Lesley Ugochukwu open to playing for Nigeria

Re: Lesley Ugochukwu open to playing for Nigeria

Tobi17 wrote: Mon Jan 30, 2023 12:25 am
The YeyeMan wrote: Sat Jan 28, 2023 11:42 am Somebody trying to derail another thread with their bizarre fantasies and perversions...
As long as it's France 🇫🇷 we should be good, even Ugochukwu knows he has to consistently put up world class performances to have a chance of even making the France bench.

I'm afraid Leslie might rhe same situation Eze is now in with England. At 24yrs old, Eze is no playing youth football and has never gotten a call from England. At what age will these players realize it's too late. It's safe to say now unless gets hit with massive injuries, Eze will not be going to Euro 24. Will he make England team after Euro 24?

Eze should be the number 1 priority for Nigeria 🇳🇬. He is “gettable” because there is a long queue of English attacking midfielders ahead of him (Foden, Mount, Maddison, Grealish etc) who will be in the England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 squad for the next 5-10 years. Hence Eze cannot wait for them to retire and position himself as the “next cab on the rank”.

Eze is crucial for Nigeria because he plays in a position where Nigeria has no depth, and is reliant on a nephew of JJ Okocha who is in big danger of being relegated, and an unproven player who plays 2nd division football.

wiseone wrote: Mon Jan 30, 2023 1:10 am Eze should be the number 1 priority for Nigeria 🇳🇬. He is “gettable” because there is a long queue of English attacking midfielders ahead of him (Foden, Mount, Maddison, Grealish etc) who will be in the England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 squad for the next 5-10 years. Hence Eze cannot wait for them to retire and position himself as the “next cab on the rank”.

Eze is crucial for Nigeria because he plays in a position where Nigeria has no depth, and is reliant on a nephew of JJ Okocha who is in big danger of being relegated, and an unproven player who plays 2nd division football.
Maybe you're right but as long as Iwobi is active and in form, the need for Eze will not be as urgent. Right now Ndidi is out only DM of top quality and he's very injury prone. Leslie can play DM/CM. He's more important than Eze imho.

“as long as Iwobi is active”…

Injuries and suspensions exist. eg. the final World Cup qualifier against Ghana 🇬🇭 where Iwobi was suspended and Nigeria had no one to replace him. If he gets injured or suspended do we really want Nigeria to add yet another defensive midfielder to the team? (and to join the long queue of sideways passing DMs with Ndidi, Onyeka, Onyedika, Yusuf, Bonke, Tijani et al?)

Skillful midfield playmakers are exceptionally rare (there is a reason why clubs were willing to pay world record transfer fees for Pogba, Zidane, Figo, Kaka, and Neymar). Eze is not in that class but he is a lot better than anyone else that Nigeria currently has.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Jan 30, 2023 1:16 am
Maybe you're right but as long as Iwobi is active and in form, the need for Eze will not be as urgent. Right now Ndidi is out only DM of top quality and he's very injury prone. Leslie can play DM/CM. He's more important than Eze imho.
Last edited by wiseone on Mon Jan 30, 2023 1:34 am, edited 2 times in total.

wiseone wrote: Mon Jan 30, 2023 1:10 am Eze should be the number 1 priority for Nigeria 🇳🇬. He is “gettable” because there is a long queue of English attacking midfielders ahead of him (Foden, Mount, Maddison, Grealish etc) who will be in the England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 squad for the next 5-10 years. Hence Eze cannot wait for them to retire and position himself as the “next cab on the rank”.

EMIR wetin you dey talk sef? So what happens if Iwobi gets injured? who will step up to the creative midfield role? Abeg the need for Eze is VERY urgent! Alhassan Yusuf ,Onyeka and Onyedika can effectively cover Ndidi as DMs.

E be like Chelsea don pick up Leslie from Rennes.

We should be going for this boy, but might be too late now.

maceo4 wrote: Sat Jul 29, 2023 2:38 pm We should be going for this boy, but might be too late now.
[/quote

Imho, getting him is the most important thing we have to do to bolster our MF and he’ll probably be the easiest if we launch a full scale attempt. With Ndidi seemingly content to play championship football, we do not have a DM of Ugochukwu’s caliber that can step in rightaway.

This is a very very urgent matter and it must be handled in the right way by the NFF. We’re looking at a future MF and attack that looks like this..

Osihmen

Boniface ——————Chukwueze

Iwobi

Nwakali………….Ugochukwu

It’ll take a while but this is a world class team by the time the WC rolls around.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Jul 29, 2023 3:28 pm
maceo4 wrote: Sat Jul 29, 2023 2:38 pm We should be going for this boy, but might be too late now.
[/quote

Imho, getting him is the most important thing we have to do to bolster our MF and he’ll probably be the easiest if we launch a full scale attempt. With Ndidi seemingly content to play championship football, we do not have a DM of Ugochukwu’s caliber that can step in rightaway.

