Onuachu joins Southampton

Re: Onuachu joins Southampton

maceo4 wrote: Tue Jan 31, 2023 5:25 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Tue Jan 31, 2023 5:18 pm Transfer window closes today and Southampton made a desperate bid to sign him.

Maceo4 will like this one :taunt:

https://out.reddit.com/t3_10q2mf3?url=h ... _name=mweb
Nice one, he can be a Peter Crouch type forward for them, let’s see how it goes! Congrats to the BBaller!!!

gochino wrote: Tue Jan 31, 2023 8:17 pm He just did an "Okoye" lol...Notice that most our players that move to these struggling EPL clubs actually become worse....Still wondering how this is considered a good move.
Keep wondering… :blink:

maceo4 wrote: Tue Jan 31, 2023 9:07 pm
gochino wrote: Tue Jan 31, 2023 8:17 pm He just did an "Okoye" lol...Notice that most our players that move to these struggling EPL clubs actually become worse....Still wondering how this is considered a good move.
More pay, more exposure, half a season to show what he can do in a top 5 league…let’s see how it works out.
More exposure than playing in the Champions league? I doubt it!...I just hope top clubs would be able to buy a 30 year old from the Championship.

Congrats Onuachu. £18m.
I really hope he continues his Belgian success in the EPL but if anything, he will need time to adjust.

Southampton are probably preparing for the drop to the championship. They are building a team and squad that would enable them secure immediate promotion back to the Premiership.

fabio wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 9:40 am Southampton are probably preparing for the drop to the championship. They are building a team and squad that would enable them secure immediate promotion back to the Premiership.
Hmm once you drop, it ain't easy coming back! Ask Watford

gochino wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 1:04 pm
fabio wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 9:40 am Southampton are probably preparing for the drop to the championship. They are building a team and squad that would enable them secure immediate promotion back to the Premiership.
Hmm once you drop, it ain't easy coming back! Ask Watford
Some teams have mastered the art of the yo-yo. Drop down, come back, drop again…

Just ask Norwich… and Watford, Westbrom, Etc to a certain extent.

Even if Southampton gets relegated, Onuachu will probably get paid more there than he did in Belgium. The Championship is the richest 2nd division in the world.

wiseone wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 2:39 pm Even if Southampton gets relegated, Onuachu will probably get paid more there than he did in Belgium. The Championship is the richest 2nd division in the world.
And how does playing in division 2 help his career?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Onuachu will keep Southhampton in the EPL. Everton are staying up also.

Wolves and Bournemouth will go down.

By helping to increase the size of his bank balance - which in turn will allow him to look after his family. His occupation is “professional footballer”. He plays football to earn money.

Do you think Ronaldo moved to Saudi Arabia 🇸🇦 because his life ambition was to win the Saudi league title?
gochino wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 8:16 pm

wiseone wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 10:21 pm By helping to increase the size of his bank balance - which in turn will allow him to look after his family. His occupation is “professional footballer”. He plays football to earn money.

Do you think Ronaldo moved to Saudi Arabia 🇸🇦 because his life ambition was to win the Saudi league title?

Damunk wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 10:45 pm
wiseone wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 10:21 pm By helping to increase the size of his bank balance - which in turn will allow him to look after his family. His occupation is “professional footballer”. He plays football to earn money.

Like I don't get the angst against Onuachu, these players sign up for contracts to get enough financial leverage to support their families because they are human beings at the end of the day, at 29 with no top clubs lining up to sign him, I can't blame Onuachu for settling for a relegation bound Southampton...at least he finally gets to fulfill his dream of playing in the best league in the world, and earn a better pay bundle, still better than going to China or the Saudi league which typifies the end of a players football career.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Tufiakwa!
Lolly wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 8:22 pm

Imagine a player has the opportunity to go to the EPL and people are questioning it. Yet, these same people are the ones who go online to scour for links to watch our players play in div 5 and war torn zones. Tufia!

[media] [/media]

There we go again! I am talking of a wise footballing decision, you are talking of feeding family and bank account. Would a wiser decision not help his bank account? His contract would have almost ended in june, so the Belgian club would have been forced to lower his price, meaning he would have better offers to choose from. We are talking of a player that was the highest scorer in the whole of Europe! Let's hope a good club will be willing to buy a 31 year old from Southampton if they get relegated, they are dead last at the moment! The amount of super eagles players that will be playing division 2 football next season is alarming!

gochino wrote: Thu Feb 02, 2023 7:56 am

There we go again! I am talking of a wise footballing decision, you are talking of feeding family and bank account. Would a wiser decision not help his bank account? His contract would have almost ended in june, so the Belgian club would have been forced to lower his price, meaning he would have better offers to choose from. We are talking of a player that was the highest scorer in the whole of Europe! Let's hope a good club will be willing to buy a 31 year old from Southampton if they get relegated, they are dead last at the moment! The amount of super eagles players that will be playing division 2 football next season is alarming!
As fans our interests should be in the sporting decisions made by our players and not personal decisions which should be of no interest to us!

Dammy wrote: Thu Feb 02, 2023 8:02 am

As fans our interests should be in the sporting decisions made by our players and not personal decisions which should be of no interest to us!
That's exactly the point!

Why are you inflating his age? He is 29 years old.

He could have stayed at Genk but what happens if he does his cruciate before the end of the season playing for Genk holding out for a better offer?

Some times in life you have to take the opportunities given to you and see where it will take you. If he plays well for Southampton and they get relegated another EPL club will buy him. If he does well it will attract the interest of even bigger clubs.

Clearly everyone could see playing in Belgium was not getting the attention from big clubs even after having a record breaking year in scoring. Going to Southampton is a risk but he needs to test himself against EPL defenders and only then would bigger clubs be interested in his services.

Flex Swift wrote: Thu Feb 02, 2023 12:40 pm

Why are you inflating his age? He is 29 years old.

He could have stayed at Genk but what happens if he does his cruciate before the end of the season playing for Genk holding out for a better offer?

Some times in life you have to take the opportunities given to you and see where it will take you. If he plays well for Southampton and they get relegated another EPL club will buy him. If he does well it will attract the interest of even bigger clubs.

Clearly everyone could see playing in Belgium was not getting the attention from big clubs even after having a record breaking year in scoring. Going to Southampton is a risk but he needs to test himself against EPL defenders and only then would bigger clubs be interested in his services.
I was referring to next season he will be 30 going to 31