Folarin Balogun

He scored a superb late equalizer against almighty PSG...Folarin should be courted by the NFF
Re: Folarin Balogun

Tobi17 wrote: Sun Jan 29, 2023 11:27 pm He scored a superb late equalizer against almighty PSG...Folarin should be courted by the NFF
He might actually have better chance to make the EngLand team than SE.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Jan 29, 2023 11:29 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Sun Jan 29, 2023 11:27 pm He scored a superb late equalizer against almighty PSG...Folarin should be courted by the NFF
That doesn't mean we shouldn't try, we need to have a go at all Nigerian eligible players ahead of the AFCON, out of 10 we have a chance with at least 5 of them.

Tobi17 wrote: Sun Jan 29, 2023 11:41 pm
That doesn't mean we shouldn't try, we need to have a go at all Nigerian eligible players ahead of the AFCON, out of 10 we have a chance with at least 5 of them.
Balogun have to do better in a better league for use to even consider him, these are not like the Ola days when we only had Enemike, who played in Turkey as our best option.

Osihmen - Top Scorer in Serie A
Moffi- Top 5 in France
Sadiq- laLiga up and coming striker
Awoniyi - Bpl Starting striker

These guys are all young. However, if he want to play for our Olympic team if we qualify that'll be OK. I guys you're right. Call em and stack in the shelve until we need them.
Right now Ugochukwu is top priority. Folarin is welcome to send. Eguavoen a ticket and an envelope if he wants us to scout him.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Jan 30, 2023 12:16 am
Tobi17 wrote: Sun Jan 29, 2023 11:41 pm
Balogun have to do better in a better league for use to even consider him, these are not like the Ola days when we only had Enemike, who played in Turkey as our best option.

Osihmen - Top Scorer in Serie A
Moffi- Top 5 in France
Sadiq- laLiga up and coming striker
Awoniyi - Bpl Starting striker

These guys are all young. However, if he want to play for our Olympic team if we qualify that'll be OK. I guys you're right. Call em and stack in the shelve until we need them.
Right now Ugochukwu is top priority. Folarin is welcome to send. Eguavoen a ticket and an envelope if he wants us to scout him.
So the Ligue 1 isn't a top league? Just for context, Reims FC have scored 22 goals this season and 11 of those goals have come from Folarin- that's a world class stat right there and we shouldn't rest on our oars in trying to get these guys now.

19 games, 11 goals and 2 assists.... He has done very well in France.

We should go after him. Doesn't hurt to have more options.
The YeyeMan wrote: Mon Jan 30, 2023 1:18 am 19 games, 11 goals and 2 assists.... He has done very well in France.

I was thinking the same thing.
What a wonderful ‘dilemma’ for us to have :rotf:

The YeyeMan wrote: Mon Jan 30, 2023 1:18 am 19 games, 11 goals and 2 assists.... He has done very well in France.
Excellent player. And he has indicated that he is keen on Nigeria

aruako1 wrote: Mon Jan 30, 2023 10:51 am
Excellent player. And he has indicated that he is keen on Nigeria
I like him. He takes snap shots instead of dilly dallying with the ball. My only small beef with him is that he seem to take shots even in tight angles/low percentage. But then again, I've only watched him like 2 times. Arsenal will be recalling him at the end of the season or will make a good chump change from his various suitors.

Hat trick tonight vs Lorient.

20 games, 14 goals.

Top scorer in Ligue 1. :clap:

Born in the United States to Nigerian parents and raised in England, Balogun is eligible to represent all three nations at international level. After playing for England at the under-17 level and appearing in the 2018 UEFA European Under-17 Championship,[25] he accepted a call up from the United States under-18 national team in August 2018 for a training camp and a tournament in the Czech Republic.[5][26] He played in all four of the United States' games in the Václav Ježek Youth Tournament and scored twice.[27] He has also expressed interest in playing for Nigeria,
So is this bobo for or against us?

The YeyeMan wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 8:51 pm
Hat trick tonight vs Lorient.

20 games, 14 goals.

Top scorer in Ligue 1. :clap:
That is an impressive tally for the young man. I hope he gets called up(and accepts) to compete for a spot behind Osimhen.

Currently leading the goal chart in Ligue 1 ahead of the likes of Mbappe (all this while playing for a less fancied club like Reims)...somehow some experts here think we should sleep on this kid cause we're "stacked" in attacking options...with Folarin's current form, I don't see how England won't come sniffing around.

Tobi17 wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 9:28 pm Currently leading the goal chart in Ligue 1 ahead of the likes of Mbappe (all this while playing for a less fancied club like Reims)...somehow some experts here think we should sleep on this kid cause we're "stacked" in attacking options...with Folarin's current form, I don't see how England won't come sniffing around.

