Nathan Tella deserves a SEs callup

Re: Nathan Tella deserves a SEs callup

Tobi17 wrote: Sun Feb 12, 2023 9:21 am
Damunk wrote: Sun Feb 12, 2023 8:40 am
bret- hart wrote: Sun Feb 12, 2023 3:39 am Bross Osimhen will eat good playing alongside Tella. Dude like Lookman is not a brainless chicken like Simon Moses. We need to start clearing house now. Kai Kai Kai we get ballers. All that is needed is getting the right coach to cook.
My worry is that they are all in the same ‘department’.
It’s great we have them but our back is still exposed with Ekong, Omeruo and Balogun.
I’m just hoping the next Gen CDs will step up quick.
Ekong, Balogun and Omeruo are not even in the conversation anymore. The likes of Bassey, Olisa Ndah, Adarabioyo (potentially), Bruno Onyemaechi and several of the talented crop of players from the youth teams are the new gen, but I'll admit we are yet to produce truly world class defenders since the days of Taribo, Uche Okechukwu, Keshi etc...it's as if nature blessed us with a plethora of quality forwards and gave us average to below average defenders.I
Yeah. But apart from Bassey, we haven’t really tested those players at that level yet.

I guess we have to play to our strengths like we did in ‘94.
I’m not sure we can say that Okechukwu for instance was ‘world class’. Keshi himself was at the end of his career in ‘94 and so wasn’t world class either. But we played to our strengths with Yekini, Finidi, Amokachi and the up and coming Amuneke.
JJ himself wasn’t quite ready in ‘94 and Oliseh was also still rising.

But at least all of them had already been exposed to top class football so they had that confidence.

Damunk wrote: Mon Jan 09, 2023 5:43 am
bret- hart wrote: Mon Jan 09, 2023 12:11 am 8 goals and 2 assists this season in the championship. Dude is a slick winger who can also play in the midfield. And unlike the other innit boys like Eze, Olise , Average at best Chukwuemeka etc he has made it clear that he wants to play for Nigeria.

Most importantly he is a Hart foundation member which means he is a baller per excellence 8-)

He is a Championship player.
He needs to do it against top tier opposition in the Premiership - something he couldn’t do when he was there with Southampton for at least two and a half seasons before they loaned him out.
You say that if Nigeria ignores based on him playing in the English Championship and then he chooses a game for England once he breaks into the Premier League you shouldn’t complain.

Eaglezbeak wrote: Mon Feb 13, 2023 1:39 pm
bret- hart wrote: Mon Jan 09, 2023 12:11 am 8 goals and 2 assists this season in the championship. Dude is a slick winger who can also play in the midfield. And unlike the other innit boys like Eze, Olise , Average at best Chukwuemeka etc he has made it clear that he wants to play for Nigeria.

Most importantly he is a Hart foundation member which means he is a baller per excellence 8-)

He needs to do it against top tier opposition in the Premiership - something he couldn’t do when he was there with Southampton for at least two and a half seasons before they loaned him out.
You say that but if Nigeria ignores based on him playing in the English Championship and then he chooses to play a game for England once he breaks into the Premier League you shouldn’t complain.

Eaglezbeak wrote: Mon Feb 13, 2023 1:39 pm

You say that if Nigeria ignores based on him playing in the English Championship and then he chooses a game for England once he breaks into the Premier League you shouldn’t complain.
The idiotic reasons as to why he shouldn't be called up are mind boggling.

Etebo, Ajayi, Collins are championship players and still got callups. So was Ekong. Shehu Abdulahi plays in Cyprus and still gets calups. THis boy is 2nd top scorer in the championship and is promoting his club to the Prem. Guy abeg rest.

Tella absolutely should be called up. No ifs ands or buts.

