Page 2 of 6

Re: Onuachu joins Southampton

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 2:13 am
by Gotti
maceo4 wrote: Tue Jan 31, 2023 5:25 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Tue Jan 31, 2023 5:18 pm Transfer window closes today and Southampton made a desperate bid to sign him.

Maceo4 will like this one :taunt:

https://out.reddit.com/t3_10q2mf3?url=h ... _name=mweb
Nice one, he can be a Peter Crouch type forward for them, let’s see how it goes! Congrats to the BBaller!!!

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 2:18 am
by Gotti
gochino wrote: Tue Jan 31, 2023 8:17 pm He just did an "Okoye" lol...Notice that most our players that move to these struggling EPL clubs actually become worse....Still wondering how this is considered a good move.
Keep wondering… :blink:

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 6:16 am
by gochino
maceo4 wrote: Tue Jan 31, 2023 9:07 pm
gochino wrote: Tue Jan 31, 2023 8:17 pm He just did an "Okoye" lol...Notice that most our players that move to these struggling EPL clubs actually become worse....Still wondering how this is considered a good move.
More pay, more exposure, half a season to show what he can do in a top 5 league…let’s see how it works out.
More exposure than playing in the Champions league? I doubt it!...I just hope top clubs would be able to buy a 30 year old from the Championship.

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 9:27 am
by Damunk
Congrats Onuachu. £18m.
I really hope he continues his Belgian success in the EPL but if anything, he will need time to adjust.

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 9:40 am
by fabio
Southampton are probably preparing for the drop to the championship. They are building a team and squad that would enable them secure immediate promotion back to the Premiership.

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 1:04 pm
by gochino
fabio wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 9:40 am Southampton are probably preparing for the drop to the championship. They are building a team and squad that would enable them secure immediate promotion back to the Premiership.
Hmm once you drop, it ain't easy coming back! Ask Watford

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 1:29 pm
by Cito
gochino wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 1:04 pm
fabio wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 9:40 am Southampton are probably preparing for the drop to the championship. They are building a team and squad that would enable them secure immediate promotion back to the Premiership.
Hmm once you drop, it ain't easy coming back! Ask Watford
Some teams have mastered the art of the yo-yo. Drop down, come back, drop again…

Just ask Norwich… and Watford, Westbrom, Etc to a certain extent.

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 2:39 pm
by wiseone
Even if Southampton gets relegated, Onuachu will probably get paid more there than he did in Belgium. The Championship is the richest 2nd division in the world.

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 8:16 pm
by gochino
wiseone wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 2:39 pm Even if Southampton gets relegated, Onuachu will probably get paid more there than he did in Belgium. The Championship is the richest 2nd division in the world.
And how does playing in division 2 help his career?

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 8:22 pm
by Lolly

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 8:50 pm
by 1naija
Onuachu will keep Southhampton in the EPL. Everton are staying up also.

Wolves and Bournemouth will go down.

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 10:21 pm
by wiseone
By helping to increase the size of his bank balance - which in turn will allow him to look after his family. His occupation is “professional footballer”. He plays football to earn money.

Do you think Ronaldo moved to Saudi Arabia 🇸🇦 because his life ambition was to win the Saudi league title?
gochino wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 8:16 pm

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 10:45 pm
by Damunk
wiseone wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 10:21 pm By helping to increase the size of his bank balance - which in turn will allow him to look after his family. His occupation is “professional footballer”. He plays football to earn money.

Do you think Ronaldo moved to Saudi Arabia 🇸🇦 because his life ambition was to win the Saudi league title?

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 10:50 pm
by Tobi17
Damunk wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 10:45 pm
wiseone wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 10:21 pm By helping to increase the size of his bank balance - which in turn will allow him to look after his family. His occupation is “professional footballer”. He plays football to earn money.

Like I don't get the angst against Onuachu, these players sign up for contracts to get enough financial leverage to support their families because they are human beings at the end of the day, at 29 with no top clubs lining up to sign him, I can't blame Onuachu for settling for a relegation bound Southampton...at least he finally gets to fulfill his dream of playing in the best league in the world, and earn a better pay bundle, still better than going to China or the Saudi league which typifies the end of a players football career.

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 4:03 am

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 4:16 am
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Tufiakwa!
Lolly wrote: Wed Feb 01, 2023 8:22 pm

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 4:19 am
Imagine a player has the opportunity to go to the EPL and people are questioning it. Yet, these same people are the ones who go online to scour for links to watch our players play in div 5 and war torn zones. Tufia!

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 6:40 am
[media] [/media]

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 7:56 am
by gochino

There we go again! I am talking of a wise footballing decision, you are talking of feeding family and bank account. Would a wiser decision not help his bank account? His contract would have almost ended in june, so the Belgian club would have been forced to lower his price, meaning he would have better offers to choose from. We are talking of a player that was the highest scorer in the whole of Europe! Let's hope a good club will be willing to buy a 31 year old from Southampton if they get relegated, they are dead last at the moment! The amount of super eagles players that will be playing division 2 football next season is alarming!

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 8:02 am
by Dammy
gochino wrote: Thu Feb 02, 2023 7:56 am

There we go again! I am talking of a wise footballing decision, you are talking of feeding family and bank account. Would a wiser decision not help his bank account? His contract would have almost ended in june, so the Belgian club would have been forced to lower his price, meaning he would have better offers to choose from. We are talking of a player that was the highest scorer in the whole of Europe! Let's hope a good club will be willing to buy a 31 year old from Southampton if they get relegated, they are dead last at the moment! The amount of super eagles players that will be playing division 2 football next season is alarming!
As fans our interests should be in the sporting decisions made by our players and not personal decisions which should be of no interest to us!

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 8:07 am
by gochino
Dammy wrote: Thu Feb 02, 2023 8:02 am

As fans our interests should be in the sporting decisions made by our players and not personal decisions which should be of no interest to us!
That's exactly the point!

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 12:40 pm
by Flex Swift

Why are you inflating his age? He is 29 years old.

He could have stayed at Genk but what happens if he does his cruciate before the end of the season playing for Genk holding out for a better offer?

Some times in life you have to take the opportunities given to you and see where it will take you. If he plays well for Southampton and they get relegated another EPL club will buy him. If he does well it will attract the interest of even bigger clubs.

Clearly everyone could see playing in Belgium was not getting the attention from big clubs even after having a record breaking year in scoring. Going to Southampton is a risk but he needs to test himself against EPL defenders and only then would bigger clubs be interested in his services.

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 4:25 pm
by gochino
Flex Swift wrote: Thu Feb 02, 2023 12:40 pm

Why are you inflating his age? He is 29 years old.

He could have stayed at Genk but what happens if he does his cruciate before the end of the season playing for Genk holding out for a better offer?

Some times in life you have to take the opportunities given to you and see where it will take you. If he plays well for Southampton and they get relegated another EPL club will buy him. If he does well it will attract the interest of even bigger clubs.

Clearly everyone could see playing in Belgium was not getting the attention from big clubs even after having a record breaking year in scoring. Going to Southampton is a risk but he needs to test himself against EPL defenders and only then would bigger clubs be interested in his services.
I was referring to next season he will be 30 going to 31