SE Midfield is now top priority!

Re: SE Midfield is now top priority!

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Dec 04, 2022 6:42 pm We have a good core of players. Any players from the age grade squads need to be better than what we have.

This is the core I would keep

Osimehn, Moffi, Sadiq,
Chukwueze, Lookman, Ejuke
Iwobi, Aribo, Yusuf, Nwakali, Ejaria, Onyedika,
Osayi Samuel, Aina, Akpoguma, Bassey, Zaidu
Uzoho, Okoye

That is a very strong core of players, then add talented youth and any other foreign born. It's a good set.
Add Lesley Ugochukwu. He’s a too talent and probably the easiest for us to get.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Dec 04, 2022 10:49 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Sun Dec 04, 2022 6:42 pm We have a good core of players. Any players from the age grade squads need to be better than what we have.

This is the core I would keep

Osimehn, Moffi, Sadiq,
Chukwueze, Lookman, Ejuke
Iwobi, Aribo, Yusuf, Nwakali, Ejaria, Onyedika,
Osayi Samuel, Aina, Akpoguma, Bassey, Zaidu
Uzoho, Okoye

That is a very strong core of players, then add talented youth and any other foreign born. It's a good set.
Add Lesley Ugochukwu. He’s a too talent and probably the easiest for us to get.
Our best midfield shots

Lesley Ugochukwu
Ejaria
Olise

Ebere Eze will do shakara for us but with the way this England team is looking especially with Bellingham, Foden, Maddison and Grealish (all creative type of MFs), I doubt Eze will make that team.

GK and CD are bigger priorities than midfield. Even if FIFA gives Nigeria special dispensation to pick Kante and Modric in midfield, the team will still have big problems when the first choice GK is a reserve for a team in Cyprus and the 2nd choice GK is a reserve for a team in England's 2nd division. Meanwhile, the captain plays for a team in England's 2nd division.

The current Nigeria team actually resembles a 1990s Nigeria team: lots of good attackers, lots of defenders and GKs with splints in their backsides from sitting on the bench, and decent midfielders.

The biggest hole in midfield is the lack of a playmaker. Iwobi is the only one who can play a through the eye of a needle 🪡 pass.
Last edited by wiseone on Sat Dec 17, 2022 1:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wiseone wrote: Sun Dec 04, 2022 11:46 pm GK and CD are bigger priorities than midfield. Even if FIFA gives Nigeria special dispensation to pick Kante and Modric in midfield, the team will still have big problems when the first choice GK is a reserve for a team in Cyprus and the 2nd choice GK is a reserve for a team in England's 2nd division. Meanwhile, the captain is also a reserve for a team in England's 2nd division.

The current Nigeria team actually resembles a 1990s Nigeria team: lots of good attackers, lots of defenders and GKs with splints in their backsides from sitting on the bench, and decent midfielders.

The biggest hole in midfield is the lack of a playmaker. Iwobi is the only one who can play a through the eye of a needle 🪡 pass.
Wiseone, you need to update yourself. The SE captain, Troost Ekong, is currently captain of Watford as well and has been a regular starter under coach Bilic

Dammy wrote: Sun Dec 04, 2022 10:56 am
bret- hart wrote: Sun Dec 04, 2022 4:13 am
vancity eagle wrote: Sat Dec 03, 2022 12:59 am I've been saying this for how many years.

It's always the same squad with 3 or 4 midfielders.

Then Mr. 442 came in and it's just been getting worse.

I agree they don't need to be in the EPL.