Burnley plays Watford today. I will watch him for the first time.

bret- hart wrote: Tue Feb 14, 2023 3:39 pm

Etebo, Ajayi, Collins are championship players and still got callups. So was Ekong. Shehu Abdulahi plays in Cyprus and still gets calups. THis boy is 2nd top scorer in the championship and is promoting his club to the Prem. Guy abeg rest.
On the one hand you rubbish players like Shehu Abdullahi, then use them to justify the call-up of other players not in the top flight.
Apart from Etebo, Ajayi and Collins were easily displaced by better players, no disrespect to them. Moreover, they were the best we had at the time.
So Tella needs to justify why he should be called up, esp in an area of relative strength. Nacking goals anyhow in a second tier league is great but he wasn't doing it when he was in the Premiership. Maybe he has now come into his own but players like him and Akpom have serious competition ahead of them in the striking dept.
Even Onuachu is about to find out whether or not the EPL is the cakewalk he enjoyed in Belgium.
Otherwise we might as well call up 37-goal Chidi Agbabalu from the Vietnamese league.

Damunk wrote: Wed Feb 15, 2023 6:32 am

On the one hand you rubbish players like Shehu Abdullahi, then use them to justify the call-up of other players not in the top flight.
Apart from Etebo, Ajayi and Collins were easily displaced by better players, no disrespect to them. Moreover, they were the best we had at the time.
So Tella needs to justify why he should be called up, esp in an area of relative strength. Nacking goals anyhow in a second tier league is great but he wasn't doing it when he was in the Premiership. Maybe he has now come into his own but players like him and Akpom have serious competition ahead of them in the striking dept.
Even Onuachu is about to find out whether or not the EPL is the cakewalk he enjoyed in Belgium.
Otherwise we might as well call up 37-goal Chidi Agbabalu from the Vietnamese league.
Relative strenght my arse. If that was the case then the likes of Simon Moses and Ahmed Musa would have had their testimonials a long time ago. Also haven't you heard of COMPETITION? Competition will bring the best out of players. Instead, what we do is call up the same underachieving underperforming players all the time. Guy just dead your argument and keep it moving. Nathan Tella deserves a callup. End of.

bret- hart wrote: Wed Feb 15, 2023 6:38 am

Relative strenght my arse. If that was the case then the likes of Simon Moses and Ahmed Musa would have had their testimonials a long time ago. Also haven't you heard of COMPETITION? Competition will bring the best out of players. Instead, what we do is call up the same underachieving underperforming players all the time. Guy just dead your argument and keep it moving. Nathan Tella deserves a callup. End of.
God knows why you're always so angry.
Keep your arse out of it. Speak through your head. :roll:

We are talking about now, not back then. So Musa is old news. Nobody rates him any more.
As for Moses, his days are limited.
My only point is don't come crying about "undeserving players" being called up when second-tier superstars fail to meet your expectations.
Daz all.

Damunk wrote: Wed Feb 15, 2023 7:02 am

We are talking about now, not back then. So Musa is old news. Nobody rates him any more.
My only point is don't come crying about "undeserving players" being called up when second-tier superstars fail to meet your expectations.
Daz all.
Damunk this your logic get as e be sha,

The English championship you demean so much is about on the same level of competitiveness if not higher than most of the leagues in Europe where most of our players are playing their football (outside of the seria A and La Liga), and I'm not advocating that the likes of Nathan and Akpom just waltz into the National team cause they banging in goals in the English championship, but the teams they both play for (Burnley and Middlesbrough) are in good position to make promotion to the Premier League, and the relative success of these clubs are largely due to the impressive consequence of good coaching and of course our Naija boys who are doing the business.

Nathan for one is still very young (just 23), and he has more than enough time to get even better going by his form...only reason he didn't really succeed with the Southampton team was due to reoccurring injuries and lack of game time under the previous manager, ironically the same southampton are struggling to avoid relegation while the club he was loaned to in the championship are about to gain promotion to the Premier League.

Tobi17 wrote: Wed Feb 15, 2023 7:22 am

Daz all.

