We are not hustling enough to get players of Nigerian descent

Re: We are not hustling enough to get players of Nigerian descent

Let me bring some stats here if I can find it.

This shows: Share of Athletes at FIFA Men’s World Cups Representing a Country in Which They Were Not Born, 1930-2018. You can see it's about 5-10%. When a country begins exceeding that 10% threshold they are beginning to overdo it. They are beginning to rely on external infrastructure.

This probably reflects the actual immigration stats as well. Firstly, few countries will have a share born abroad like Australia does (29.1%). This is on the HIGH side. So you can see that both in the actual football stats and in the immigration stats, there is no real dynamic where a team will largely be comprised of foreign born players. I.e. it is NOT a natural relationship.

It would take an individual WITH motive to actual go beyond lets say 10% Someone like Pinnick or a Damunk type individual. Left naturally....no arguments no theories no biases.....it will be around 5-10%. So what happened with Morocco for example was NOT natural, it was a policy or policy failure (depending on how you look at it).

We can make allowances MAYBE for lets say a country like Cape Verde and say perhaps a low population and critical mass threshold makes for peculiar circumstances, but otherwise, there is no real reason for a country (most countries) to be going beyond 10%, lets say 15% for the margin.

I mean this is football not the manufacturing of semiconductors. You cannot offshore something as trivial as football, unless that is what the natural pattern dictates. To offshore something so trivial is unethical (and yes I use this word with all the implications associated with it). You heard me, unethical.

I mean this is probably even a bigger argument than this. The bigger argument is whether football is actually a global sport...and it is beginning to look more and more that it isn't. It seems that football is actually only played in Europe and has concentrated specifically in Western Europe, and other countries are feeders in one way or another for Western Europe. This seems to be true. But the question I suppose is, is this non negotiable? Can we actually have football outside of Western Europe? Is this a case of global financial systems concentrating heavily in one cluster, is this a case of football talent working better in density?

For me this is the only argument that I can really see as changing my mind on this issue. If you say to me, tbite, face the facts, Football is for Europe, sort of like how professional basketball heavily nests in the United States (notwithstanding some good European basketball clubs or South American football clubs etc. which exist but are not the same beast). And since football is for Europe, local markets are nothing more than immigration intake. Maybe.....I don't know, somebody can argue this.

but I feel like even that (the strongest argument that I can currently envision against my side) is weak, because there is no sign that countries like Nigeria are coming anywhere near exhausting their options. I don't think the European game presents a barrier to our talent producing abilities, perhaps it influences the trajectory down the track, but not the talent itself.

Now the argument that Damunk has posed instead in the past is the temporal argument. I.e. choose the best at a given point in time. The problem with this argument is evidenced in this thread funnily enough. The problem with not accepting that foreign born intake naturally hovers around 5-10% is that you can push for 20%, 30%, 40%, 50%, even 99%, just by doing nothing. You can ignore the local scene and make the argument as a Rohr might, that there is nothing there.

There is no natural dynamic to rectify such an issue once you become obsessed with foreign output. What countries tend to do with such ethical dilemmas is accept their obligation. They do not run from it. And I think, failure in the interim is actually PREFFERED than short term success for an overall poor policy decision. I think it is wrong to overreach, even if it would win us the world cup for example. Let us do the right thing.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

txj wrote: Fri Feb 17, 2023 4:52 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Feb 17, 2023 2:43 pm
highbury wrote: Fri Feb 17, 2023 2:04 pm Why don't we work hard as a Nation in developing our own talents? Why don't we invest in our youth at home? Invest in our leagues and academies? Nigeria has issues but didn't Osimhen come from home? Didn't Chukwueze come from home? Didn't Ihenacho come from home? Didn't Awoniyi come from home to name a few? These respective countries invested the money in developing these Nigerian players we want to poach. Monkey dey work, Bamboo dey chop.
what do you expect from someone like damunk.... dude is obsessed with everything foreign like his massa picnic
But in the U-20 thread you are not opposing the invitation of FB players.

You appear to have a multiple personality disorder!
That, plus a fixation with Damunk.
Anything Damunk says, he argues the exact opposite, even at the expense of looking real dumb.

So all I have to say is "Bigporkey can be smart sometimes".
He will quickly respond "Don't be stupid. The whole forum knows you lack critical skills"

Oh dear. :?

But the stat also shows that the intake is increasing, which is likely due to multiple factors
1) FIFA relaxing rules around switching
2) Globalisation: ease of movement around the world improving
3) The European market becoming increasingly specialised

here is the link to the image...

https://www.migrationpolicy.org/article ... ationality

Enugu II has argued in the past that #1 was a good policy since it recognises the full extent of an individual's sovereignty. I think his argument there is a stronger one, but obviously it does not exist in isolation...

#3 is the concerning one. Countries cannot throw in the white towel because European football is becoming far too specialised.