Midfielders who

1. Have energy
2. Have technical skills and can dribble
3. Can pass and have vision

To start immediately the following must be given a chance

Yusuf Alhassan
Onyedika
Ovie Ejaria (been calling thos one for 3 plus years)
Kelechi Nwakali
Innocent Bonke (I do like his energy and high intensity, which is sorely lacking since the decline of Etebo and Ndidi)
You and your obsession with Bonke. Bonke is trash. Dude cant even last 45 minutes without getting injured. Is that the kind of player you want in a squad that wants to make a deep run in an Afcon or WC? We need guys with different skillsets in that Midfield not the same kind of players just because they play in a "Top 5" League

Ndidi, Nwakali, Onyedika, Yusuf, Onyeka, Iwobi should be in every SEs callup hence forth. Then we start looking at the likes of Samson Tidjani(Should be healed of his injuries soon), Ugochukwu and Eze if they want to play for Nigeria. Other players the SEs handlers should be looking at are Abiodun Ogunniyi( Nigeriau23), Azzez Usenni( Dude is more of a #10) and Daniel Daga (U20) Its time to start integrating these guys ahead of 2026. Also the u17s like Okere and Mbata should be monitored. They are still young but by 2026 they will be 20-21 so they need to be watched. A good coach can rebuild our midfield and dominated with the right personnel. Just get rid of the deadwoods like Etebo, Bonke and Simon
BH, very solid points. We also need the national team coach to have oversight of the U20 and U23 teams. These are the feeder teams for the SE and a plan should be in place to ensure that they qualify for the U20 WC in 2023 and 2025 and the 2024 Olympics.

True. Pinnick neglect of grassroots football really hurt us.

Dammy wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 12:09 am
wiseone wrote: Sun Dec 04, 2022 11:46 pm GK and CD are bigger priorities than midfield. Even if FIFA gives Nigeria special dispensation to pick Kante and Modric in midfield, the team will still have big problems when the first choice GK is a reserve for a team in Cyprus and the 2nd choice GK is a reserve for a team in England's 2nd division. Meanwhile, the captain is also a reserve for a team in England's 2nd division.

Wiseone, you need to update yourself. The SE captain, Troost Ekong, is currently captain of Watford as well and has been a regular starter under coach Bilic

The fact that he is starter at Watford should never make him a shoo in for Nigeria. Nigeria is far bigger than Watford and deserves better. Remember, for the NT, it is not about evaluating clubs but evaluating individual players.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

You all scream midfield midfield then go on to list average players playing in back water leagues and at bottom of the barrel clubs

1naija wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 4:28 pm You all scream midfield midfield then go on to list average players playing in back water leagues and at bottom of the barrel clubs
Onku, pls list the world class MF playing in top leagues.

That's the point. As poor and average as they have been, all our best players are already in the team. I said this when the Portugal friendly list came out and people were jubilating how Musa, Shehu, and few other average players were ommited from the team. Replacing one average player with another cannot make us better. If the SE need better midfielders than the ones we currently have, the ones listed above won't fix the problem. It will be like the Portugal friendly list.... just a different set of average players.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 4:45 pm
1naija wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 4:28 pm You all scream midfield midfield then go on to list average players playing in back water leagues and at bottom of the barrel clubs
Onku, pls list the world class MF playing in top leagues.

Enugu II wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 4:03 pm

The fact that he is starter at Watford should never make him a shoo in for Nigeria. Nigeria is far bigger than Watford and deserves better. Remember, for the NT, it is not about evaluating clubs but evaluating individual players.
Did I say Troost must be a starter for Nigeria? Please read again, I only corrected his comments that Troost was sitting on the bench at Watford.

Wait o! What do you mean Nigeria "deserves better than Watford"? Is this an admission the club level of our players is a significant factor in evaluating call ups. It took you a long time to arrive at this point o!

The YeyeMan wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 10:56 pm

Wait o! What do you mean Nigeria "deserves better than Watford"? Is this an admission the club level of our players is a significant factor in evaluating call ups. It took you a long time to arrive at this point o!
You definitely caught him out there!😁 This is how E11 keeps contradicting himself. On one hand, he says our players don't have to play in the top leagues, now he's saying Nigeria is too good for Watford. Talk of speaking from both sides of the mouth!
Let's see how he will wriggle his way out of this.