The English championship you demean so much is about on the same level of competitiveness if not higher than most of the leagues in Europe where most of our players are playing their football (outside of the seria A and La Liga), and I'm not advocating that the likes of Nathan and Akpom just waltz into the National team cause they banging in goals in the English championship, but the teams they both play for (Burnley and Middlesbrough) are in good position to make promotion to the Premier League, and the relative success of these clubs are largely due to the impressive consequence of good coaching and of course our Naija boys who are doing the business.

Nathan for one is still very young (just 23), and he has more than enough time to get even better going by his form...only reason he didn't really succeed with the Southampton team was due to reoccurring injuries and lack of game time under the previous manager, ironically the same southampton are struggling to avoid relegation while the club he was loaned to in the championship are about to gain promotion to the Premier League.
I have often marveled at this head-scratcher of a narrative you guys like to spin about the strength of the Championship in relation to European leagues. What, exactly, would lead one to this conclusion? I wonder because British Premier League teams haven’t exactly dominated the rest of Europe in the UEFA Champions League or even in the UEFA Europa League or the lesser UEFA Europa Conference League. Seems a bit of a stretch to me that a much weaker league than the Premiership, like the British Championship, could be perceived to be stronger than most of the European leagues🤔❗️

Tobi17 wrote: Wed Feb 15, 2023 7:22 am

Tobi17, I hear you.
I don't intend demeaning the Championship though I understand why you think I do.
Its a tough league and there are no league ratings where it is compared to all other European leagues, be they first tier or second tier. There used to be one but I've searched but cant find anything current. At the time, if I remember correctly, it was rated 11th or 12th or thereabouts.
That was a long time ago.

But my general point is simply to remember that there are very few top-level defenders in the Championship and therefore top scorers (or indeed performers) need to be viewed with caution.
There will always be those that transit perfectly into top tier but the taste of the pudding is in the eating.
Maybe we should do a search of top Championship scorers and then see how they fare the following season when they get promoted into the Premiership. That'll be interesting.

Osimhen has really set the bar high now. We have a world class player at last and everyone else needs to step up. So its not wrong to set a higher bar for our other players across the board - if we can get them.
'Good' is no longer good enough. Our strike force is truly looking formidable and players might find their chances are better with England than Nigeria.
We like that. :thumb:

PS: I've found a league rating.
The Championship is rated 19th in Europe according to them.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Wed Feb 15, 2023 8:32 am
Tobi17 wrote: Wed Feb 15, 2023 7:22 am Damunk this your logic get as e be sha,

I have often marveled at this head-scratcher of a narrative you guys like to spin about the strength of the Championship in relation to European leagues. What, exactly, would lead one to this conclusion? I wonder because British Premier League teams haven’t exactly dominated the rest of Europe in the UEFA Champions League or even in the UEFA Europa League or the lesser UEFA Europa Conference League. Seems a bit of a stretch to me that a much weaker league than the Premiership, like the British Championship, could be perceived to be stronger than most of the European leagues🤔❗️

Your scepticism is justified.
I just found this European league rating.
The Championship is rated 19th, with the Segunda Division (13) and 2 Bundesliga (15) rated above them.

Nothing official but they have their methodology:
TeamForm is about football ratings and predictions. Our aim is to empower you to reveal the true ability of football teams and predict football results accurately. We rate football teams using a unique and sophisticated algorithm. TeamForm ratings are adjusted continuously based on the performance in football matches. The higher the rating, the better the team’s ability. TeamForm App has coverage on more than 700 worldwide football leagues and cups with ratings, predictions, betting tips, live results, tables, fixtures, insights, form guide and statistics. We predict football results for 35+ popular betting markets based on TeamForm ratings a few other deciding factors. You can follow your favourites teams and competitions to get their latest actions. You will benefit from our findings to overcome bookies’ advantage and get more profits from betting. Download TeamForm app now and discover more.