Interestingly virtually all of the real issues are addressed if countries do not throw in the towel. When you look at Tennis for example and how Rybakina switched to Kazhakstan...something like that doesn't happen if Russia gives the full support required. There wouldn't really be much in the way of arguments if countries build local capacity. There is the curious case of Diego Costa...but few examples like that would exist.

It's the easy way out, it is not pure competition, and it denies local kids an opportunity, and from a footballing standpoint it can be disharmonious, though Morocco managed to resolve this, by offshoring almost entirely, including coaching personnel. You can do this until the end of time.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Tbite wrote: Fri Feb 17, 2023 5:28 pm But the stat also shows that the intake is increasing, which is likely due to multiple factors

Enugu II has argued in the past that #1 was a good policy since it recognises the full extent of an individual's sovereignty. I think his argument there is a stronger one, but obviously it does not exist in isolation...

#3 is the concerning one. Countries cannot throw in the white towel because European football is becoming far too specialised.

Interestingly virtually all of the real issues are addressed if countries do not throw in the towel. When you look at Tennis for example and how Rybakina switched to Kazhakstan...something like that doesn't happen if Russia gives the full support required. There wouldn't really be much in the way of arguments if countries build local capacity. There is the curious case of Diego Costa...but few examples like that would exist.

It's the easy way out, it is not pure competition, and it denies local kids an opportunity, and from a footballing standpoint it can be disharmonious, though Morocco managed to resolve this, by offshoring almost entirely, including coaching personnel. You can do this until the end of time.

Just because you repeat this false claim repeatedly like Trump does not make it valid.

No country loses players from nationality switch as does Brazil. But has it ever stopped them from developing talent?

Both things can exist and thrive side by side.

Failure to develop local talent is a systemic failure on the part of Nigeria.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Fri Feb 17, 2023 5:34 pm
Tbite wrote: Fri Feb 17, 2023 5:28 pm But the stat also shows that the intake is increasing, which is likely due to multiple factors

Just because you repeat this false claim repeatedly like Trump does not make it valid.

No country loses players from nationality switch as does Brazil. But has it ever stopped them from developing talent?

Simple.
They want to fix football within a broken Nigeria.

For starters, one in five out-of-school kids in the world is Nigerian.
Our education budget for instance is woeful, absolutely woeful.

Even with the best will in the world, our football is not going to be ‘fixed’ any time soon.
So we either wait until Nigeria gets working, or we dip into a ‘free’ national resource abroad for help as appropriate, to keep the masses happy. What can be done locally will be done but nobody should fool themselves into thinking that the whole football developmental system including the NPFL is going to become fit for purpose next week.
It’s not rocket science and it’s not a sentimental matter.

I’d love to see Tbite’s graph for African countries and other ‘developing’ football countries.
Being born abroad is just part of the issue. Where are they playing?
A quick look at the club sides and leagues represented in the last three or four world cups says it all.

Osimhen did not become world class playing for Bendel Insurance or Mountain of Fire FC.
Crude oil to premium petrol - huge difference.

We all know what needs to be done. When and how are we realistically going to do it?

Damunk wrote: Tue Feb 21, 2023 6:34 am

Simple.

Even with the best will in the world, our football is not going to be ‘fixed’ any time soon.
So we either wait until Nigeria gets working, or we dip into a ‘free’ national resource abroad for help as appropriate, to keep the masses happy. What can be done locally will be done but nobody should fool themselves into thinking that the whole football developmental system including the NPFL is going to become fit for purpose any time soon.

It should be done abroad so you can fatten your pocket. 8 years of scouting abroad with peakmilk and **** left us in this mess. We've not won anything with the abroad scouting. The current best and most inform striker in world football was born in Lagos, broke the u17 world records in goals and was scouted from Nigeria. We are still waiting for the abroad.

Today the abroads are relegation bound lower league levels. Don't go and invest in the likes of Osimhen. Sidon there and wait for the abroad massa to dash you their unwanted. ...

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Feb 21, 2023 6:41 am

Simple.

So we either wait until Nigeria gets working, or we dip into a ‘free’ national resource abroad for help as appropriate, to keep the masses happy. What can be done locally will be done but nobody should fool themselves into thinking that the whole football developmental system including the NPFL is going to become fit for purpose any time soon.

It should be done abroad so you can fatten your pocket. 8 years of scouting abroad with peakmilk and **** left us in this mess. We've not won anything with the abroad scouting. The current best and most inform striker in world football was born in Lagos, broke the u17 world records in goals and was scouted from Nigeria. We are still waiting for the abroad.

Today the abroads are relegation bound lower league levels. Don't go and invest in the likes of Osimhen. Sidon there and wait for the abroad massa to dash you their unwanted. ...

Scouted in Nigeria but developed in Europe.

How many homebased SE regular players have we developed thru the local league in the last 25yrs?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Tue Feb 21, 2023 1:34 pm

Simple.