Yeyeman

Surprised that you see that as a contradiction -Nigeria does deserve better than Watford or any club. The point is clear -- focus on a player's output and not whether he plays for a club A or club B. Remember, this is about the strength of a player and not this or that club. I will make the point again-- Nigerian players can not be judged based on which club they play and this is mostly because of economic reasons that drive them to the best offer. Hopefully, it is clear on why I note and will always note that Nigeria deserves better than Watford or any club dictates. Fous on the player.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 12:07 pm

Yeyeman

Surprised that you see that as a contradiction -Nigeria does deserve better than Watford or any club. The point is clear -- focus on a player's output and not whether he plays for a club A or club B. Remember, this is about the strength of a player and not this or that club. I will make the point again-- Nigerian players can not be judged based on which club they play and this is mostly because of economic reasons that drive them to the best offer. Hopefully, it is clear on why I note and will always note that Nigeria deserves better than Watford or any club dictates. Fous on the player.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Classic E11!

...doesn't matter where one plays, as long as he plays week in week out, be atoned to the processes of football tactics on him and opposing players. What he learns from playing regularly, against varius types of players, is tranfered to the national team when called up.

Dammy wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 12:29 pm

Yeyeman

Indeed. It is classic because one has to fully understand the issue beyond simplistic terms.

Enugu II wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 2:00 pm
Dammy wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 12:29 pm

Yeyeman

Indeed. It is classic because one has to fully understand the issue beyond simplistic terms.
Yes o! Classic E11, turns a simple discussion on football to rocket science and brain surgery! :lol: :lol:
lacidi

Post by lacidi »

We keep calling our players average. Please tell me the world class midfielders in the Morocco team.
Its nice when someone shoots ur murderer in the back, without asking to be paid.

lacidi wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 8:10 pm We keep calling our players average. Please tell me the world class midfielders in the Morocco team.
Morocco has better players than us, it's a fact. Amrabat has been huge.They have a world class goalie most importantly while we have 2 baskets.

On the other hand we do have a decent set of players. Our problem is not our quality of players.

mcal wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 12:58 pm ...doesn't matter where one plays, as long as he plays week in week out, be atoned to the processes of football tactics on him and opposing players. What he learns from playing regularly, against varius types of players, is tranfered to the national team when called up.
Bros, you know we have players that play week in and week out in Mumbai, India. Should we call them up too?

packerland wrote: Wed Dec 07, 2022 1:31 am
mcal wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 12:58 pm ...doesn't matter where one plays, as long as he plays week in week out, be atoned to the processes of football tactics on him and opposing players. What he learns from playing regularly, against varius types of players, is tranfered to the national team when called up.
Bros, you know we have players that play week in and week out in Mumbai, India. Should we call them up too?
...you will be surprised how gritty they will be on the field, after all CAR players that beat you where do they play?

Eaglezbeak wrote: Sat Dec 03, 2022 4:31 am Here we go again, names upon names, your NFF has no academy, the national team has no specific football stadium and plays in athletics stadia, staff is unpaid clubs in the country are inherited by state governors the NFF relies on a failed government and you want to beg boys that play and learnt their trade in stable environments to play for Nigeria.
I’m not saying you shouldn’t try to reach out to these boys but for ample years nothing has been done to improve football in Nigeria it’s self.
:clap: :clap: :clap: That’s where u start from the basics and any player with Nigerian root will be proud to play for Nigeria….

Funny thing? It won’t cost a lot, just need ppl to take their filthy fingers out of the cookie jar

vancity eagle wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 8:39 pm
lacidi wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 8:10 pm We keep calling our players average. Please tell me the world class midfielders in the Morocco team.
Morocco has better players than us, it's a fact. Amrabat has been huge.They have a world class goalie most importantly while we have 2 baskets.

On the other hand we do have a decent set of players. Our problem is not our quality of players.
The same guy that played for Watford and currently at AEK Athens is better that than SE players?….please pull the other leg

He is having a good tournament - now that makes sense.