Francis Uzoho to choose MLS over Ligue1

chuks69
Francis Uzoho to choose MLS over Ligue1

Post by chuks69 »

Francis Uzoho is looking to choose MLS ahead of French Ligue 1..
I understand his advisors... Ligue 1 would be a good springboard for other higher level EU teams..

https://www.owngoalnigeria.com/2023/01/ ... h-ligue-1/
afc##
Re: Francis Uzoho to choose MLS over Ligue1

owngoal

Re: Francis Uzoho to choose MLS over Lig

chuks69 wrote: Wed Jan 18, 2023 5:27 pm Francis Uzoho is looking to choose MLS ahead of French Ligue 1..
I understand his advisors... Ligue 1 would be a good springboard for other higher level EU teams..

This is a dicey one. Enyeama was one of the best African goalies for a long long time and the best team that came for him was Lille towards the end of his career. The goalkeeping position has a lot to do with trust, it’s very difficult for a top team to sign an African goalie they haven’t known for literally all his playing career. However, the MLS will give him the opportunity to get a more focused specialized training he might not have gotten before. My bet is that he’ll be a better goalie in the long run in the MLS then he can move to a bigger team.

US is a breeding ground for top goalkeepers. He will have access to the best goalkeeper trainers.

I think Vincent's was good, but his heroics were exaggerated, mostly by people like you who had no job and therefore did not have cable to watch him in France. He is the new Thunder Balogun with legends of unverifiable heroics. The main source of the legends about him is from the game against Argentina where he saved a couple of one on one shots, similar to what Uzoho did against ManU. But like Omonoia, we eventually lost the game. Maybe one day, we will start similar legend about Uzoho because of the Manchester United game.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Jan 18, 2023 5:46 pm
chuks69 wrote: Wed Jan 18, 2023 5:27 pm Francis Uzoho is looking to choose MLS ahead of French Ligue 1..

This is a dicey one. Enyeama was one of the best African goalies for a long long time and the best team that came for him was Lille towards the end of his career. The goalkeeping position has a lot to do with trust, it’s very difficult for a top team to sign an African goalie they haven’t known for literally all his playing career. However, the MLS will give him the opportunity to get a more focused specialized training he might not have gotten before. My bet is that he’ll be a better goalie in the long run in the MLS then he can move to a bigger team.

1naija wrote: Wed Jan 18, 2023 6:48 pm US is a breeding ground for top goalkeepers. He will have access to the best goalkeeper trainers.

I think Vincent's was good, but his heroics were exaggerated, mostly by people like you who had no job and therefore did not have cable to watch him in France. He is the new Thunder Balogun with legends of unverifiable heroics. The main source of the legends about him is from the game against Argentina where he saved a couple of one on one shots, similar to what Uzoho did against ManU. But like Omonoia, we eventually lost the game. Maybe one day, we will start similar legend about Uzoho because of the Manchester United game.

Still 100x better than Akpeyi and Noble

1naija wrote: Wed Jan 18, 2023 6:48 pm US is a breeding ground for top goalkeepers. He will have access to the best goalkeeper trainers.

Don’t be silly he almost broke a long standing record of consecutive games and minutes without conceding a goal in the French league if not for an own goal from his defender. He’s second all time, that definitely can’t be a thunder balogun type make believe story as there are receipts.

https://theblugr.wordpress.com/2013/12/ ... in-france/

https://www.eurosport.com/football/eigh ... -amp.shtml

In fact they were so glad and relieved that a foreigner didn’t break the record lol
Sadly, on this occasion, not even Enyeama could keep the ball out. And as he allowed himself a smile, the Bordeaux players ran across to celebrate with Huard, who was at Sunday's game in his capacity as a touchline reporter for beIN Sport.

One game?
I don’t think so my friend!