He has a better chance with England than Nigeria at having a long international career where he actually plays regularly. England has Harry Kane and the quality drops off significantly after him, Kane is also not young anymore. All he has to do get a spot with Arsenal.

We have Osihmen protected to command the SE no 9 for yrs to come andMoffi, Sadiq and Awoniyi. All players about as good as he is or better. I'll take him sha for insurance.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 9:42 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 9:28 pm Currently leading the goal chart in Ligue 1 ahead of the likes of Mbappe (all this while playing for a less fancied club like Reims)...somehow some experts here think we should sleep on this kid cause we're "stacked" in attacking options...with Folarin's current form, I don't see how England won't come sniffing around.

He has a better chance with England than Nigeria at having a long international career where he actually plays regularly. England has Harry Kane and the quality drops off significantly after him, Kane is also not young anymore. All he has to do get a spot with Arsenal.

We have Osihmen protected to command the SE no 9 for yrs to come andMoffi, Sadiq and Awoniyi. All players about as good as he is or better. I'll take him sha for insurance.
Apart from Osimhen, none of our other strikers are better than Folarin! the deputy striker to Osimhen is still up for grabs so the winner has to take it all, personally I rate Folarin ahead of Moffi. Awoniyi and Sadiq cause his overall game is just better (but that's my opinion).

Tobi17 wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 9:57 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 9:42 pm

Apart from Osimhen, none of our other strikers are better than Folarin! the deputy striker to Osimhen is still up for grabs so the winner has to take it all, personally I rate Folarin ahead of Moffi. Awoniyi and Sadiq cause his overall game is just better (but that's my opinion).
Florian leads the line, he’s a 9. He’s not complimentary to Osihmen but I may be wrong. Anyway sha, you’re a corrupt agent for touting Akpom, Lookman and now Folarin as SS. Una never belle full? :laugh:

We just played our last afcon without Osimehn.

This is a player who now has a history of injuries.

We need as solid a deputy as possible.

Also it seems that given the players at our disposal we may need to consider 352 formation.

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Feb 02, 2023 12:23 am We just played our last afcon without Osimehn.

Also it seems that given the players at our disposal we may need to consider 352 formation.
Do we have the wing backs to play 352 at a very high level? Kai...... if we get Udogie we do hammer be that.He'd be perfect. Not sold on Aina on the right but Ebuehi could be th main guy on the right.

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Feb 02, 2023 12:23 am We just played our last afcon without Osimehn.

Exactly, we can't keep relying on Osimhen cause we know his records of injuries or club drama (like we saw in the last AFCON with Napoli not allowing him to attend the tournament)...now are the likes of Moffi, Sadiq and Awoniyi reliable enough deputies in the absence of Osimhen? I wouldn't put my money on the odds just yet.

If we WANT to compete and win the AFCON and go far in the 2026 world cup, we have to find capable deputies for Osimhen, Iwobi and Ndidi (these 3 guys are the anchors of that team). The answer to Osimhen is Folarin, the answer to Iwobi is Eberechi Eze, and the answer to Ndidi are either of Yusuf, Onyedika and Lesley Ugochukwu.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Feb 02, 2023 12:37 am

Do we have the wing backs to play 352 at a very high level? Kai...... if we get Udogie we do hammer be that.He'd be perfect. Not sold on Aina on the right but Ebuehi could be th main guy on the right.
You are forgetting Osayi Bright

Tobi17 wrote: Thu Feb 02, 2023 12:41 am

Exactly, we can't keep relying on Osimhen cause we know his records of injuries or club drama (like we saw in the last AFCON with Napoli not allowing him to attend the tournament)...now are the likes of Moffi, Sadiq and Awoniyi reliable enough deputies in the absence of Osimhen? I wouldn't put my money on the odds just yet.

If we WANT to compete and win the AFCON and go far in the 2026 world cup, we have to find capable deputies for Osimhen, Iwobi and Ndidi (these 3 guys are the anchors of that team). The answer to Osimhen is Folarin, the answer to Iwobi is Eberechi Eze, and the answer to Ndidi are either of Yusuf, Onyedika and Lesley Ugochukwu.
I am even thinking we need to move Iwobi to CM and convert the most cerebral of our forwards/wingers to play #10. (Lookman, Akpom, Ejuke) Eze if he switches.

This way we can utilize our plethora of attacking players

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Feb 02, 2023 1:29 am
Tobi17 wrote: Thu Feb 02, 2023 12:41 am

I am even thinking we need to move Iwobi to CM and convert the most cerebral of our forwards/wingers to play #10. (Lookman, Akpom, Ejuke) Eze if he switches.

This way we can utilize our plethora of attacking players
That means we have to play 352 for that idea to work