The Portuguese, Dutch, Turkish, Russian, Czech, Swiss and Greek leagues are all rated top 12.
The Belgian league is rated 18th.
Interesting.

Daz all.
Guy rest. He deserves a call up. All this crap your typing is hot air.

bret- hart wrote: Wed Feb 15, 2023 1:29 pm

Daz all.
Guy rest. He deserves a call up. All this crap your typing is hot air.
It’s okay nah.
Go sleep. You are tired. :rotf:

Average fans clamouring for below average players as usual.

Your point is well taken but… any player who scores 37 goals in any first tier league, anywhere in the world, deserves his 2 seconds of fame in training camp❗️

Damunk wrote: Wed Feb 15, 2023 12:21 pm

The Championship is rated 19th, with the Segunda Division (13) and 2 Bundesliga (15) rated above them.

TeamForm is about football ratings and predictions. Our aim is to empower you to reveal the true ability of football teams and predict football results accurately. We rate football teams using a unique and sophisticated algorithm. TeamForm ratings are adjusted continuously based on the performance in football matches. The higher the rating, the better the team’s ability. TeamForm App has coverage on more than 700 worldwide football leagues and cups with ratings, predictions, betting tips, live results, tables, fixtures, insights, form guide and statistics. We predict football results for 35+ popular betting markets based on TeamForm ratings a few other deciding factors. You can follow your favourites teams and competitions to get their latest actions. You will benefit from our findings to overcome bookies’ advantage and get more profits from betting. Download TeamForm app now and discover more.

The Portuguese, Dutch, Turkish, Russian, Czech, Swiss and Greek leagues are all rated top 12.
Interesting.
I’m happy there’s an empirically based formula for rating European leagues. However much one might want to dispute its validity, it does bolster other ratings that are based on theory and pure common sense❗️

Last edited by TonyTheTigerKiller on Wed Feb 15, 2023 5:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Oh my Goddness! Bret Fart has been peddling rubbish on this board for the Longest. He is the one peddling Israeli junk for the longest. Now this? The Israeli in ranked 22. Goodness gracious!

Anyway, Man must wak. Bret Fart must wak!

Interesting.

1naija wrote: Wed Feb 15, 2023 4:05 pm Oh my Goddness! Bret Fart has been peddling rubbish on this board for the Longest. He is the one peddling Israeli junk for the longest. Now this? The Israeli in ranked 22. Goodness gracious!

Anyway, Man must wak. Bret Fart must wak!

Interesting.
Oh shut up . Worry about your trash rubbish Sewage United that got destroyed by a club from war torn Congo and vamose from here. :sleep:

I watched his game vs Watford and didn't really see anything special in him.

Judging on THIS GAME ALONE, he isn't even as good as Simon Moses.

Now I want to make it clear I think he still deserves a call based on his age and the number of goals he has scored cannot be scoffed at. Let's see what he can do in a SE shirt. He deserves a look.

Oh Lawd! And this is the player Bret Fart wants to push on the Super Eagles? Tufiakwa!

Anyway, Man must Wak!
vancity eagle wrote: Wed Feb 15, 2023 5:00 pm I watched his game vs Watford and didn't really see anything special in him.

Now I want to make it clear I think he still deserves a call based on his age and the number of goals he has scored cannot be scoffed at. Let's see what he can do in a SE shirt. He deserves a look.

1naija wrote: Wed Feb 15, 2023 5:18 pm Oh Lawd! And this is the player Bret Fart wants to push on the Super Eagles? Tufiakwa!

Anyway, Man must Wak!
vancity eagle wrote: Wed Feb 15, 2023 5:00 pm I watched his game vs Watford and didn't really see anything special in him.

Are you minding these fake agents trying to push junks on SE, his previous junk in Belgium that was forced on SE was immediately dumped after 1 game. Felt bad for the young man, his agent did him a disservice.