You obviously missed the news when he was about to break the Ligue1 20 year record for number of minutes without conceding a goal. He was within one game of breaking that record.
That one na beans?

bret- hart wrote: Wed Jan 18, 2023 7:42 pm

Still 100x better than Akpeyi and Noble

More like 1000x. Akpeyi is a basket of the highest order and Noble was worse. The NFF didn't even pay Nibke his Afcon bonus because he was so hopeless they couldn't believe how he got picked. I heard he conceded 8 goals in a pre Afcon practice game. :laugh:

Bros, this your take no be am. Enyeama was good at Enyimba, good in Israel and was more than good in Lille. All Naija keepers I have watched in my lifetime, he was the best, hands down! He has his issues but the goods were much more than the bad.

Uzoho is an OK keeper, not good, yet! He may come good in the future but at the moment he is just OK.

Akpeyi on the other hand is a good keeper if he gets over his issues. He is better than the current Uzoho.

I don’t know about Noble.

Last edited by Cito on Fri Jan 20, 2023 1:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

That's one way to look at his stats that season. Another way to look at it is that he conceded 24 goals in 35 appearances that season according to Lille website. This means he must have been akpere is some games.

Again, he was good, but .... some of the narrative is of Thunder Balogun magnitude.
maceo4 wrote: Wed Jan 18, 2023 7:43 pm

Don’t be silly he almost broke a long standing record of consecutive games and minutes without conceding a goal in the French league if not for an own goal from his defender. He’s second all time, that definitely can’t be a thunder balogun type make believe story as there are receipts.

In fact they were so glad and relieved that a foreigner didn’t break the record lol
Sadly, on this occasion, not even Enyeama could keep the ball out. And as he allowed himself a smile, the Bordeaux players ran across to celebrate with Huard, who was at Sunday's game in his capacity as a touchline reporter for beIN Sport.

1naija,

This your hot take get k-leg. Enyeama is as solid as they come. Yes, there are times he has let in soft goals (against Greece and S-Korea at the WC) but he is one of the best in Africa. You don't come 1 game shy of breaking Ligue 1 record for shutouts in an average team if you're not good. If anyone was overrated it has to be Peter Rufai (Go back and watch the '94 AFCON).

As far as Uzoho is concerned, I won't mind if he goes to MLS as a starter as opposed to warming the bench in Europe. The US system has produced good gks over the years. In our history we can only name Rufai, Enyeama & Okala as one of our best but the US can roll out the likes of Marcus Hahnemann, Brad Guzan,Tony Meola, Brad Friedel, Tim Howard, Kasey Keller, Zack Steffen, Matt Turner etc. Even Ethan Horvath is better than what we got right now.

Statistics can be presented however you want it. He also conceded 24 goals that season, which was still very good considering he conceded 42 the season before and 40 the season after. .....

Thunder Balogun!
Damunk wrote: Wed Jan 18, 2023 7:51 pm

One game?
I don’t think so my friend!

You obviously missed the news when he was about to break the Ligue1 20 year record for number of minutes without conceding a goal. He was within one game of breaking that record.
That one na beans?

packerland, I started my statement saying Enyeama was good. But as good as he was good as he was, a lot of the stories of his heroics are "Thnuder Balogunish"! Should we disregard the 24 goals he let in that season and only consider the shut outs?
packerland wrote: Wed Jan 18, 2023 9:44 pm

1naija,

This your hot take get k-leg. Enyeama is as solid as they come. Yes, there are times he has let in soft goals (against Greece and S-Korea at the WC) but he is one of the best in Africa. You don't come 1 game shy of breaking Ligue 1 record for shutouts in an average team if you're not good. If anyone was overrated it has to be Peter Rufai (Go back and watch the '94 AFCON).

As far as Uzoho is concerned, I won't mind if he goes to MLS as a starter as opposed to warming the bench in Europe. The US system has produced good gks over the years. In our history we can only name Rufai, Enyeama & Okala as one of our best but the US can roll out the likes of Marcus Hahnemann, Brad Guzan,Tony Meola, Brad Friedel, Tim Howard, Kasey Keller, Zack Steffen, Matt Turner etc. Even Ethan Horvath is better than what we got right now.

