2023 Nigerian Professional Football League - Finidi George's Enyimba are the winners!!!

Re: 2023 Nigerian Professional Football League

Kwara UTD vs 3SC live

Sunset wrote: Sun Apr 02, 2023 4:28 pm Kwara UTD vs 3SC live
...such a distraction. One minute into match ref have to stop to fix net :lol: :lol:
Where were the grounds people the days and weeks before the match, or officials' pre-match inspection?
Nigeria sef, small stuff like this we can't fix, but we want to be giants and winners.
Logistics logistics and logistics.

3 games being streamed live right now

Three games being streamed in this MD

The Super 6 Playoffs have kicked off!!

Re: 2023 Nigerian Professional Football League - Super 6 Playoffs!!!

Sunshine Stars vs Rivers United

Akwa United Vs Lobi Stars: Wisdom Ndon gets 3rd Naija Super 8 start
https://sportsration.com/akwa-united-vs ... r-8-start/

Coach Fatai Osho has handed Akwa United youngster Wisdom Ndon a third straight start in the Naija Super 8 tournament for the game against Lobi Stars FC.

Ndon earned praises for his brilliant outing vs Rivers United FC, on Monday July 10, the central defender silenced the opposition attackers and also provided assist for Uchenna Collins to score the winner.

That result, complemented by their 2-1 win over Yobe Desert Stars on matchday one, sealed a semi-final place for Akwa United FC from group B with today’s game vs Lobi Stars FC to spare.
With a spot in the next round confirmed, Coach Fatai Osho has decided to ring changes to his starting XI vs Lobi Stars FC but there is still a spot for the teenage defender Wisdom Ndon.

Benson Abbey, Cyril Olisema, David Philip and striker Uche Collins are the other Akwa United FC players who have kept their place from the 1-0 win over Rivers United FC.

Lobi Stars FC will reach the last-4 with a win against Akwa United FC but a point could see them through depending on the result from the Yobe Desert Stars FC vs Rivers United FC match later in the evening.

The Akwa United FC vs Lobi Stars FC match will kick-off by 2pm on Wednesday July 12, at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena, Onikan, Lagos State.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Sunset wrote: Thu Jun 15, 2023 2:32 pm

This leads one to wonder why the performance trend isn’t reflected in the composition of our home based National teams. The best performers don’t appear to be making it to the national teams. This trend has to be connected to the poor performances of our home based teams🤔❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Wed Jul 12, 2023 5:34 pm

This leads one to wonder why the performance trend isn’t reflected in the composition of our home based National teams. The best performers don’t appear to be making it to the national teams. This trend has to be connected to the poor performances of our home based teams🤔❗️

TTTK,

This your claim is questionable. The most recent national call up was for the full national team that played recently. Think about this, how many of the players were locally-based? Of the few called up, two are on this latest list! A third, the GK, was a recent NT call up list. Note also that form fluctuates, it isn't static but the above ALONE shows some correlation which is the least one should expect.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Thu Jul 13, 2023 5:24 pm

TTTK,

This your claim is questionable. The most recent national call up was for the full national team that played recently. Think about this, how many of the players were locally-based? Of the few called up, two are on this latest list! A third, the GK, was a recent NT call up list. Note also that form fluctuates, it isn't static but the above ALONE shows some correlation which is the least one should expect.
EII, I am talking specifically about the composition of recent home-based teams. Players appear to be selected on the basis of reputation and familiarity rather than performance. Let’s see how many of the top performers listed above wind up on future home based teams❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Thu Jul 13, 2023 5:35 pm
Enugu II wrote: Thu Jul 13, 2023 5:24 pm

TTTK,

EII, I am talking specifically about the composition of recent home-based teams. Players appear to be selected on the basis of reputation and familiarity rather than performance. Let’s see how many of the top performers listed above wind up on future home based teams❗️

TTTK,

Which recent HB team? Remember, several players on that team have already left Nigeria and are no longer in the NPFL in order to have a chance to be on this list? For instance, Isaiah Ejeh is at Mjallby, Sunday Falaye is at Torpedo Kutaisi, Afeez Nosiru at Panetolikos in Greece. The most viable list is the chaps invited to play in the recent matches involving the main NT and two of them (Duru and Divine), I believe, are on here from a list of four or so invitees. To be honest, that is a lot! in an all star selection based on momentary performances, that is a lot.

To be fair this XI is based on performances between January-June this year and our last Homebased team was back in September 2022. Even Though selections are usually questionable to say the least 1 good season isn't enough IMO for one player to be pushed to the front of the queue unless they are truly special

Remo Stars and Sporting Lisbon are the future and the present. I am a 3SC fan but I will be rooting for all private own clubs. Government need to lease out stadiums and clubs to the private sector. Sort out the finances. It is time to privatize the league.

Remo Stars will represent Nigeria on the continent. Looks like they are about to dominate Nigerian football.

5 million dollars streaming platform deal.

https://punchng.com/npfl-secures-historic-5m-streaming-
deal/#:~:text=Organisers%20of%20the%20Nigeria%20Professional,from%20the%202023%2F24%20season.

Not enough revenue.

ohenhen1 wrote: Fri Jul 14, 2023 4:21 pm Remo Stars and Sporting Lisbon are the future and the present. I am a 3SC fan but I will be rooting for all private own clubs. Government need to lease out stadiums and clubs to the private sector. Sort out the finances. It is time to privatize the league.
I am hoping that Remo Stars can become dominant and they are on the way already.

CAF just announced the clubs admitted to play in the first Super League and I am glad Nigeria's Enyimba and Rivers United did not get in. Africa does not need retrogressive clubs now. What is needed are 100% private entities such as Remo Starts participating. I am glad the first participants are all private. That is the way to go. Remo Stars UP NEXT.....

Ojoro

Enugu II wrote: Sat Jul 15, 2023 5:02 am
ohenhen1 wrote: Fri Jul 14, 2023 4:21 pm Remo Stars and Sporting Lisbon are the future and the present. I am a 3SC fan but I will be rooting for all private own clubs. Government need to lease out stadiums and clubs to the private sector. Sort out the finances. It is time to privatize the league.
I am hoping that Remo Stars can become dominant and they are on the way already.

CAF just announced the clubs admitted to play in the first Super League and I am glad Nigeria's Enyimba and Rivers United did not get in. Africa does not need retrogressive clubs now. What is needed are 100% private entities such as Remo Starts participating. I am glad the first participants are all private. That is the way to go. Remo Stars UP NEXT.....
Who (mis)informed you that Enyimba didn’t get in?! :lol:

BTW, whatever happened to the likes of the much-touted FC IfeanyiUbah?