon
How could I forget about Kelechi :oops: He's definitely top 5 if available

If we are a serious football nation we shouldn't be talking about Ekong, Simon, Nacho etc in 2023, we've got to stop glorifying deadweights.
ikemba

Post by ikemba »

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Dec 02, 2022 9:19 pm If we are a serious football nation we shouldn't be talking about Ekong, Simon, Nacho etc in 2023, we've got to stop glorifying deadweights.
You are really talking off point here.
If you want to contribute, let us know your top 5 penalty takers from your special list.

I would go with the five you mentioned. I might go with Iwobi, Aina, or Aribo instead if Etebo is on the bench.

Sunset wrote: Fri Dec 02, 2022 8:29 pm With all the Penalty drama that has been going on, a Penalty shootout is a scenario we haven't been in quite a while but if the current SE team were to be in one, who'd be in your top 5 takers?

Mine would be:
1. Ademola Lookman - He has quite the experience of taking high stake penalties and has seen the ugly side with Fulham but he didn't let that get to him and in his first season with Atalanta has become their designated penalty specialist with some brilliant finishes.

2. Victor Osimhen - He's our first choice #9 and he has scored a couple penalties for the National team so is a no-brainer

3. Moses Simon - One of the designated Penalty takers at his club as well as with set-pieces, and has been for most of the clubs he played for throughout his career.

4. Troost Ekong - Seems to be our designated PK taker when Dennis isn't around :wink: and his record isn't too bad for a CB.

5. Etebo - One of the better players in our squad in dead-ball situations, his U23 days were a while ago but he was the one taking penalties for them and was really clutch, playing in a deeper-role for the SE we've only been able to seen glimpses of it but like with the free-kick against Sao Taome it doesn't seem like he's lost it

Sunset wrote: Fri Dec 02, 2022 8:29 pm With all the Penalty drama that has been going on, a Penalty shootout is a scenario we haven't been in quite a while but if the current SE team were to be in one, who'd be in your top 5 takers?

Mine would be:

I’d go with Nacho instead of Etebo, rest have history converting under pressure for club or country.

:taunt:
maceo4 wrote: Sat Dec 03, 2022 2:57 am

Mine would be:

I’d go with Nacho instead of Etebo, rest have history converting under pressure for club or country.
Osimhen missed one during the rest champions league, Nacho missed one a few years back but who doesn’t miss. Lookman’s pk are uncatchable.

ikemba wrote: Fri Dec 02, 2022 9:29 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Fri Dec 02, 2022 9:19 pm If we are a serious football nation we shouldn't be talking about Ekong, Simon, Nacho etc in 2023, we've got to stop glorifying deadweights.
You are really talking off point here.
If you want to contribute, let us know your top 5 penalty takers from your special list.
My friend, there is no cure for the kind of ailment that afflicts T17. Mention Iheanacho and he’s bound to start talking out of his nether regions🤔🙂❗️

That SA keeper :shock:
Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

Mine would be:

There is not much to quarrel with this list. My only concern is that some of these guys have plenty of tape for a really good goalkeeper/coach to study and see tendencies. I wonder if that's what happened today with the RSA coach saving 4 penalties.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."

1. Ekong (He seems to be our best PK taker so he must go first to set the tone)
2. Iwobi (He is very technical and takes good PKs)
3. Aina (Smart, cool headed player. Just who you need in this kind of tense situation)
4. Osimhen(nothing more to add)
5. Nacho (if he is on the field) otherwise Lookman

icee

Post by icee »

Scipio Africanus wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 12:11 am 1. Ekong (He seems to be our best PK taker so he must go first to set the tone)
2. Iwobi (He is very technical and takes good PKs)
3. Aina (Smart, cool headed player. Just who you need in this kind of tense situation)
4. Osimhen(nothing more to add)
5. Nacho (if he is on the field) otherwise Lookman

I like your list except that I will let Aina go last.