How many homebased SE regular players have we developed thru the local league in the last 25yrs?
shifting the goal post eh?

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Feb 21, 2023 2:32 pm

Simple.

shifting the goal post eh?
Its a question.
Answer it. :roll:

Simple.

Abeg stop it. Aside from Iwobi, many of our current SuperEagles developed here:

Onazi
Omeruo
Etebo
Simon
Sadiq
Iheanacho
Awoniyi
Ejuke
Kalu
Chukwueze
Osimhen
Iwuala
Ndah

These are the ones I remember from the top of my head and they are recent, never mind the last 25 years. All of the listed guys were developed in Nigerian clubs or academies. Do you really have to manufacture falsehoods just to make an invalid point❓❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Feb 25, 2023 5:17 am

Simple.

Onazi
Omeruo
Etebo
Simon
Sadiq
Iheanacho
Awoniyi
Ejuke
Kalu
Chukwueze
Osimhen
Iwuala
Ndah

These are the ones I remember from the top of my head and they are recent, never mind the last 25 years. All of the listed guys were developed in Nigerian clubs or academies. Do you really have to manufacture falsehoods just to make an invalid point❓❗️

Discovery of players is not the same thing as development of players

txj wrote: Sat Feb 25, 2023 5:09 pm

Simple.

Onazi
Omeruo
Etebo
Simon
Sadiq
Iheanacho
Awoniyi
Ejuke
Kalu
Chukwueze
Osimhen
Iwuala
Ndah

That’s exactly right. You discover players when they are in elementary school, not when they’re already playing senior football or representing their country in international competition. Player development starts long before they move to Europe😀😀😀❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Feb 25, 2023 5:18 pm

Simple.

Onazi
Omeruo
Etebo
Simon
Sadiq
Iheanacho
Awoniyi
Ejuke
Kalu
Chukwueze
Osimhen
Iwuala
Ndah

That’s exactly right. You discover players when they are in elementary school, not when they’re already playing senior football or representing their country in international competition. Player development starts long before they move to Europe😀😀😀❗️

Except that it only manifests when they move to Europe.

If that were not the case, the players they left behind in Nigeria would be developed well enough to compete for positions in the SE

txj wrote: Sat Feb 25, 2023 5:23 pm
Simple.

Onazi
Omeruo
Etebo
Simon
Sadiq
Iheanacho
Awoniyi
Ejuke
Kalu
Chukwueze
Osimhen
Iwuala
Ndah

If that were not the case, the players they left behind in Nigeria would be developed well enough to compete for positions in the SE
Dude, our best players don’t move to Europe to develop. They move there in the hopes of making more money. Player development is continuous. It starts the day you are discovered and ends when you retire or quit football🤔❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Feb 25, 2023 5:32 pm

Onazi
Omeruo
Etebo
Simon
Sadiq
Iheanacho
Awoniyi
Ejuke
Kalu
Chukwueze
Osimhen
Iwuala
Ndah

Dude, our best players don’t move to Europe to develop. They move there in the hopes of making more money. Player development is continuous. It starts the day you are discovered and ends when you retire or quit football🤔❗️

Of course it is continuous. When you instruct a player how to trap the ball, you are developing him...

However, the data shows clearly that the more substantial development happens when they move to Europe.

Over and above their colleagues who remain in Nigeria.

The difference between the two sets of players is what you see in the evidence of NT selections.

txj wrote: Sat Feb 25, 2023 5:37 pm

Onazi
Omeruo
Etebo
Simon
Sadiq
Iheanacho
Awoniyi
Ejuke
Kalu
Chukwueze
Osimhen
Iwuala
Ndah

Of course it is continuous. When you instruct a player how to trap the ball, you are developing him...

[color=8F0000]However, the data shows clearly that the more substantial development happens when they move to Europe[/color].

The difference between the two sets of players is what you see in the evidence of NT selections.
That’s your uneducated opinion. In your view then, the likes of Okala, Chukwu, Muda Lawal and Odegbami were never fully developed because they never made it to Europe. Interesting concept🤔

What about Brazil’s Pele who never played in Europe? Was he also underdeveloped❓❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Feb 25, 2023 5:49 pm
txj wrote: Sat Feb 25, 2023 5:37 pm

Onazi
Omeruo
Etebo
Simon
Sadiq
Iheanacho
Awoniyi
Ejuke
Kalu
Chukwueze
Osimhen
Iwuala
Ndah

[color=8F0000]However, the data shows clearly that the more substantial development happens when they move to Europe[/color].

That’s your uneducated opinion. In your view then, the likes of Okala, Chukwu, Muda Lawal and Odegbami were never fully developed because they never made it to Europe. Interesting concept🤔

What about Brazil’s Pele who never played in Europe? Was he also underdeveloped❓❗️

We are talking about Nigeria of today, 2023, not one of the 1970s.
Football today is not what it was in the 70s

Secondly, we are talking of Nigeria NOT Brazil...