This is a very very urgent matter and it must be handled in the right way by the NFF. We’re looking at a future MF and attack that looks like this..

Osihmen

Boniface ——————Chukwueze

Iwobi

Nwakali………….Ugochukwu

It’ll take a while but this is a world class team by the time the WC rolls around.
can you ever make a post without being negative? my goodness this is such a troubling way you view life ..smh

They told us that we do not have midfielders and that we should convert Orban and Boniface to midfielders.

When I tell you that Nigeria has truly dealt with most of our brains, una think sey I dey lie. Because of Nigeria, many of us cannot think outside the box. We can see past what is there. Kaii! smh :oops:

Anyway, like Boniface, I am sure that now he has moved to Brighton, the coach and NFF will now be interested in him. They will now all of a sudden be able to watch him on tv and scout him. Afterall, he didnt exist yesterday. It is today that he was born.

Nigerians do not understand how bad it is to have incompetence leading you. You have no clue what you are missing out on. The day I knew Nigerians on CE, for instance, were finished, was when I opened a dortmund thread praising dortmund for taking care of their summer business early, before the season was over, and a bunch of CE members were mocking dortmund, talking about "you will still not win." Is that what you took away from the whole situation? Not that it is important to prepare?" Not that doing things the right away is important? But that "oh! you will not win, so why bother to prepare."

This is who most of you are and it really isnt your fault. You have grown up in a country and a culture where "instant gratification" is key and were people do not think its important to put in the work.

But dont worry, now we can try to get Ugochukwu. Lets sit and wait for a top club to sign someone else again and then we can try to get that person too.

danfo driver wrote: Sat Jul 29, 2023 4:33 pm Anyway, like Boniface, I am sure that now he has moved to Brighton, the coach and NFF will now be interested in him. They will now all of a sudden be able to watch him on tv and scout him. Afterall, he didnt exist yesterday. It is today that he was born.

Nigerians do not understand how bad it is to have incompetence leading you. You have no clue what you are missing out on. The day I knew Nigerians on CE, for instance, were finished, was when I opened a dortmund thread praising dortmund for taking care of their summer business early, before the season was over, and a bunch of CE members were mocking dortmund, talking about "you will still not win." Is that what you took away from the whole situation? Not that it is important to prepare?" Not that doing things the right away is important? But that "oh! you will not win, so why bother to prepare."

This is who most of you are and it really isnt your fault. You have grown up in a country and a culture where "instant gratification" is key and were people do not think its important to put in the work.

But dont worry, now we can try to get Ugochukwu. Lets sit and wait for a top club to sign someone else again and then we can try to get that person too.
No be Chelsea ? or Brighton ?

We can still get this kid, I'm not giving up yet...France is just too stacked with enough depth that Lesley will have to be the next Patrick Vieira to ever make that NT. He's good no doubt but is he France-level good?

We keep saying that he’s the nephew of Onyekachi Apam and that we have a chance, when was the last time someone put a mic in front of Apam and ask him questions. The guy had a serious knee injury that ended up costing him his football career. Do we even know if someone in our federation ever checked up on him while he was injured all these years? He might just be another bitter ex international that feels he’s been forgotten. We know that the NFF have nothing setup for these guys after retirement. Just my 2 cents.

packerland wrote: Sat Jul 29, 2023 7:49 pm We keep saying that he’s the nephew of Onyekachi Apam and that we have a chance, when was the last time someone put a mic in front of Apam and ask him questions. The guy had a serious knee injury that ended up costing him his football career. Do we even know if someone in our federation ever checked up on him while he was injured all these years? He might just be another bitter ex international that feels he’s been forgotten. We know that the NFF have nothing setup for these guys after retirement. Just my 2 cents.
why are you delegating ? what stops you from starting a movement to scrutinize the NFF? All people like you do is complain with zero substance of solution. Some of us are working behind the scene trying to fix issues, but people like you do not donate any effort , put in time for any cause , instead you litter the internet complaining none stop . I taya for you

Siddonlook11 wrote: Sat Jul 29, 2023 6:59 pm
danfo driver wrote: Sat Jul 29, 2023 4:33 pm Anyway, like Boniface, I am sure that now he has moved to Brighton, the coach and NFF will now be interested in him. They will now all of a sudden be able to watch him on tv and scout him. Afterall, he didnt exist yesterday. It is today that he was born.

No be Chelsea ? or Brighton ?
Chelsea

We could really use Chukwemeka in that mf but he' s waiting to join the kings army..