BTW Akpeyi once had 10 clean sheets in SA, which was was almost as good as Enyeama's 11.
Cito wrote: Wed Jan 18, 2023 8:29 pm Bros, this your take no be am. Enyeama was good at Enyimba, good in Israel and was more than good in Lille. All Naija keepers I have watched in my lifetime, he was the best, hands down! He has his issues but the gods was much more than the bad.

Uzoho is an OK keeper, not good, yet! He may come good in the future but at the moment he is just OK.

Akpeyi on the other hand is a good keeper if he gets over his issues. He is better than the current Uzoho.

I don’t know about Noble.

chuks69

Post by chuks69 »

It is a bit tricky, but if the Ligue1 team is not relegation bound and offering him first choice GK role, he should grab it..
Uzoho should demand first choice gk role in any club he goes..
MLS Gks are just very good shot stoppers and anot super technically..
There is a reason the first two Gks of the US national team dont play in the MLS, and they are back ups in EPL annd Championship respectively.. The main reason Uzoho gave to prefer MLS was family reason, his family can jakpa..
Last last SE GK issues would sort out itself..
afc##

chuks69 wrote: Thu Jan 19, 2023 12:48 am It is a bit tricky, but if the Ligue1 team is not relegation bound and offering him first choice GK role, he should grab it..
There is a reason the first two Gks of the US national team dont play in the MLS, and they are back ups in EPL annd Championship respectively.. The main reason Uzoho gave to prefer MLS was family reason, his family can jakpa..
USMT Goalies all started with three MLS. The best of them go to Europe and that's always a guaranteed. The US is the best place for him to develope if he wants to be a better goalie in a couple yrs.

chuks69 wrote: Thu Jan 19, 2023 12:48 am It is a bit tricky, but if the Ligue1 team is not relegation bound and offering him first choice GK role, he should grab it..
this is one of the most unintelligent comment i have read all year on CE . What you wrote makes zero sense. Most footballers will have their family move with them when they transfer to a new club (country)

This is also the same with a regular joe or better yet those who claim asylum . so because you saw MLS , the first thing that came to your head was jakpa, so when he was in Cyprus did you say jakpa. Did Bale and his family jakpa when he was at LA ? Did Messi also jakpa to Paris. losers like you will always feel you know better than a man who earns a living playing football... smh.. The disrespect Nigerians get from none entity internet posters like you is so shocking ..mouth be what again

Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Jan 19, 2023 2:13 am
this is one of the most unintelligent comment i have read all year on CE . What you wrote makes zero sense. Most footballers will have their family move with them when they transfer to a new club (country)

This is also the same with a regular joe or better yet those who claim asylum . so because you saw MLS , the first thing that came to your head was jakpa, so when he was in Cyprus did you say jakpa. Did Bale and his family jakpa when he was at LA ? Did Messi also jakpa to Paris. losers like you will always feel you know better than a man who earns a living playing football... smh.. The disrespect Nigerians get from none entity internet posters like you is so shocking ..mouth be what again
This guy relax, which destination do you think he should choose to jakpa?

maceo4 wrote: Thu Jan 19, 2023 2:26 am
Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Jan 19, 2023 2:13 am

This guy relax, which destination do you think he should choose to jakpa?
When last did that individual you replied make any intelligent submission on this forum? guy you get time sha

Tobi17, who is currently on your ignore list, made this post.
Display this post.

Wait Wait Wait.. Is 419Naija attempting to compare that useless training cone Akpeyi to the goalkeeping God Vince Enyeama?? Kai Arabanisha!!!! Where is my cane??? :curse: :veryangry:

Didn't Vincent win MotM vs. England in 2002?

I don't know if some people have agendas on this forum or what.

What is all this B/S about Enyeama and exaggerated heroics.

WE DID WATCH ENYEAMA in Ligue 1 lol, and yes he looked damn good. He nearly broke the Ligue 1 record for most consecutive cleansheets.

I mean read this publication calling him Lille's greatest ever goalkeeper.

https://www.90min.com/fr/posts/le-meill ... e-de-lille

Enyeama might be the most disrespected LEGEND (and yes he is a Nigerian legend, no ifs, no buts).

If Enyeama is not a Nigerian legend then the word means nothing to me.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT